New Nissan Latio and Latio Sport: end of June

latio sedan

latio sport

The long awaited new Nissan model that we’ve been expecting after looking at spyshots this year will be available at the end of next month. Nissan’s new Latio comes in two variants, a 5-door hatch called Latio Sport and a 4-door sedan called the Latio.

The Latio sedan will be available in 1.6 litre and 1.8 litre form. The 1.6 litre variant uses a HR16DE engine that makes 110hp at 6,000rpm, and 153Nm at 4,000rpm. Fuel consumption is estimated at 13.9km per litre. The 1.8 litre variant uses the MR18DE engine, which is rated at 127hp at 5,200rpm and 174Nm of torque at 4,800rpm. Fuel consumption is rated at 13km per litre. These two engines are new engine families developed after the Nissan-Renault alliance, and are used in Renault cars as well.

The Latio hatchback only has the 1.6 litre version, which is kind of disappointing as a 1.8 litre “warm” hatch would be fun indeed. All variants are available in auto, except the sedan will have one 1.6 litre manual option. Not sure how many speeds for the manual, likely 5-speeds since it is a 1.6 litre, but in overseas markets manual variants of the MR18DE 1.8 litre is paired with a 6-speed manual gearbox, which would have been fun if available in a Latio Sport hatchback.

Edaran Tan Chong Motor has taken a different approach to B-segment offerings here in Malaysia, with competitors choosing to offer 1.5 and perhaps soon 1.3 litre versions of their B-segment offerings, ETCM has decided to offer 1.6 and 1.8 litre variants, making them somewhat like Sentra replacements, though the Sentra is actually from a larger C-segment category.

Some other known specs: it is CKD, McPherson struts at the front and a torsion beam at the rear, as well as a keyless entry system which Nissan seems to be pushing all around the world, with the new Maxima in the US having a big marketing campaign for it. The key for the Latio is simply a transponder you carry with you – starting the car is the matter of twisting a little tab at the steering column where you would typically insert your key. A push button start would be much cooler though.

Full specs of the Latio and Latio hatch will be available once it is launched and available for sale towards the end of next month. Nissan has started a teaser site for the Nissan Latio at www.latio.com.my so go check it out.

Also, check out the related post links below for some spyshots, as well as some previous posts with details of the Latio sold in our neighbouring country Singapore. You will be able to find alot more photos of the exterior and interior there.

Nissan Latio sedan and the Nissan Latio Sport hatchback spotted in Genting
Nissan Latio Sedan spotted on Jalan Kepong

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• McQueen_CARz (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 6:10 pm

What is the price range for the 1.6 and 1.8 versus Livina 1.6 and 1.8??

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 7:00 pm

The latio will be priced like the full spec of Sentra wif ABS.. So if u want to take the Manual/Auto 1.6 it will almost nearly RM88k-94.5k, if take 1.8 almost RM95k-99.8k. All latio will be standard for ABS and 2 air bags.. The current sentra will only sold for the basic model for RM88.5k for Auto SG spec, and 85k for manual SG spec. The Sentra will be no ABS but air bag are available.. I phone to my friend in Nissan this morning.. The latio sedan 1.6 will be only offered 5-speed manual, other all 4-speed auto's.. Kinda sad here.. no CVT, in japan all Latio use 1.5 wif CVT.. But in Malaysia market Nissan Tan chong seems to know our market ppl like 1.6L, Maybe road tax cheap? The reason they tell me why no CVT used, is because the new Gearbox and maintenance is expensive.. The gear oil is kinda different so $$$.. The new engine system will be CVTC, compare old is VTC.

After Latio launch, the high spec of sentra will be eliminated, leaving the normal spec of Sentra.. And the price will be reduce to cut cost.. Rumour say the interior item may be cut down, including 1 air bags to reduce it's price to fight with Toyota Vios n Honda City..

The livina genesis MPV will be priced between RM80-95K, I heard they say 1.6 and 1.8 model will be available for auto 4-speed but for 1.6 only have option for 5-speed manual.. All model will have Air-bags, the basic at least got 1 air-bags.. ABS wif 2 air-bags is for High spec livina.. Engine will be same wif Latio.. 1.6/1.8 HRDE, CVTC engine.. The livina is targeted between Avanza and Innova so the price will be higher then Avanza, sorry guys if u all think livina will be cheap.. I just don know why they don't want to offer 6-speed manual? Dont tell me the lame excuse again, Expensive gearbox? Sometime i hate NTCM.. their management sucks.. My commission for helping my friend selling 2 cars haven reach to my hands from January until now.. Went to their management office say got cek for me, but still not sent for me from KL? WTF! Is 4 months already! All my friends working as salesman in Tan Chong hated the management, want sell more car but slow in payment! I even heard the accountant saying that Tan Chong eventually have been rugi for almost a few years.. And the Teana is cheating those hardcore ppl to buy it.. They same import from Thailand to Malaysia like Toyota Camry 2.4V, the price is almost same in Thailand. But why in our country is sell RM230k while Toyota camry 2.4V RM168k? Jangan kena tipu loo…

• BrakeFader (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 7:01 pm

According to motortrader, between RM80K – RM110K. It's a fresh new model for the Vios/City range that the 2 have been dominating. It still looks like a mini Cefiro/Maxima/Teana to me with some similarities with the boot and interior.

• dzat46 (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 7:40 pm

Overall = city/vios, except being a 1.6liter….want to sell higher price somemore.

Won't be able to beat the dominant city/vios ler. Should follow nissan spore, 1.5liter & sold more than vios/city. Dissapointing this TCM…very2x dissapointing….

• vincentwee (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 7:43 pm

yoh,

when will livina genesis MPV release into Malaysia market?

as we know end of month, Latio will be release.

• jehutyz (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 7:44 pm

A nice one. But the price range is a bit higher than Vios n City. Since Teane also the same thing to Camry n Accord therefore Latio also will be the same thing.

But the new Vios is cheaper than the previous one at SG. So will MY also be cheaper? That another issues.

Nissan…. overall how is the car?

• pokeh (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 7:47 pm

How that car prices estimated, is it calculated after taken the influences of AFTA, what i know after 2008 all the excises tax of import car will be reduced to 0%, so this supposed to be more cheap imported car will be sale…huhu…if prices between 80k to 100k, no point to introduce AFTA rules. No Points…

• eifs (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 7:51 pm

Latio was introduced here in Brunei early last year. There are few complaints on the engine misfiring and they have to be sent back to the agent. I test-drived the Latio and the CVT was excellent

It has the same chassis and use the same engine as Renault Megane (either hatchback or sedan). It experience the same problem encountered with Renault Megane. The price range here for Latio is B$26k (RM$52k) and Renault Megane is B$33k (RM$68k).

Teana (or we what we called here as Cefiro) is the best-seller here. With the price range of Cefiro 2.3L (B$35k) and Cefiro 3.5 (B$51k), it's the most affordable luxury here besides Lexus IS300 (B$52k).

• Paul Tan on May 23, 2007 at 7:54 pm

eifs: no, the latio doesnt use a megane platform. it uses a stretched clio platform.

• proton GL (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 8:03 pm

cantik, enjin nya lawa, dalam bau sedap, bentuk licin, terkini dan bagus, enjin tak berbunyi, carpet nya lawa, lampu merah jingga hebat..

• proton GL (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 8:07 pm

jiran ku mesti terpaku

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 8:09 pm

Hmm…misfiring issue in a nissan. Sounds awfully familiar.

Looks like after all these years, thier coil on plug ignition system is still not fully perfected.

I would love to see the 5 door hatch with the 1.8 and 6 speed like other markets. Test reviews of them were pretty good.

• aesthari (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 8:18 pm

Haha, twisting tab at the steering column, sounds a lot like what they put on toys, a START button would have been much cooler and mature looking.

• drM (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 9:10 pm

this nissan is Corsa in the US, right?

i followed Heroes currently ;)

• KelvC (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 9:47 pm

drM, i think you have mistaken, it's a Versa…Sapphire Blue with California plates, LML4565. Did a quick check on nissanusa.com, apparently they only have 1.8-liter DOHC 16-valve 4-cylinder engine with two options level; i.e. 1.8S and 1.8SL. You can see more specs at http://www.nissanusa.com/versa/specifications-hat…. I think using Versa in Heroes is a brilliant exposure to worldwide audience and potential customers.

• J (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 10:11 pm

It does not make sense to have LATIO SPORT but without a choice for 1.8 ??

Ideally a Latio Sport with 1.8 manual 6 speed. But come on, at least a 1.8 Auto for the sport OK ??

• msmar_453 (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 10:17 pm

kinda weird design.. saw one from singapore..

look likes honda city (sedan).. not so cool!

• msmar_453 (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 10:18 pm

more like nissan versa as appears in Heroes

• cbljkkj (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 10:21 pm

Nissan has to really step up their B and C segment cars, so far the only cars they can sell properly are the Cefiro, X -Trail and the Sentra.

The Latios will do well if priced accordingly but most importantly priced competitively. They would require at least a year to gain proper ground and loyalty from motorists as an established quality bang for buck car.

You know what car Nissan should bring down from the states? The Nissan Maxima and Altima. Those are great cars to take over the aging Sentra marque normally conceived to be an old name linked to an old car. Can you remember the old Sentra?

• kei9 (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 10:26 pm

not liking those grills…….n the triangular shape of it….

• sxe10r (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 10:51 pm

A little too late for nissan ?? The price highest then vios/city & the FC 13km per litre not a save fuel cars ….. but u can see the vios & city anywhere … did ppl will choose the new nissan latio ?? but latio 1.8 with 6 speed manual man cool !! why they don't choose the 1.5 / 1.3 engine ?? now the fuel price so high … everyone look for small displacement engine … like P2 cars … anywhere the new latio give another choose to ppl ..

• cbljkkj (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 11:00 pm

Actually, higher/average sized displacements do not necessarily equate to higher petrol consumption. Depending on your everyday destinations, a higher displacement engine might mean better fuel consumption. It is common misconception when people judge a cars fuel consumption based on the fuel tank size when they pump fuel example Wah RM 120 for full tank!!

Examples I can give based on personal experience are when using my kelisa to go to cyberjaya from subang jaya every morning. I use a lot more fuel since it is a clear highway where i have to travel at least 70-80km/h. When i travel to KL which is of similar distance, my fuel hardly goes down like two hairs worth of fuel only.

I have experimented with my Waja as well and the results are vice versa. Good fuel economy on the highway but drinks more when on a slow crawl towards KL.

It also boils down to how heavy your lead foot is I suppose.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 11:00 pm

Anywayz most of our spec follow Thailand.. If Thailand 1.6 sells better then NTCM take the 1.6 and sell… In Thailand they got 1.5-1.8 category to choose… But the weakness is that NTCM don't want to risk fighting others category, and their management sucks… they don't know the market what people want.. What i hope is that Nissan Japan take over NTCM! like Honda doing now.. then we have more choice to choose..

• tec96248 (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 11:07 pm

this car is nice, waiting quite sometime to see it in this market. similar look to renault megane.

• ingolstadt (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 11:09 pm

Marketing departments really have this uncanny ability to spoil something marvellous and extraordinary from engineering departments.

This is the original conceptual prototype Latio is based on:
    http://www.carpw.com/pictures/nissan/Sports_Conce…
    If they do the same thing (of course not those chromy interior lar.. .I'm talking exterior here) they will definitely sell. a 1.5 Auto and a 1.6 6 speed manual would do Nissan justice. They can even launch a GT spec with either 1.8 auto or 1.8 6speed manual.

The new Vios is on it's way, this i reckon would have no chance against the dominant players.

• cbljkkj (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 11:23 pm

Most of the time, car companies release concept models such as the Nissan Sports Concept in the above post courtesy of ingolstadt to attract attention from the masses at a car show or press release.

From there it trickles down to consumer based vehicles removing the flashy trim. The worst company to have used this method is Jaguar. So many concept models, but none have ever come to fruition.

They say the new Jag is as real as real can be but they would have to pull through their promise because they are on the verge of financial ruin.

• adad (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 11:30 pm

It's typical of Nissan selling this car in other countries, trying to position it in the 1.6-1.8 segment while it's clearly a sub C-car, like the Vios. Hopefully the story in Malaysia won't be a repeat of Nissan's lackluster performance for this product elsewhere.

If not, it's not Latio, it's Tio la !

• adad (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 11:39 pm

The real C-car within Nissan's line-up [in between tiola, oops Latio and teana] is the SYLPHY. If Honda can sell the Civic and Toyota, Altis, and Ford, Focus, why can't Nissan sell a proper car like the Sylphy?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 11:42 pm

one word.. Nissan Tan Chong Malaysia sucks..

• dcwhz83 (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 12:05 am

this is the prefect line-up i would say shd be sthg like

1.5L manual sedan RM78k

1.6L auto sedan RM83k

1.6L auto hatchback RM85k

1.8L manual hatchback RM92k

1.8L auto hatchback RM95k

this range of engines and prices are more reasonable…

many of the people couldnt afford Vios G and therefore, u see many Vios E…

that means Latio need to have a 1.5L manual to fight for market share and the 1.8L needs to be put into a hatchback, not a sedan… have u guys seen the latest renault clio? i always believe a hatchback must be hatchback and a sedan must be sedan…. honda city sucks bcoz jazz is designed 1st and it is borrowed from jazz…

• tec96248 (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 12:41 am

hmm………the car is nice looking, but the price and engine displacement/gearbox is not really a good choice to choose for. moreover, this car is a class lower/smaller than sentra. before compete with other makes, hv to compete with its own sentra first. too bad.

• owaief (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 12:41 am

hey! it has the truck-like bonnet of the savvy!

• lowprofile (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 2:14 am

competing w sentra? i thot it was to replace the sentra.

• ab (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 2:17 am

the car nissan should really bring here and sell in volumes is the dacia logan. For the latio, i'll take the hatch, but only 1.6? why??? oh, and the sedan looks as ugly as the city.

• andre128 (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 2:49 am

no bad….

but i never try nissan…

• 8918 (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 3:09 am

Sentra need to be replace but not from latio.Latio is the same size as city/vios,"NTCM" you think malaysian people gila ke?

I'm sure many SA from nissan fed up with their management,teana so expensive can't compete with accord/camry,now come latio(hope you won't wrongly price it).

• kevyeoh (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 5:24 am

seems ugly to me…

yucks…

• mystvearn (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 5:45 am

Keyless system like in the merc S-class? that card system? Well it eliminates the need to put a keyhole-save cost and harder to steal,but if battery dead then how? I thought they changed the designed abit, but looks like just traced over the Renault. So if anyone find a CBU renault to expansive, then this is their logical choice

• bugbear (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 5:50 am

ingolstadt, u sure Latio is based on the nissan sport concept..?

or it just shares d same platform? like our p1's satria & wira..

Btw, Tan Chong Motor's intention is not simply putting Latio under the same category with vios nor city..

is targeted to a higher market segment

• mits27 (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 7:34 am

Even it is higher displacement like 1.6, but the hp is almost same as the vios and city 1.5 hp? But the price is higher than the vios and city. I am more eager to wait for the new vios…

• mits27 (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 7:38 am

Nissan singapore actually sell the 1.5 latio with 109ps, aluminium components, the newly developed 1.5-litre HR15DE engine is lightweight, extremely efficient and environmentally friendly and equipped with CVT transmission.

So, we have latio 1.6 and 1.8, I think the 1.6 HR16DE should have more than 109ps, maybe because our 1.6 latio didn't come with CVT transmission…

• normaluser (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 3:47 pm

I thought TCM will bring the Ladybird Slyphy to replace the Sentra for the C-class segment, and the Latio is to compete with Vios/City in the B-class segment.

TCM, listen to this. If you don't price the Latio 1.6 below RM80K (to compete with Vios & City), I don't think it will sell well just because its engine capacity is 100cc higher bigger. Before this, TCM has been known to offer reliable & quality Sentras with attractive pricing compared to the competitors. Hope they don't spoil it (like what happened to the oh-so-expensive Teana which should be Cefiro replacement).

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 4:04 pm

The US Versa and European Note are the same cars that have been on sale for over 1 year now.

Actually, the Versa 5 door (the only one I've been in) is much larger inside than the outgoing sentra. The new North America Sentra has already replace the current "TCM" version about a year ago. The Versa is only available with one engine choice, the 1.8L

• waimak (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 4:07 pm

Very nice but my family is getting bigger, I'm waiting for Qashqai.. :)

• kody (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 4:27 pm

wahlaueh…

haha… i know why TCM bring in this car with lower spec setup… to clear oversea old stocks from Nissan… thus cheapper cost… that's why other place already have 6speed manual…here… only bring in low spec & lousy, not up to date new engines…

I personally don't see the big potential for this models to penatrate large market share & compete with VIOS & CITY. when later newer VIOS launch…sure it is harder to sell this Latio…

• BrakeFader (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 6:30 pm

Someone say Dacia Logan? That would kill Proton off…. if the government allow its intended budget pricing to work in Malaysia. Otherwise it will be another overpriced car that nobody would buy.

• ingolstadt (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 10:52 pm

bugbear:

Yupe, the Sports Concept is conceptually what Nissan intends to fly off the shelves in Europe. European countries loves hatchbacks, hence a concept that maximizes interior space regardless it's 5 door or 3 door (Sports Concept is 3 door hatch). The sedan version is a spin off to cater for Asia market.

The thing i complain is that they only retain the basic shape and looks, the whole proportion, profile, sillouhette was altered in a bad taste. bleh~

Dacia Logan? I'd rather buy a WAJA.

• transformer (Member) on May 25, 2007 at 6:27 am

born loser…. too late… too many people already bought Vios and City… moreover new Vios are coming soon…

• schdmitz (Member) on May 25, 2007 at 4:30 pm

Is it really the new model????i saw 2 in kuching oledi…..look like alien mobil….

• h2k (Member) on May 25, 2007 at 6:55 pm

this car was intro in singapore since 2005…now only TCM bring in…somemore outdated engine?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 25, 2007 at 8:41 pm

i saw the new US spec sentra is more like an optra to me.. but i would like the US spec to replace the current sentra and latio made it on the 1.5L category.. Haiz.. stupid NTCM.. All coz of budjet..

• kei9 (Member) on May 25, 2007 at 11:01 pm

yeah…stu, stu, stu……=(

• granturismo (Member) on May 26, 2007 at 5:08 am

many ppl are willing to part with their $$$ for a Honda or Toyota, but I am not so sure for a Nissan

• transformer (Member) on May 26, 2007 at 6:58 am

lets see how ETCM price this loser…..

hope it won't follow it recent mistake…. their luxurios Teana at Rm230

• transformer (Member) on May 26, 2007 at 7:04 am

i mean in K's that is….

Rm60K maybe… Waja or Me(Latio/Tiida) ?

if Rm70K susah…( + somemore, get a City/Vios )

Never think of Rm80K or above… better don't sell….

• tec96248 (Member) on May 26, 2007 at 8:18 pm

h2k said,

May 25, 2007 @ 10:55 am

this car was intro in singapore since 2005…now only TCM bring in…somemore outdated engine?

==singapore got in 2005 bcos of imported model. overhere u need set up and get approval to assemble (CKD). outdated engine? how do u know?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 27, 2007 at 4:07 am

The last generation of sentra already used it the engine.. CVTC, while in Malaysia.. We still use the VTC engine until now.. I think when the X-trail lunch the new engine already in used… Coz X-trail use CVTC engine.. I think is in 2003-04 the HR engine already in used… Singaporean and Thailand Sentra got only 1.5L CVTC engine, but their torque is almost the same wif 1.6L VTC engine.. HP less.. Dont believe ask the Singaporean driving Nissan Sentra and see…

• nmh (Member) on May 28, 2007 at 7:26 am

very ugly…puke

• mmcwei (Member) on May 28, 2007 at 8:24 pm

side looking like honda city…the front looks like renault…

• vincentwee (Member) on May 28, 2007 at 10:27 pm

i saw Latio sedan ytd at highway..

singaporean car

sadly to say…it is UGLY

like Honda city mutant

and it is not spacious inside

not tall also

sigh…

• Meraboy (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 8:28 am

Latio…high price compared to City/Vios ??? Check the specs/advantage 1st, $ to $. 1.6 vs 1.5

vincentwee: "not spacious inside", u based on the car u "sawww" on the highway ?, i suggest u "sit" on it to justify what u sawww! man, space is one of the Nissan's weapon for Latio. check out here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2LX0kj2qIdw. (Versa for US market)

1 more point : Safety. It scored ALL 3 GOOD ratings for Front, Side & Rear crash test by IIHS, link:
    http://www.iihs.org/ratings/ratingsbyseries.aspx?… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C1RCL2zCVmU. (This video shows

the crash results of the Nissan Versa, Honda Fit, Hyundai Accent, Scion xB, Toyota Yaris and Chevy Aveo )
    http://www.nasva.go.jp/mamoru/english/2005/type/1…. –>JNCAP by NASVA Japan
    http://www.nasva.go.jp/mamoru/english/2002/as114…. –>Fit

Latio/Versa is offered in US, Japan & Asia, whereas Vios (based on 1st generation of Vitz, 2nd gen is Yaris) is only sold in ASEAN, China + Taiwan( the message is clear). — Correct me if I am wrong.

Malaysia market, like Taiwan, is driven by fancy accessory rather than ride/handling & safety features, as in EU, Japan & US. Hope Latio is a good star for compact segment.

LittleFire85,

TCM guy is either nonsense or ignorant. Nissan is the pioneer in CVT technology, with its Xtronic CVT (up to 245hp/318 Nm 3.5L) for Murano & Extroid CVT for Rear-wheel-drive 3-liter turbocharged Cedric , Gloria & Skyline, "Gearbox and maintenance is expensive"?…Which gearbox is not expensive, nobody said buy a new one. I know a few "chop shops" got it. The thing is like auto tranny, just change the CVT oil & filter, only the CVT oil is about 2-2.5 x than ATF oil. Hey, when u enjoy smooth driving without "shift

shock" as in AT car, u have to pay extra right ? I actually drive a Nissan Primera w/Hyper CVT. That's y i know.

• Meraboy (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 8:36 am

1 more point : Safety. It scored ALL 3 GOOD ratings for Front, Side & Rear crash test by IIHS, link:
    http://www.iihs.org/ratings/ratingsbyseries.aspx?… –>u have to "copy & paste" in a new window !

• sh_callum (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 6:07 am

I am totally agreed with LittleFire85 commented on the pricing. Latio Sports will be priced at RM88-90K range. I think this is what you pay a little more for a more roomy car than VIOS/CITY. However, with that 109 HorsePower, I think VIOS is a much better efficient car in terms of performance. Why ? VIOS is a 1.5L car but deliver 106hp and Latio is a 1.6L only deliver 109hp.

Latio Sports/hatchback is a car in between a VIOS and Altis. It is not exactly a direct competition to VIOS. If u take a look closer, it a a complimentary in between the gaps (between VIOS/CITY to Altis). In fact, it is a direct competition to Yaris, JAZZ.

Callum….KL

• chanlman (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 6:33 am

Check out the Latio Msia website: http://www.latio.com.my/ They have reveal some features (Perf & Safety, Interior) for Latio Sedan Latio Sport . Wow…. Its almost the same quality as the one I saw in Singapore last weekend. High Quality material (maybe slightly different from JDM) and finishing… Latio Sport have all the rear reclining/ folding seats. Interior color, Black with Silver lining OR Beige with Wood Lining.

Looks like the MR18DE (1.8L engine) is only for Sedan version. Manual Tranx also for Sedan version. I think All Latio should have CVTC. Maybe got option to opt out (SG has).

Plus one more point which is different from JDM (if not Japan than Singapore), the Msia I-Key, Intelligent Key has a Panic Alarm button, on top of the lock/unlock button. Wow… that's the way, Tan Chong Msia. (I've asked Tan Chong SG sales girl, unfortunately, they dun have a button to pops up the trunk door)

That's all for now. I saw the Impul Series personally at SG roadshow, gotta tell you… The Rear Wing spoiler its gorgeous!

• ved_der79 (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 12:37 pm

Damn….The Latio sport is cool, and doesnt have that cheep feeling like a City, or a Vios

• Meraboy (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 9:04 pm

agreed, Latio is more worthy.

• chanlman (Member) on Oct 18, 2007 at 10:24 pm

surprisingly since June 2007 until now, 4 months already, not many Latio on road. I guess the Price tag is just not acceptable by many malaysian. As far as I know, next year will have more add-on to Latio and it stays at same price.