Over 8,000 bookings for the Proton Persona

Proton Persona Side Profile

The Proton Persona has received an better than expected response so far, scoring over 8,000 bookings since the car was launched slightly more than a week ago. This includes the 2,200 bookings that were made before the Persona was launched.

We are happy with the response received thus far. We are also touched by our consumers belief in us. Two thousand two hundred of them booked the Persona without seeing it during the pre-launch activities and now we have over 8,000 bookings. On behalf of PROTON, I would like to thank all those who have and are continuing to support us. Quality issues previously brought up by consumers have been addressed in the Persona. The PROTON i.CARE initiative was rolled out specifically with this in mind. We want our consumers to know that we are not merely paying lip-service to the You Can Count On Us promise but every PROTON employee, myself included, will strive towards delivering this promise,” said Proton managing director Syed Zainal.

Proton expects to sell about 4,000 units of the Proton Persona a month, and it looks like the public has received it well so far. I hope the Persona stands the test of time in terms of both sales as well as quality. We now wait patiently for the Proton BLM, which will replace the aging Proton Saga.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 6:57 pm

Good achievement for a car that eventually meet the market expectation!

• nescartel (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 7:18 pm

damn, over 8000++ bookings? :-o
    ahaha… looks like i’ll have to be on a looooong waiting list then, hehehe :p
    GO Proton!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 7:24 pm

the hardwork for proton starts now, meeting the aftersales expectation of customers should be their no.1 priority now.

• The Unicons (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 8:15 pm

Well, I guess no need for me to say too much about it based on the booking amount. However, still got long way to go Proton. Time will see whether Persona can still well receive after months and quality is really meet the expectation meaning those equipments, fit and finish, plastic stuff still in good conditions after many years of use.

People still trust on Proton might be because of the Savvy and Satria Neo because those two models also have so much lesser problems compare to models before such as Waja and Gen2. However, Savvy and Satria Neo didn’t received well as Savvy got a bit weird rear look and Satria Neo is 3 doors hatchback so the market is a bit smaller.

Anyway, there are space for improvements to this Persona. By the way, future models such as BLM and so on must improve and have to be better than Persona especially some plastics which can be found in Persona still not up to standard.

Happy motoring! Drive and keep safe.

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 8:25 pm

Very good for proton.When will wira stop production?Those looking for a bargain can try ask dealers for that discontinued wira, maybe slightly cheaper by few k

• driver (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 8:27 pm

the car look very nice. but hope the salesmen don’t sombong lah got 8000 bookings. keep in mind competition from other brand is still great.

• offroader manix (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 8:31 pm

Congrats……..now see how many get approve on LOAN !

• The Unicons (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 8:37 pm

All the best to Proton. Keep up the good work and don’t be too happy with this achievement. All the Proton guys must work hard including all the vendors too. Only that, Proton will have better products for Malaysian.

Of course, improve your safety features too. For now, it’s good but not good enough thorough.

All the best again

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 8:39 pm

Well done to Proton and kudos to the buyers who still believe in them. As The Unicons said, it’s just the begining. Don’t sit on it but strive to improve more on the product in term of quality and performance. Any news on the Waja Campro CPS anyone? I’m waiting eagerly for that one…

• fastlvl (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 8:56 pm

Weell done Proton. I booked the HL Persona at the 1st day of softlaunch didnt get the car yet. Dunno u still can deliver the 8000+ on time???

• nanashisan (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 8:59 pm

soon…. its going to be over NINE THOOOUUUSAAANNNDD!!!

• nmh (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 9:06 pm

one more request….replace waja and perdana

• proton GL (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 9:06 pm

every sector or people related to proton must have passion for PROTON,
    people who make a piece of clip/or pin or part should be proud that they contribute something that hold the car in piece, ‘im gonna give proton the best, out of my component i made, and suggest to proton ive batter way of doing it so that i ll stand with the test of time, – i m telling u ,that part ,i made for proton ,look how good it is,

• proton GL (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 9:14 pm

nmh said,
    August 23, 2007 @ 9:06 pm

one more request….replace waja and perdana
    —————————————–
    would one of this become MPV as the replacement is grown in size

• nmh (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 9:16 pm

I expect the BLM might have controversial design issue …just like savvy. Proton shud think again

• nmh (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 9:21 pm

Maybe they can built new platform for perdana and produce various model…a new perdana, MPV and crossover

• transformer (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 9:29 pm

8,000units x Rm45,000 = Rm360,000,000
    9,000units x Rm45,000 = Rm405,000,000
    10,000units x Rm45,000 = Rm450,000,000

Did P1 invest Rm100,000,000 for Persona development ?

• moto_moto (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 9:31 pm

nmh said,

August 23, 2007 @ 9:16 pm

I expect the BLM might have controversial design issue …just like savvy. Proton shud think again

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 9:45 pm

you gotta be kidding me….8k’s?? in just a week?? awesome man…

BLM? yeah it may be contraversial with the designs but it’ll attract more ultra low budget buyers to the showroom.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 10:13 pm

good job proton,but please continue checking the quality time to time and be more consistent with quality and more will buy a proton because many still holding back and waiting for the first thousand to give their review about the car!!so please proton…keep the effort of better fit and finish for the entire life cycle of persona and all the new cars…

i spotted the BLM near tanjung malim few days back…it was black,front lights like vw golf/polo facelift…and its not a small car…

• freeze (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 10:14 pm

The Wira buyers have shifted towards persona. Plus festive season coming up, all wanna show off their new cars.

• freeze (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 10:18 pm

Switch on the rest of the factory!!

• anj97 (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 10:22 pm

The new Proton Pesona is the extention version of Gen 2 is it? Why no malaysian realize it?Still the dunggu malaysian go and book the out of date design?The price is too hign for a Gen 2 Extention.What a joke.Why?Proton designers are lacking of ideas is it?One look at a car a person should be able to differentiate between quality and no quality.Proton never manufactured quality cars and is there to take the fool malysian for a jolly good ride.Even Hyundai cars looks better.Or Kia.Since 1985 none of the models have impressed me.Just add on some garbage and say its a new car.Proton pls buck up or pack up.But Proton can still survive as long as there are local market to purchase the useless protons.After 50 yeras of Merdeka,proton can produce a car look like a Gen 2 extention,all malayisan should realize that proton is heading no where.Its better option to look at Nissan,Toyota or Honda cars.

• xylencia (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 10:34 pm

Good show proton. Very proud of you :)

• prangin (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 10:48 pm

An encouraging start for persona. it’s about time for proton to regain lost ground n d public confidence.. to PESC boys, get ur act together n dont drop d ball this time… peace.

• ab (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 10:54 pm

Paul, can you do a quality comparison btwn the gen.2 and persona? they say the dashboard quality has improved, but you can’t really tell from pics….

• nescartel (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 11:13 pm

look what i found on the net! :-D

http://img523.imageshack.us/img523/2904/concern207lf6.jpg

it’s some sort of official checklist *maybe*
    about what the new persona improves
    over the existing gen.2…

looks like they really ARE listening to customers’ voices…
    which is GOOD…!!! :-)

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 11:16 pm

freeze said,
    August 23, 2007 @ 10:18 pm

Switch on the rest of the factory!!
    ——–
    Don’t be too optimistic, Tg Malim capacity is over 300K units per annum. Do you think one model like Persona can capture 80% or more of the Malaysian car market! Or approximately 900 car per day? This is the greatest joke of the day!

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 11:23 pm

nescartel, looking at the link provided by you. The top ten Gen-2 concern shall be “no buttock”! And now Persona come with “buntut yang mempersonakan”, that shall be the reason for brisk sale. The concern in the list is more on problems encountered in Gen-2 that Persona manage to overcome. But the main selling point for Persona is still proper sedan car with extended buttock job!

• hyundai (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 12:17 am

hm… looks good to proton… hope this car can really save proton!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 12:24 am

His winning booking strategy.. Cheap.

Does anyone here can tell me that Cheap products can come with excellent quality in this real world?

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 1:17 am

Very good market response for Persona..
    Got my salute, 8000cars within a few weeks. Tabik springgg!

Come on, recover your RM619+million loss. Start to make profit margin, make more money to capital.

Get more money, R&D get better techs, vendor can give more quality material, more great gadget, more better spec for future Proton cars.
    Hey cronies and government, don’t ‘paw’ Proton’s money lah!

The most important is, we as customers can get car with value for money.

p/s: my Persona was swapped with 17inchers and lowered spring. Look awesome and eye catching for others. But i give my wife to drive it. I’m jealous , my more expensive car don’t attract anyone. huh!
    Yes, new car right?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 1:30 am

I dont get it.

I would still get the tail less Gen2 over the Persona.

Never quite understand the malaysian car buying public on why they like sedans this much.

• anj97 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 1:38 am

At the comment on the new Pesona, many ppl say its good design and all.But basically its just an extention of Gen 2.How malaysian can be so blind.I am an malaysian,I just wish Proton can produce better quality cars.Learn from the expert.Just look how the local chinaman mod the cars.Some are over modified but if ppl look at the larger pic some are beauty.Basically Proton’s idea to manufacture cars are based on can take a person from point A to B.I dont give a damm how the tail light looks like or the interior looks like,in layman term as long as 4 weels can rotate Malaysia Boleh.I feel very disappointed with the latest Persona design.Its a sad thing.I have owned a Proton before.It gave me hell of problem.From suspension to its gear box and the whole structure of it.It fail me drastically.Now I am a proud owner of Honda SV4.Its a 2nd one but its gives the optimum comfort I ever look in a car.I went on a friends Proton Wira SE hardly 1 year old and I can hear all kinds of cracking noise in the cabin.I say to myself I shall never buy another proton in my life ever again.Even my GF wanted to buy Waja.I strongly objected her from buying one.Now she drives a Hyundai Getz and no problem at all.So basically I suggest Proton to hire foreign designers rather than having local fools who have the Malaysian style and mentality to design cars.

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 1:53 am

anj97..
    “But basically its just an extention of Gen 2.How malaysian can be so blind”
    -are u blind? so many posts told that Persona is rebuild, not just extent. Extension the rear can be do at body workshop, no need to cost 100mil. I urge u to read more information about this car before u talk.

Yes, the ‘passed away’ model like Wira got much problems. But it’s Wira, the based on Mitsu, the Japanese makes that u are really proud of.

Just drive your aging Honda…
    Please tell your gf about her Getz… beware of the future problem of Korean car.

Give a chance to Proton to recover it’s scars. They are Malaysian, and we are daring to change.

• xylencia (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 2:11 am

LittleFire85 said,
    August 24, 2007 @ 12:24 am

Does anyone here can tell me that Cheap products can come with excellent quality in this real world?

————————————————————–

The answer is usually NO. But if NO is the answer why do malaysians keep complaining that Proton cars are lousy? Don’t they already knw that cheap things can’t be good?

But since they always complain, it means malaysians actually DO think that cheap things can be good. As proven in the Proton Persona.

Sorry dude, your argument shot urself in the foot.

• spidermutu (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 3:31 am

good,maybe a Satria Neo upgrades next

• kevyeoh (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 6:47 am

actually… for honda city…if sold in langkawi is cost around RM50k+….

so if compare between proton and honda city cost…both are about the same…
    so that means honda city is cheap also…and since it’s cheap product as well…means the quality also lousy? yes? No?

:)

• azrai (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 7:23 am

Hopefully PROTON will not jeoperdising their quality to catch up the huge amount of production. I still remember lst 10 years when Wira and Iswara has a lousy installation and fixing quality due to high demand. Those who booked even Iswara has to wait for 6 months at that time with colour they forced to choose. Sometimes we have to look back, but jalan mesti ke depan.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 7:37 am

wah!!! unbelievable. 8K bookings in just 1 month.
    they can push the production or not. important is dun keep on with the old quality issues. if not this car will continue to be a failure.

• Bella147 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 8:14 am

PTAllTheBest said,
    August 24, 2007 @ 7:37 am

wah!!! unbelievable. 8K bookings in just 1 month.
    they can push the production or not. important is dun keep on with the old quality issues. if not this car will continue to be a failure.

8000 Persona booking after 10days of launch.. COOL!! ;)

• wanwnp (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 8:15 am

#
    anj97 said,

August 23, 2007 @ 10:22 pm

The new Proton Pesona is the extention version of Gen 2 is it? Why no malaysian realize it?Still the dunggu malaysian go and book the out of date design?The price is too hign for a Gen 2 Extention.What a joke.Why?Proton designers are lacking of ideas is it?One look at a car a person should be able to differentiate between quality and no quality.Proton never manufactured quality cars and is there to take the fool malysian for a jolly good ride.Even Hyundai cars looks better.Or Kia.Since 1985 none of the models have impressed me.Just add on some garbage and say its a new car.Proton pls buck up or pack up.But Proton can still survive as long as there are local market to purchase the useless protons.After 50 yeras of Merdeka,proton can produce a car look like a Gen 2 extention,all malayisan should realize that proton is heading no where.Its better option to look at Nissan,Toyota or Honda cars.
    —————————————————————–

ni merapu ni..jangan terima bulat2..

–should be read as this–
    after 50 years of merdeka, should malaysians look at Nissan, Toyota or Honda??

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 8:19 am

When Satria Neo launched, sales figure look accumulating come with all kind of praise – got eye.

When Iswara come with RM 26,999, sales figure also accummulating come with slogan “in conjunction with 50 merdeka celebration” – waiting list.

When Persona launch, same scenario of sales figure also show impressive achievement – permata hati ku aka my pride and joy.

But after few months, this “phenomenon” seem “quite down”!

But look at “permata hati ku”, I think MD SZ formerly from Perodua, copy idea from VIva – LOVE. Same thing to Peekaboo approach also copy from Perodua! Anyway, if it is effective, why not! Even Persona handle no longer sam ewith Waja (pull upward), but also same like MyVi (pull “anti-clock”).

Hey, some outthere always say Perodua no R & D and rebadge car only. But how about “R & D” in marketing by Perodua, some how Proton marketing style have Perodua’s DNA.

• wanwnp (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 8:20 am

kalau zaman dulu2 kita tak ada kilang kereta sendiri..
    sekarang sudah ada, orang kita tak mau beli…

anj97,
    lain kali tak payahla sebut pasal kemerdekaan
    kalau sudah 50 tahun merdeka pun masih mau bergantung pada kereta2 luar

apa u suka ka proton tutup? no more national cars?

• tinjon14 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 8:29 am

Almost everytime I enter north-south highway, I see the truck carrying Persona. They are delivering, hopefully as fast as the booking comes in.

• The Unicons (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 8:52 am

To anj97. It’s your choice. Nothing is perfect and nobody is perfect. My friends Toyota Vios power window also failed a month ago and the car less than 2 years old. Don’t just make conclusion that Proton cars all have the problem just because some have the problems. Same thing to other car manufacturers. Please give solid comments and not crap.

To LittleFire85. Cheap things don’t always mean bad quality. In Langkawi Toyota Vios only costs around RM46K. Yeah. Cheap too but do you dare to say it is bad quality? Don’t give blind bashing comments just because you want blind bashing on Proton. Don’t like Proton, don’t talk about it and nobody force you to buy. You can buy other cars.

For Proton, it is still very early. Don’t just seat back. You must improve more from every aspect. All the best so that goverment no need to help you.

• Apathy (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 8:55 am

8000++ bookings == 8000++ (free of charge) lab rats for protonG. hope to get a good test result after 2 years of usage. huhuhuhu then baru i boleh bash or defend u, persona……

• tanasi (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 8:55 am

anj97- aiyah. so obtuse. are you one of the ‘local fools’ as you mentioned?

too bad, your life’s a tragedy.

• wildthingz (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 9:01 am

wah very good start from persona ma…we malaysian should tabik to this new born baby from proton let its jaln-jalan first then we can put comment dont bash without knowing the real improvement from persona maybe its better from kereta asing

p/s: kalau kita percaya kereta asing kita mesti percaya org asing so jangan marah if orang asing banyak dekat kita punya negara hahahahahhaha sendiri mau ingat……

• rexis (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 9:12 am

Well done proton, the next thing to do is keep up with the heat, and blast your factory to full production! Oh yeah, quality quality quality….

anj97, why saying so? Gen2 look is perfectly okay, i can bet most of the malaysia population never sit on a Gen2 before, so if we have a bigger better cheaper “Gen2 extension”, many would be interested. Let the market tell the story, sit tight and buckle your seat belt in your SV4 and watch the road being populated by Persona.

Hyundai Getz? Haha, Korean made are better? Are you sure? Hahahahahahahaha.

• BigCar (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 10:03 am

Well done proton.. Hope it will continue..

Don’t be like iswara last time.. Macam goreng pisang. Then until now still sell iswara.

• roll2hell (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 10:32 am

This is my 1st comment. Before this just read all of your comment.
    Let me tell you about my experince buying import car – Atos CKD (consider imported car eh..) Im not good in english ok..Please forgive me if my language very poor..

I bought new atos CKD in 2004 (my 1st car)..reason is
    1) the price is between my budget
    2) good design
    Kereta lain yang boleh dibandingkan ialah kelisa, kenari & proton saga.
    Reason not choose kelisa = to small for me
    Reason not choose kenari = design is…ieyrrkkk!!
    Reason not choose proton saga = don,t want spend 38K for 80’s technology
    Main reason is = not trust national car in term of quality.

And what happen when I got my atos
    1) 1st week detect my atos BOCOR! (leakage)
    Bocor dibumbung, setiap kali hujan, air masuk terus ke ruang tayar spare!. Everytime after heavy raining or basuh kereta. My spare tyre compartment will ‘banjir’!
    Bocor diantara getah bonet belakang & body kereta. Walaupun di tutup rapat, air still masuk melalui ruang diantara getah..(boleh paham ke kat mana yg I mention?)

2) 1st day until 1st month = tak boleh masuk gear satu. Sampai mcm nak patah gear I buat, baru boleh masuk. Everytime berhenti di traffic light, I kena standyby awal2 masuk gear satu. Takut nanti susah nak masuk bila lampu hijau, org belakang marah sebab lambat jalan.

I send my car to atos service centre at Shah Alam. After spend whole day at there..Guess what?
    1st problem still can’t solve even the mechanic already repaired it (tampal with silicone I guess)
    2nd problem can’t solve. They said need to ‘ketuk” my body, this leaking is because of gap between my car body & rear bonet. So need to leave my car there. What the heck? And guess what, it just becoz of “getah” in between is not proper install. I repaired it myself & problem solved!
    3rd problem mechanic just adjust my clucth only & can’t solve it. . After 3 months..my car gear automatically ok.

But atos still a good car in term of stability & the engine also very silent. Suspension also ok, very comfort drive it. No pick-up and FC not very good.

Conclusion for me…
    Even bought import car, still poor in quality!
    Service from hyundai also very poor!
    I will never simply make conclusion on national cars are poor in quality (lain kereta pon sama actually, depend on car range (and luck?)

And now planning to trade in my atos to buy new persona next year. But trade in value very low now..duhhh…

• wildthingz (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 11:07 am

hai have any one seen persona envy? only want to know either that envy spec is same as persona. look so garang 4 out of 5 star for that envy look.

• panzer (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 11:19 am

I have seen persona,and you know what,the result are the same,another crappy cars from Proton…I dont think the persona can sell very well.People are fed up with Proton.It is better for them(Malaysian) to take the trouble to save some money to buy imported cars rather then Proton.

Of course the initial sales of this model will shoot up beyond expectation,but when it is on the road and people start complaining,the sales will drop down.The normal life cycle of proton cars…

To anj97,in with you..

• spidermutu (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 11:24 am

LITTLEFIRE,in the real world cheap don’t mean its bad,just go to the supermarket and figure out yourself,common sense..Bigfish,why are u talking about “buntut ant”buttocks”?U must be the backside expert or backside boys,hahaha…ludah dekat langit banyakbanyak sure one kena sendiri!!!Happy Merdeka

• mofo (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 11:24 am

On my point of view, its all about marketing strategy. As low interest rate offer for G’s employees and pay increment on G might help push the sales. As its just another “bail out” situation which i could seen now. Indeed this product hit the market with attractive price, but is it value to what i paid for if i bought it.

*Some might think, if you don’t like it pls dun bash it. Anyway still lack of confidence on the brand. Let those 8000 white rats to test it. If its good for sure, the good news will spread all over, same goes as bad news. Still hold back cash back, sit and wait XD

Quality and after sales service is what we’re concern about.

Once again, Congratz…..

• panzer (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 11:32 am

To unicorn,the reason why vios cost only rm46k is because of the tax exemption.Imported cars can be sell at this low price if not because of tax and we can get better quality and reliable car.Do you really think that proton can compete with toyota and honda if both of these cars are sold at rm46k-rm50k? Surely proton bungkus maa..

• proton GL (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 11:41 am

i got some info a small toyota 1.0 litre engine cost 8000 pound in britain,
    roughly 54000rm,

so, toyota is not as cheap as we tought, for a small 1 litre engine for example,

• hasszulmie (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 11:46 am

TWO THUMBS UP FOR PROTON…
    MERDEKA ! MERDEKA ! MERDEKA !

• spidermutu (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 11:55 am

FOR THOSE WHO DECLARED THEMSELVES AS ,”MINDLESS BASHERS”..GOOD NEWS..U GUYS WILL NEVER GET BRAIN TUMOUR,WHY?,BECAUSE U GUYS DONT HAVE THE BRAINS…hehehe

• xstan (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 12:02 pm

Surpass my expectations. Well done & hope it keep up. Anyway, the quality shown, features added, New Management striving…and with growing NEW BASHER with misled outdated infor & commenting on already STALE excuses of old Protons sum up disdvantage, extended boot of Gen 2 , Govt tax etc..shows the growing popularity of Persona. Simply it wakes simply everyone.

Huaahahaha..Vios at RM40K+ (Thai the producer is selling at RM59K) is dream on crappy. Maybe he hasnt even take into consideration of the Govt Fuel Subsidiady, Road Tax..other subsidies. BTW, we are talking about Persona lah…don talk about Vios cheap quality plastic lah.

It may be cheap for sum & could be expensive for others. Cheap trick..cheap un-creative bash calling persona Cheap. Helloooo..Bashers please be creative & do ur homework before thrashing out nonsense. If u do not test drive the car or actually see one, just dont USE UR HEART instead of ur PEA brain to talk out loud. U make urself a real fool.

• nescartel (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 12:02 pm

wildthingz,
    i have only seen pictures of the Persona ENVY,
    what i like the most is its LEATHER SEAT.
    hmmm, wonder where can I get those… :-?

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 12:41 pm

It’s good news that proton now have good sales volumn and can pick up on it’s own. hopefully by the end of the year, proton will earn profits. so after that, proton can stand up on it’s own… grown big enuf to be independant and just let the protection of proton/ perodua be gone for good.

come on… proton shu do a very good job and no more protection… ultimately, that’s the goal.. to be the world class car producer is also to compete with other makes in the real market environment.

and we see how proton can improve further without protection!!

• szw (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 1:13 pm

better den viva.

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 1:15 pm

spidermutu said,
    August 24, 2007 @ 11:24 am

Bigfish,why are u talking about “buntut ant”buttocks”?U must be the backside expert or backside boys,hahaha…ludah dekat langit banyakbanyak sure one kena sendiri!!!Happy Merdeka
    ————————
    So, I declared you as “king of mindless bashers” for not be able to interprete what I means, and also for your above baseless allegations.

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 1:25 pm

so it is true that we bash and only proton can be improve!! let us continue to bash and complain about the negatives issue for proton cars and let them taste it so bad that they start to move like donkeys to further imporve their low quality cars!!

• xstan (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 1:39 pm

U call that BASH ah??? 3 regular repeated pointless remark:-

1. Persona is only extended Gen 2
    That why it sells , though GEN 2 is good car, the quality sucks then. They have imporvised so those who is aactual potential buyer of Gen 2 & Wira buy it then. So also for many Sedan lover since its affordable. Whats big deal been gen2 extend. Avanza cheapo MPV seems to be extend of Myvi anyway…

2. Govt should forgo Tax
    Ya right…hope it would not incur other created product Tax to recover it. Hope fuel subsidy not scrap away. Hope they do not follow Singapore with parking tax etc.Why they didnt compare to Singapore market or HK.

3.Quality of other Proton cars gave problem.
    R we talking about product of ex-Mahatir here.

Worst of the lot…Persona a cheap car, quality lacks..cheapest lame bash by thrash.

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 1:45 pm

The Unicons said,
    August 24, 2007 @ 8:52 am

“To LittleFire85. Cheap things don’t always mean bad quality. In Langkawi Toyota Vios only costs around RM46K. Yeah. Cheap too but do you dare to say it is bad quality? Don’t give blind bashing comments just because you want blind bashing on Proton. Don’t like Proton, don’t talk about it and nobody force you to buy. You can buy other cars.”
    ———————-
    LittleFire85 said,
    August 24, 2007 @ 12:24 am

———————-

What LittleFire85 said above is totally is facts and agree with him.

Holy-shit Unicorns, do you read the line properly. He specifically mentioned “booking strategy”, means Proton marketing strategy of RM 500.00 booking fee is a real deal low peanut entry cost that attract a lot of booking! What wrong with your crooked mind, always bash mindlessly???

Furthermore, “who can tell me that cheap product can come with excellent quality in this real world” is indeed a generalize statement that always reflect the reality of free market under Fair Price = Cost + Fair mark-up. Do LittleFire85 saying Persona is cheap at low quality????

Of course our lack of enforcement for safety requirement couple with NAP prohitive tax distorted the pricing of the cars, to a certain extent that it become a loop hole for many players, local and imported makes for not giving competitive price at better quality with adequate safety feature, especially those care price below RM 70K.

Stop being mindless bashing to other forumers without facts and proof! You are pathetic poor soul yet always come out with crap statements from your filthy septic tank mouth!

• The Unicons (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 1:55 pm

panzer said,
    August 24, 2007 @ 11:32 am

To unicorn,the reason why vios cost only rm46k is because of the tax exemption.Imported cars can be sell at this low price if not because of tax and we can get better quality and reliable car.Do you really think that proton can compete with toyota and honda if both of these cars are sold at rm46k-rm50k? Surely proton bungkus maa..

ANSWER TO YOU: That’s what I said. Actually without tax the Toyota Vios only cost around RM46K to proof what LittleFire85 is wrong about cheap means bad quality!!!!!! Is LittleFire85 also mean those cars also bad quality? Please read LittleFire85 comments properly before simply talk just trying to BLIND BASHING PROTON!!!!!

• The Unicons (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 1:57 pm

To Proton, don’t feel happy about it. You still have long way to go.

• The Unicons (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 1:59 pm

To BigFish. Many other car company’s also comes with so called cheap booking and selling strategy.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 2:05 pm

haha. looks like this forum has been infiltrated by posters who looks like they are hired to say good things bout proton.
    cant beleive it. so many of them

• awie (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 2:21 pm

to all forumer…

engko orang tak beli n tak booking pon persona..please be respect to our friends yang dah tempah this cars..if u still tell about the past then better no need any improvement & development in this country…
    Please control ur mounth, dont easly call our people as Rats..may be its ur mom or ur relatives too..please be respect la…

if u all banned for waja & previous Gen we can accept but for the persona..please make an assignment & test first la..kalu betul2 tak elok then u all banned i can accept…

p/s: anak saper yg kurang hajar sangat tu???

• xstan (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 2:39 pm

We r talking about Persona right…?? Topgun, get real if good comments override stoooopid basely thrash. U need not repeat & reapet again all the smae old, same old…get construtive not destructive. Envy ya…if u don drive want or nevr intend to ..shooo…go. I’m pretty sure u r not so evil chap right..

• wildthingz (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 2:52 pm

come on lah guys u said pronton no quality and kutuk abis abis u all ingat semua komponen proton buat ke u all kena ingat banyak spare part dia ambik dari vendor so bukan semua salah proton …… this kereta is human made so if u want no mistake u take kuda cause its god made so kalu sakit u all marah lah org atas sana hehehehe kidding kita mesti sedar proton baru je start masih muda lagi dalam industri kereta if not mistaken first proton car (really made by proton ) gen 2 kan. so u ingat dia dapat dibandingkan dengan honda toyota dll yang dah tua dari diaorg so fikirlah kalu tak nak beli so diam jelah yang dah beli tu hope u sastify….. waktu zaman proton takde dulu korang ada nampak keta masuk kampung susah beb sekarang proton dah buat kereta untuk malaysian supaya semua boleh merasa naik keta skaang boleh lah keta luar murah sebb dia tahu negara kita ada product kita sendiri tapi kalu proton ditutup nescaya harga kereta luar melonjak naik bukan sebab tax tapi sebab diorg tahu kita takda pilihan selain beli product diaorg so ingat lah bagi yang mampu beli honda toyota u all kena ingat org yang berpendapat rendah…… for proton teruskan usaha anda hasilkan sesuatu yang akan membuka mata basher yang tidak tahu nilai sebenar proton and for other malaysia car producer (naza n p2) jangan hanya keluar kan model celup jer buat r&d sendiri ok kita mampu malysia boleh proton boleh perodua boleh naza boleh buat basher hope u all boleh fikir ok

• ob8 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 3:02 pm

even if vios or city at 46-50k. not all people will buy them. the same to persona if this persona below that. price is one thing but not everything.. you feel me? proton bungkus ni bungkus tu… msian really love to say bungkus. nasi lemak same price but different taste. smtime same price also diff taste.

• mofo (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 3:31 pm

Craps…. If u all thinks, they’re good just go buy one. You’ll never know if u don’t owe one….

• ai yin (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 3:38 pm

a month ago, i baru beli myvi, tetiba je persona kuar ….rase rugi plak .. for family and balik kampung i think this car is a right choice , even i tak kawin lagi , it still a good car for them ,expecially guys yang sedang memikirkan masa depan bile dah beranak pinak nanti, since kapisiti luggage persona nampaknya boleh bawak balik satu rumah …hwever myv pun i tetap suker cz this is my first car since keje, so i ask my fiance 2 buy pesona instead of Toyota vios since its much cheaper and larger…at first he insist ..but then after we see it at the showroom …he then agree.Now we are waiting for the new persona fr balik kampung…he..he

• majavaz (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 4:01 pm

mofo… see again what this post is all about…

• Max88 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 4:05 pm

8,000 bookings don’t justified the whole idea that Proton is yet really worth the value and quality paid for. Compare Persona and the rest of global car market in term of design trend, trim levels, accessories level etc, is it worth that RM45K-RM55K price range? Your guess is as good as mine.

Proton’s pricing is very artificial in a pre-set market condition by govt. Or called it handicapped match. That’s why other car makers like Toyota, Honda bringing Vios, City to compete in a very unruly ASEAN market ridiculously modelled by Malaysia. AFTA mockery at its best.

To prohibit its own rakyat to buy cheaper, safer, better cars (for whatever reasons: offset fuel subsidy? pamper cronies? to show to JC that Proton reliable enough to withstand mockery in Top Gear?) is simply nonsensical. If scrapping the NAP, import duties, crazy taxes mean substantial revenue loss, capital outflow and loss employment to locals etc, that’s all just delusion.

Some prick said you still can show patriotism even when not buying Proton. Which one is more patriotic: govt sell off their Proton shares and stop wasting rakyat money, or liberalise car market (no more crazy taxes) to let rakyat choose better car?

Patriotism got nothing to do in buying cars.
    It’s consumerism(being a smart buyer) got a lot to do in buying cars.

**Ignore all if you feel fun/ proud after being duped, again.

• proton GL (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 4:10 pm

im bored with japanesed chassis,

• Prem3377 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 4:11 pm

anj97,
    what you are trying to say is absolute crap…maybe you are related to littlefire85!!
    firstly everyone knows its an extended GEN2…people are not as stupid as you assumed…and what wrong extending a car??there are many reasons on why proton extended the gen2…firstly…to show that its not merely a gen2 wth butt but a car which has gone thru many changes…if a facelifted gen2 were to be in introduce…many will just say its just a gen2…but with a different name..better quality…and with better headroom and larger boot…it can be consider a new car and spark a new interest on buyers and urge them to have a look at the car!!its marketing…and merely a butt job is not easy as u think and i already explain in my previous post!!

secondly many car manufacturers has dont this extension/butt job and proton is not the first…the car manufacturer you mentioned,nissan,honda and toyota has done exactly the same so why its wrong for proton to follow the footstep of the best in business….maybe you are blind or dumb if you dont realize honda city is an extension of honda jazz but the price difference is so much..why people buy jazz for so expensive price??just because its a cbu car??or style?? nissan latio sedan is the extension of nissan latio sports…buy why there is a difference in price??toyota vios is an extension of toyota yaris…but why there is so much difference in price??all this sedan cars is designed and produced the same way as how persona is done…and what wrong with it???how can you say proton engineers has no creativity and etc???if you compare the latest honda city.nissan latio sedan and upcoming vios…proton persona will win in design area hands down!!and proton is learning from the best..so its a good effort…why are complaining??

proton is just 25 years old..not 50…and as you mentioned…proton never produced good cars??how can you say this??hyundai/kia never produced good car until 21 century…honda/toyota/nissan/mistu and etc never produce good cars until end of 1980’s…and japanese people are hard working…not like you and me…when they were attacked by the americans…the west said hiroshima and nagasaki and the entire country will never develop or grow for another 50 years…but in the same 50 years..they become one of the best countries in the world and technology growths were phenomenal..so obviously their produce will be better that what we can produce…what malaysian will do is spread rumours…complain and etc…we need to change our attitude too…when we are proud of our country…our product and etc..and work towards it..some day we will be like japan and the japanese..we should change our attitude then we can complain if there is mistake here and there…

for example…you said malaysian are blind and etc, did you do a survey to find out how many of them dont realize its a gen2 sedan??when you mention its merely a butt job..did you do your research on how its done and how much difficulities the engineers would have faced…from weight transfer until aerodynamics…from dynamics till braking ability…from design to production…from marketing till advertising…you should atleast think about all of this before saying malaysian a dumb and being fooled by proton…

can you build you own radio??can you create a software by urself??most malaysians cant…but most japanese can…that the difference…if we just sit infront of our pc and blindly bash or complain..it wont take us far..we have to change our mindset first before comparing proton with the japanese makes…

if you compare an average malaysian with an average japanese..you can see alot of difference…and that difference refelects the entire nation…if you think its unfair comparing you with a japanese guy…and blaming it on our education system and level…then how can it be fair to compare proton and a japanese car manufacturer…the foundation of a nation is the people…if we are not helpful.who else can help the nation and proton did take the challenge of becoming a car manufacturer..when developed nations dare not venture in such activities…many think we cant do it…but we did it…and we can go futher since we have started…dont discourage the people or blindly say what you feel without finding out…if there is a strong proof of what you say then no one will deny you…proton’s efforts should be appreciated!!

• Prem3377 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 4:52 pm

Max88,

who is jeremy clarksson???why do we need to proof him that we are good???he is just a crappy old man who thinks he is great and just wanna make some money thats all…he is a stupid fool who just run a show…not a company like a proton…which other idiot will put concrete floor in a car…with tiles…rocking chair and a chimney inside a car and drive it around??what is he trying to proof??that he is dumb or people are dumb enough to watch his show???top gear should review cars in proper way…not by showing some clownish acts…that should be a circus show…

why do you think proton is wasting rakyats money??in what sense??and how is proton fooling us???can you please explain??

what do expect??a tax free gov??free taxs for the car??which country does that???people in singapore have super high tax even if the are from developed country…but they dont complain as much as us…

if there is no tax…the G can never make money at all…if they can…can you tell me how??

i do agree the nap is unfair in our country…but dont be fool by people by saying the cars in rest of the world is way much cheaper than a proton or the G is charging extremely high tax…we should protect our industry…and there is not reason not to!!tell me a country which dont protect their industry and tax free??you cant find any!!

and again running cost…in sum countries the petrol price is up 7 riggit per litre…which about 3 times our price…so if any average malaysia use rm 300 petrol per month its rm 3600 for a year and rm 18000 in 5 years…and an average citizen in the US pay around rm 4.50 per litre…so per month if they use the same amount as malaysians..the are spending rm 703 per month and a whooping 8437 per year and rm 42 187 for the 5 years…its about rm 24000 saving in fuel price alone…not to mention 30 % income tax for us citizen and etc…and high food price they pay…so think again…just assume if you buy a honda civic 1.8 in the US with similar spec..its about rm 80000..and malaysian price its about rm 115000…the difference is rm 35000….so the difference in fuel we pay makes it rm 11000 k difference only between the us civic and malaysia civic…why cant many malaysian realize this????

if you use the civic for 7 years..u will get the civic cheaper that in the US…and way much cheaper than in the UK….so can you see where the tax money of our G is going??do some research and u will know…

• wildthingz (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 4:55 pm

to prem 3377 i support u that all true. ya sebab jepun dah lama bertapak dalam teknologi permotoran proton just getting started so what we can do is support our local product (cam ikaln petronas-apasalah kasut saya buatan gombak)heheheeehehehe. lets give proton time to create a better car if not for us atleast for our grand children kita kutuk bila proton keluar kereta buruk tapi kalu org luar buat kereta buruk kita akan kata ada masalah teknikal hahahahahahaha tapi nak buat macam maner dah mentaliti org malaysia lebih mengaggungkan barangan luar nak buat camner kan tak salah beli brg luar tapi harap jangan mengutuk barangan tempatan kalu bg komen yang membina takpe even kat uk pun kereta peronda pakei waja kan???? tapi tak taulah waja apa kan. oklah have a nice week end every body

• tec96248 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 4:56 pm

xstan said,
    August 24, 2007 @ 1:39 pm

==How can u see or say avanza is myvi extension? what kind of eyes u had? hahaha. not really pointless, may be people want something like saga sedan and saga aeroback which had different taillight as for the gen2 and persona.

think about it again before make conclusion. scrap the car tax and fuel subsidiary, will proton cars sell well, will persona outsell other makes? fc of cars will be priority then! aiyah, everyone knows that can’t compare malaysia mainland with these two small islands, dude.

Quality is an issue but why hv to involve prime minister?

Anything wrong with the car persona is a cheap car? IT IS A CHEAP CAR INTERMS OF PRICE, SOMEMORE WHERE CAN U GET A NEW 1.6 SEDAN AS CHEAP AS PERSONA IN MALAYSIA? QUALITY WISE IS VERY SUBJECTIVE AND GENERAL.

Your intention might be good to bash to blind basher but don’t give trash explanation like blind basher too. hahahahhakakaka

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 5:12 pm

The Unicons said,
    August 24, 2007 @ 1:55 pm

….”Is LittleFire85 also mean those cars also bad quality? Please read LittleFire85 comments properly before simply talk just trying to BLIND BASHING PROTON!!!!!”
    ——-
    Holy-shit Unicorns you still bash other BLINDLY! As above explanation, LittleFire85 talk about “His winning booking strategy.. Cheap.” – the success of Proton marketing strategy by employ attractive RM 500 booking fee! Only you make baseless accusation on him by flame him say about bad qualities issue. If you don’t know ask, if you don’t understand English just like Selangor ex MB, just learn and ask, don’t make BLIND accusation!

• tec96248 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 5:13 pm

The Unicon,

LittleFire85 just asking whether cheap products can come with excellent quality in this real world only. just a questions only, and it’s all up to individual thoughts. so what’s the fuss?

not much related to the persona, since it is not the cheapest car in malaysia.

hahahaha, the fun of motoring.

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 5:15 pm

The Unicons said,
    August 24, 2007 @ 1:59 pm

To BigFish. Many other car company’s also comes with so called cheap booking and selling strategy.
    —————
    That is the main point put forward by LittleFire85, but you make wild accusation and BLIND bashing on him by saying he talk about low quality issue on Person. Please dude, read other forumer sentence properly and respect other construction comment. Don’t go into holy-shit war fo rthe sake of showing you are smart!

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 5:15 pm

Prem3377
    “what do expect??a tax free gov??free taxs for the car??which country does that???people in singapore have super high tax even if the are from developed country…but they dont complain as much as us…”

Yo… Singapore has one of the best transportation system in the world. That’s y people there don complain so much as compare to us living in KL or Penang!! surely all of us do not mind if cars cost so dame high and yet we can move around the city with good public transport!!

“if there is no tax…the G can never make money at all…if they can…can you tell me how??”

Is this the only way the G can make money? U don pay tax is it? your company don pay tax ka?

“we should protect our industry…and there is not reason not to!!tell me a country which dont protect their industry and tax free??you cant find any!!”

yes.. i agree we shu protect our belove proton. and yes the rakyat bow to the G to do just that for 20 freaking years!! what do we get? u can still walk into any proton show room n buy the 80s tech iswara.. cause proton is still selling it… happily!! support our own car industry is diff from donating our hard earn money to proton’s vendor and employees…

• xstan (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 5:18 pm

Oh..dear Tech9624..

U Didnt get my point. Basher simply wan tax free country on car. Govt will certainly lift off Fuel subsidy & Road Tax subsidy & added other Tax to recover its lost. It will be similar to countries as mentioned. 1st of all r u aware that our fuel is been subsidised?? God knows the actual fuel price jumb up to RM4.00 per lit.

I said…Avanza SEEMS to be Xtend of MYVI…seems. Anyway..both are from Daihatsu/tie up P2/Toyota made. Check them out when they park side by side. Its close 80% identical only got longer butt of myvi. Someone agsint longer butt Gen2, remember.

Someone mentioned Cheap vehicle like Persona xpect cheap quality. Thus Cheap for someone is expensive to others. Its one perception..

Gosh…u got to re-read my post.

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 5:20 pm

Prem3377 talk about Protonomic, not free economic. He can talk until the cow come home. So next time never buy computer or TV that are not from local brand but under free market that sell at lowest price with best specs/quality!

Prem, do you want my 1990s computer local brand SEPOM 386 at RM 8,000. Don’t look at Dell, HP, Acer, Lenovo that selling Duo Core 120G HD at around RM 3K to RM 4K. Support our local product until suck you dry!!!

• eezarm (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 5:35 pm

Few days ago i went to see the Persona at the Proton showroom. There’s only 1 Persona model that is the1.6MT B-Line Solid. I opened the door, got into the car, check the plastic quality and went off. To me, althought the B-Line is the cheapest, Proton must make sure the quality is at the same standard like the other models. Handbrake plastic is rough, sluggish, look very cheap and not to mention some other parts as well. when i close the door, it sounded terrible. Rough sound. Maybe H-Line is much better. I’m not bashing Proton cos I’m also driving a Proton car, 2001 Waja but i just hope Proton will take quality matters seriously since people will spend their money for it.

• proton GL (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 5:41 pm

last time i have a friend who buy honda city, the one before the current city model,
    why do you buy honda city?
    i want a honda,
    have anyone know how the dash board was made, has anyone knock the dashboard of a produa rusa,.. its the same..like a plastic of a bucket,

and, people say we malaysian can actually get cheaper honda jazz, if..
    well i got the price convertion jazz 1.4 in the uk its rm85000, here is rm90000 for 1.5,
    85000 next to 90000 , its not that cheap as we tought,

further more, driving a waja, or if the persona, its rigid body somewhat a bit sense of security beside enjoying it solid ride, with good price,

• neo2 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 5:51 pm

My sincere compliment to P1 and hope it’s mind and mentality are not clouded by high praises from customers or satisfied with merely 8,000 bookings. Let see whether it could withstand the test of time. We will see. So, the next ambitious target would be: Does P1 aim to export Persona oversea? Anyone care to comment? The ultimate goal for P1, I assume is, export more cars than selling to our poor countrymen. Correct me if I m wrong. And the ultimate dream of our countrymen would be open car market without what so ever kind of NAP or tax? As P1 has gained competitive advantages over other global car makers, it make sense to abolish NAP or excessive tax on imported cars, right? Of course, unless G make up some stupid excuse to continue its protection over P1, such as our country is in trading deficit due to import of oil is higher than export of oil in 2010, therefore G needs to collect extra tax to cover deficit and so on and so on and etc. I just wish for during my life time I could witness the liberation and salvation of P1 and tax free for imported cars.
    Wish every Malaysian A Safe and Joyful Independence Day! Merdeka!

• tec96248 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 5:53 pm

xstan said,
    August 24, 2007 @ 5:18 pm

ok, i read too fast couldn’t capture much of ur second statement. my apologies, haha.

I presumed that ‘someone’ is not me, right? hahaha.

• zreen (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 5:53 pm

to prem3377 good explaination…i support u…
    to anj97…you comment is sucks…! just an emotional comment…..
    i think u’re the one that are ‘blind’
    look at auto. manufacturer trend nowadays….
    giving a car an extended butt is not stupid….even VW is done by naming JETTA for a butt-added GOLF…!
    this is for economic reason because the car market is getting tougher…
    let the previous problem of proton be a history…
    give them a room for improvement
    everybody’s changing..but for u…i’m not sure…
    still praise an old honda car….??

• proton GL (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 5:54 pm

i once got my hand on a getz, interior not bad la.
    4 gear is lethargic, drive around kl, a sudden red light makes me slam the brake ,the car swerve, back end sway,
    ..proton handle batter

• nmh (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 5:55 pm

DID ANYONE SAY HYUNDAI GETZ IS A GOOD CAR. OR JUST A JOKE. IVE DRIVE ONE B4 I DECIDED TO BUY A GEN2 IN 2005 AND A BIG NO FROM ME… KOREAN CAR SUXX

• tec96248 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 6:07 pm

nmh said,
    August 24, 2007 @ 5:55 pm

DID ANYONE SAY HYUNDAI GETZ IS A GOOD CAR. OR JUST A JOKE. IVE DRIVE ONE B4 I DECIDED TO BUY A GEN2 IN 2005 AND A BIG NO FROM ME… KOREAN CAR SUXX

==hahaha, i drove few of hyundai models, u r suxx to comment such way. like comparing hyundai honda civic to a toyota vios. of course gen2 is much better than getz interms of handling since it’s in different category.

• tec96248 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 6:07 pm

nmh said,
    August 24, 2007 @ 5:55 pm

==hahaha, i drove few of hyundai models, u r suxx to comment such way. like comparing honda civic to a toyota vios. of course gen2 is much better than getz interms of handling since it’s in different category.

• adunadun (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 6:45 pm

By refer to this…i am happy with the existing of this checklist!!
    http://img523.imageshack.us/img523/2904/concern207lf6.jpg

Do i have P1?
    -Yes , P1 wira

At this moment , which car in the market that i preferr?
    -2nd hand Vios, 2nd hand City, Persona,Myvi

Do i gonna buy P1 now?
    -Not at this moment, let people buy first, see the result

Do i think P1 suck?
    -Maybe, but for this persona, i waiting result of above checklist(refer above link)

How long u gonna wait , and decide to buy pesona?
    -wait another 3/4 month and keep in ccontact my my freind that buy pesona
    , Fuel pump+aicond is most important cretiria, other is a normal car problem to me.

If Pesona no good? waht u wanna do?
    -buy 2nd hand vios or city or new Myvi

Why wait? Dont u have patriotism!!!
    – I am sokong P1 , but i dont waste my money on new problematic car, i do think to have national car is important, but i just let others to be tester.

Even if persona have small problem ,u still wanna buy them?
    -Small problem is OK, i do have P1 wira that have windows problem , and i accpet that, coz buy a car that RM30k more just fix only windows problem is stupid. I concern about my retiremnet plan rather then wndow problem!!

-i stay in malasyia, so i do it malaysian way, if i not happy, go migrate!! this is my slogan, not applied to other peolple. Thanks Paul

• peYno-1 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 6:47 pm

PERSONA Ride Quality and Handling must be good..
    This is PROTON product man.. superb handling not like perodua , toyota UMW or Honda melaka cars

prrrfthh

• peYno-1 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 6:49 pm

After persona was launched.. who wanna buy Hatchback Myvi???
    Malaysians need SEDAN car laaa..not Lady car

• mzfnd (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 6:50 pm

If this was a saloon bar, I’d be cowering under a table. As always, Proton sympathizers and bashers would slug it out every time they had the chance.

And then, there are cool folks sitting in a corner totally ignoring the brawl calmly enjoying their conversation on Korean and Japanese cars… :)

• spidermutu (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 7:56 pm

THUMBS UP TO PERSONA…TO ALL MINDLESS PROTON BASHERS,BLINDBASHERS,KAKI TEMBAK BASHERS,INTELECTUAL BASHERS…OR WHATEVER,U GUYS JUST HIDE BEHIND NICKNAMES AND FEEL GOOD BOUT IT..GO OUT REVEAL YOURSELF,DO SOMETHING THAT CAN MAKE US MALAYSIANS PROUD, I KNOW U GUYS ARE SMART SO DO SOMETHING SMART..NOPE DONT HAVE TO BUY MADE IN MALAYSIA PRODUCTS TO BE PATROTIC,APPRECIATE OR ‘HARGAI’ IS GOOD ENOUGH…..

• outspoken (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 8:20 pm

great job and well done.. I think Proton has learned their lesson, in the hard way!!.. Never ever undermine customer and be aware of your rivals… Before this, i think the target is always “high margin” and low cost.. hence the cheap plastic, low quality.. But Perodua has upped their game with MyVi, and naturally, Proton starts to suffer.. Now the tide is changing.. what will Perodua do in the next 2-3 years to ensure they remain competitive in the car segment, with the new BLM and small MPV at Proton’s disposal? A new Kembara will certainly will not help.. Could the Viva priced at early 20k to 30k range?

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 8:33 pm

after this Iswara/saga replacment, then perdana replacement, then waja?

• peYno-1 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 8:38 pm

perodua will suffer next 3-4 years..perodua is not a global player like proton.. who wanna buy downgraded/rebadge Daihatsu if ppl i out there can buy original car.. just look at myvi sales in UK, ppl prefer buying sirion ,infact savvy sales better than myvi .. SO do or die, perodua must be strong in Homeland market (juara kampung) otherwise they die lor..

• prometheus (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 8:48 pm

wah.. the side view on the persona is extremely nice and sporty racy… Really nice la.. Just wish they make a coupe version it would be nice.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 9:10 pm

Wow I am No. 110.

Good job Proton!
    Proton’s Important TURNING Point could be this PERSONA…..turning from RED (Lost) to BLACK (profit) again maybe.

Wish you all the best PROTON!

• Prem3377 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 9:18 pm

BigFish said,
    August 24, 2007 @ 5:20 pm

Prem3377 talk about Protonomic, not free economic. He can talk until the cow come home. So next time never buy computer or TV that are not from local brand but under free market that sell at lowest price with best specs/quality!

Prem, do you want my 1990s computer local brand SEPOM 386 at RM 8,000. Don’t look at Dell, HP, Acer, Lenovo that selling Duo Core 120G HD at around RM 3K to RM 4K. Support our local product until suck you dry!!!

what you mean by free economics first of all??when did i say dont buy foreign products??and what do you mean our local product suck our money??how is that??in what sense??i dont understand what you are trying to say man!!

many people here want NAP to be completely abolished which is almost impossible…we do need NAP…what we dont need is high taxes that we have to go thru to buy foreign car…but we must pay tax no matter what…how can there be a tax free country….we pay income tax,sales tax and etc to support the country…not only G…our tax money is not going to proton…what can you get with RM 1 nowadays many may ask…we can get world class medicine and treatment from our gov clinics and hospital..our fuel price is one of the cheapest in the world,water and electric too…all the money comes from our tax…all the development come from our tax…the only problem in our country is the management…

NoToLowQuality ,
    yah some may say singapore has the best public transport in the world…i do agree…but how big is singapore??its easy to manage a small country…but the point is..why do singapore increase the automotive tax so high when they have the best public transportation system in the world??why the G is so worried about cars when their public transport is so good??the reason is…the G wants to PROTECT their public transportation system and traffic conggestion..

bigfish,

i dont understand how buying malaysian made product suck our money…and i dont think there is any logic in it…i never mention that we must buy malaysian products…what i am trying to say is…if its from malaysia..doesnt mean its bad…and if its from japan or europe doesnt mean its great…but people with your kinda mentality just spoiling the nation…i still dont get it yet how buying national product suck your money…and no one here force you to buy a national product if you have better choice,better priced and better quality foreign product…please be logical when u talk or say something..

i wana share a short story wil everyone here…it was done in UPM few years back..it was a project by a student who determined to prove malaysian people mentality…what he did was simple he bought two made in malaysia dinning table and removed malaysian made sticker from one the table…and added a well known italian brand sticker to it…he then took it to some well known furniture shop to display the product..the so called italian made one was price rm 100 compared to the malaysian made one…he the ask many people to review and what the felt about the quality,price and the product..he ask them which one they will prefer and almost 87% of people choose the so called italian made one…even if the similar table with similar design and from the same company..many somehow felt the italian made one is better quality…and more value for money..thats show clearly the mentality of most malaysians…

• nizam_na78 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 9:20 pm

Hohohoho…. i hope this new Proton terPersona would Remp-it with others competitor away and away. I went to Proton COE recently… I saw Persona with new design (i hope they market this car). Look awesome, comes with new design rear lamp, leather cushion interior (black and orange color), 17″ sport rims, and I assume it will be R3 version… and code name for this Persona is “Envy” and wish, if I granted permission to upload some photos for viewer pleasure.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 9:51 pm

The only way to really test how good p1 is will be to see how pesonga fares if vios and city are selling at the same price level. No point if you can only be a champion in a protected environment.

It is pathetic to support the argument that G needs nap as a source of revenue. A better way will be to be efficient so that higher value can be generated in the economy thus higher revenue which leads to higher tax collection. nap makes buying car like buying liqour, it’s not a sin to buy cars. why should we be taxed buying car???

after all, it’s just an extended gen2.

• mazdafd3s (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 10:49 pm

its not just malaysians
    everyone knows the superiority of foreign cars towards malaysian cars
    saw the persona today……. look good in pictures
    but ugly like gen2 in real life…

• peYno-1 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 10:54 pm

NeedGoodCar said,
    August 24, 2007 @ 9:51 pm

The only way to really test how good p1 is will be to see how pesonga fares if vios and city are selling at the same price level. No point if you can only be a champion in a protected environment.

It is pathetic to support the argument that G needs nap as a source of revenue. A better way will be to be efficient so that higher value can be generated in the economy thus higher revenue which leads to higher tax collection. nap makes buying car like buying liqour, it’s not a sin to buy cars. why should we be taxed buying car???

after all, it’s just an extended gen2.
    ============================
    compare to vios/city at same price???
    interm of looks.. persona wins hand down..
    interm of ride quality and handling?? persona beats those cars anytimey bye2 to 2nd grade japs car and assembled in Bolehland country..
    vios and city simply over rated car..

proton is a global player.. all newer proton products are selling all around the world.. satria Neo can compete with vios in Indonesia ( selling at the same price)..
    persona, soon will be exported to global market as well

• ezralimm (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 11:02 pm

8000 bookings in 10 days. That’s quite significant.

Kudos to proton where kudos is due.

Under a NO TAX (unrealistic) scenario, a vios will be about RM48k.
    …but a persona will only be RM36k.

Under a FAIR TAX free market scenario, a vios will be about RM60k (It’s RM57k in thailand btw…)
    …and a persona RM46k as currently priced.
    Yes, even Proton is taxed by the govt.

Under an unfair tax scenario, with NAP, a vios is RM77k

With regards to the supposedly cheap prices of cars overseas.

What someone mentioned is true. A Jazz does cost about RM80k OTR in england. So malaysians dont really pay much more for the same car. Remember that malaysian websites typically display OTR prices inclusive of insurance while most intl websites do not display OTR prices. Also remember we do get fuel at half of the price they pay. (dont argue affordability. it’s irrelevant. cars will always be more affordable in first world countries as their wages are higher period.)

• aizat84 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 11:04 pm

Confuse .. whether to buy Myvi or Persona .. both same price but totally a different car .. Paul .. did u find any article about this dilemma and give answer to us whether to choose this two car? or can u make it for us, such u make the comparison between Myvi and Viva .. please ..

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 11:06 pm

I sometimes wondered the merit of arguement presented here. The post is about the apparent success of Persona in term of booking only. Then suddenly some people start to say about a butt job, quality, patriotism and so forth. Am I the only one here who is dumb-founded by the absurity of the Malaysian people mind set? (since some says they represent the general Malaysian in this forum). Do not use such a stupid things as though as your pitiful thoughts are the same as others. Those 8,000 people didn’t shared your thoughts or feelings when they made the bookings. If you don’t like it or you hate Proton, do not think others will share the same feelings. Drive whatever you are driving now and let others make their own choice. Afterall, we still live in a democratic country.

Paul Tan said,
    August 21, 2007 @ 10:57 am

From this point onwards, please keep the discussion related to questions on the Proton Persona as well as your personal test drive reports.

Nothing about the NAP or this or that please.

Please use the General Industry Talk section of the forum if you want to discuss anything else.

LINK: http://paultan.org/forum/index.php/board,11.0.html

(I’m trying to get on the good side of PT… hehehehe).

By the way, can Proton really delivered all the booking in time? What is the delivery time for all the bookings?

• peYno-1 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 11:09 pm

wanna compare myvi n persona???
    nowadays.. who wanna buy HATCHBACK ???

Myvi- car for Ah soos/aunties
    SEDAN- car for men

• tokmoh (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 11:23 pm

@prem3377
    >>>I believe most British ppl regard JC as a joker rather than a “proper” motor journalist. Stupid? Well, that may be arguably true if u based on his academic records (he claimed to hv 6 O-levels only, similar to our SPM). Bt you have to salute him for opening a new possibility for motor journalists. Before him, a motor journalist is probably the last job one might want to be, but JC proved it’s nt a boring, mundane job of giving endless praises to new cars, be it good or bad. He just bang it straight away, in a sarcastically humorous way. That, sets TG apart from any other given motoring show. Just watch “Top Gear” on TV1, or sensasiauto or sumthin on Astro Ria I think, do u actually believe TG is better off that way? NOBODY, not even the most die-hard petrolhead will be turned on, cuz of 1 simple fact: they’re dead BORING. You may think what he did are all silly, bt if not of them, TG wouldn’t be BBC’s no.1 program. Come on, where’s ur sense of humour? Are u that seriously against him just like some of our MPs, or their environmentalists and health n safety officers?

why do we need to proof him that we are good???
    >>>Because Honda managed to capture his heart. So rly, he’s nt totally biased against us Asians, just so long we proof to hv true flair, passion, and soul to build a car, then he’ll probably like it n give a properly +ve review.

The prob is, Koreans, Japs n Msian cars hv always been well, just a car. Just to get u from A to B, some kinda machine wit 4 wheels built solely to make money, no more special than that. Fullstop. Comparin them to a European make is like comparing a brandless pen to a Parker or Dunhill, the gap is just soooo big. Of course, there is an exception to Honda, cause Honda at least have a history of a man called Mr Soichiro Honda who have a clear idea of what his car should be like, or should I say bikes, cuz that’s how he started. To date, his dream still lives on in the form of the superb S2000, which JC described as the “essence of a true sports car. Pure and simple (in contrast to BMW Z4 and Porsche Boxster)”. It is so good, it has been sitting on top of TG’s survey for 2…..or 3 years. Although, I realise that Hondas made in Melaka are nt living up to its brand expectation with its nasty QC…..

You may not think it’s not important to prove him that we’re good, bt Proton is in UK you know. If you can’t please JC, it can give the British market a bad impression on the car. Vauxhall accused him of causing Vectra’s low sales, Toyota banned him from test driving their cars, BMW too have been reluctant to give him test models, knowing he’ll blast how ugly Bangle’s creation, so you see, he’s a very influential person for the UK market.

For now, he seems to not notice Proton mch, though he’ve said somethin abt Gen2 n Savvy, bt that’s nt as bad as destroyin a car to send it to hell. It is better of nt to provoke him to criticize Proton as it is now than to get him noticed and then starts his endless rant abt how it is such a money-minded company wit no aim in makin an extraordinary car at all. Proton can stay invisible to him now, or choose to improvise themselves to earn his praise, thus improving Proton’s img be it in the UK or here in Msia. I believe it is possible, and if it works, I believe Proton basher(s) will cease to say a word anymore…..

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 11:33 pm

peYno-1, you still make baseless statement by relate MyVi to feminine! Do you ever know some of gentleman driving MyVi (saw African drive one), their co** is much longer than yours!

SEDAN-car for men, this is another utter baseless argument!

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 11:53 pm

ezralimm said,
    August 24, 2007 @ 11:02 pm

“With regards to BigFish/JoeOoi’s comments about a “free market”.
    Quoting Langkawi prices can be misleading, as normal taxes do not apply there.”
    ————————–
    Please take note you make a misleading statement again and again just like classified car based on weight, generalize all website price is not OTR price, “secular economy”, Jazz can’t sell at RM 55K in any part of the world!, etc, etc.

Your statement clearly shown you are ignorant about what you can find in Langkawi. I can say you are likely never step your foot in this part of island. Langkawi tax structure is basically free port status, all FTA-compliance.

In peninsular there are many sector FTA-compliance as well, e.g. electronic, electrical, computer, handphone, etc. The prices for these stuffs are similar in Langkawi and Peninsular. But for those specifically NAP-compliance prohibitive tax structure, the price can be easily 50% (or more) lower in Langkawi for imported and Proton car compare to peninsular.

Do I need to say more, Uni student from Kangarooland. U want more, look after Mahaguru Mad Google A/L Mad Yahoo!

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 11:59 pm

aizat84 said,
    August 24, 2007 @ 11:04 pm

Confuse .. whether to buy Myvi or Persona .. both same price but totally a different car ..
    ————–
    Dude, nothing to confuse! Although both are in Segment B car, MyVi is basically compact entry level MPV whilst Persona is proper sedan family car. If you compare MyVi to MPV, it is good deal you can find mini MPV in Bolehland.

If you compare Persona quality and pricing with Proton previous sedan models, it is good deal you can find decently built sedan from Proton.

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 12:05 am

Prem3377,

“… and what do you mean our local product suck our money??”
    ———
    I mean the pricing of the products is artificial distorted by gov policy, in this case NAP, same apply to imported car as well that subject to NAP. Go to check Langkawi prices (also subject to tax but FTA-compliance) then you can work out how much they suck! Of course I am not interested on how much g suck from cigarette or liquor since thse items is categorize under “sin tax”!

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 12:11 am

peYno-1 said,
    August 24, 2007 @ 6:49 pm

—————
    Are you imply Malaysias need SEDAN car like Persona is constru as who wanna buy Savvy and Gen-2 as well! So you advise Proton not to come out MPV in 2009 or stop produciton for Satria Neo as well!

• Paul Tan on Aug 25, 2007 at 1:12 am

BigFish/Joe Ooi: comparing people’s penis here is not what i think behaved and civilised is.

• spidermutu (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 2:00 am

Hahaha. Paul tan maybe Bigfish/joe ooi dont have one hehehe!!!Why must he put the innocent African guy in his comment…But I still like his comment about “buntut yang mempersonakan” memang classic…hahaha..that teenie weenie…find some other forum laa

• heavymetal (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 2:33 am

yes,baru booking Persona lepas test drive,better than I expected ,at last can get rid of my Myvi, boring tengok kereta buntal lama lama,my wife said it look like a frog aaargh..but my auntie like it so sell it to her aaah lega..Persona letak cermin gelap, rendah sikit, tukar sports rims,baru la sporty nampak brutal sikit!!! dah banyak habis duit kat Myvi, sama je nampak gemuk je..so sekarang lepas gerammmmm….

• heavymetal (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 2:47 am

aaa, dah baca banyak comment sebelum kat atas tapi yang paling best ungkapan buntut yang mempersonakan, memang brutal habis..yang komen tu memang specialist bahagian belakang..okay selamat memandu!!!

• spidermutu (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 4:33 am

Bigfish is so sensitive if anyone kutuk Myvi, mmmust be the back part, big but flat, while Persona is the opposite,and now so worried about size too..wow!!size does matter

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 7:21 am

peYno-1, you claimed that pesonga beats vios/city hands down, may be that is your own judgement. Since pesonga is so “good” and easily see off its competitors, then don u think it’s about time cars r to be sold at fair prices here?

it is a pity that in reality, city, vios, and any your so-called “2nd grade” jap cars could not be sold at fair price bcoz of nap.

if cars are sold at fair prices and if p1 still manages to get this kind of volume then we all can say p1 finally is capable to stand on its own.

like i say, it’s just an extended gen2, i strongly believe bcoz gen2 wasn’t selling that well and there is still many unused parts, so p1 just make use of them for this extended version, e.g. like the tail light as mentioned?

i am not saying that vios and city are fantastic cars but let us have more choices by having cars sold at fair prices, why deprive us off this bcoz want to protect something that is far from being feasible?

nap equates buying cars as a sin, so a sin tax is imposed just like we buy liquor.

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 9:37 am

spidermutu said,
    August 25, 2007 @ 4:33 am

Bigfish is so sensitive if anyone kutuk Myvi, mmmust be the back part, big but flat, while Persona is the opposite,and now so worried about size too..wow!!size does matter
    ————-
    Another “kaki tembak basher”, between MyVi and Persona, my personal choice in future is non of them but Toyota Hilux to “smoke both of them on the road”.

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 10:00 am

Prem3377 said,
    August 24, 2007 @ 9:18 pm

“many people here want NAP to be completely abolished which is almost impossible…we do need NAP…what we dont need is high taxes that we have to go thru to buy foreign car…but we must pay tax no matter what…how can there be a tax free country….we pay income tax,sales tax and etc to support the country…not only G…our tax money is not going to proton…what can you get with RM 1 nowadays many may ask…we can get world class medicine and treatment from our gov clinics and hospital..our fuel price is one of the cheapest in the world,water and electric too…all the money comes from our tax…all the development come from our tax…the only problem in our country is the management…”
    ————
    1. I beg to differ, NAP prohibitive tax structure will be phase out significantly after 2010. And AFTA or similar FTAs will take effects just like our electrical, electronic, computer, certain food products that are FTA-compliance since earlier of 2000s. Why other products and services can enjoy FTAs benefits and why we have to suffer under NAP?

The consequences of maintaining NAP-compliance after 2010 in our auto sector is too high simply because we have to commit to FTA signed by G for overall well being of the country economy. The adverse effect to others sector (especially export oriented like MNC “CKD” electrical/electronic products or commodity like palm oil) will be tremendous. “we cannot take care of one deadwood but disregard the well being of one healthy and green mountanous forest”.

2. Yes, goverment get revenue through normal tax, income tax, import/export tax, royalty, corporate tax, etc. But some tax or non-tariff barrier are illegal by WTO standard or “double tax”. E.g. AP is illegal under WTO, for NAP the Duty Import is higher than AFTA (20%), the excise duty is “over-inflated” (up to 280%) and most of the time Sales Tax is double tax (tax twice). I got accountant friend, he told me that all sales tax, be it in NAP, McDonald or any restaurants charge sales tax (5%) is “double tax” and is a burden to consumers as the products or services already tax in some way or another.

3. Just like toll collection, it is also “double tax” since JPJ road tax do not give discount for using toll highway! Can we drive our car without roadtax at tol highway yet we do not agant traffic law?

Tax must be there for gov to generate income and return back to society through development and other health, road or g services. But all three NAP tax (ID/ED/ST) is a double tax design to protect “one dead wood at the expense of one green mountainous forest”. The sooner this part of NAP tax gone is better! Just really implement the 6 basic obectives of NAP will be fine! Current NAP implementation – cakap tak serupa bikin!

• ezralimm (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 10:06 am

Please take note you make a misleading statement again and again just like classified car based on weight, generalize all website price is not OTR price, “secular economy”, Jazz can’t sell at RM 55K in any part of the world!, etc, etc.
    == I did clarify. “secular” is an adjective for modern and it was used in that context. I think PT deleted the post as it was going offtopic. Dont blame him though. And i never mentioned that about the Jazz. I said a CIVIC cant sell at RM55k anywhere. Which turned out to be possibly untrue as an Arab website does have a sub Rm55k Civic although it was not clear if that was the OTR price. Civics cost about RM80k OTR in most countries around the world. (or up to RM110k depending on trim). Phew. You seem to think that all my info comes from the net, Well. the net is handy for finding figures. But most ideas i’ve gotten from real life and my experience purchasing a car in australia. Most malaysians seem to think that cars are cheap overseas. They are not. They are a bit cheaper but that’s about it. I have also mentioned about a “fractional reserve” system of banking. You disputed it. Said i was making things up. No. I had just watched a documentary of it on Foxtel (history channel i think) – regarding how money gets it’s perceived value despite a lack of intrinsic value. I forgot the name of the documentary but will let you know if i come across it.

I will summarize again:

1) NO TAX (unrealistic) scenario
    vios RM48k. persona RM36k.

2) Fair tax scenario. (all cars taxed the same).
    vios ~RM60k. persona RM46k

3) Unfair tax scenario (NAP taxes foreign cars more)
    vios RM77k.

~A vios is RM57k in thailand (that has a fair tax policy on cars)

It’s not misleading. It’s just numbers.

for the record, i dont quite agree with the NAP either.

BigFish said,
    August 24, 2007 @ 11:53 pm
    Do I need to say more, Uni student from Kangarooland. U want more, look after Mahaguru Mad Google A/L Mad Yahoo!

• tec96248 (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 10:36 am

peYno-1 said,
    August 24, 2007 @ 6:47 pm

PERSONA Ride Quality and Handling must be good..
    This is PROTON product man.. superb handling not like perodua , toyota UMW or Honda melaka cars

prrrfthh

peYno-1 said,
    August 24, 2007 @ 6:49 pm

==my goodness, r u gay? got problem with lady? u own persona, toyota, honda or myvi?

please don’t insult urself infront of everyone. still never change dude!

• tec96248 (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 11:09 am

dear ezralimm,

UK, Australia or Thailand, are just few of the over hundred countries. u should find out too of german, french, chezh, others car prices. u will found out that UK car price consider one of the highest tax in EU. it did come out in the newspaper in UK. just experiencing buying a car in aus is not enough. by the way, have u tested persona?

• tec96248 (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 11:20 am

peYno-1 said,
    August 24, 2007 @ 11:09 pm

wanna compare myvi n persona???
    nowadays.. who wanna buy HATCHBACK ???

Myvi- car for Ah soos/aunties
    SEDAN- car for men

==peyno-1 and peyno related? if it’s same person, no wonder such an idiot comments, it’s better than laughing pill. hahahaha……..
    i seen a lot of guys driving myvi, jazz and gals driving vios, city, sentra, altis, camry, etc, even my aunt driving a posrche 996 and my uncle drive myvi for city use though he had a cayenne.
    u r one of the automotives retarded so far i have seen. whahahaha, my apologies, i just can’t hold it. hahahahaha. we should love cars doesn’t care where it makes. persona handling is good for the size of that car so does myvi.

• ezralimm (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 11:41 am

Thanks for the replies to my comments guys. I dont want to clutter up this blog with irrelevant posts anymore. So do visit the topic I started at the forum link below:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/510116

It pretty much summarizes what i want to say.

• mzfnd (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 12:48 pm

#
    Paul Tan said,

August 25, 2007 @ 1:12 am

BigFish/Joe Ooi: comparing people’s penis here is not what i think behaved and civilised is.
    ______________________________________________________________________________

Hahahaha. Sorry Fish, had to laugh.
    And to those who post lengthy comments,… I simply don’t read them.

To those planning to buy the Persona, it’s a good car for that kind of money.
    It’s not going to be trouble free though. But then again, no car is. Just make sure you check the car thoroughly before driving off from the showroom.

• tokmoh (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 1:04 pm

Well, probably why peyno’s concerned is that, should there be a “Myvi owners’ gathering”, you won’t have to become a ‘lelaki lembut’ in order to blend wit the surrounding.

Come on la guys, “cars are men’s second wife”, so why not get something more exciting for a “2nd wife”? Why settle for some photostated Daihatsu for the sake of “low maintenance cost, high QC and high re-sale value”? Where’s the fun in a car that has oni just that?

There is nothing wrong if girls wanna drive w/e car they like, in fact, there are quite a number of cars out there that look cool when girls drive them but aren’t cool when guys drive them. It’ll be an interesting situation actually if girls do drive such cars :D. But for guys? Erm……I believe we ought to be more careful in choosing them…..not just “any one of them, so long it can get me from A to B reliably and wit high re-sale value”.

• spidermutu (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 2:49 pm

haha.agree with tohmoh, car design,colour do make a difference…”cars are mens second wife” do agree with u but..aaa have to avoid any potholes while driving, betul tak?hehe

• Max88 (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 4:07 pm

“why do you think proton is wasting rakyats money??in what sense??and how is proton fooling us???can you please explain??”
    Fooled, wasting bazillions of rakyat money by giving crappy models such as Tiara, Waja, Juara, Arena, Gen2, Savvy. Redesign Gen2 interior and butt just to please the complaints from rakyat by giving Persona? RM7K to add from glovebox to ABS?
    For Satria ‘Gay-Boy’ Neo, it’s matter of time that JC will review it with built-in GPS sat-nav unit to show maps around Brighton, the UK gay capital. Just like he did for Porsche Cayman s review.

“what do expect??a tax free gov??free taxs for the car??which country does that???people in singapore have super high tax even if the are from developed country…but they dont complain as much as us…
    if there is no tax…the G can never make money at all…if they can…can you tell me how??”
    Govt’s tax revenue don’t solely dependent on car taxes. Minimal tax for any car is accecptable. Higher car taxes to offset fuel subsidy or to protect Proton?
    For lower income buyers, they are the one hit the hardest by buying small car category like Viva, Savvy at 50% more expensive. This entry level car segment should be in RM15K-20K region. Recently car makers like Nissan/Renault will focus on USD3000 car as global entry-level car. Do the math and you know what price (RM) entry level car price supposed to be. If govt reaaly want get more tax collection, why not minimize car taxes for capacity below 3000cc diesel or petrol engines (since majority car market fall under this cc) and anything above deemed luxury so just tax it to the sky high rates. For those can afford Bugatti Veyron just go ahead buy it, but for most car buyers it’s a FAIR car taxes that is much appreciated, very patriotic action indeed for rakyat.

“i do agree the nap is unfair in our country…but dont be fool by people by saying the cars in rest of the world is way much cheaper than a proton or the G is charging extremely high tax…we should protect our industry…and there is not reason not to!!tell me a country which dont protect their industry and tax free??you cant find any!!”
    Protect the industry or protect one certain company–Proton? Or just call the NAP policy as Never Against Proton (NAP) policy? It is the open market competition that’ll make Proton getting better, not thru govt protection. If a prick politicians single out employment for locals will be threathen if liberalise car market that’s very shallow. By giving not much restriction and open up car market will attract more car companies to invest here. It doesn’t matter national car brand or not, it is the auto industry here become more competitive and well received globally.

The only thing that really save Proton ass now is the GLOVEBOX.

• proton GL (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 4:34 pm

just for coparison, sirion roughly 8000pound, myvi also 8000pound, sold in united kingdom,

80000pound roughly, rm56000

any indication that malaysian selling car not at the right price?

• proton GL (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 4:44 pm

id malaysian auto industrl is reasonable ,

• proton GL (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 4:45 pm

proton is a good car with good price,

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 5:20 pm

Paul Tan said,

August 25, 2007 @ 1:12 am

———————-
    You misquote me! It is not that I am not behave or not civilized! But this is the “street brawl settlement” with a “bunch of cocky parrot”. Claim to be telling the truth/facts and like to talk a lot. Not least conveniently flaming fellow blogger who are criticize Proton as blind basher.

Yes, plainly interprete my statement, I agree with you comparing people’s penis is not appropriate but the real message is this bunch of cocky parrot have to settle through “street brawl”.

If I want to hit them, I means biz and I will hit them really hard until they get “bloody nose”. “If the authority found me break the laws for giving a bunch of parrot bloody nose”, let the justice take it course and let me face it, BUT I OFFER NO APOLOGY TO THEM!

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 5:27 pm

Prem3377 said,

NoToLowQuality ,
    yah some may say singapore has the best public transport in the world…i do agree…but how big is singapore??its easy to manage a small country…but the point is..why do singapore increase the automotive tax so high when they have the best public transportation system in the world??why the G is so worried about cars when their public transport is so good??the reason is…the G wants to PROTECT their public transportation system and traffic conggestion..
    —————
    The reason for Singapore to impose high tax for car is to control the population of car so that it is not over crowded this tiny red dot. Their car tax policy is not protect their public transportation as Sing manage to offer a good mode of public transport system also design to provide alternative to it citizen. Sing high tax policy for car and good public transportation system are two pronge strategy to control car population!

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 6:11 pm

It make little sense to compare how much vios is selling in UK, Thailand, Russia, China or even in Antartica.

With the abolishment of nap, hopefully cars will be sold at fair prices as every car makers r competing on a level playing field. If they think they can price vios at RM1 miilion and yet vios can sell, so be it.

Every car makers will know what is the best price to offer under a open market environment, there will be a equilibrium of price as a result of demand and supply. Let the market forces dictate the car market.

seriously, if wios and siti r being sold at 50k+, would u still choose pesonga???
    at the end of the day, this car maker just can not rely on domestic demand for survival, bcoz the volume is just not big enuff for economy of scale.

and it need to be exported and named as “bintang matsalleh”, where is the pride actor???????

• spidermutu (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 8:45 pm

Bigfish, some things u wrote are really funny and whats wrong with that? and i wont take any of your comments or any comments seriously, for what? But whatever it is hehehe, u r funny…

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 10:32 pm

spidermutu, your writing r much more funny! But I won’t take it seriously as well!

• jcws_87 (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 10:42 pm

The bookings will be HOT until Oct only, until UMW Toyota launch the new Vios then tat will be a different story…the launching date for the new Vios have not been set but will be coming out on Oct 2007 with some not sure surprise rumour tat the car will cost RM60++K / RM70K with manual…a very 1st from Vios in malaysia

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 10:43 pm

Just back from newly open Giant Bandar Kinrara, Puchong. The biggest among all hypermarket all over Malaysia. Easily twice or more the size of normal Tesco!

Overthere, there is a Perodua showroom, but the funny thing is there are premium Waja and Baseline manual Persona (red) display overthere (tumpang Perodua showroom). Observe and check the car: –

1. Many visitors, just open and slam the door as hard as possible as like to test whether it will fall down.

2. Also, many of them including me, observe every details including the gap to find out is there any “flaw” for this car. I manage to find the gap of boot is not consistent at both side.

3. Most of them “touch-here-and-touch-there” just behave like engineer carry out QC inspection!

4. Apart form the unattractive steering, other is of better quality compare to Gen-2, the legroom is not cramp but the width of the car is still same with Gen-2 means it is not as spacious as Waja!

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 10:58 pm

ezralimm said,

“I have also mentioned about a “fractional reserve” system of banking. You disputed it. Said i was making things up.”
    ———–
    I dispute it simply because I try to find it in IMF website but can’t find it. What I can find is “foreign reserve”. Perhaps you heard it wrongly, or if you can justify your term, then something for me to learn!

foreign reserve search – found 4926 of 21511

http://www.imf.org/external/ns/search.aspx?NewQuery=foreign+reserve&col=SITENG&collection=&year=&filter_val=N&lan=eng

fractional reserve search – found 22 of 21511

http://www.imf.org/external/ns/search.aspx?NewQuery=fractional+reserve&col=&submit.x=10&submit.y=10

Still scour through the 22 titles, seem non of it related to “fractional”!

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 11:10 pm

ezralimm said,

“~A vios is RM57k in thailand (that has a fair tax policy on cars)”
    ————-
    The Langkawi OTR price for Vios: –

1.5G = RM 54,325.70
    1.5E = RM 47,281.62

Why Thailand price is RM 57K since they manufacture the car?
    To the best of my knowledge, this is because their price include “one off” payment for roadtax.

• ezralimm (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 12:03 am

Searched as a string. “Fractional Reserve Banking”
    In Google: Results 1 – 10 of about 78,800 for “fractional reserve banking”

As separate words: Fractional Reserve Banking
    Results 1 – 10 of about 1,830,000 for fractional reserve banking.

It is a well established system of making money out of thin air. It is the reason why a cup of coffee cost 5sen 40years ago… but now costs RM1.50 at the mamak. Secular monetary systems are based on it – and is the reason why there is growing opposition to the system. From “islamic” intrinsic value models to “the Liberty dollar” in America (that is backed in gold and precious metals)

Foreign reserves are tied to the fractional reserve system as it is nowadays accepted that foreign reserves of foreign currency (ironically also from a fractional reserve system) can be used in place of intrinsic reserves of precious metals.

Anyway, this is going off topic. Further discussion here pls: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/510116

• spidermutu (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 12:41 am

aha..u are rite bigfish..I do notice some engineer wannabes at my place too,touch,knock,pinch and all the works..very detail,funny guys..so I do the same thing, but touch only..hehe..in terms of looks,I go for Gen 2 but besides that Persona is much better overall, looks better than Waja..cos waja looks a bit old fashioned,oops I’m not saying its bad,my dad bought it many years ago and still good condition

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 12:57 am

rm4 per litre is not scary…..2 hour work can pay 1 weeks car petrol. increasing prices of goods while your salary does not rise with it IS scarier.

the government pockets your money one way or the other. proton around does not really keep the money in the country.

u can achieve the same by expanding your auto industry….welcoming all car manufacturers to assemble here but using local parts and labour. that will benefit more industries and a wider audience. besides giving other industries in the country a breather rather than every other country boycotting your exports just coz of proton.

whether protons sells or not in malaysian market is irrelevant. simply coz they will never be able to compete in overseas markets. therefore your local industries feeding off a feeble and ailing proton is gonna wind up dead anyway.

• DrA (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 6:42 am

Absolutely nice car. I would buy it in the future (I baru tukar kereta). No doubt that Proton would produced better car in the future. This is a landmark. Lets hope Proton doesn’t start to rebadge another mitsubishi in the future.

I think Proton has learned their mistake of not listening to the public/buyers. In the past the attitude was the public would certainly buy a Proton because its cheap. Well it wasn’t that cheap anymore and the quality was poor.

This encouraging start for Persona is because Proton has changed their attitude. Make a good quality car, affordable, and people would buy it.

Maybe a lot of people would disagree, when Proton produced SAGA in 1985, it was a brilliant car. It never rust, the engine was top notch (ORION engine I think) and it was quite a benchmark for other manufacturer. After a few years it came with remote central locking and front electric windows as standard. The built quality was good. The problem started after the success of WIRA. Since then the quality took a plunge and sales were deminishing. WAJA did not help either.

I’m hoping Persona would bring back the spirit of the SAGA. Good built quality, good engine, affordable and reliable. With good customer care and support, other manufacturer would be shaking in their boots.

Well done Proton. Keep the good stuff coming….!!!! (possibly an MPV, 4×4 and a new Perdana pls)

• kancildriver (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 10:14 am

proton GL said,
    August 25, 2007 @ 4:34 pm

just for coparison, sirion roughly 8000pound, myvi also 8000pound, sold in united kingdom,

80000pound roughly, rm56000

any indication that malaysian selling car not at the right price?
    ——————-

My friend,

You cannot simply convert the currency. The world doesn’t work that way. For example, a typical engineering fresh grad earn at least 1000pound per month in UK. If a Sirion costs him 8000pound, he can settle it within 3 years, or save some money and later buy cash. 2nd hand Beemer also still affordable.

In M’sia, an engineering fresh grad earns RM2000 to RM3000 per month. A Myvi cost him about RM50000, and he pays for it for 7 years!!!!!!

Note that some people can only afford to buy kancil by paying it for 9 years!!!!

That is the exact reason why some people can only afford an EX5!

That’s why people say it is not priced at reasonable price!

• proton GL (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 3:10 pm

kancildriver,

just for a CAR it seemed that its a a certain value that roughly at the same in what ever country they sold,

purchasing power of different country is of course widely different,

• kancildriver (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 3:40 pm

Proton GL,

It is not the same. I repeat IT IS NOT THE SAME. Our car, M’sian car is imposed with a lot of taxes. Car price in Langkawi is WITHOUT the taxes. That is where you can see what is the actual price of any car.

My car, the price on the road is about RM150K. In Langkawi, it is around RM80K only.

Go check it out.

I repeat again, IT IS NOT THE SAME.

Purchasing power? They only gain better purchasing power if they shop outside their country. Inside, they are burden with expensive food, high income tax and high cost of living. Please go talk to people who lived in UK or US. Then you’ll know. That’s why their car is cheaper anyway.

• proton GL (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 5:02 pm

so for countries tax is ineviatble, there are some high tax in some part or sector, so fair enough,

and i presume cars there are imported from the lesser country which, i might say its the purchasing power of a certain country is high, cars imported from other european and not to mention the japanese or korean, cheaper for their money,

for us car is no cheap stuff,

• tokmoh (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 6:00 pm

spidermutu said,

August 25, 2007 @ 2:49 pm

haha.agree with tohmoh, car design,colour do make a difference…”cars are mens second wife” do agree with u but..aaa have to avoid any potholes while driving, betul tak?hehe

>>>Yep, my condolences to the family of the guy killed due to the pothole….. The news here: http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/8/24/nation/18679380&sec=nation

Well, I believe in that statement as I observe: Girls may look cool playin futsal, bt guys will never ever look cool playin netball. The case shud be the same for cars, feminine cars shudn’t be driven by guys, cuz it’s just……urgh…..rationalising it wit reasons like “reliable, high re-sale” is pretty much like rationalising playin netball for “gud exercise wit no excessive violence like rugby” =.=…………
    ——————
    If anyone wants to live in a tax-free land, our neighbor Brunei is the perfect place to go…..the question is, are you willin to pay the price of stayin there?

• schdmitz (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 6:09 pm

Congrat! Proton on the achievement…….Numbers can be produced…..how true ????wait n seeeeee,,,,,,last time When G2 appeared they mentioned got 3000 booking but the reality…..everybody knew!

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 6:16 pm

ezralimm, about the “Fractional Reserve Banking”, thanks for the info provided. Something for me to learn.

But for the link you posted in the Lowyat.NET, Let me post below the alternative view: –

1. HYPOTHSIS

OK now I hypothesize: –

“The benefits of fair car prices and non-subsidy fuel in open market are far outweighing NAP-compliance high tax car price and subsidy fuel in protective market”

2. METHODOLOGY

I make comparative analysis between Malaysia and USA auto sector to measure the affordability (purchasing power parity) based on apple-to-apple comparison. Ratio analysis is being employed to measure the level of affordability.

3. SAMPLING

Data required – Comparative analysis for Purchasing Power Parity (PPP), fuel price and car price for same makes/model for Malaysia and USA.

All data obtained for this analysis is refer to establish website that provide reliable secondary data.

a) Car prices
    Malaysia auto sector:

http://www.toyota.com.my/

Say the fuel is RM 1.92 per liter and Toyota Corrolla Altis 1.8G is price at RM 113,406.70. Say we take out variable of insurance (not form part of manufacturer price), the Retail Price (without insurance = RM 3,121.90) is RM 110,284.80.

USA auto sector:

http://autos.msn.com/research/vip/Spec_Glance.aspx?year=2007&make=Toyota&model=Corolla&trimid=-1

Say the fuel is RM 4.00 per liter and Toyota Corrolla Altis 1.8 LE Base Retail Price or Manufacturer Suggested Retail Price (MSRP) is USD 15,515 or RM 54,302.50 (based on conversion factor of 1 USD = 3.5 RM)

b) PPP (per capita)

https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/my.html

Malaysia GDP per capita (PPP) = USD 12,900 (2006 est.) = RM 45,150.00

https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/us.html

USA GDP per capita (PPP) = USD 44,000 (2006 est.) = RM 154,000

4. ANALYSIS

a) PPP ratio – Malaysia : USA = USD 12,900/USD 44,000 = 0.29

b) Car Price ratio – Malaysia : USA = RM 110,284.80/ RM 54,302.50 = 2.03
    USA Altis MSRP = RM 54,302.50

c) Fuel Price ratio – Malaysia : USA = RM 1.92/RM 4.00 = 0.48

5. CONCLUSIONS

Affordability for car between Malaysia : USA = Car Price/PPP ratio = 2.03/0.29 = 7

Affordability for fuel between Malaysia : USA = Fuel Price/PPP ratio = 0.48/0.29 = 1.66

a) We can conclude that in term of affordability, American is 7 times more affordable when buying a car and 1.66 times more affordable when buying fuel.

b) The same Corrolla Altis is equivalent to approximately 4.2 months of US income, whilst for Malaysia it is approximately 29.3 months (based on PPP).

c) Therefore the findings support the hypothesis – “The benefits of fair car prices and non-subsidy fuel in open market are far outweighing NAP-compliance high tax car price and subsidy fuel in protective market”.

i) We can fairly say current fuel subsidy and NAP high tax on car in protective environment inflict detrimental effects to the long term sustainable growth for auto industry. Therefore, in the long term, NAP and fuel subsidy shall abolish or phase out gradually to reduce the government expenditure and increase consumer purchasing power.

ii) The benefits of embracing open market is that it is revitalize the auto sector, attract FDI that contribute to net export earning, increase PPP, remove government burden to subsidize fuel and of course the rakyat enjoy fair value (competitive price) for car. In other word, increase in income or PPP will make the fuel and cars at market price are more affordable.

d) It is strongly indicate the above findings also valid for UK, Australia, Singapore (developed countries), Thailand, UAE, Brunei, China, Langkawi no exception (Developing countries but “not so poor”), etc. However, the ratio might be varies slightly from one geographical location to another.

6. DISCUSSIONS

ezralimm posting in Lowyat.NET

Myth One: A Camry will be only RM60k if NAP/Proton didnt exist

ezralimm – If NAP/Proton didn’t exist, the likely scenario is at least what we can found in Langkawi. The car for 2.0L Camry sold at around RM 85,000.
    ————–
    BigFish: In the event we embrace open market with strong long term sustainable growth in auto sector that attract FDI and contribute positively to the balance of payment just like Thailand (export more than 200 K car vs. Malaysia export less than 20K). Say our currency regain its pre 97 exchange value at 1 USD = RM 2.40.

RM 85K = USD 24.29K (if exchange rate is USD 1 = RM 3.50)
    USD 24.29K = RM 58,286.00 (if exchange rate is USD 1 = RM 2.40)

So, without NAP/Proton but come with open market that attract FDI (CKD for foreign car) just like Thailand, couple with favorable exchange rate and higher PPP, it is the likely scenario that Camry can be sold at around RM 60K. But today market, our Waja also sold more than RM 60K.

Historically, RM is on par with Sing dollar way back to earlier 1970s. If we are as competitive as Singapore, the PPP is USD 31,400 (2006 est.) and the exchange rate will be more favorable (USD 1 = RM 1.52). Therefore, we may be able to buy Camry at USD 24.29K x 1.52 = RM 36,920.00.

So never say Persona at RM 45K is cheap, but lowest price under NAP-compliance environment! If we continue NAP sucking for another 20 year, our car prices may be like Indon scenario – “million RM affair” with the currency conversion may be at USD 1.00 = RM 100.00.
    —————-
    ezralimm – …but i saw those really low prices on the CBU Warta on the government website.
    —————-
    BigFish: Those warta list is not deflated price but are basically “factory prices” for car + logistic cost that reach Port Klang. This warta price is not OTR price.
    —————-

ezralimm – Myth Two: Car prices on overseas websites are actual prices
    —————-
    BigFish: Some of the websites are yes and some are no in this respect. But most of it is not OTR price simply because for seller (car manufacturer), they normally display the price of the car. Insurance, road tax, etc is not form part of the car price but authority requirement for it to be allow legally move on the road.
    —————-
    ezralimm – Myth Three: Proton cars are expensive as they are artificially inflated due to NAP.
    —————-

BigFish – This is the naked truth in our NAP-compliance prohibitive tax protective market that will inflict detrimental long term effect on the auto sector growth (indeed do not achieve the level as expected just like Thailand).

Luckily the cronies in our country or our former PM do not have any ideas on “national computer project” way back in 1980s. If we has national computer and “National Computer Policy” that work like Proton and NAP under protective market, our national computer brand like “Procom” may still selling old tech PC 486 with basic wordstar software at RM 5K to RM 7K, whilst those imported brands like Dell, HP, Lenovo, Acer, etc that selling latest tech duo core with Window Vista will be subject to prohibitive tax and must selling RM 10K to RM 15K.
    —————-

ezralimm – Myth Four: Proton cars are cheaper overseas than they are in Malaysia.
    —————-

BigFish – In order for “Procom” to be sellable in oversea, it is able to upgrade to better specs with Pentium 4 but selling at RM 2K to RM 3k in UAE order to make it marketable! In the case of UK, it is selling same price with Malaysia market at RM 5k to RM 7k in order to cut losses and let the British dealer to make a living.

—————-
    ezralimm – Myth Five: A free car market will save money for most malaysians.
    —————-
    BigFish – Yeah, indeed it is really true, even it may be better if we are as competitive as Singapore.

So to all those “cocky parrots”, do not simply come out nasty mud slinging about my writing without facts and proof!

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 6:19 pm

tokmoh,
    “If anyone wants to live in a tax-free land, our neighbor Brunei is the perfect place to go…..the question is, are you willin to pay the price of stayin there?”
    ——-
    Tax free is blessing, but multiple tax in our NAP is a burden! The only wish is normal tax so that consumers can purchase all makes at market price!

• heavymetal (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 6:23 pm

Kancildriver,
    Tak salah kalau banding harga kereta di UK, tapi kena banding jugak dgn yang lain, contoh sekali makan ( kat Malaysian hall) itu pun paling budget>3pounds=21ringgit…T shirt murah 10pounds>70rm…24hrs London bus>3pds…belum cerita petrol,sewa,taxi,cukai,ituini..orang Malaysia sana banyak buat duit,kuat kerja,dan tak suka complain,…untungnya jadi rakyat Malaysia……tengah tunggu kunci Persona ni,jgn lambat cukuplah…

• spidermutu (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 6:38 pm

my sincere condolences to Cheng Ming’s family and friends

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 9:03 pm

8000 Persona was sold….. so good.

Comments like garbage… no good.

Argument between Paultan members… not so good.

186 comments… quite hot.

Talking about off of this topic… make Paul, me and positive members hot !!

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 9:59 pm

Thank you very much Paul Tan for allow me to post lengthy comments to reply to ezralimm.

p/s: ezralimm, “cocky parrot” not refer to you!

• kancildriver (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 10:19 pm

heavymetal,
    i’m in line with you. read my post correctly.
    thanks

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 10:58 pm

heavymetal & kancildriver, the key word is still affordability in relation to at what price and level of Purchasing Power Parity (PPP)! But fair price under open market always affordable since it is follow the normal supply-demand curve.

• mzfnd (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 11:53 pm

172 comments and counting…
    Come on everyone, 30 more and you got yourself a thesis on Proton.

The funny thing is, I don’t think going through the whole thread can ever help anyone make up their mind on buying the Persona or not.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 12:41 am

Now after so much complain improve a bit, well not bad.. But still, this is just the beginning… Wira, Saga, Iswara, waja, gen.2 last time also sell hot, but after a while a lot of complain come by… So wait and see.. Dont conclude so fast, This car just come at the right time.. but if the car slow to deliver, new Vios going come out rumored only RM70K between.. i gonna say some persona customer going to say bye bye… Heard rumor Vios will be assemble in Perodua factory to sell cheaper in Malaysia market… Hold hands! (Maybe that why ppl think saw myvi sedan, actually is vios!) Persona is good, but let down by its engine. Others are not surprise element, just gen.2 added boot with few interior change.. for me the heart of the car is more important.. if proton come with CPS+VIM and same pricing as current, i bet that it will be 18k booking, not 8k only.. Faster come out la! I want CPS+CIM & Supercharge CAMPRO! Show it to me! Just bring it!

• mzfnd (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 1:32 am

Careful Littlefire. That kind of statement could lead this thread wayyy off topic.
    We are peaceful people aren’t we? Now, let’s get back to Persona.

• wong (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 4:09 am

Hope those who have booked the car don’t have to wait too long…Thinking of changing my company’s old beat up Iswara, the Persona will be just nice

• Infinitt (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 10:04 am

The booking and order will be increased till end of this year due to many festivals. Back to hometown and saw many carriers deliver persona yesterday. All the best to proton…persona yang memang mempersonakan.

• sugar_glider (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 10:19 am

I read paultan every week days and I always ignore BigFish/Jeo Ooi comment. His comment is very long but useless and mostly out of topic. Persona is a good car by proton. I start to love protons car and plan to sell my current car and book my 1st proton car now. Hahaha….

• sugar_glider (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 10:22 am

I love persona

• sugar_glider (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 10:29 am

I already book Persona last week and plan to sell my current car. That ganna be my 1st proton car in my life. Hahaha… Very good price compare to Latio 1.6.

• aesthari (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 10:31 am

Kudos to Proton. I believe, at least now, that Proton IS changing. Time for them to let the Wira retire gracefully, perhaps?

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 10:46 am

I heard fm a fren in Proton, order had reach 10k over the weekend. Maybe to catch festival season n to show off during balik kampung………

Kudos……..

• ady (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 11:47 am

Good Job P1
    be a no 1 in malaysia and make malaysian proud to have PERSONA and also other proton cars

• xstan (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 3:09 pm

Yes. Nizam …Envy is already is teaser advert in some mags laready. Someone (Max i guess) posted the link to this Cool version of Persona.

BTW…I do learn bits from BigFish comments. I tot he, Joe Ooi is Proton Bashers from day 1, but he do give rather construtive comments. Good.

• tec96248 (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 4:04 pm

heavymetal & kancildriver,

to add on, a fresh graduate in UK can earn somewhere up to 1500pound 4 weeks. reasonly, my brother bought me a clark shows which is still cheaper than in KL. In UK cars are cheaper until Malaysian RM dropped since 1997. remember the time rm3.80 to a pound? there’s where all the cars are cheaper than Malaysia, The UK price was the highest tax in Europe then. I believe still a lot of people still dreaming. agree?? but we can’t compare actually because used car in UK don’t hv value. I should hv brought back BMW then. missed! hahahahaha.

• tec96248 (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 4:04 pm

heavymetal & kancildriver,

to add on, a fresh graduate in UK can earn somewhere up to 1500pound 4 weeks. reasonly, my brother bought me a clark shoes which is still cheaper than in KL. In UK cars are cheaper until Malaysian RM dropped since 1997. remember the time rm3.80 to a pound? there’s where all the cars are cheaper than Malaysia, The UK price was the highest tax in Europe then. I believe still a lot of people still dreaming. agree?? but we can’t compare actually because used car in UK don’t hv value. I should hv brought back BMW then. missed! hahahahaha.

• heavymetal (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 5:26 pm

Kalau nak banding harga dgn Uk sampai bila pun tak habis lah,lagi ‘off topic’..sementara tunggu kunci Persona,my Myvi pun dah kena pindahmilik to my auntie,so pinjam my bro’s Satria Neo,wah..best jugak Neo ni,nasib baik 2 pintu,…tapi Persona interior lebih baik,..jadi kalau handling dan topspeed tak macam Neo pun ok,yg penting sedan 4pintu,duduk belakang kepala tak terhantuk,boot besar…

• proton GL (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 6:08 pm

oops

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y2sWg7K85JU

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 7:12 pm

heavymetal said,
    “…….boot besar…”
    Inilah kelebihan persona!

• scorpicore (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 7:44 pm

Well done. Looking at the result, 2 conclusions can be made.
    1. 6,000 malaysians have had seen the car and decided to buy one
    2. Malaysians still prefer sedan car than other small cars if they can afford

Again, while most are hoping the quality is improved, still they go for the most affordable one. 8,000 was indeed excellent result when 16,000 malaysians just bought viva weeks before.

The success of MYvi giving ample of space with low price will actually predict the outcome of persona. I believe Persona will have better result than Myvi if launched earlier as Myvi did.

P1 now understood that right pricing is very important, hope this will be the trend for the future models with improved quality.

However since we are going to celebrate 50 years of independance, i am hoping that local banks will offer car loan for our national car with a lower rate. Current rate of 3.88% is indeed high especially for those taking 9 years loan, when other car brand can get loan for a rate below 2%.

Happy Merdeka Day to all malaysian, and to PROTON. Cheaper does not always mean poor quality but affordability.

• heavymetal (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 7:59 pm

Thanks protonGL,memang sporty r3Neo,tapi 4door sedan lagi practical,hah setuju dgn bigfish

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 9:43 pm

aesthari, wira production has already been stopped apparently, since july.

• waimak (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 4:02 pm

I went to check the HL model a day after this car was launched. Huge improvement over Gen2 hatchback, I must say. Odd buttons/ possitions have been simplified. I noticed major issues in Gen2 Hatchback have been addressed too. Good move.

However, also I noticed that some parts of the car is still commendable, quality wise. For e.g., the plastic used for cupholders looks cheap and the center console need not a genius to give a comment in terms of built quality. The cover for the front seat rail is roughly made too -maybe proton should study how nissan do it. The model which I checked has a noticable ‘body-to-rear-bumper’ gap – perhaps this could be rectified soon.

I think Proton should stick to its good old Wira when it comes to door, where there is a rubber strip at the door to minimize the impact when closing. Both the gen2 and Persona seem to rely on the wheater strip on the car body and its mechanism alone to absorb the impact. In the long run, I dont think this is practical.

I hope the Persona model comes with better quality rear light and bulb too. Move into the Klang valley and you will find a Gen2 with some water in the rear light (possibly due to crack) and at least one rear bulb not working. The audio buttons should also be built to last, unlike the current Gen2 Hatchback’s.

All in all, Persona is definitely a better model than the Gen2 hacth. However, proton should be more careful and be more particular in its choice of material because this minor things could spoil the sale.

• kancildriver (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 8:47 pm

no offense ya?

from dictionary.com…

commendable means

adjective
    1. worthy of high praise; “applaudable efforts to save the environment”; “a commendable sense of purpose”; “laudable motives of improving housing conditions”; “a significant and praiseworthy increase in computer intelligence” [syn: applaudable]

adverb
    1. in an admirable manner; “the children’s responses were admirably normal” [syn: admirably]

• heavymetal (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 9:30 pm

ha ?????

• proton GL (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 10:38 pm

http://static.flickr.com/29/51488718_258fc9a9f0_m.jpg

not bad,

• waimak (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 9:35 am

Thanks kancildriver. Please refer some more.

• nescartel (Member) on Aug 29, 2007 at 4:52 pm

11000++ bookings and counting! :-D

• oscarsmh (Member) on Aug 31, 2007 at 6:32 am

Hey guys,
    dun argue anymore la,there’s no right or wrong of wat u all say.go for t car u guys liked.if u guys insist to argue,go ahead & import an S15 to prove your car nice & fast.tat’s simple.i wonder y malaysian nowadays started grew liked org putih,argue here & there dunno for wat,u guys tink got money pay to u guys meh if u support any particular brand?anyway peace to all of u,cheers again!!!

• sham_mpm (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 3:01 am

Persona is a bargain. Indeed, it is a really nice car and can be true pride of the nation. To all, support Persona, our government has invested billion in proton and giving many malaysians career & business opportunities. Let the bashing be constructive critics rather than blind expression of hatred. Please don’t be bias & sceptical anymore.

• snailhill78 (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 12:45 pm

to sham mpm,

i support you..