Datuk Moktar: “Don’t entertain scrapping proposal!”

BN Kinabatangan MP Datuk Moktar Radin has asked the Ministry of International Trade and Industry not to entertain the proposal from the Selangor Car Dealers and Credit Companies Association to scrap cars over 15 years old as the majority of the people could not afford to condemn their 15-year old cars.

Way to go Datuk Moktar. There are many people earning peanuts and driving their reliable 23 year old Nissan Sunny 130Y around. Public transportation is not good enough. When I used to take the public transportation to university, I often reached the place tired and in no mood to learn anything. It is the same with people having to suffer the public transportation on the way to work.

Dear members of the Selangor Car Dealers and Credit Companies Association, why do you want to take away our rides just so you can have deeper pockets?

Car Scrapping Policy – 15 years?
MAA wants car scrapping policy

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 6:37 pm

How about those old Rolls Royce or Jaguar??

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 6:51 pm

Ah! If only I'm in Kinabatangan, Datuk Moktar, I'd surely vote for you!!

• NiceCar (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 6:52 pm

100% agree and support Datuk Moktar!!!

For those ppl keep sucking blood sure they afford to buy new car even every year.. then how bout the ppl that may only afford to own a kancil in his/her life??

However, I agree to scrap those vehicle that exhaust the BLACK SMOKE that really cause the air pollution!!!

• kody (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 6:57 pm

wahlaueh…

If proton wira…new car RM19999, Waja RM29999… then i will raise my hands & include my foot to support the scrap… If cannot achieve the really low cost car prices, PLEASE don't ever mention on scrapping old cars…

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 7:09 pm

WE WANT RESONABLE PRICED CARS………………………………….

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 7:13 pm

Yaa.. how about my dad's old 1971 VW beetle.. Waa if it scrap for only RM5k my dad will die loo… One thing good is the secondhand value will be drop even fast.. So if u want to buy a secondhand car, i think it will be very cheap after 5-10 years if they started to scrap. Just like Japan and SG. Well i dont think this is an good idea. Why not scrap those unworthy old rusty cars, or badly accident car that potong it and weld it again car.. This is bad for customer and road users. I think is good if this is not forced, but some car which is not road worthy must be sent to scrap. So what i recomended is that the cars which is over 15 years must sent to puspakom to check for condition. If condition is worst or unrepairable, just went to scrap immediately. Easy! And puspakom still can earn money lol!

Well i think this is from the internal P1 which started the scrap policies things.. I heard they want to force ppl to buy their cars. But i think in the end still the motorcycles and perodua company will earn more. Coz not all ppl have a lot of money to change new car every 15 years. The car in our country is not cheap compare to japan, and the basic salary of our average citizens cant coupe the $$$ world spending. What i heard before an idea is why not sell our secondhand car to other country, such like indonesia, philipines and third world countries. I think they still want to buy cheap cars, which can move already consider very good for them and the value might be better then scrap.

• Hikaru (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 7:14 pm

Effectively, what the association has suggested is that the total depreciation of the car is to be borned by the consumer and this is absolutely riduculous. Car dealers are business man who runs a business seeking profit. But the amount of profit that seek is exhorbitant. Maybe not so much for CKD cars but CBU cars imported by an AP normally gives them a profit of atleast 5 figures. Why u say? Because they under declare at the customs and "tutup satu mata" attitude. That's why they can afford to let the car sit in their yard for as long as they want just to make the profit they want. Only when it hits their cost price (which is very low and takes forever for the car to reach that value) then they will throw them out.

Car dealers want to move or sell cars? Squeeze your margin and drive smaller cars yourself. if i had my way i would probably stick all of the 2nd hand car dealers on a pole.

You know, this kind of suggestion is effectively adding to the list why u want to leave malaysia or might as well jump off a financial clift wall.

• indigo (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 7:27 pm

Perhaps there are some good reasons why old cars should be scrapped. Of course some considerations or levels must be examed. I see some crap cars which are so old and badly damage still driving on the roads of our country. If no law has being implemented, then these old and dangerous cars will endanger the lives of the other road user. I've seen old car with suspension arm totally torn off on the road. In other countries, they have already practised this thing for a long time. Give a good to certain vehicles which do not meet the road safety requirement should be implemented. Of course those old cars which are well maintained should not be an issue. Maybe cars which are over 20 years of age should be checked and tested to prove they they are safe on the road.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 7:38 pm

There is no rational explanation to support car scrapping. 1) There is no lack of space, like say Singapore 2) 15 year old cars unsafe they may say? Then again there might probably be in better shape than many 3-7 year old cars! 3) Purchase pattern is usually 4 to 7 years ownership before trading in for an above 60k car, which constitutes the majority of MAA members who are pushing for this, if you read the linked reports, so, how will scrapping 15 year old cars help the situation?

• notorpkcuf (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 8:17 pm

To me the problem lies much deeper in the roots. 1st our tax & excise duties are a joke, it churning the gahmen billions of ringgits so there is NO WAY they'll give up that money printing concept. Everyone blames Proton and AP kings but seriously, compared to the money the gahmen earns because of this "situation" they're the least of our problems. OK sorry about side tracking abit.

The scrapping issue, I'm really for it. Don't get me wrong my dad stil drives an old clunker, but for me the real good thing about this concept is safety. They will be people that will argue that some 15 old cars are in better condition that 5 year ones, but those are honestly the minority. As the US is starting(or already) to make it compulsory for all vehicles to have Stabilization Programms in all cars, we here aren't even having rules for FRONT airbags.

• transformer (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 8:20 pm

my streamyx down again, so now i'm using maxis WAP.. 10Kb for 10sen! the first page of paultan.org cost me Rm6.00(600Kb), this feed 230Kb & WordPress 110Kb.. (can paul reduce it size?)

but when i saw this thread i want to voice my comment!

i want to support this guy!

if scrapping policy really introduced, then car would become soul-less.. just like tissue paper! throw away after use! plain greedy idea!

also i doesnt agree if Puspakom do the verification body, the ONLY BODY in M'SIA! Monopoly doesn't improves things but deteriorates! more undertable & etc…

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 8:46 pm

If they can sell Waja less than 25 grand I think our automotive industry will move agressively.

Paul can you work out a rough estimate of how much does it cost to build a Waja??

Eg. Engine – 3k

Body – 5k

Etc…….

• albagmane (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 8:47 pm

i support with this!!! i still have a 27 years old honda civic which runs fine as a new car… and it uses super as petrol consumiing… not much emission being released and i love it!!! damn this company and association!

• blerkz (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 8:56 pm

Im going to vote for the opposition next general election………..

• J (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 9:17 pm

They thought Malaysia now really so advance (and so rich) mei ?

• giyzmo (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 9:21 pm

New Cars aren't that reliable…god knows how many times have i seen a brand new 3 series or Mercedes Benz stranded by the road side. you don't get that from an old Nissan sunny or Honda civic. It all depends on the owner, if they don't maintain their cars even a brand new one would run like scrap metal

• TheGunner (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 9:25 pm

Actually, the car-scrapping policy is a good idea. However, instead of scrapping cars due to age, I would suggest scrapping cars based on their conditions.

Let's say, after 5 years of usage, cars will have to undergo inspections once every two years, and annually after 15 years old. The cars that fail the inspection, should be condemned.

That way, it will ensure that old cars on the road are properly upkept by their owners.

• kody (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 9:32 pm

Wahlaueh…

————————————————-

LittleFire85 said,

April 26, 2007 @ 11:13 am

So what i recomended is that the cars which is over 15 years must sent to puspakom to check for condition. If condition is worst or unrepairable, just went to scrap immediately. Easy! And puspakom still can earn money lol!

—————————————————

Hey friend… this recommendation only open opportunity for someone to get their own pocket to fill up more $$ in order to get pass PUSPAKOM check!! Then PUSPAKOM's stuff sure earn a lot of pocket money… hahaa…. :)

• keretakura (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 9:36 pm

Long Life !!! Datuk Moktar.

• p_nut (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 10:10 pm

Relax, guys. I don't think it's going to happen. Let's look at it objectively. For this "proposal" to work, we will have to assume that a 15 year old car is worth RM5k.

How many 15 year old cars are worth RM5k? The MAA estimates that the average price of a used car sitting in the lot is RM20k. Assuming that this number includes luxury grey imports and performance cars, it could even be lower, say RM15K. A quick check on Motor Trader will tell you that the estimated average price for a 1997 car is about RM28 – 35k.

Another quick check on Motor Trader indicates an estimated average price of a 15 year old car is about RM15 – 20K.

Logically, that means the general majority of cars sitting in the used lots are

10 – 15 years old, circa 1992 – 1997. Oops. Which means, that the used car dealers will have A LOT to lose. And you think they won't go down fighting? It won't happen, unless we can justify the average price of a 15 year old car to be RM5K.

The shortsightedness of the political idiots that propose such schemes only have vested interests in Proton. I don't think it will happen.

BTW the above is by no means thoroughly researched. It's just random thoughts and really really quick checks on MT :)

• mad_guy (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 10:33 pm

this Selangor Car Dealers and Credit Companies Association r realy suck………even such a small country like s'pore, the car's life is 20 years (if u want to extend the paper for it)………PLEASE LAH!!!!!! u think all m'sian r that rich kah???? WAKE UP!!!!!

Proton………..izit this is ur idea?????? so that can clear ur stock????

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 10:36 pm

If cars are cheap to buy and got loads of them like white goods, this scrapping policy to more feasible as to get them to change to cleaner and safer cars. But in Malaysia, cars are a damn luxury item. How dare they ask people who put nearly half their life earnings into a car to get rid of it after 15 years, only to be paid peanuts in return? If they really want to scrap after 15 years, they gotta pay more for it. Or atleast full refund of excise duty and taxes (I must be dreaming)?

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 10:51 pm

If you wanna to scrap ppl's cars, you should ensured those ppl get new replacement for free or get 50% discount for purchasing any Brand new car.

Not everybody afford to buy a Ferrari or Benz or VW like those APKINGs did.

Datuk Moktar you know Malaysian well.

• familyman (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 10:57 pm

if they want to implement.. for sure will implement after the election!

going to work in your Merc n BMW .. for sure your stupid mounth can come with this idea….stupid Selangor Car Dealers and Credit Companies Association

• gtmaniac (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 11:28 pm

Scrapping an AE86, anyone?

• haroldz (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 12:33 am

make it optional la..

those who wanna buy new car or trade in their old.

some 15yrs old cars r better than our proton models

• moha774 (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 12:43 am

This whole thing about used or new car dealer not able to increase the car selling is all originated from the goverment also…eversince they allow car financing period to extend from 5 years to 9 years, they are already looking into trouble…since a lot of car buyers will opt. for 9 years financing hence the cycle for that people to be in the looking for another car wont be in about 7 or 8 years later when only they can trade in their old car without having to top up to settle the existing loan.

Many of us not that well to do or rich enough..that can buy a new car with down payment of about RM6000 but still has the money to top up about the same amount to dispose their old car.

What they should do is to revert back to 5 years financing plan across the board that includes financing for National Car. With this the car price should be lowered. Interest rate should also not be as per Bank/Financial institution's descretion and also lowered.

It might be an unpopular since General Election is coming in the next 2 years but to me it should be done to save the automotive industry here in Malaysia.

• I my (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 12:43 am

how about the 120y Dutsun? it will be 30 years old….. but this car still run good.

As for this policy, we must hv very good public transport, Low car price. Even in USA ppl don't scrap car that easily. But 1 thing for sure to get the car chekc & aprove by their "JPJ" is only USD15 per year for car, it is a must (that's 10 years ago), here hmmmm…. susah loh.

• J (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 2:38 am

Now Proton regret la why they made their cars (year 1990~2000) so good quality and can last until today still running good on the road :)

So in order to secure the Proton business in future, all new Proton should be produced in such a way it will "reput" within 15 years.

• ab (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 3:08 am

come on, this is a scam by the govt to force all the 'poor' people to get rid of their old cars so that they will buy new protons…

• Malaysia BoXXX (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 3:12 am

There is a hidden secret why our public transport system is never a priority since about 20 years ago….think about it !

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 4:42 am

If our monthly salary like Japanese where 3 months salary can buy new car then no prob. Here 3 years salary also sometimes not enough. So you want that someone to be in debt all the time then by making it compulsory. Then what about those old kampung people, still moving in old old caruburator cars

• japankiller (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 4:46 am

3rd class country but always dream to be like 1st class. Malaysia you are not there yet!!!!still long way to go, may be wait until 2057 lah…

• cyborgx (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 5:01 am

"100% agree and support Datuk Moktar!!!"

lol you guys are so easily deceived.

maybe I m oversuspicious or something, Election is coming, hes saying that to gain votes?

• gigganet (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 5:44 am

"Selangor Car Dealers and Credit Companies Association" – what kind of assc is this? got car dealers and credit companies together??? what kind of credit companies i wonder. and they can propose policies to the government? must be very powerful assc.

• intermilan (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 6:20 am

this gahmen aaaa… very kejam one..

woi!! lu ingat kami ni bodoh sangat ka tak tau 'baca' lu punya complete vicious cycle in transportation sector?

ini association cuma anjing kurap saja.. buat kerja kotor untuk boss and others for free..

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 6:25 am

u know i think dat they want us to buy proton cars only………n how bout the well cared cars? i think that they have to have a car checking policy……….

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 6:28 am

Really want and think of every possible way to suck rakyat for usage of car's life cycle from "cradle to grave". Now they want to "peg" the car to "grave" at 15 years to force rakyat to buy new P1.

Do these Car Dealers and car loan provider have any credential or technical knowledge pertaining to "safe and road worthy car"?

STOP THE BUYING, STOP THE SUCKING?

• thaya79 (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 8:00 am

if cars are subjected to be scrapped in 15 years,car will be valued much lesser in the market than now

meaning by the time your car is lets say 7 years old.. it will drop drastically to less than half of the original purchase price.. and the loan amout will be much more…in fact its already happening now..

Cars prices in malaysia is so hyped up that the moment its out of the show room immediately the resale value drops approx 10 – 20k, which means the car price minus the 10k is actually is the price of the car…

basically this is everyone's problem. we need to realise why is this happening to us? why are we allowing this thing to happen? is having a little luxury a meant for the rich only?

cars in UK and US are considered really cheap if you look dollar: dollar…

A fren of mine bought a secondhand Porsche GT( he was a student and got AP) used it for couple of years and shipped it back to malaysia, and he eventually sold it for much more value than he originally bought the car..

basically this what is happening to us, the big business men buys the cars for cheaper price and sell them for 100% more.i bet they still can make 50% even after minus the costs of shpping and taxes..think abt it guys

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 8:33 am

i fully support to scrap cars over 15 years old, or even shorter period. BUT the car prices must be reasonable and so that rakyat can afford them.

"Selangor Car Dealers and Credit Companies Association"??? they also want to survive what, they also need to feed their loved ones what, why do they care about you???

all this crap would not be here if not for P1 and its partner, the nap, when the prices are artificially inflated, at the end, when the market force comes, this is what happens to 2nd hand car, to solve the problem? look no further, the root is… u and i and all of us know.

• cyborgx (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 8:35 am

IT IS SO OBVIOUS THAT THE CAR INDUSTRY IS DESPERATE FOR SALES. YET, IT'S THE BEST TIME THAT WE, THE CONSUMER TO FIGHT BACK AGAINST THOSE BLOOD SUCKING PARASITES THAT HAVE BEEN SUCKING OUR BLOOD FOR 20 YEARS.

UNREASONABLE HIGH DUTIES IMPOSED ON IMPORTS, LOW QUALITY JUNKS THAT THESE PPL FORCE INTO OUR THROAT. I SAY TOTALLY BOIKOT BUYING NEW/USED CARS NOW FOR ONCE AND FOR ALL!

• Notoriez (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 10:22 am

Hail Datuk Mokhtar..

You guys must be wondering why does he opposed the Selangor Car Dealers and Credit Companies Association proposal to scrap those 15 year old cars right? As Datuk Mokhtar hailed from Sabah like myself, he knew that most Sabahan currently are driving old cars especially those poor people lived in the Kampungs and youngsters who likes to mod their old toyotas, nissans and hondas to use it in for their daily chores. So maybe it's either he really understand the rakyat's feelings or just said those remarks to gain votes from poor sabahans in the coming elections.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 10:45 am

Cars that should be scrapped? 15 year old? YES!!

BUT ONLY CARS THAT ENDED UP IN 2nd CAR DEALERS THAT ARE 15 YEAR OLD, and they are willing to give it up for some fast cash vouchers.

YOU CAN'T FORCE PEOPLE TO GIVE UP THEIR CARS. BUT YOU CAN GIVE 2nd CAR DEALERS RM5000 FOR SCRAPPING THEIR STUPID JUNKS AND ASK THEM BUY PROTONS INSTEAD AND SELL PROTONS.

THAT WOULD GIVE PROTON A SURVIVING EDGE, AND CAR DEALERS WOULD BE HAPPY FOR THEIR JUNKS AND PEOPLE COULD BUY PROTON AT CHEAPER PRICES WHEN ECONOMIES OF SCALE HAPPENS, AND CAR DEALERS RACE TO SELL THEIRS OFF.

I just bought my 10 year old Audi, and i had a 7 year repayment. And that thing could last another 20 years if i take good care of it.

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 11:17 am

Hm……this is a bit tough for me. On one side, I agree the need to scrap those rly, rly old mobile rusty junks I see once in a while (or should it be a common sight?), bt if some are gud enuf like the Mercedes which the 5th Gear gal tested, why scrap that one? At this point, it may nt be appealing to this country then.

Bt I dun like this Kinabatangan guy either, to totally ignore this proposal is kinda absurb to me, is he to tell me SG n Japan, two far more advanced countries than ours, are wrong to implement that scrapping policy? Besides, you'll get RM5k incentive to scrap them, surely, that's nt "forcing", that's "encouraging" for the better.

IMHO, there is a need to constantly check cars ageing more than 15 years old, say, annually? This looks like a job for PUSPAKOM, so long they are nt in a position to pose any danger to other road users, they should be allowed to be otr. Else, obliterate them. They're a sickening sight for a petrolhead like me, so much that I feel like bazooka-ing them on the spot whenever I see them.

In the end, both sides lose my support. Neither's bad, bt neither's appealing either way. Bt even then, my suggestion isn't that great either cuz *cough* PUSPAKOM *cough* are the most "reliable" body in this country.

• azrai (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 4:33 pm

Illilogical proposal.

• azrai (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 4:34 pm

Illogical proposal.

• ergo_etc (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 5:41 pm

indecent proposal!

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 6:01 pm

Executor: “Selangor Car Dealers and Credit Companies Association”(??)

Mastermind: P1

Objective: Clear stock & SUCK more money frm rakyat

• Infinitt (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 6:29 pm

Bullshit idea. Datuk Mokhtar..i sure vote you hehe..

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 7:19 pm

I think what they suggessted is how to move forward since 660k used cars are stucked and are not selling.

Scapping of old ( unroadwortiness ) cars is good. By this it can generate volume and momentum of a developed economy. It should be observed with car price tremendous reduction ie Wira around RM 10~15k. Environment factor is also been taken into consideration ( exhaust emission ).

Datuk Mokhtar is only looking on a short term basis. I believe, one its get the nod, a lot of other things will need to be change as well.

Old / classic cars will still be allowed to be driven, but the cost of possessing it will be higher. This is due to sentimental value etc. I think the gomen wil introduce higher roadtax for this or restricted weekend roadtax only…….

Malaysia Boleh maaaa………..Scrap or no scrap……….Lets go Ijok…!!!!!!

• epalhead (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 8:04 pm

Screw the vendor………….selfish scumbag.

excuse that they have is that…"other country has done the move long time ago"

Screw you. which country? Japan? UK?

imagine these…

through my experience working in the UK…(although x sampai one yr) but still i wanna share the experience..

my salary there they pay weekly. when comes to interview they allways offer salary per year like 50K/annum etc….

Proton Impian (WAJA) cost £11000

my salary per month after deduction income tax is £3000

Here my salary is RM 3500/month

Waja cost me RM60000

Can u all spot the different?

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 9:22 pm

I think Japan is one of them, as that S'gor assc guy said. Meanwhile, our neighbor also hv COE per car system, where after ten years, they need to renew their COE, else, they cannot drive the car otr. Bt to renew it is extremely xpnsv, it makes more sense to just buy a new car.

You nt satisfy wit ur salary, just "KELUAR DARI MALAYSIA". If u wish to see Msia improve, just vote the "other" party, got it? Make LKS Msia's nxt PM or GTFO out of this junk country.

• the man (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 6:38 am

yeah suck the vendor….proton/p2 price always going up…..becoz vendor all sub con to tier2 vendor…tier2 sub con to tier 3 vendor…..and the list go on…..in the end we pay unbelivable price for stupid cost down vehicle…..even japanese laugh to hear car price in malaysia…..

• nmh (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 8:36 am

new perdana shud be 28K or lower…then proceed

• nmh (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 8:37 am

the roadtax according to vehicle class…not cc…max 2k/annum….not more than this….then proceed

• hondadriver (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 8:23 pm

new perdana should be RM28K or lower?

please dont make brainless comments.

I think we should be looking at scrapping with an open mind.

Personally, i support a car scrapping policy, but it should be 100% voluntary. Also, together with this policy, there should be inspections for private vehicles as well, at set intervals. The inspections should be done to ensure the road worthiness of a vehicle regardless of the age. I think its only in our own best interests that other cars that share the road with us should be in good mechanical condition.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 29, 2007 at 6:41 am

hondadriver, one more point you miss is implement acceptable safety standard in auto industry like NCAP rating or environmental comply. Any unsafe new car like stoneage Iswara milo tin on the wheel should be discontinue production.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 11:01 am

Scrapping proposal?

I think it should be entitle for malaysian made cars.

Just like my Kancil. After 4 years using it always have problem.

Here broken there broken. The noise even gets louder.

BTW Mercedes and BMW are still tough even after 15 years old.