Najib: “It has to be run on a commercial basis”

najib_tulan.jpgDeputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak says the government (through it’s investment arm Khazanah Nasional) will not sell all of it’s 43% stake in Proton Holdings Bhd should Volkswagen decide to take up a controlling stake in it, as it is the national car, so there must be some form of government involvement.

“Whether we can give up a substantial stake, that’s the question. Substantial means majority. Are we willing to give up a majority in the manufacturing side? If we want a foreign strategic partner then we have to accept the fact that it has to be run on a commercial basis,” said Najib.

Can we say that they finally get it?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• acbc (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 5:17 pm

Then, what are those dungus waiting for? Sell! Sell! It may be the only chance left for Proton. Otherwise, just close it down & walk away. Don't use public money to save a sinking ship!

• jcw9960 (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 5:23 pm

National pride vs corporate survival? We're back at this again. Sigh! It'll never end.

• Dogster (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 6:01 pm

That is so typical of our government management style. Going to die but wont want to give others the stake but expect others to come in take minority share and pump money into proton in order for it to survive. Which car manufacture is that stupid? (excluding our local ones).

• superman (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 6:12 pm

How is VW expected to take a controlling stake if they cant be a Majority share holder.

And as long as The Govt has their Khazanah idiots (like the fat chairman, who belittles the management) in Proton things will be hard going for VW, if/ when they do take a stake.

VW did well taking over SEAT and Skoda from being state-run. Why can't the Govt see that ?

• mofo (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 6:37 pm

Over and over again. Still talking about this. National Pride ?

My parents wont happy if i'm 25 years old still asking money from them. Instead of giving them money. This is not pride, this is shame. You should know what's right and what's wrong.

Bottom line, i still think that talk will fail. They found its too hard to accept the fact.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 6:37 pm

Now free market forces like external environment, AFTA "eat-over" crappy protective NAP! Good for the rakyat and gone to drain the cronies and sucking AP king!

Free Economic prevail over jaguh kampong Protonomics!

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 6:41 pm

well after 20yrs they finally awake???

but then dun jus talk & shiok-shiok sendiri saja..

how much is ur so called "nation pride" worth??

P1 boleeeeeeeeeeeh!

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 6:59 pm

To superman. I agree with you. The only way for VW to involved heavily meaning to help Proton of its products planning based on market trends, designing, R&D, manufacturing, improve Proton cars current quality and improve Proton cars safety to the higher level is to let VW own majority stake in Proton. As I said many times in other topics on how VW turned Seat and Skoda to profitable auto companies. Before VW took over these two companies, Skoda and Seat also have same issues as Proton does. So, I'm not asking Proton to close down if VW can help.

• longjaafar (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 6:59 pm

Until today, I still cannot understand what 'national car' means!

I doubt if the DPM knows either.

• bs (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 7:21 pm

In my opinion, Malaysian are capable of running their own companies, regardless of which industry, automotive, food, electronics, etc…

There is only 1 BIG problem…they have to scrap the NEP, and let the FREE commercial forces take place.

Without preferential treatment, people will learn to succeed from failing.

If not, people will never understand success, if they have not tasted failure.

You live in a protected environment, you will only be a BIG fish in a small pond. and Big fish in pond will drown in the OCEAN.

• RM (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 7:27 pm

If only it was run on a purely commercial basis in the first place, the issue of selling majority equity wouldn't be on the table. Seriously, I think they're just buying time to clean up their records so that past misdeeds are not uncovered by the Germans. Surely the recent accounting boo-boo's in the country have spooked everyone.

• NiceCar (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 7:28 pm

haha.. nice say mofo.. if the G still having such management style.. surely the P1 will be the shame but not the bride..

nowadays, the fat chairman mentioned by some1 should learn how to manage and how to survive..

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 7:31 pm

What's the point of being "national" if it is a national burden. Let the company run by people who know how to run a car business. VW has the experience and Skoda is an example.

• kody (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 7:35 pm

wahlaueh…

the more i look at the DPM picture the more it looks like face of bad guy… anyone agree with me??? :)

soon to 'run on commercial basis'… then currently it should be 'run on corruption basis'…whaahaa that why the bad guy face look so sad because of losing water pipe…. just kidding.

• clutch_plate (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 7:52 pm

The G think like the VW is the stupid child. Huh! WTF!! I think there's no end point about this issue. Just talk, talk, talk & go to makan angin everywhere… haiyooo…

• kanazai2001 (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 7:53 pm

better for VW to do assembly their cars in either Thai or Indon… since so-called the AP issue is solved!

• sacker85 (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 8:00 pm

ok whatever, i don agree vw to buy proton, is not i'm protecting proton, just a matter of fact, IF U WANNA SELL A SMALLER PART OF SHARE TO OTHER COMPANY JUST TO SUCK IN MONEY, PLZ DON DO IT, THIS STATE THAT OUR COUNTRY IS LACK OF MONEY AND MALAYSIA CAN'T EVEN SAVE AND SOLVE THIS PROBLEM FOR IT-SELF, . ANOTHER FAILURE DONE BY MALAYSIA. I FEEL SHAME LA, SELL 100% SHARE TO VW AND LET THEM TAKE OVER LA, THIS IS BETTER, NATIONAL CAR WON'T STAND LONG DE LA, HAIZ………….

1. 1ST U SEE WHO MANAGE PROTON'S PRODUCTION?

2.ANY QUALITY AND RELIABLE CAR PRODUCE?

3.PROTON IS WASTING G'S MONEY LA, WHERE'S G MONEY COME FROM? FROM CITIZEN LO….. HAIZ…..

4.IF WE WANNA SAVE SOME MONEY FOR OUR OWN, I THINK IT'S TIME FOR MALAYSIAN TO MAKE A DICISION —- TO SELL PROTON O NOT.

5.SELL 100% TO VW OR DON SELL EVEN 1%.

6.THIS KINDA IDEA AND PLAN IS REALLY S**KS, CIMING OUT FROM A F**KING IDIOT, THIS F**KING PLAN IS TO MAKE MALAYSIAN SHAME—— MALU!!!!!!!!!—

7.PROTON SUCK ENOUGH MONEY FROM G AND NOW WANNA SELL?… SOMEONE PLZ TELL ME WHERE ARE THOSE MONEY SPONSOR BY G WENT? IS IT SOME1'S POCKET? I GUESS IT IS.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 8:01 pm

believe me,the more thy say thy wont sell the entire stake,the more it means thy WILL sell the entire stake !!

• Jay (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 8:23 pm

Wooooiiiiii enough of talk lah …… just close shop .. don't give stupid execuses…just want to sit there and earn …. never sweat out ! morons !

• droll (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 8:59 pm

ah? run it on commercial basis? you mean all this while it wasn't run on commercial basis? LOL. now they finally admit it!

• ossd (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 9:09 pm

Thats the most bloody stupid comment i have ever heard!!!!

Why?!

Duh… " its has to be run on a commercial basis.." oii boss, you stupid or dumb or dreaming or wat. of course lah, real businesses operate to make money… you think ppl play play like you ah.. mr pink lips.

what a revelation…. "it has to be run on a commercial basis.." you mean all this while the govt has been running proton on a "play play" basis…wtf?!!! no wonder keep on losing money and the cars are crap lah…

hope these head honchos wise up…. please lah… giving up majority share is not like giving ppl to bed your wife..(but i believe the exact opposite has happened in other cases.. hehe ), when will they ever learn???!!

Even primary school kids know the answer!!!

100% of ZERO is still equal to 0.

for the love of the country…you guys up there do something noble for a change and give malaysia a good 50th b'day…

what does it matter…. you won't be around in a few months to come anyway boss!

stoopid farks.

• Sleepyhollow (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 9:41 pm

VW must take a lion's share of P's stake including production, design & marketing then its a worthy deal. Else, its just crappy. Inviting FDI and merger yet still wanna have a big say in the company.

Com'on 24yrs is already too lengthy for P's to pick themselves up and face the real commercial world!

U want VW's capital, abolishment of APs & hefty import tax!

Else P can just be a speck of dust before 2020 or much better 2008.

• eyching (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 9:51 pm

1. Proton is originated and manufactured from Malaysia. But, this does not define Proton as a National car. After all, they don't use bendera Malaysia as Proton logo.

2. 'Are we willing to give up a majority in the manufacturing side?' Nah! What else can Proton with their 'manufacturing side'?Manufacture more Waja & bla bla?

3. I don't they fully get the idea. Giving up Majority of the shares VS completely close down, which one will do more harm to the nation?

• 1NZFE (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 9:59 pm

P1 is not oli our national car!!! How abt p2? Y p2 can have 51 foreign company share n p1 cann't???

• mytouch (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 10:14 pm

Ladies & gentlemen,we are now watching the never ending "Dallas" type soup opera drama series…this shows will going on & on & on,like the battery commercial,until it personally shut off itself,like the Terminator…astalavista,potong…

• sacker85 (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 11:11 pm

ladies and gentlemen, i don know either i put this LINK is in the wrong forum o not, BUT I WANTED TO SHARE WITH U PPL ABOUT THIS STUPID IDEA FROM DT.???………..

READ THE CONTENT AND START THINKING LO, Y STILL WASTING TIME, TALKING TOO MUCH NONSENSE AND DOING TOO MUCH TO SAVE PROTON? HAIZ………….USELESS TAUGHT

http://tinyurl.com/2bl43y

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 11:33 pm

Proton IS the only national car. Majority of Pero2 is Japanese owned (Daihatsu and Mitsui-Sumitomo). Its more National than what most people think; not only the thousands of workers, also vendors and the workers who work for the vendors. What it does is to keep money in Malaysia. Rather than being siphoned to some other country and therefore reducing BOT (Balance of Trade). Which in terms helps our GDP.

But I have to say Rosmah was asleep when he did this speech. He was just being his own (!) pathetic self. Fact is there is not only one fat chairman but a whole gaggle of them on the top seats siphoning money from vendors, therefore running cost high (hey the vendors gotta make money after giving money), inhibiting the aspirations and real people with passion to grow the ONLY Malaysian car company.

Guess who suks up to Khazanah to get top posts in Proton? The real remedy is getting rid of Khazanah's shares AND influence.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 11:57 pm

Actually the vendors need to make more money than the money they give. If they were so good, they don't need to give money! Duh!

These Proton higher-ups dont take chicken feed you know. Buaya tembaga, mulut bukak aje tunggu bangkai masuk.

So these vendors provide products which are substandard (lower down cost to make even more money). What? You think all these vendors use CAD ah? Maybe pirated Autocad, if they are willing to pay somebody who knows how to READ them.

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 1:55 am

What is the government waiting for? Just sell proton to vw. Government don't have to worry about how to sell proton.If vw wants to buy stakes the government just have sell 40% of the proton shares (if they still want to hold on to proton),then appoint an advisor to monitor the executive. How's that? Great idea, right?

• szw (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 2:13 am

shut up Najib, don't come join in the automotive industry and get lost from the parliament .

• 1NZFE (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 2:45 am

If i m PM, i will not buy it frm Mitsubishi. I just sell it to Mitsubishi, same as p2. No more protection, no more import duty or excise duty. UMW, DRB-HICOM, INOKOM, NAZA, TCM n etc will recognice as our national car manufacturer same as in China's FAW n SAIC. Let them compete themselve…

But everything is over oledi. No more u-turn….

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 4:06 am

Only 1 word.. If a company cant independent for almost 25 years of helping from G.. Well better die ur own..

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 8:06 am

mofo..ur example was great la…and very true man!!!hahaha

they already said end of the year..so what all of us got to do??WAIT!!

what the people in the G doing??what is national pride????shutting down proton or sell them around the world with buatan malaysia sticker???if da G care so much of national pride…why did they go back to VW when they rejected at da 1st time???or even bother asking anyone for help!!so national pride is gone there..now they are delayin just to determine how mch shares will they get..thats all…PM how much,DPM how much,2nd finance M how much and last kahzanah how much..thats all..so faster do it man!!!we need good cars…we need then fast!!we need good management!!!we need a national car which can be call the peoples car…

how long u wan u to wait?????when world petrol price naik…the G just took a week to consider da impact on people..so they increase da price!!

when petrol price are down..they said its not stable yet..so decision cant be taken…

same goes to proton..when they made money…all wanted a piece of it…now..when losing money no one wanna take any reponsibilty..

i will vote for opposition..whose with me?hehe

• sxe10r (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 4:05 pm

oh common …. useless to holding P1 … citizen need new VW …. pls give up maybe best for our rakyat & they no more idea to protect P1 one so that citizen won't suffer to buying new car … pls la G give up this will soft many finance problem like MAS … cut it all the stupid lazy staft … Give UP Give UP !

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 4:23 pm

just wait la until it die. there are many problems on this but all of this problems is related to our G. too protective.

• raverus (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 4:54 pm

The form of producing no quality and lousy workers with bribery mindset from the purchasing dept.

• raverus (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 4:56 pm

No quality cars, sorry.

• mofo (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 5:06 pm

Guys after u read all these comments, scroll up and see the picture.

Do you feel want to punch your monitor ?

hahaha..

• khengyi82 (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 9:58 pm

the G is like, they finally find out they are doing wrong. they will pretend is right. try to think of it the G always using our income tax money to cover proton company. what for G want to do like that ? is just because of face problem that why don't want to shut down this company ? if don't want shut down stupid proton company then should be have stylist design and good qualify especially safety. nowadays accident always happen, almost all accident are proton car. why ? because proton car have stupid look, design and bad qualify of the safety. since this car type of stupid proton car always having accident then this stupid proton company should find out what problem and where have to modify the car to keep it safe to use on the road. in the end stupid proton company just do nothing. is this malaysia car means ? "proton u really sotong la" ! this few day in the mamak a lot people been discussing about stupid proton, some would love to see when is the stupid proton go to hell, haaa… what a worst happenning. actually proton company have everything it just because the management, i get some souce that for people work in higher department in proton sotong company, they say 'EAT MONEY' in cantonese. have u all notice why stupid proton come out new car and new design still simular with the old proton car even the engine ? because

1. they don't want to put so much effort on technology, they just do a little bit of changing then produce it as new car. the company don't even care about technology ,safety and quality. then sell it in higher price.

2. why the stupid proton sotong car in malaysia is sell 50% higher price compare in UK ? because they use this 50% to cover the loses money at UK and other country.

3.the name! actually name of PROTON is already a bad image in a lot country, so they don't dare to put this PROTON logo on exported model. such as the protonsotong car in taiwan is LOTUS GEN.2. for more picture u can click on this http://tw.f4.page.bid.yahoo.com/tw/auction/d25790…
    4. some of the higher proton company staff want to 'eat money' so they doing something on accounting there to take higher salary. such as 'normal' position can get around RM10-20k per month for basic salary.

actually still have a lot thing to list out but above is the main reason that stupid proton sotong losing money. losing money need our income tax money to cover it, what business was that ? then if i losing money who to cover me? the G just want 'face' only so that why want to protect this stupid proton sotong company without any reason. stupid proton sotong sales man always mantion yes this is 100% made in malaysia.for my opinion i don't think so because the engine technology is from japan and the design is copy from car company, copy here and copy there. in the end may i know what are own malaysia car technology ? means don't have malaysia car technology. what for want to do like that ? if malaysia cannot come out the own car technology why still want to develop it ? it just because of 'FACE' the G see other country come out thier own car so they have to do so lah. such as other country have the taller building then our country also want a taller bulding so they build twin-tower. means other country having what, our malaysia G also want to have. so this is why a stupid proton sotong car was born in malaysia. imagine if malaysia no proton car will feel so peaceful, every one driving his lover car and cheaper price with high qualify, safety and stylist. CBU or CKD car. wahh that was so nice to dream of it. wish i can drive a CBU toyota corolla altis 1.8 sport edition price on RM60K….. what a beautiful of malaysia if this really come true!

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 4:47 am

The Lotus Gen.2 that you called have been modified. Look at the Savvy at the back as display is using the Proton Logo. Look at that Gen.2 already done major modifications. Do not trust what you see blindly.

Even the 1st generations Proton Saga many people in Malaysia put the Mitsubishi Logo on it. So what do you think on that. I even saw Perodua Myvi owner change the Perodua logo to Toyota or even just take it off. Not only Proton and Perodua, cars with major modifications, even Toyota, Honda and other makes the owner just take off the logo especially the front as they change the front bonnet and bumper of their cars. Logo never mind for them…. not important. They just want their car to look sportier.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 5:05 am

To khengyi82. Do you know last year Toyota recalled how many of its cars because of so called EMBARRASSING RECALL?

The answer is 1.76 million worldwide.

Anyway, I don't mean they are lousy. All car manufacturers do produce DEFECT CARS. The questions is how many.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 9:13 am

*Clap**Clap*

Congrats!! This is the kind of people we voted to "keep democracy alive" and "believed in". Tepuk air, terpercik di muka sendiri, anyone heard of this pepatah before?

So yes, that makes me, you and everyone else look (fill in the blank), so really, if u guys really think you're smarter than this old fart, how abt time for a change? To those who can vote in the next GE, pls vote wisely. Because anything happen after that, don't complain because they're the ones whom you believed is the best. If not happy with it, "keluar dari Malaysia". Go to some 1st world country you've dreamed of, get a job, buy a BMW, then blog abt how wonderful life is compared to the 'dungus' here.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 3:38 pm

oh!!! tokmoh, u r waiting 4 me, is it???

u can say that kind of pepatah is because u r malay.

i nvr heard of it. i ashamed to be malaysian.

and i can tell u the truth that i already planning to get out from this country. maybe australlia, new zealand, hong kong, taiwan or japan.

after i successfully get out from here i will desperately insult m'sia in many many blog and even in front media if i got that chance. their road is far more better than here that is so much holes and bumps. 4u, enjoy ur bumpy ride 4 the rest of ur lifetime.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 3:42 pm

i wanna punch my monitor but i'm not that stupid. my monitor is quite expensive.

but my heart cannot stand to punch it now. not even punch but wanna kick it or go take a baseball bat and 1 time strike at it.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 8:32 pm

Eh???

Well I'll tell you the tale of my two sisters:

– They're both graduates from an Irish business school (many thought they're practising medicine everytime I say Ireland -.-)

– One decided to go back Msia straight after grad, the other got a job there.

– One cannot afford her own car, have to share wit my dad's old faithful Saga. Even petrol also my dad still have to pay -.-……

– The other one always go Paris, Amsterdam, London, etc and still have enough to eat nice food, bathe hot water, in her rented apartment. Mind you, apartments there are nt like apartments here. Even for the basic ones, they're quite elegant and luxurious….

– The other one always buy presents for the family here, including exclusive and expensive cakes to name one. Always tell how nice the place. She can afford a brand new car, maybe a Ford Mondeo, judging by her salary anytime, bt she dun want cuz she say might come back to Msia in the future, and that worries me badly. I dun hv to tell u guys why I'm worried, right?

So, did my sister regret coming back to Msia? Well, she's trying hard now to land a job in London, does that mean she's being unpatriotic or being smart?

That is why this country is unique. Petrolheads in other countries can talk abt cars all day long in peace, bt for us, there's always some selfish, greedy baistard who just cannot see us happily talk n dream abt the cars we fall in love with. They kacau us, we kacau them balik, as simple as that. This post then, is a solid answer to those who always comment "we shudn't discuss abt politics in this blog, politics hv nothing to do wit this car/topic". Well sorry, unless you're a sotong, you wouldn't want to sit where you are and let gahmen do w/e crap to the automotive business, and we just dismiss it as a "patriotic effort". Yeah rite.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 4:37 pm

Still holding someting to ghet the dividens if P1 does well. Gov are not stupid after all, just sly

• mofo (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 8:34 pm

#

The Unicons said,

June 29, 2007 @ 9:05 pm

To khengyi82. Do you know last year Toyota recalled how many of its cars because of so called EMBARRASSING RECALL?

The answer is 1.76 million worldwide.

Anyway, I don’t mean they are lousy. All car manufacturers do produce DEFECT CARS. The questions is how many.

#

Unicorn, no offense. Toyota admit the fault, at least there's a recall. But P1, did they announce any recall so far in 20 years ++ ? I do remember that P1's car, NEW CAR in 3days Cigarettes Lighter spoil, 30 days my "meter" all goes wrong as RPM stick @ 4k rpm, Temp indicator and Petrol indicator. Sent to Service Center claim warranty. They aware about the issue, but the technician said they dunno how to solve it at that moment as me left my car for 3 weeks. Bloody hell, what the purpose i buy that car ?

3 months later, the Center Lock spoil and Power window failure. So what is this ? Recall ? for Topgear's fan should know jeremy said during Kelisa's test out.

They are just a bunch of people built car w/o passion, and just want to gain money.