What Car? readers prefer diesels

bmw_2litre_twinturbodiesel_1.jpg

An online survey conducted by UK Magazine What Car? has revealed that a whopping 62% of car buyers in the region now prefer diesel cars and will choose a diesel car for their next buy. 28% will choose a petrol, and the remaining 10% says they prefer more greener forms of power.

Out of that 10%, 6 out of 10 has hybrid technology as their greener technology of choice, while the remainder considers bioethanol. Currently diesel car purchases make up 40% of all new cars purchased.

“Many years ago diesel engines were thought to be dirty, noisy and smelly: the opposite is true in the marketplace today. The latest diesel engines are economical, quiet, environmentally friendly and are highly sought-after in showrooms,” says What Car? editor Steve Fowler.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hondadriver (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 11:33 pm

I would also buy a modern diesel given the chance.

• motherker (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 11:34 pm

reminds me of bmw's ad..

hear no diesel,

smell no diesel

• transformer (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 11:54 pm

i would want VW FSI or AUDI TFSI !!!!

heard they are clean, economy and efficient (powerful too!!)

hope to maintain them also doesn't cost a bomb!

• sarawakguy (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 11:57 pm

With the recently increased petrol prices,I really dont mind buying a diesel car….has done that with my former car…..

• flrsjl (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 12:05 am

Audi's TDI engines with common rail and piezo injectors shall be the future.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 12:45 am

Ya the diesel engine in Europe is good, but the diesel standard in Malaysia.. wah lau eh.. This mid year only want Euro2.. Europe is going to Euro4 or 5 already.. Low quality fuel may also damage the engine injection due to high sulfur.. Ask paul why Merc decide not to sell CDI diesel car in Malaysia starting this year.. except the G force all fuel station change to Euro4..

• kei9 (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 12:58 am

diesel here aint good but in europe, its great!

• tokmoh (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 1:42 am

Another thing would be road tax issue. Since our gahmen comes from jurassic park era, they still discourage diesels cuz they're "dirty, noisy and smelly".

Msia boleh

• aesthari (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 1:45 am

Don't know how much difference using Euro2 or Euro4 diesel makes, but my father gets 700km+ from 65litres of diesel in his Multipla, city driving, seems good enough hehe! I'll go for diesels all the way!

• nmh (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 2:34 am

my ford everest suck diesel(full tank 500km long distance)…..but still my gen2 cost more in fuel…..next car hilux or new ranger

• ali38hak (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 6:19 am

i am from turkey

i am driving a VW golf variant TurboDiesel and with a tank capacity of 60liters, and my record is 1265km distance 5.2L/100km, the golf of my brother needs lower fuel 4.8L/100km

and i would by a proton if it comes with a diesel engine, so i contact them and they answer: 'there is no immediate to do so'…. proton is to rich they are going there own way and lose money and potencial new buyers….

• mzfnd (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 6:35 am

If economy is the concern, all you have to do is choose the right car.I'm quite content with my vios' fuel consumption.

If you're a green person, until our gov improve the diesel std, it should still be petrol. And hybrid is simply overrated. (Read somewhere the Matrix is actually greener than Prius!)

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 8:58 am

Proton have one diesel car before the Wira 2.0D, using Mitsubishi diesel engine.. if i not mistaken is SOHC 4-cylinder 8 valve turbo engine codename 4D68T, but the sales are worst.. thanks to our Malaysian Government that tax diesel car higher then petrol car's… And also the quality of diesel is worst.. So a lot of ppl don't buy it and it stop the production just a few years only..

• longjaafar (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 6:53 pm

By right, we should be in the euro 4 category already! The lack of boldness in our administration is very telling. We always take half measures and end up being neither here nor there. Just look at the queue at gas stations for those who use NGV. Two years ago the govt annonced that there will be 200 more gas stations, and yet the queue gets even longer. Poor taxi drivers have to queue for hours to fill up. They take it up on passengers by overcharging to compensate for their losses. Taxi licences are given to undeserving individuals who do not run taxis and instead make easy money by renting out their licences.

We call ourselves the only country that manufactures cars in south east asia and yet our diesel is the worse of the lot! Sometimes I wonder whether the officials really understand what this is all about. They may go for dozens of study tours but I'm afraid they simply don't get it.

What they should do is to have a premium diesel for passenger cars and charge accordingly. In many countries in Europe, diesel is even more expensive than standard gasoline, and I don't see why we cannot do it.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 7:29 pm

I have saw Shell V-power Diesel in Europe.. Wow.. anyway if compare to low quality petrol like ron92 to Euro4 diesel.. Sure the diesel more expensive coz of more filtering of sulfer.. But if you calculate the millage it can go.. i think it save then petrol anywayz.. But i think Malaysian G must be trying to implement Biodiesel using oil palm a few years ago.. But now.. no new's yet.. Louzy G.. It just need a pen and a document and everything can be done.. don't listen to those who cannot afford it.. Cut the tax of diesel car and lorries.. this can also cut the price of transportation.. Is a win win situation.. In the end you still get their income tax, is the SAME! Why G always want money.. Even 600k Tax payers are not yet pay the income tax.. thx to the lame enforcement of G.. Even some of those BP dont even pay income tax, land tax, PTPTN loan and G loan to their G since Malaysia independent.. and they still not yet kena tangkap.. Well i think this is one of the BP specialties izzit?

• kody (Member) on May 06, 2007 at 5:13 am

wahlaueh…

diesel engines are moving trend in forein country. In bolehland we only have mostly pickups for diesel or… lorries/truck..haha… No way to get high performance fuel saver diesel engines,

—————————————————-

ali38hak said,

May 4, 2007 @ 10:19 pm

i am from turkey

i am driving a VW golf variant TurboDiesel and with a tank capacity of 60liters, and my record is 1265km distance 5.2L/100km, the golf of my brother needs lower fuel 4.8L/100km

and i would by a proton if it comes with a diesel engine, so i contact them and they answer: ‘there is no immediate to do so’…. proton is to rich they are going there own way and lose money and potencial new buyers….

——————————————————

hi ali38hak, there will be atleast another 10yrs for proton to come out car with performance diesel engine. 'there is no immediate to do so' is better way to answer customer it should be 'there is totally no plan for diesel variants'. Proton is struggle to survive with its own ways which is not allign with customer needs… better go for VW.