South African church promotes Nissan Navara

Nissan Navara Pickup Truck

Now this is some really strange stuff. Contrary to what everyone is saying about how 4X4s and SUVs should be banned because of the excess fuel they consume, apparently Jesus wants you to drive a 4X4. A Nissan Navara to be exact.

At least, according to a branch of the Universal Church of the Kingdom of God (UCKG) in Soweto, South Africa. “God doesn’t want you to be poor and ashamed – he wants you to drive a new car. A brand new Nissan Navarra people. God wants to show his power in your life too,” said a South African preacher of the church.

Why a Nissan Navara? Apparently a couple gave a testimony about how they gave alot of money to the church, and in return God blessed them with a prospering business – which they used the proceeds to buy a Nissan Navara, among other things.

Talk about product placement to the max. That prospering business might have been a Nissan dealership. Anyway, interesting to note that the Brazil-originated UCKG is considered to be a cult that manipulates it’s followers for financial gain.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• normaluser (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 3:39 pm

Wow, that's BS! Never been in my life that I've seen preachers promote a brand new car to its followers. The 'Ayah Pin' cult of South Africa!

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 4:05 pm

hehe…. at least ask people to buy hybrids la, acceptable abit. This one go & promote pick-up. weird.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 4:47 pm

What's next? God wants you to drive a BMW? This is so materialistic

• alpha0201 (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 4:49 pm

“God doesn’t want you to be poor and ashamed – he wants you to drive a new car. A brand new Nissan Navarra people. God wants to show his power in your life too,”

I had no idea they had advertisement in church during preaching. I wonder how much Nissan paid him to say it?

• xg9 (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 5:06 pm

its a sin to drive other cars :-|

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 6:41 pm

huh? Jesus at his time where got cars? Maybe the church got buy some share from Nissan, LOL! Buy 1 nissan cars and the church got $500 commission.. Anywayz read the whole story, the person the church ask him to buy is actually a business man who went rich after donating money to the church.. Maybe god want him to live better for doing so much good deeds to the church..

• floyd (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 7:22 pm

This is a confirmed cult. Or at the very least a deviated church if you can even call it church.

This is no way a way of saying to others that you've been blessed by God. Why nissan? it can be/ could hav been any brand.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 8:17 pm

Check out the symbol on top of their church. Could be a Nissan logo instead of a cross. New strategy by Nissan?

• albagmane (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 2:51 am

haha even GOD oso wana be macho in driving a pick up…

• alpha0201 (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 5:02 am

No no no! It should be Ford F-150 Harley Davidson Edition!!!

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 5:16 am

hahaha! funny lol……

• szw (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 6:16 am

are we getting it here ?

• arcana (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 7:08 am

ahhah now thats hilarious, come on…..they decide to buy that Nissan and not like the Nissan did help them in any method or served them well through hard times……thats just plain duh!

so whats it gonna be next…..a Hummer for the church?

• transformer (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 7:12 am

so what if its a BMW ? or a Hilux Tundra ?

at least its a diesel that are more cleaner than petrol engine!

for our earth…

• GlowJo (Member) on Jun 17, 2007 at 2:14 am

Horey!! Finally we got corrupted preachers!! !!! Send them more money!!! because money is GOD!!!