New Hyundai Elantra Wagon to be based off i30 CW

Hyundai FD Wagon 1

The Hyundai i30 Wagon will be arriving on US shores soon as the Hyundai Elantra wagon, and will be equipped with a sportier suspension setup. The Hyundai i30 Wagon / Hyundai Elantra Wagon will come with a 138 horsepower 2.0 litre inline-4 engine, mated with a 5-speed manual as standard but with the option of a 4-speed auto.

“We want people who are looking for something sporty with good space but don’t want a small SUV. They still want the car look. This car is important in the entry-level segment,” said Wayne Killen, director of product planning for Hyundai Motor America.

Hyundai i30 CW Station Wagon

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• moha774 (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 5:30 pm

Nissan AD Resort Millenium Edition still looks good to me…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 7:17 pm

Wow.. hyundai is reaching US shores.. And i think the only P1 product can went to US is Lotus only.. when P1 have the standart to invade the global? Even Kia sell more place then P1.

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 8:41 pm

Way to go hyundai… Flood them with your car. Then maybe 4-5 years down the road this engine can come here as half cut to replace our P1 engines.

Waja with 2 litre engine. Ha ha….

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 8:42 pm

I think if they have Automotive Extreme makeover we can get 1st place.

• kody (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 9:23 pm

wahlaueh…

The engine spec doesn't look good. 2.0 litre with only 138PS. Perdana has better figure (~150ps) than this.

From the sideview, it looks not bad at all. hehe…Paul, more photos please…

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 10:40 pm

As usual, Backed by America's best warranty of 10 years. Estate/Station Wagon/Touring is back in trend and good move that they jump onto the bandwagon (or should I say station wagon). We only get to dream on having this model coming in. Even the overdue Santa Fe is only being sneak previewed at the moment.

• mad_guy (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 10:44 pm

this wagon look good………….

when can we hav proton in wagon style??? WAKE UP PROTON!!!!!!! WHEN CAN U SURPRISE US???? GIVE US SOME THINGS NEW BUT WITH GOOD QUALITY………if stil use those low budget material………just sell the proton not more that RM30K………….PLEASE LAH!!!!!!!!!

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 10:55 pm

WATCH OUT for the Cheap Wagon from Hyundai soon!

Other OEMs are under pressure now!

• kody (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 11:01 pm

wahlaueh…

—————————————

auctioncenter2u said,

April 26, 2007 @ 2:55 pm

WATCH OUT for the Cheap Wagon from Hyundai soon!

Other OEMs are under pressure now!

——————————————

hey guy… when the cheap wagon reach our shore… it will be years later when it is called dated model for US.

• moha774 (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 1:30 am

Nissan AD Resort Millenium Edition still looks good to me…

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 6:30 am

American always enjoy the nice car and also cheaper car…

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 6:31 am

wagon………….nice!

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 6:44 am

Funny, when I read 138ps I thought the engine's a 1.6l, but lo and behold, 2.0!? Weird looking rims too, but the car is definitely good looking, better than anything Kia has to offer for the moment.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 4:14 pm

LittleFire85 said,

April 26, 2007 @ 11:17 am

"Wow.. hyundai is reaching US shores.. And i think the only P1 product can went to US is Lotus only.. when P1 have the standart to invade the global? Even Kia sell more place then P1."

——

FYI. Hyundai has been in the US market for the past 20 years already.

• kei9 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 5:28 am

so funny! wrong info bout kia….hahaha!