Mazda RX-8 Rotary Engine 40th Anniversary Edition

The Mazda RX-8 Rotary Engine 40th Anniversary Edition celebrates the 40th anniversary of the first use of the rotary engine by Mazda back in 1967 in the Mazda Cosmo Sport. The limited edition car is based on the Type S and Type E RX-8, comes in Marble White and is limited to the Japanese market with a grand total of 200 units.

The Mazda RX-8 Type S (manual) or Type E (auto) base is upgraded with Bilstein dampers, and the front suspension cross member is filled with urethane foam to provide an ideal amount of vibration supression. Brakes for the Type E have been upgraded to larger ones that already come standard on the Type S, similiar with the 225/45R18 91W tires and 18-inch alloy wheels.

The 1.3 litre twin rotor engine has had it’s rotors finely balanced for their weight and rotation characteristics, and a special engine cover has been added.

On the interior, it is trimmed with black genuine leather and light silver Alcantara combination seat covers and a light silver synthetic leather door trim. The seats are 8-way power seats. The leather continues to find it’s way around the interior – steering wheel, and gear shift are done up in a similiar classy way.

It’s too bad that the car is only available for the Japanese market but perhaps a handful will be specially brought into other parts of the world by grey importers.

Two more shots after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nizam80 (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 1:00 pm

I’ve never seen the interior of an RX-8 before. From the pics, it looks classy! The rear cabin looks quite spacious for a sports coupe, but i’m sure there’s ample headroom there.

• afroiq (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 1:21 pm

ahh..always be my dream car..as i’m a student..hope i can afford it in three years time..

but heard of it engine..will drink oil like pepsi..how bad is that??..anyone..

• Mayonaise (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 1:36 pm

Hmm, I wonder if the balanced rotors would improve the engine performance or not…

As a Mazda fan, I feel proud of this 40th anniversary of the Wankel engine…

• silv3r (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 1:49 pm

yup..it drink fuel like coke…
    haha..

• aesthari (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 2:17 pm

NIce! Still my favorite car, alongside with it’s older brother the RX-7!

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 2:30 pm

nice…but aint frugal…oh well ;)

• hakim (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 3:11 pm

yup, thirsty car indeed. just be prepared for it! hehe

• szw (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 3:45 pm

i love the colour .

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 3:52 pm

Thristy? not really.

You have to compare the fuel consumption to larger naturally aspirated cars, possibly with one of 2.6-2.8L that makes 230hp.

Brings the FC thing better into perspective.

However, the car is a willer performer, so, I guess the driver is much to blame as well.

The Rx8 is getting long in the tooth. Bring on the Rx7 replacement. The Rx8 still looks odd for a sporty car. It sits too tall and not wide enough to have presense.

• ganz (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 5:17 pm

ya.. that true.. it not fair to compare this 1.3 engine with 1.3 of myvi
    the only thing that u can save is on ur roadtax..

still i love this car.. it boost ur ego right away..

• darren82my (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 7:49 pm

i wonder if the Mazda RX-8 will come out extra body kit’s for 40th Anniversary Edition.

however, i do love this car…well done, Mazda!!!

• wanwnp (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 11:35 pm

i prefer rx7 more than this thing..
    rx7 looks more sportier and very japanish…

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 12:13 am

fuel consumption equals about cars near the 220kw or 280 ps range to about 290kw. in other words….from an evo’s fuel consumption to a 5.4litre v8 holden when pushed.

though this is still a true sports car.

• exodust (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 4:58 am

Because rotaries have multiple combustion chambers per rotary, the displacement of all the combustion chambers must be measured for true displacement. When measured fully, RX-8’s engine is seen displacing 2.6L (2 full rotations of the eccentric shaft). It is techincally not a 1.3L engine as advertised, therefore it doesnt really have an impressive horsepower/liter output. Although, its fuel consumption isnt that bad either when compared to other 2.6L engines but its still not that great.

@the first poster: the rear seats are not as spacious as the picture makes it out to be. It can get pretty uncomfortable for adults to sit there, even for us smaller sized asians.

Hmm, I’m not all that excited about this special edition model because I’ve never really liked the RX-8. The design is awful, it neither looks luxurious nor does it look sporty. It just looks.. actually, I don’t know what look the designers were trying to achieve.

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 11:24 am

everyone have their own perspectives at the beautiness of a car. its like someone saying that jLo’s enormous butt is sexy, while some other not. for me its still a beautiful car. it has a 1.3 enginee but produce bigger power than any other 1.3 engine, so thats why it sure a one big petrol guzzler..

• wanwnp (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 5:03 pm

kalau rosak tengah jalan di jalan kampung2 di malaysia,
    agak2 ada mekanik boleh repair tak? hahaha..rotary tu..

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 2:12 am

fuel consumption is alot higher than 3.5litre engines.

the driver feel and position of sitting in the rx8 certainly beats alot of rival cars…i,e 350z, s2000, ITR, mx5, or any hot hatches.

its perfect fit for asian bodies. maybe its why hammond prefers it in top gear.

• mzfnd (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 2:57 am

Can’t afford it so, won’t even say anything about it. I guess I’ll dream of that Cosmo back there for a change :)

• rexis (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 1:51 pm

When a conventional cylinder engine go one cycle we have one combustion. Wankel engine go one cycle have three combustion, therefore, the fuel consumption is like 3 times of 1.3, and the extra horse power. Whats more, this engine can rev real high, more fuel, more horses.

• ybng (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 2:03 pm

Paul, I think the old ” COSMO ” still look very elegent today, as with other older cars like Alfa GTV, Giulia. With the amount money spent on new shapes, it is still possible to re-engineered a modern car with the old shape-a bit like the mini and Fiat 500, but without increase in size ?

• exodust (Member) on Aug 17, 2007 at 10:49 am

@topgunthang: how are hot hatches considered rivals for the rx-8? they are neither in the same car category nor are the engines (of most hatches) in the same displacement group. Also, the s2000 and mx-5 are roadsters whereas the rx-8 is a coupe. the integra and 350z are also coupes but they use a 2.0L and 3.5L engine so its not a direct comparison. Get your facts right before comparing apples and oranges

And for the record, s2000 > rx-8 in driver feel anyday

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 17, 2007 at 8:18 pm

not much to say actually, the RX-8 is a great car to drive…..

• johngoh1982 (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 7:12 pm

I like the REX as well. its the not the fastest car around but its certainly one of the best all rounder. i have owned a 231bhp RX-8 for 2 years before i bought an E46 M3 this year. The M3 is alot faster but i think the REX is the better driver’s car because you sit lower and the cabin is more cosy and makes you more confident when taking on corners. I can also confirm to you guys that it is a definitely 4 seater and the rear seats are as comfortable as the M3 coupe. i am almost 6 foot and can fit the rear seats perfectly with enough leg room and head room. This is a good thing because it just means you will be showing off and driving the car more. The S2000 and 350z are also great driver’s cars but the S2000 looks too outdated and the 350z is just annoyingly noisy at any speed. Not to mention that they are 2 seaters which means you can’t take friends or family out. Give more than 1 friend a ride home etc. Unless, you have thick skin and no friends, the cars will be at home most of the time. The fuel consumption will be hopeless if you do a lot of city driving, but that is the same for a 350z. However, once you get cruising on the highway, the fuel consumption will be reduced by half easily. Depending on personal tastes, i quite like the looks of it expecially when you get all the Mazda sports trims on it (not the Mazdaspeed trims though) which makes it look very classy. i have pictures if any one is interested.