Volkswagen Polo BlueMotion now more economical

Polo Bluemotion

Volkswagen is of the opinion that if you don’t continue to improve your products and keep at a standstill, it is actually a step backwards as technology always evolves.

Thus, Volkswagen has further improved the Volkswagen Polo BlueMotion‘s fuel economy by a little – from 3.9 litres per 100km to 3.8 litres per 100km, thanks to a 3-cylinder 1.4 litre TDI engine with 195Nm of torque that allows high gearing, low wind resistance with a drag coefficient (Cd) of 0.30, as well as low rolling resistance thanks to fuel-saving tyres.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 7:51 am

this is a very economical oil burner

if vw brings this in, im sure it can be successful, 190nm of usable torque, hehe

• sxe10r (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 8:35 am

now day ppl look for save fuel car not the high torque , horse power & suck fuel cars … P1 wat the Fxxx u waiting for ~ ….

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 8:52 am

oil burners are nice, but our diesel quality still not up to par. BMW’s new diesels had problems with our local ‘oil’.

sxer10r, no one else has an extraordinary fuel efficient car in malaysia other than a few diesels anyways, except maybe for honda with the city idsi. So why only directing your anger at proton?

besides that proton is some malaysian record holder for fuel economy around malaysia with the savvy right?.. so there you go, your fuel efficient car right there.

what about all the lpg powered proton taxis and airport limos runnning around? they’re extremely efficient as well, and clean.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 9:00 am

Europe has been doing their part to be clean by using more diesel than petrol for many years now. When will Malaysia follow suit? All I can see is buses and lorries with bad engines puffing black smoke all the time. Road tax for diesel is way too high for passenger cars and the G needs to change that to encourage diesel that creates less carbon monoxide than petrol.

BMW, Savvy is considered a manual car even if it uses a sort of manumatic trans. LPG range is WAY TOO LOW. Do you know they have to fill up the gas EVERY TRIP??? Range is like 80km or so. Can you imagine going to the gas station EVERYDAY?

• transformer (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 9:37 am

YES for the environment and its owner pocket!!
    its the best of both world!

guess when would these trully green cars would reach our shores at affordable prices… just when ?

Sigh!

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 3:01 pm

Dear KL-ATR,

Now you know why Petronas is one of the world’s top 20 most profitable companies in the world. In fact there’s no Hybrid or electric cars being brought in…

• szw (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 3:53 pm

not in m’sia .

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 4:05 pm

just hate some people driving,
    forgot to change to fifth gear,
    stay only in third gear only, weather slow turn end cruising at 60,
    burning clutch driving style,
    wrong gear at wrong speed,

“this car aar kuat minyak”

• arcana (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 4:41 pm

well even if hybrids and electrics do come in……will consumer buy in the 1st place? high road tax, crazy price tag and expensive maintainence does not equate much to the fuel savings that u can get.
    2009 is the key as euro 4 rolls in….lets hope for some good oil burners that europeans have enjoyed for years. and from this viewpoint….oil burners that are less than 2.0L doesnt have very high road tax, and maintainence way cheaper than hybrids or any high-tech vehicles.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 11:02 pm

economical, at least make it look nicer…

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jul 21, 2007 at 1:29 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop,

well said…and very true!!

• austin_cipan (Member) on Jul 21, 2007 at 9:52 am

CNG is cheap. But did you guys know that Petronas is losing money each time they produce CNG? But the government is still pushing them to produce something which will not profit them to help taxi drivers, mostly in KL, to reduce their petrol bills. CNG is good. But, due to the mileage limitation, it does not really a solution to the increasing fuel price.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 21, 2007 at 10:07 am

Well, how about driving the savvy around Genting, cameron highlands n ipoh hill roads.. I bet that VW performance n high torque car will eat that savvy clean in both FC n comfort! The car is suitable on high way cruising, more space n safety compare to savvy. If i not remember 6-speed manual, compare savvy 5-speed manual?

Who want to bet that if running in highway in 110km straight from JB to Perlis which car more better FC? That savvy get best FC is becoz they drive only 80KM below, but in reality do u drive that speed on highway? U will be as slow as an snail, as lorries will honk u to pass over!

• khimfoh (Member) on Jul 21, 2007 at 5:49 pm

#
    LittleFire85 said,

July 21, 2007 @ 10:07 am

Well, how about driving the savvy around Genting, cameron highlands n ipoh hill roads.. I bet that VW performance n high torque car will eat that savvy clean in both FC n comfort! The car is suitable on high way cruising, more space n safety compare to savvy. If i not remember 6-speed manual, compare savvy 5-speed manual?

Who want to bet that if running in highway in 110km straight from JB to Perlis which car more better FC? That savvy get best FC is becoz they drive only 80KM below, but in reality do u drive that speed on highway? U will be as slow as an snail, as lorries will honk u to pass over!
    —————————————————
    I think any car for that matter of fact, that travels at a constant speed of 90km/h can yield a good fuel consumption.

BTW…you driven a Savvy before meh ?

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jul 21, 2007 at 6:21 pm

not fair comparing diesel car with patrol, in fuel consumption,
    diesel capable of running at low rpm at speed, because a volume of diesel produce store more energy more than patrol ,at the same time really not sa high cobustibility as patrol, therefore the energy characteristic given by the diesel best transform pushing power, which is torque, rather than rapid high combustibliy of a petrol that can be translated into ‘good accleration’ ,

therefore this slow reaction knocking free, advantage over energy stored burned into pushing power, certainly diesel win in km/litre.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 22, 2007 at 10:14 am

My friend own a savvy. He told me in city driving the FC is good.. But on highway at 110km/h, the RPM is almost 3000rpm.. So do u think it is save? Even my wira only 2600rpm, from Penang to KL 300km my car only used RM30 to get there.. But his savvy.. Err.. near RM40.. So not all car are made for everything.. If savvy so good in FC, why they are not selling good? Even Sentra also save fuel! ( Claim by their own management!) Every car also save fuel between 80km/h, but in reality do we really drive so slow in highways?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 22, 2007 at 10:25 am

BTW khimfoh, Have u drive any six-speed manual car before? At least have u seen a Toyota Trueno 20V blacktop with 6-speed manual? If u tested 1 before, u would never touch a 5-speed manual again, i bet it! 6-speed manual are close-shift, gear ratio short n final drive is high for highway cruising. Sometime is not the engine that helping the FC but also the transmission.. In reality if Savvy have that diesel engine + 6-speed manual in it, It will even save more FC!

• Bbingbong (Member) on Jul 22, 2007 at 11:31 pm

so whats use ur ESP and make 6 speed tranny and diesel engine for savvy..hahha ESP

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 1:02 am

Anywayz ESP mean Electronic Stability Program or stability control in car technology. Afterall this is a car blog! We speck more better technology, I think even ur car dont have an ESP on it.. Better watch out during rainy day driving n avoiding foreign objects on the road, dont skid, oversteer or understeer..

• farhathaniff (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 9:14 am

i was driven around in this Bluemotion today to the train station and actually its quieter than my friend’s 2006 Polo. But dont like the styling of it, eventhough its suppose to be lighter to make it fuel efficient.

here in berlin costs around 11,000 EUR maybe less or maybe more. Dunno bout Malaysia.