Ford F150 Harley-Davidson in Malaysia

It’s not often that you see a beauty such as this in Malaysia. Whether you hate pick-ups or not, there’s just something about it’s tough looks and tons of chrome everywhere that makes you wish like you had one. This Ford F150 Harley-Davidson Edition was spotted in Ford’s Jalan Tun Razak showroom.

More after the jump.

When I first saw the F150, my first impression was it isn’t really as big as I imagined it to be. It’s just a wider than the Ranger, but nothing really imposing. It’s supposed to be as big as the Hummer H2, but looks smaller because subconsciously the pick-up bed doesn’t add up to it’s size in our heads.

This particular model is a special Harley-Davidson edition. Apparently there are only two in Malaysia, one is this unit you are seeing here and the other is being driven by a member of the Malaysian royalty.

If I am not mistaken, the badging shows that this unit is the special Heritage Edition, a special edition of a special edition to commemorate 100 years of truck-building at Ford. If I am right, this particular unit makes 340 horsepower at 4,500rpm and 425Nm of torque at 3,250rpm through supercharging it’s 5.4 litre SOHC V8, but under the hood of the latest 2007 models is an updated 5.4 litre unit making 450 horsepower and 678Nm of torque going through the rear wheels via a 4-speed automatic transmission, yup – this truck is a 4X2, not a 4X4.

For this kind of exclusivity, you have to pay RM450,000 for it, which would have been really apt if this was the 450hp latest version – RM1,000 for 1 horsepower! That said, I really am not sure if this is a Heritage Edition or the normal Harley-Davidson edition, but it looks like the 2003 F150 Harley Davidson Heritage Edition to me.

The interior is huge, with leather everywhere. Harley Davidson badging are also all over the interior to remind you of the fact that you are not only just driving an F150, but a special edition.

A huge armrest in the middle makes this F150 a 4-seater. Rear legroom is huge, which I expect it to be considering the size of the cab on this truck.

Harley Davidson badge on the leather seats.

The Harley Davidson special edition emblem on the outside of the truck, with text clearly showing off the supercharged nature of it’s V8.

Something I have not seen before, a code entry system for the door locks.

Side-exiting dual tailpipe exhausts.

This is the best I could do to show scale of how big the F150 is compared to the Ranger and Everest next to it.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sxe10r (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 11:32 pm

cool Man !!!! V8 …. Monster in garage !!!!! Really wanna TEST the car !!!! it is supercharge in the upper center ???!! …. GRRHHH …

• rexis (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 11:39 pm

OMG, pure american muscle with supercharger is surely a rare breed. Forget about the fuel consumption, it is one pretty giant horse monster.

• engtaokia (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 11:42 pm

cool moster :D

but i still preferred chevrolet avalanche i saw last year…

• aj3377 (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 11:42 pm

I wish i had one….

• ab (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 11:42 pm

cool truck, but hideous interior. looks dated next to the ranger

• zanggief (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 12:22 am

Wa…man is juz like the commercial truck…it need few hundred to feed it as it is petrol power truck…

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 12:29 am

oh mine..Paul..

this is the type one that i wanna see on our road..

but poorly,only 2 in Malaysia..

better don't brought it here if only got 2…

but this is Marvellous Paul..

i like this..

hopefully Ford will do some changes for bring this pick up here,for Malaysian to own it..hopefully ford will open the market with large amount..

example using this f50 body,then mix it with ford ranger engine under this hood..

it's enough,then i'll buy it..

i belive that most of malaysian need this type of pickup..

• proton GL (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 12:32 am

out of place

• eezarm (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 12:38 am

grr…looks fierce…

wish the Hummel is here as well…

hehehe…

btw, i like the code entry door locks…

Brothers ada jual kah?

• Xoomie (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 12:40 am

When you crank the ignition, RM5 worth of fuel flies thru the air…..

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 1:07 am

This thing certainly packs a whallop in the power department due to it's high torque and horsepower nature of it's 5 liter V8 but it can certainly do the same to you if you ever get into an accident.

Due to the nature of it being classified as a truck, technically there aren't any government or privatized crash tests for vehicles of this class. Passenger safety and road safety have not been strict on these type of cars unlike NCAP ratings and miscellaneous for cars like ours.

I'm sure occupants can survive an accident in a truck of this sort but the 450hp V8 and 678nm of torques say otherwise. Just be cautious.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 1:07 am

How about the road tax?

I,m not familiar the amount with this LARGE 5 liters engine..

How much aa?

• silverfish (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 1:30 am

Watch as Clarkson rip into it then; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dE7oU2KT1T4

• nmh (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 2:52 am

Suitable with Thailand plate number. Tiny wheel truck

• albagmane (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 3:24 am

ermm… i wont pay tat money for a SOHC 4×2 pickup… nice to look at btw…

• szw (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 3:54 am

cool…

love that beauty , very american.

• jonnyblaze (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 4:21 am

Roadtax per year = RM 12930.00

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 4:46 am

Well, this truck is 4-door compare to UK spec only 2-door.. If u watch the youtube, top gear.. This truck is Expensive, Worst FC, low quality dash board, worst handling n cornering, and too overwhelm.. If UK ppl think it is not worth of buying it? How about Malaysia? Well, the people who can afford it only from $$$ people or royal family who think the tax is cheap, fuel is nothing, need big car to ramp into others car or jungle tracking.. Anywayz this car is easily stratch, only 4X2 mode n expensive.. So jungle tracking is not a good option.. So it is a total waste on truck plateform for which it only design for city+country side driving.. If this car is 4X4 mode, maybe more consideration..

• henter (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 6:17 am

OMG….my favourite….harley f-150…….damn….even though its truck it can go more than 160mile/h…fuyoo…this f-150 really drink the petrol….especially at the city…..anyway its cun….

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 6:21 am

indeed.

its really as same as the ford lightning but this version is 4 door.

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 6:35 am

love those side pipes & entry systems…unique…

• Javanese (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 6:47 am

One, this truck has been in Jalan tun Razak showroom for a very long time, since late last year IIRC.

Two, it's the 10th generation. I've had the priviledge of driving the new P2 F150 and the difference… light and day. Plus the new one looks waaay tougher and cooler.

Three, at roughly RM15k per year for the roadtax and less than 15km/L this is one of the worst car/truck to own in Malaysia. If this truck is the Lightning I probably wont mind that much, but it is just a regular F150 with a loads of leather and a badge that should not have been associated with anything on 4 wheels.

BTW, the full name is 2003 Ford F-150 SuperCrew Harley Davidson edition.

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 7:08 am

That door lock's cool, but not something I'd want on a car I drive :P I agree with you Paul, it looks surprisingly small; I was expecting something more gargantuan.

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 7:24 am

4 speed?.. not 4×4??… i like truck too.. but come on lah, what's so great about it? big & heavy engine? price? suit for super egos…. but i wud salute those who dares to own them….

• silverfish (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 7:31 am

One extra point to dissuade anyone who has pipe dreams of buying one.

Think of all the cars you could possibly buy with about half a million quid. Think about the quality you'll be getting. The marque, the status. Think about how well it drives and feels.

Well, you're not getting any of that when you buy this.

So, anyone who buys this must be either; a) really like his pick ups b) clinically insane c) loaded beyond recognition d) all 3.

• Javanese (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 7:39 am

What do you expect, it's the smallest F series truck on sale in USA. Real full size american pick up start with F350 and Dodge DH series. F150 are considered by some a "compact" truck much like we view the Kancil when compared to other cars.

• p_nut (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 7:41 am

the only reason this thing costs an obscene RM450k is simply because of exclusivity. A year 2003 ford F-150 in the USA won't even breach USD10k or MYR40k. OK, since it's "Special Edition" another 5k. They are all over the place. Kinda like our Proton to the Malaysian. absolute waste of money, even if i DID have the dough.

Imagine the amount of mark-up even after customs that Ford will make if they sell this thing so some unsuspecting fool. heheh

• Paul Tan on Jul 11, 2007 at 7:47 am

additional info that i found out: FYI this is a grey import by the showroom, not brought in officially by Ford Malaysia.

• reizan (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 10:10 am

All US edition Ford has a numeric keypad at the driver side for entry, not only F150. I am surprised to see this in Malaysia…. Parking will be a main problem, with the width and length…., and height.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 4:40 pm

this is definitely a plaything for the rich.. when you already have that M3 or RS4 and quattroporte in the driveway, and you tell yourself, "hey, i feel like getting a pickup". this is definitely a pickup with a difference… but you definitely have pay thru your teeth to be different.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 6:39 pm

Whoa… 5.4 Liter… roadtax gonna be a killer! If I'm gonna pay so much, I'll put them on an exotic rather than a pickup. Even a Mustang will draw more stare than this black hulk!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 10:47 pm

Nice, cool, I like it, but not the dull interior……….

and 450K is really crazy!!!!!

• xg9 (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 4:55 am

FUYOOO!! I WANT ONE!!! how come they dont sell the normal f150 here? alwyas been a fan of f150

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 5:46 am

if you guys wanna see bigger…look at dodge RAM….thats seriously big with viper's engine…

but not a ford.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 6:29 am

mitlanevo said,

July 11, 2007 @ 2:47 pm

Nice, cool, I like it, but not the dull interior……….

and 450K is really crazy!!!!!

————–

BCOS NAP IS SUPER CRAZY.

Log down below to see how low the normal F 150 selling price to super rich American.

http://autos.msn.com/research/vip/pricing.aspx?ye…

Mere USD 18K (RM 65K) to USD 28K (RM 101K)!

What is so valuable about Harley-Davidson Badge! Yes sentimentel value, but not over inflated price. The greatest culprit is still the super crap NAP! Log on below to see how much it price in super rich American!

http://www.nextag.com/Compare-Autos–zzford+f150+…

The price range for Ford 150 Harley-Davidson is from USD 30K (RM 108K) to USD 35K (RM 126K)

To sell at super price RM 450K in Bolehland! Ha, ha, …….. big joker! Aha, this one gold plated ahh ……

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 6:31 am

The big truck in US is Toyota Tundra and see the list below: –

http://autos.msn.com/research/category/default.as…

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 11:08 pm

and some nissan's too.

• coolguru (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 4:09 pm

Whatever the case is, I just so hope that all trucks/pick-ups should be registered under COMPANY only to reduce private use. It's exteremely annoying when one tailing you behind with higher headlamp (especially those mod to HID light), parking virtually any place they like, overtaking like nobody business and many other incidents one could recall.

I seriously think the gov should do something with it, either slapping a huge tax for private use or limiting the sales of this not-for-city-car!!!

• one (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 6:42 pm

I could not believe that there are only 2 of such in msia, because everyday I pass by this truck not knowing that is so scarce.

It IS BIG, as for the front-to bumper length is more than a Hummer.
    (I know this because that same owner owns a hummer. Wow man)

Right now I’m really impressed. But what can I say? I hope that one day my Wira will grow up to be a F-150.

• hksp (Member) on Dec 21, 2007 at 9:07 pm

one driven by msia royalty, just guess where they money came from, this country sux

• Martin Morillo on Feb 14, 2009 at 10:00 am

I am interested in this same moel as as is with right hand drive, could you please let me know if you have any for sale or if you know where I amy be able to find them.

• justin on Apr 22, 2009 at 5:33 am

the truck is held to u.s. market standards its probaly safer than any other vehicle in malaysia i would know im american and i have an 2002 f150 xlt those harley davidson trucks are all over america

• justin on Apr 22, 2009 at 5:37 am

[quote comment="99028"]The big truck in US is Toyota Tundra and see the list below: –

http://autos.msn.com/research/category/default.as…
    no its not the best seliing truck for 26 years in the u.s. has ben the ford f150 and it still is

• Yes i got one and is fantastic best fun vehicle I ever own!!!

• Paul Tan and Papa says on Jul 04, 2010 at 4:36 pm

It’s not often that you see a beauty such as this in Malaysia. Whether you hate pick-ups or not, there’s just something about it’s tough looks and tons of chrome everywhere that makes you wish like you had one. The new Ford F150 SVT Raptor was lanched in Ford’s Jalan Tun Razak showroom.Im SVT models, the badging shows that the new gril is the name is F.O.R.D, a special edition of a special edition to commemorate 100 years of truck-building at Ford. If I am right, this particular unit makes 340 horsepower at 4,500rpm and 425Nm of torque at 3,250rpm through supercharging it’s 5.4 liter SOHC V8, but under the hood of the latest 2010 models is an updated 5.4 liter unit making 450 horsepower and 678Nm of torque going through the rear wheels via a 4-speed automatic transmission, yup – this truck is a 4X4, not the 4X2
    For this SVT Raptor of exclusivity, you have to pay RM450,000 for SVT Raptor,When I first saw the F150, my first impression was it isn’t really as big as I imagined it to be. It’s just a wider than the Ranger, but nothing really imposing. It’s supposed to be as big as the Hummer H2, but looks smaller because subconsciously the pick-up bed doesn’t add up to it’s size in our heads.

This particular model is a special Harley-Davidson edition. Apparently there are only two in Malaysia, one is this unit you are seeing here and the other is being driven by a member of the Malaysian royalty.

• About that Raptor. Is it rhd or lhd?