Perodua Viva Teaser Ads are up!

[ UPDATE: The Perodua Viva has been launched! Click here for full details on specifications and pricing, as well as many clear photos of both exterior and interior! ]

I saw a teaser ad for the Perodua Viva, or Perodua D18D as it’s called by it’s codename on the Motor Trader main page. It’s the banner above that says “Looking for love?” If you click it, you’ll reach a flash page with the codename D18D in it’s URL address, and what you see is shown in the photo above. Basically it’s a small quiz thing aimed at getting a mailing list or something, which will be used for Perodua Viva launch updates perhaps?

Some journalists have already been to a media test drive somewhere, and with the appearance of these teaser ads, it means the Perodua Viva’s launch is coming soon.

Check out the Perodua D18D Looking for love teaser site.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BettaSplendens (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 12:50 am

is going to launch soon!

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 1:16 am

Confirm on the 10th May……..

• 8918 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 2:16 am

log on to www.thestar.com.my
    there's a clip of the perodua advert which i think is the new model to be launch.

• putrav6 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 3:16 am

there is a teaser on tv3 this afternoon. some of the interior is shown.

• e-nabilll (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 4:47 am

another small car to make our already crowded roads even worse…

• kei9 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 4:57 am

cheh! we already know wat it looks like! not an exciting launch i may say…………

• silverfish (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 5:48 am

Better than having big ass SUVs and MPVs which are usually filled with ONE person inside hogging up the roads.

Small, little, honest-to-goodness cars are good. Unnecessary fat ass cars which guzzle up more fuel are evil.

• albagmane (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 8:18 am

yea i oso watch the tv ad teaser during tv3 primetime buletin utama, they are putting the L-O-V-E song as their music background… love theme for the new car… looks like this car is focusing on female more le…

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 8:20 am

Don't hope so much on this. Maybe after launch it will disappoint you.

Why P2 like to make new cars that have no tail.

Kancil, kembara, kelisa, myvi and even this crap also the same.

Can have more option please?

• jcws_87 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 9:00 am

I have try the Perodua Viva, or so called Perodua D18D's teaser ads quiz and based on the answers provided by me, I discover that the new car is offering one of this colour – Glittering Silver 850.

• ingolstadt (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 12:15 pm

They better sell it competitively to halt Proton's stupid but effective (against stupiDER malaysians) RM27k Saga.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 3:52 pm

I think i read it somewhere.. the new Viva will be priced between RM30k-40k. Coz they have new DVVT engine, and the safety is more better then SAGA; got ABS with dual air bags… Well.. do u get that in a SAGA? Anyway the E-mail they sent me is – Glittering Silver 1000. Haha…

• peYno (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 6:39 pm

haha.. this flimsy car… read somewhere in other forum..

only meets japanese ah soo's taste..even japs didn't mention about Dvvt is for good FC.. only malaysian does it

credit to savoc.net
    http://www.savoc.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2945

prrrfthhh

• peYno (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 6:59 pm

LittleFire85 said,

May 1, 2007 @ 7:52 am

I think i read it somewhere.. the new Viva will be priced between RM30k-40k. Coz they have new DVVT engine, and the safety is more better then SAGA; got ABS with dual air bags… Well.. do u get that in a SAGA? Anyway the E-mail they sent me is – Glittering Silver 1000. Haha

===================================

Bro .. putting airbag in the tin milo body and cramp/small car.. like wearing full set of body protection while riding a bike…

the risk still very high

• peYno (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 7:12 pm

Last time.. Japs claim Myvi FC is 21km/l in Japan…it is true indeed.. but not in malaysia… Got conned by perodua salesman with Mysterios "DVVT" engine

so does New Viva… In japan they claim FC :25.5km/l… But surely this wudn't happened in Malaysia..

• tokmoh (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 10:04 pm

BAKA? Watch too many anime kah? :P

Environment frenly, more power, less fc, kussahkenna!! A Golf diesel is more environment frenly, more power, n much, much less fc than dvvt, vvt-i etc engine.

• kei9 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 10:35 pm

dvvt is merely a name, its the same with vvti the "D" word for dinamic………

• tokmoh (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 1:31 am

I got silver 850, wtfbbqpwned.

Interesting quiz, bt nt that accurate. Cuz I'll nvr, ever buy this viva, hahaha

• sbjess (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 2:39 am

Launch Date 10th May.. Do come by to our showroom at Jalan 19/1, Section 19 Petaling Jaya to get a glimpse on the new baby plus there will be live telecast from our showroom and JW Marriot to NTV7..

• peYno (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 5:00 am

kei9 said,

May 1, 2007 @ 2:35 pm

dvvt is merely a name, its the same with vvti the “D” word for dinamic………

================

no point puting name Dvvt or vvti whatever.. but results poor FC and underpower like what happened to myvi..

U know what.. In Japan , Toyota/Daithsu promote Dvvt/Vtti as environment friendly engine… but in Malaysia stupid perodua salesman claim dvvt as Powerful and good FC engine..

BAKA

• kei9 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 5:12 am

BAKA it it peYno!……….dinamiic cheh!

• kei9 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 5:14 am

BAKA (stupid) it is peYno!…….dinamic cheh! sorry 4 the wrong spelling =)…

• kei9 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 6:08 am

u can say it tokmoh! DVVT oh puhleez!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 8:43 am

Well a lot of ppl dont know the power band of DVVT, VVT-i.. All Malaysian just love to push hard on gas pedal and see how the engine works.. If u want to realize that both the engine is the same and they work like the basic VVT system which use a special cam to adjust the timing of the intake valve.. In normal rev like 0-3500rpm they use normal timing, after 3500rpm above the adjusted the timing to longer duration for more fuel and air to go into the combustion section. That why u can felt the power after that limit.. When u addicted at that rush, you will always want to push hard the pedal.. That why u get worst SC!

In normal situation the engine works as any 1.3L engine, but when the VVT open, i can tell the performance is like an 1.5L engine.. Is like killing 2 bird using one stone.. That why VVT engine is more better then normal caburated engine.. Why not u take manual 1.3 myvi and test it with 1.3 Saga in both city and high way. I can bet Myvi FC is more better! Dont use auto to fight with manual, coz everyone know auto are worst in FC!

In Japan the environment policies they needed also included more better FC. If better FC then less pollution. And one thing, have u use ur hand to knock the door of a Saga compare to a Myvi? I can tell u Saga steel are worst then Myvi, Even kelisa are more tougher. Have u seen kelisa car's accident until the headlamp broken to pieces? But Saga? I always seen the front engine part gone, or the back totally kemek.. Which one better? One word " The more you pay, The more you get!" Even Perodua is lifeless, they follow the strict laws of japan to made more better and quality car's for people to use, while P1 is making more cheaper and cheaper quality car's for people to use.. So which one you choose? Only ppl who kena tipu with the tag price will suffer the last..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 8:50 am

If you say small car are worst in Safety, why not take a smart for 2 and smash it with a Saga at 100km/h. I can tell the Smart for 2 passenger can live, while a Saga; maybe the driver will survive with head injuries hitting the steering with his head.. the back passenger? I think fly away already!.. So size is not the matter, is how you design and plan the safety issue. I felt The new Viva will be better in term of safety and comfort. Let wait and see… don't assume too fast on things that are not sell yet.

• peYno (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 1:57 pm

LittleFire85 said,

May 2, 2007 @ 12:50 am

. I felt The new Viva will be better in term of safety and comfort. Let wait and see… don’t assume too fast on things that are not sell yet.

—————————–

Little fire85

Perodua is not producing NEW CAR

Perodua is is rebadge car of old Daihatsu car

ppl can judge and assume the car based on it..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 6:16 pm

http://www.crashtest.com/daihatsu/index.htm This is the crash test compare to old mira.. It is ACCEPTABLE!.. Our new Viva is based on Mira 99-02, compare to old kancil mira 90-96. So it has improved. Do some research peYno..
    http://www.crashtest.com/mitsubishi/index.htm compare to old saga, which is either lancer 84-89. Tredia 85-88 (Which i think it is Saga rebadge) the ovarall is worst the Daihatsu mira.. Both ovarall rating are POOR AND MARGINAL!

So this prove that VIVA are better then SAGE in term of SAFETY!

• tokmoh (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 7:20 pm

@LittleFire85

Which car is lighter? I'm nt rly sure, bt myvi will hv better fc cuz:

– It is lighter than the saga (just my assumption since saga looks bigger, it shd be heavier).

– It uses fuel injection, nt carburetor.

100km/h is too high la, of course that smart driver will die. Those Euro NCAP do front collision test at 30mph/64kmph, n it managed 4 star oni.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 12:45 am

SAGA/FULL SPEC (Manual) GROSS VEHICLE WEIGHT 1350/1360kg, FUEL CONSUMPTION @ 90KM/H / 120KM/H / URBAN CYCLE : 5.5 / 7.4 / 10.2 litres / 100 km, ACCELERATION 0 TO 100 KM/H : 13.1 sec. 4G13 12V SOHC Output: 62 kW (83hp) @ 6000 rpm, 109 Nm @ 4000 rpm
    http://www.proton.com.my/showroom/saga/saga_06-sp…

MYVI 1.3SX / SXi (Manual) KERB WEIGHT 930/940kg, K3-VE 16V DOHC DVVT Output: 64 kW / 6000rpm, 116 Nm / 3200rpm.
    http://www.perodua.com.my/our_cars.php?sub_page=m…

In these spec Myvi is ligther, Powerfull and more torque compare with SAGA.. In their brocher, myvi claim they can get by Fuel consumption at 10-15 modes, 5.1 l/100km. ACCELERATION 0 TO 100 KM/H : 13.1 sec. Almost the same with SAGA.. But my friend's Myvi can clock less then 12 sec..

• peYno (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 4:28 am

LittleFire85 said,

u comparing myvito with 20 years tech of saga???.. why don't u compare with newer gen like savvy, neo, waja or Gen 2???

• kei9 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 5:27 am

yes i think so too……..saga is out of the age of myvi…………

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 7:58 am

well let see.. 1.3L segment of P1, SAGA, SATRIA NEO n GEN.2..

Gen.2.. DOHC 16V, 1332 cc, 94 hp (70 kW) @ 6000 rpm, 120 Nm @ 4000 rpm.. Wow is better then Myvi in Term of cc (Myvi only 1298cc) and performance.. But 1 more thing.. the weight of Gen.2 is heavier 1240kg compare to Myvi 940kg. FUEL CONSUMPTION@ 90KM/H CONSTANT 5.8 L/100 km. A bit more compare to Myvi 5.1L/100.. but this is their amount i don't believe so chun also..

The Satria Neo is the same in term of Engine, but the weight is lighter at 1145kg. FUEL CONSUMPTION@ 90KM/H CONSTANT 5.8 L/100 km same… So in term of power-to-weight ratio, myvi is still winning izzit? But in term of space i will take Saga.. But in term of Good looks, quality and better FC i take Myvi with a little more $$$…

Sorry but Savvy in under 1.2 category, so comparing it is not fair.. All compared are Manual models..

You can check www.proton.com.my to see it urself..

• peYno (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 12:22 pm

LittleFire85

when talking about car performance, don't look at engine hp alone.. coz, when we drive the caer.. we don't drive with the engine … we drive with the combination of engine with good chassis, handling, suspension,, good gear ratio and etc…

assuming myvi is powerful just becoz of the hp spec writtien on the paper and lighter ??? i might say.. u r wrong

it s like Rb26DETT engine swap into Nissan Vannette … yes it sounds powerful.. but …

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 6:03 pm

Well… in term of prices you have to combine also.. the safety of the car also needed to consider. I know what you mean.. but in Malaysia We dont have so much option.. I have seen nissan vattene with turbo engine, modified suspension. And is good in Drag.. Haha.. but is not driving normal road.. Is what you like.. If u dont like Daihatsu cars you will criticisms it.. Just like us dont like P1 we always say the bad things on it..

Well simple.. When a lot of ppl using it.. we tent to dislike the things that are common.. Just like using Window XP.. A lot of ppl dont like using it.. Although the OS is good.. but ppl tent to use Apple OS.. Why? Coz ppl want to be special then others.. At 40k, why not i buy an old Satria GTI which have all the good chasis, handling, suspension, good engine, ration, etc..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 6:14 pm

PeYno.. I dont want to fight with you.. But i know you drive Sport cars like S14.. But in Malaysia we r not like u so rich can buy those AP $$$ cars… U r like my friend, he is rich and always complain about Malaysian low quality cars.. His father gave him a 1998 Skyline r34 4X4 2.5 twin turbo manual as his 21years old birthday.. But that car cost over then RM290K at that time at 2001.. Well I have driven his car before.. Damn quick and still he want to mod his car turbo into larger 1.. the car is very fast and in highway is easy to clock 180km over.. the adrenaline is pumping when the boost kick in.. And with the 4X4 the gripping is very good on corners and straight roads.. That why when ppl tent to drive better cars.. they don't like to drive cars that are cheap and low quality.. But as ppl like me who have no $$$.. i have to just admire and buy a model to built in my room… peYno we are not so lucky as you.. So if u r in my condition i think you will know..

• kei9 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 12:53 am

agree, agree……..

• eta (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 3:10 am

saya pemilik viva JKH4771 ingin memberitahu pihak perodua bahawa saya tidak berpuas hati dengan kualiti viva kerana saya mendapati bahawa bonet belakang viva tiada alarm hal ini akan menyebabkan berlakunya kecurian dimana pencuri boleh memasuki melalui belakang bonet kerana tidak mempunyai suis alarm.Saya memang kesal dengan perodua kerana mengeluarkan kereta baru tanpa mengetahui kelemahan yang sedia ada…sebelum ini saya memeng berminat dengan viva tapi akhir2 ni saya rasa kesal dan risau takut kereta saya kena curi……siapa yang hendak bertanggungjawab?beli kereta bukannya mudah nak menanggung hutang untuk bayarduit kereta…saya harap pihak perodua mengambil tindakan dengan segera bagi suis alarm bonet viva …..saya berharap pihak perodua menelefon saya dalam minggu ini utk memberi penjelasan….disini saya sertakan nbr telefon saya 0137684153….saya berharap mendapat kerjasama dari pihak perodua.sekian terima kasih

cik norzita binti abdul wahab