Volkswagen and Khazanah to meet again this week?

Singapore’s The Business Times reported that Volkswagen officials, Khazanah Nasional officials as well as officials from the Prime Minister’s department will be meeting in New York for Proton-Volkswagen tie-up talks this week. An agreement is not expected, but the results of the meeting will bring the talks significantly forward towards conclusion, hopefully a positive one.

The Business Times did not identify it’s sources, only mentioning that it was an industry executive. Malaysians and Germans meeting in the US? How strange.

As for GM, there’s nothing concrete, only preliminary talks. GM’s CEO Rick Wagoner says “We are interested in talking about the opportunity there, but I think it is still more a possibility for us than a probability. The ball is 100 percent in their court in what kind of structure they want to pursue. It’s more a long shot than a likelihood for us.”

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• J (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 12:17 pm

Perhaps a 3-party venture ? GM+VW+Proton = ?

• mofo (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 1:32 pm

hmmm… i dont think so J. It's make the pie smaller. As cantonese said "meat not enough to eat laio" :p

Hopefully it will bring some good news, otherwise i would never have the chance to buy import cars. Why ? Recently Paul article talks about if P1 drop the tie-up plan., they would have plan B.

Source : There is some kind of plan B in Khazanah’s books – if there is no strategic partner to be found at the end of all the talks – product pricing

Meanwhile i check @ Toyota showroom recently, the SA told me new vios will be launch around Aug and the price estimated 10k higher from current model. The SA said he had the official price list/report, which i din bother to have a look on it. Someone plays dirty.

• joe203 (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 3:11 pm

Come on. Free holiday at New York only. No progress.

VW will get what they always wanted in the first place. 51%.

Proton is negotiating from a disadvantaged position all along.

Hmm too desperate, yet too proud.

• NiceCar (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 3:36 pm

huh??? keep talking from M'sia until move to NY??

keep talking and without point and action will not make any progress no matter at which location…

hahaha.. maybe next time move to Tokyo –> Sydney –> German –> Nepal –> China …. can have a trip around the world too..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 3:55 pm

"Makan angin" – used tax payer monies. Talk is cheap and free, all cost incurr let rakyat bear it!

• normaluser (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 4:39 pm

Probably the VW boss is in NY, and Khazanah officials finally understood that it is the dwarf that should bow to the giant. Our Malaysian dream starts again…

• digiman (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 5:09 pm

previously indonesia. now singapore?

• shaif (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 5:10 pm

Thats the most logical cause for the meeting in New York. Hopefully the Malaysian delegates realise the situation clearly and able to negotiate for win-win situation.

The issue should be finalised, either VW or else just announce Naza or DRB partnership with Proton. End of story, no more speculation. No more talking nonsense in the blog.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 5:22 pm

i agree……its getting boring already……qing xien liao……

• drM (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 5:23 pm

Come on, just end this Shakespear play lah.

like a malay proverb,

HIDUNG TAK MANCUNG, PIPI TERSORONG-SORONG

• rexis (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 5:25 pm

yay, more teh tarik… no this time starbucks kopi.

If all these teh tarik/starbucks will allow us to drive better cars, its all worth it. But I really dont expect much, really…

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 5:27 pm

How long they want to drag this saga? My advice is, never listen to the G or even bother to this VW-Proton partnership issues unless something conrete has been announced from VW side. The G just try to play some trick in manipulating the Proton shares…

• haroldz (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 5:29 pm

GM's CEO said up 2 proton to table d offer

proton is begging to hv JV wit GM.

GM is doin restructuring, so i dunno how proton can help them.

• indigo (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 5:53 pm

Still talking?…I saw Naza's Juara like small van on Gurun highway, looks ugly

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 6:19 pm

Naza got Juara? I tot P1 only have Juara.. Anywayz i think the G went to US to talk is having 2 advantage.. 1 is talk with VW, if fail still can talk wif GM.. Then the officer can holiday in New York and stay in 5-star hotel then claim with G the bill.. Wow..

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 6:24 pm

It seems that Singapore investors on PROTON also concerns about the Share price drop soon.

That's why they also said VW still talks with Proton. Hopefully PROTON share will stay and not drop further.

• floyd (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 6:55 pm

It's good to do business far away from home & get to shag as well.

Just perfect! Protong is doing what they are good at.

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 7:00 pm

Why must go to US? Malaysia cannot ka? Now they have to spend trip to US per person dunno how much… just for a TALK!!?? make sure it is a good one and give good result.. else, i see it as a waste of money = bad management. to reduce cost, they can have conference meeting via internet, like our PM is doing it for the Afgan (if i remember correctly)… y cant proton do the same???

• tec96248 (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 7:38 pm

hmm……..talk until to NY. from German to Malaysia then to US. Never think it can talk so long yet so far. who like the name porton talky to be launched if there is? hahahaha.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 7:43 pm

NoToLowQuality , brother, relax la..

the news report said Khazanah is going to NY, not Proton. at least read the whole article the next time before you post la.

Khazanah is involved in so many different businesses, i'm pretty sure they wont just fly to NY to talk about one thing.

mofo, i quite agree with your source on the vios pricing.. there is no way Toyota who is so well known for strong 2nd hand pricing, will dare jeopardise the 2nd hand pricing of the current vios, by selling the new model cheaper than the old one. Its a nice thought, but i think lets just keep it at that, a thought.

• ganz (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 8:27 pm

pitty on proton..

from having tonnes of cash money.. now praying someone to help them

i pray for the success of proton in the future.. terminate all vendor that supply low quality parts.. terminate all vendors that over price their product because of know-who rather than know-how

sack all staff that doing nothing.. CPS , campro, SUV, or what so ever is just a dream over a dream….

• albagmane (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 8:48 pm

if proton is stubborn with their 'benefits of the national goals' and 'national aims', i don think this talk is necessary at all…

• engtaokia (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 9:02 pm

News source from Kiasuland?previous news from Hazeland?how strange…

If Donald Duck Trump deal business like our Khazanah and Proton style, sure he now lingkup liaw…

Funny and stupid…another attempt to goreng saham for FREE.

• darkbrother (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 9:14 pm

it's obvious that VW wants to meet them at neutral ground. not pressured to govt's demand and so on. futhermore, if vw comes to malaysia sure they have to meet PM. VW corporate is a business minded ppl, they sure don't want to be in a situation to be influenced by politics and so on. if you get what i mean…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 10:29 pm

thy should meet in iraq !

• matomyam (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 11:53 pm

the reason of the delay is because the Govt is more intrested in pak lah,s merger with jeaane abdullah than proton,s merger with VW

• protonsucks (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 12:19 am

Shit…Malaysia Boleh lagi! Makan tahi la G

• vincentwee (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 12:48 am

dont know y an old guy whose wife just pass away 2 year ..can marry another women..whereby he told everyone he love his wife very much

at his age..he should focus on grandchild..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 1:18 am

"albagmane said,

June 6, 2007 @ 12:48 pm

if proton is stubborn with their ‘benefits of the national goals’ and ‘national aims’, i don think this talk is necessary at all…"

Its a government dream. proton management doesnt have any say in it. thats the sad fact. i just think its wrong for us to be 'bashing' the management when its clear that its the government that been holding proton back all this time.. with the vendors, and dealers, etc. etc.

• kody (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 1:34 am

wahlaueh…

really a never ending series… I am really speachless… , KAAT TUI… on P1 & G

• proton GL (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 1:45 am

i like to see proton exist in what so ever way, in a positive manner

• kruzer (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 2:18 am

I suggest they take a rose and peel the petals (like in those romance movies)

I talk to you….

I don't talk to you…

I talk to you…

I don't talk to you…

• szw (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 3:36 am

why so far ?

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 4:04 am

i wonder will they talk until go to space for example the moon

yeah talk at the moon. maybe interesting.

• electron (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 4:29 am

Since they're in New York, why not drag the UN in and discuss this 'saga' with the rest of the worlds leaders to find an amicable solution. At least there's some comic relief to the usually tense UN proceedings.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 4:32 am

Is NY VW base of operations? why not do it in their own country or in our country. Nasib baik they did not choose marthys vinyard…or maybe they are going just that place transit NY?

• granturismo (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 5:10 am

To engtaokia,

I don't think Donald Trump will lingkup ……… coz he will surely say Proton, you're fired!!!

LOL

• I my (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 5:42 am

or may be VW try to use the old trick to buy the ppl of "the Kha… what" some good deal in return of P1??

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 8:05 am

J said,

June 6, 2007 @ 4:17 am

Perhaps a 3-party venture ? GM+VW+Proton = ?

———————-

Perhaps GM+VW+Proton = 3 musketeer!

• kennhyn (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 7:40 pm

I just saw from Motor Trader website that volkswagon get the 51% share of proton and Sime darby will buy over the 43% from Khazanah, izit mean proton is under VW now? I think this is a good news.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 7:46 pm

kennhyn said,

June 7, 2007 @ 11:40 am

I just saw from Motor Trader website that volkswagon get the 51% share of proton and Sime darby will buy over the 43% from Khazanah, izit mean proton is under VW now? I think this is a good news.

dats true! i just post the news at the mazda kumano……

• Xoomie (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 7:47 pm

Sorry off topic,..

Paul, did you the get news of VW buying 51% of Proton. It's reported on The Edge today.

• digiman (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 7:48 pm

kennhyn.. i read it to.. but mana source? can't seems to find it on edge daily leh..

• digiman (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 7:50 pm

wah shiok

if true toureg and golf gti on the cheaps.. woohoo!

• kennhyn (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 7:56 pm

I can't find it in Edge too, hope they got their source rite…..hope got cheap golf soon….haha

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 9:02 pm

http://www.reuters.com/article/mergersNews/idUSKL…

heres the news about it……

• 3den (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 9:46 pm

wow…the Malay willing to step down n allow foreigner to manage protong?

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 12:03 am

abaden…………

• test-drive-unit (Member) on Jun 09, 2007 at 1:53 pm

why the fuss??? could proton just use if not all maybe some of the expertise in UTM, UiTM, etc ??/ they just as good as the foreigner if just anybody could take a break and see how far has our malaysians archive !!! maybe not in a big position but it has been almost 20 yrs since proton were build… where is our true path where is Tun M goals and dream when he first talk about proton ..supposedly our nation pride??? now what has happen??? a 51% to VW??? we'll be sold for sure..

NO!!!! we could let that happen…could we???

all i heard just make me think who'll will produce a simple plains car a family afford car ?? the foreigner??? are we too weak to make it ourself???

couldnt our RND make one?? forget about competitions..

i believe in our malaysian future… a cemerlang gemilang terbilang

we've student all over the world!! couldnt they have the expertise??

the foreigner have all the shortcuts to glory… but is that who we are ??? taking shorcuts??