Proton subsidiary Miyazu to supply parts to Toyota

toyotalogo.gifProton Holdings Berhad subsidiary Miyazu (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd was awarded a contract to stamp and supply blank sheets for 20 parts to Toyota Auto Body Malaysia (TABM), to be delivered on the basis of TABM’s pull system four times daily in compliance with TABM’s production cycle.

Miyazu and TABM engineers will be collaborating to implement quality and process control improvements. Among systems to be implemented are the Toyota Production System (TPS), Pull System, Kaizen and Total Productive Maintenance (TPM) – a combination of all of these systems are a key ingredient to efficient delivery, quality, and cost control. It is expected that with the implementation of these systems, Miyazu will be able to increase its Overall Equipment Effectiveness (OEE) by 15%. This is good news as these improvements will also have an effect on parts made for Miyazu’s other clients, which include Proton.

Miyazu aims to be a key and trusted stamping dies and parts supplier for not only TABM but also the Toyota Group globally. It recently launched a 3,600 square meter A-Class Tooling Plant on a 10.5 acre site in PROTON City, Tanjung Malim.

The plant houses state-of-the-art design, engineering, machining and finishing facilities which include computer-aided design and manufacturing (CAD/CAM) applications, and double-column, coordinate-measuring and pressing machines, which are critical tools required to design, engineer and produce the dies and moulds for the production of automobile components such as roof, bonnet, fender, dashboard, and door, side and other body panels.

Malaysia now imports 90% of its automotive tooling requirements, which is equivalent to about RM 500 million per year. Miyazu is targeting to reduce this by 30% by 2012. This amounts to roughly RM 150 million in import substitution with local components per annum.

Other Miyazu clients include Proton, Perodua, Toyota, Mazda Japan and Takao Thailand. Miyazu (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd is is a collaboration between Proton (51%), Miyazu Seisakusho (Japan) (34%) and Sojitz Corporation (15%).

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 7:05 pm

the existance of proton,

• Miyazu Sdn Bhd on Sep 28, 2010 at 10:51 pm

Miyazu Malaysia Sdn Bhd (MMSB)

Miyazu Malaysia Sdn Bhd (MMSB), specializing in Automotive Tooling Engineering, Design and Manufacturing services, is currently the leading die provider for Proton cars. With more than ten years of experiences in the industry, MMSB now has tooling plants in Shah Alam and Tanjung Malim with over 250 personnel.

The automotive industry in Malaysia is an exciting business, with the constant needs for better innovation in tooling engineering and manufacturing field. By providing high quality products and services to its customers, Miyazu aims to further heighten the Malaysian reputation in the eyes of the world in its industry.

Malaysia, ranked 3rd for two consecutive years (2004-2005) in the Global Services Location Index by A.T. Kearney, is one of the most popular business destinations among foreign investors. With its low costs, particularly for infrastructure, attractive business environment among emerging markets and high levels of global integration, Malaysia continues to be among the top locations for foreign investments.

• J (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 7:16 pm

So Toyota quality will drop ? :)

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 7:19 pm

This is just one of the company that provides parts… they are many more cronies company out there wif permits to produce other proton parts… Bosch Penang also produce the lights of proton cars… This company is actually from Japan, just Proton have more share in it… Luckily this company have better facilities…

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 7:42 pm

Some people are never positive about anything. Look on the bright side, at least they are not sleeping on the job while some people are just talking craps. The Proton group has the potential to be one of the big players in the automotive industry. That justify VW interest in Proton.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 7:59 pm

mayb its best to be a part supplier…y not…

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 8:02 pm

….and some people are so complacent

• mohi_jp (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 8:06 pm

What to do

Auto World in Malaysia = BN’s Cronies World

National Project for Car?
    No lah…
    They only think of they pocket

Should call, BN’s cronies project

• Prem3377 (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 8:14 pm

nobodyatuk,

agree with you…and when it comes to proton..people only think negatively..i wonder why??
    someday proton is going to be a leading automotive manufacturer in the World and hope it will shift its production line to some ex soviet/russian country and then sell car priced similar to toyota and honda here in Malaysia…since its a small market and hope malaysian that time will be dying to get a Proton..proton’s biggest mistake is trusting its local market…it should have aimed for US or EUROPE at the very beginning..like how koreans and Japanese started…even when they produced crappy cars and ugly designs..they did sell cause they were cheap and easy to maintain…TUN should have not care about us and change our mentality of owning a car a basic mean of transport…then we still will be riding bikes like vietnamese..and many malaysian whose first car was a PROTON and Perodua would have been riding honda or yamaha bikes and will be trying to own car by their 30s…like how people in Thailand and etc…the actual fact is MALAYSIANS ARE TO PAMPERED…not Proton or the rest..we dont really appreciate what we have..but only know how to complain..which is the best thing we been doing for a long time…thats the reason things have been going from bad to worst..

• mzfnd (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 8:24 pm

#
    J said,

September 14, 2007 @ 7:16 pm

______________________________________________________________________________
    It’s the other way around, bro. Some of Proton’s parts will match Toyota’s Q now.

• nmh (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 8:49 pm

Proton shud take chance to increase collaboration with toyota

• altis_fan (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 8:54 pm

Now I understand why Persona Q is great. It can match Toyota Q. By the way
    I heard that H-line Persona still not available yet. Any one has any detail info?

• The Unicons (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 8:58 pm

Agree with you, nododyatuk and Prem3377.

Agree with you mzfnd.

#
    J said,
    September 14, 2007 @ 7:16 pm

ANSWER FOR YOU: As what mzfnd said. It’s the other way round. It means that Miyazu (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd, able to produce something which Toyota wants such as the quality and stuff like that. It also means Proton’s stamp and blank sheets not crap and rubbish whatever you want to say. Only some other parts of Proton cars still not really up to standard. Have to make sure vendors and suppliers that produce certain parts of the cars have quality products for Proton.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 9:39 pm

The plant houses state-of-the-art design, engineering, machining and finishing facilities which include computer-aided design and manufacturing (CAD/CAM) applications, and double-column, coordinate-measuring and pressing machines, which are critical tools required to design, engineer and produce the dies and moulds for the production of automobile
    —————————————————-
    how about that, since proton itself have the excess, new model?..no problem
    (vw peeping..)

• darkbrother (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 9:42 pm

…..and ppl still saying proton made of milo tin

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 9:55 pm

i agree with darkbrother..the mentality of some of malaysian people….

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 9:57 pm

darkbrother, I’m sure you have heard ‘tak sekolah punya orang’, that’s them…what a pity

• abe (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 11:12 pm

– which one do you want ?

kulit tin milo + chasis very good

or

kulit tebal skit + chasis good

you have the answer…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 15, 2007 at 12:09 am

Oops out of topic for a while.. Paul i saw newspaper today mention about VIVA face lift, the new sport rim, side skirt, fog lights are added to that new VIVA. Can u go and check it out for us? I am curious about the pricing…

Anywayz, even u give a good company to do things out for u… If u pay them little, they will also produce little quality stuff for u… So don’t think everything came out from same factory must be good quality stuff… just like u went shopping in tesco, hoping it is a British supermarket sure everything is good inside.. but in reality a lot of china made low quality stuff are selling cheap to attract customer.. Get my idea? So depend on the way they want their product to be produce… If Toyota want good stuff, sure they can! with better $$$…

• kingbrutal (Member) on Sep 15, 2007 at 1:40 am

I can’t understand the reasoning of some Malaysian. We know Toyota are built for quality and if they trust a Proton subsidiary company to make something for them, then we should be proud of it. But alas, there are still some of the ignorants that says Toyota quality will drop. Then again, who are you to judge what Toyota or Proton decide? An international automotive giant (Toyota, in case some of you don’t know that) leader and which produces around 3 million cars a year recognized the quality of a Malaysian company and you, a nobody in this industry says otherwise. Hmm, so who will the general public are going to believe? Thats just proved that a black heart will always be a black heart no matter what others says. Kudos to Miyazu and Proton. Keep up the good work and make us Malaysian proud.

(50 years of independence but still with colonial thinking?)

• kingbrutal (Member) on Sep 15, 2007 at 1:41 am

Hey Paul, any news update on Waja CPS? Thanks for any info that you can give.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 15, 2007 at 7:37 am

How long does it take for Lotus Engineering Malaysia (LEM) to perfect CPS? This was the whole idea behind the name ‘Campro’ in the first place, but they have yet to deliver! What’s going on here!?

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Sep 15, 2007 at 9:43 am

Yeah this kind of injection is what Malaysian automotive industry needs since long ago.Toyota undeniably is a genius in this kind of ‘idealogy’ – systemic thinking.And another good thing about Toyota is it is willing to share its tradition and expertise with others and let others know about its skills and talents.At least, you can go to a bookstore and be able to find numerous books unveil the Toyota ways.

In Japan, not only automotive related industrialists are adopting Toyota styles, but there are vast numbers of manufacturers and entrepreneurs ranging from mere a ketchup sauce maker, textiles, F & B, computer & electrical appliances until heavy industry such as Kobe Steel etc.Toyota old boys are very highly sought after for their expertise, experience and consultation that suit any field.
    If you have had an experience of working in one major entity of Toyota Group which has the true soul,spirit and tradition of Toyota,you know what i’m saying.UMWT ? Nope..yeah it may probably has Toyota touch but lack of soul and tradition.

Malaysians are not fool, they have the brain but lacking of experience and knowledge.What they need is a good teacher. What distinguish P2 and P1 is….P2 is lucky for having a good mentor and teacher but P1 had picked it’s partner cum teacher wrongly in the past.

Anyway, i do admire Toyota a lot as one great company.What else to say, it can offer you diverse range of cars from a crap,rubbish,schlock and ugly shitty to the best,unparalleled opulent, beau ideal, and great looking fabulous machines. Toyotans….they are too damn hardworking and astute !

• szw (Member) on Sep 15, 2007 at 11:54 am

perodua ler ?
    hahaha !

• nuzzary (Member) on Sep 15, 2007 at 12:04 pm

what i heard, CPS was ready for a long time but they are looking to put it with VIM as the torque inclease slightly if running CPS alone.
    They are trying to make people complaint less when the CPS finally introduce. just wait for Waja CPS end of this year

• BigFish (Member) on Sep 15, 2007 at 2:07 pm

Good achievement for Miyazu, for those cronies vendors, better buck up or shift out!

• tanasi (Member) on Sep 15, 2007 at 7:10 pm

Good job Proton — hopefully the technology and knowledge from Toyota will trickle down to your product!

• peYno (Member) on Sep 16, 2007 at 5:39 am

rear profile like gen2
    ur head may touch the roof, too low,
    not suitable for malaysian.. coz now malaysian getting taller

prrrfthhh

• peYno (Member) on Sep 16, 2007 at 5:56 am

TPS?? ToyotaQC?? bullshit, as long it’s run by MALAYSIAN..
    just compare toyota malaysia vs toyota Thai QC.. eventho both r running the TPS,Kaizen activities,Toyoata QC..but the output QC is differnt

Why??

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 16, 2007 at 1:26 pm

if u want to know why.go check by yourself la..jgb byk mulut..good thing for proton but u byk bising la…

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 16, 2007 at 1:27 pm

peYno said,

“…bullshit, as long it’s run by MALAYSIAN..”u are malaysian or not?if yes..u also is bullshit

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 16, 2007 at 2:30 pm

http://bp3.blogger.com/_FoXyvaPSnVk/Rt__gVuxq3I/AAAAAAAATRw/7UU-S4NXxPo/s1600-h/Carscoop_Mazda6_A3.jpg

http://images.automotive.com/cob/factory_automotive/images/Features/auto_shows/2006_LAAS/2006_Audi_A6__rear.jpg

http://www.motorpasion.com/tag/volkswagen+passat

off topic,
    some car just go for ‘enough space’ for the rear making sure it has the best shape desired,

• eezarm (Member) on Sep 16, 2007 at 9:02 pm

Toyota has QCfor its parts…
    so if Miyazu is given the contract, it should follow the standard given by toyota…or miyazu passed the quality standard.
    should be a good news for malaysian…

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 16, 2007 at 10:02 pm

#
    eezarm said,

September 16, 2007 @ 9:02 pm

Toyota has QCfor its parts…
    so if Miyazu is given the contract, it should follow the standard given by toyota…or miyazu passed the quality standard.
    should be a good news for malaysian…

but some malaysia people still can accept with that..always said something negative..are they board of director at toyota??

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 16, 2007 at 10:43 pm

this is part of proton revenue, and
    without proton its hardly for malaysia to have a good portfolio in auto related industry,

heard that nissan interested in becoming a client too,

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 16, 2007 at 11:27 pm

#
    proton.GL.. said,

September 16, 2007 @ 10:43 pm

this is part of proton revenue, and
    without proton its hardly for malaysia to have a good portfolio in auto related industry,

heard that nissan interested in becoming a client too,

if nissan become client..more people will bising…..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 8:16 am

even if proton as a company is turned around, starts selling lots of cars and is making money, there will be those among us who will continue to criticise for no good reason. Everytime a piece of good news from Proton comes up, they will criticise.

but luckily for proton and malaysia, some large international companies dont look at it that way and can see the potential value of working with malaysian companies (ie. VW, Toyota..etc.) which can only be good for our economy.

• ezralimm (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 4:01 pm

TPS?? ToyotaQC?? bullshit, as long it’s run by MALAYSIAN..
    just compare toyota malaysia vs toyota Thai QC.. eventho both r running the TPS,Kaizen activities,Toyoata QC..but the output QC is differnt

it is 2 months old.
    – minor rattling dash
    – airlock in cooling system

I think for most cars it’s a matter of luck. Although some brands are more problematic generally.

Any car has the potential for a fault.

Even Holden recently had to recall thousands of Commodores due to an electrical fault that left cars unable to start (wasted battery) in certain conditions after some time.

• proud2BMalaysian (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 4:05 pm

i think this showed that proton has overcome their past problems with their vendors. even the biggers player in the industry now trust the company that supplies parts to proton.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 6:11 pm

ezralimm said,
    September 17, 2007 @ 4:01 pm

“Any car has the potential for a fault.”

_____________________________________________________________________________
    i totally agree..if we buy hundred thousand car..we cannot assume that car are perfect condition and free from faults…faults still can happen but the probability maybe at the lowest but still not free from faults..

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 6:13 pm

i wonder how the person feeling when they buy a hundred thousand bmw or Mercedes but still have a problem..anybody have any experience??

• wong (Member) on Sep 17, 2007 at 6:27 pm

Yes,I have a Bmw and yes theres problems too,and very expensive to repair.my mechanic(specialist) will say its ‘manufactures fault’, and said even Germans make mistakes…but really good car if u can afford..

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Sep 18, 2007 at 6:44 pm

I owned an auto 1986 E30 estate, which was a really good workhorse. Never gave me any problem, starts first time every time. Now I’ve replaced it with a newer car. Guess I’m just one of the lucky one, yes your’re right akshen_kamen.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 18, 2007 at 8:23 pm

when we buy a car..its also like a gambling..because we never know our car will have a faults or not even we buy a hundred thousand car..if like bmw or merc,it still can have faults but the probability is very low and rare to have faults..

• wong (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 12:47 am

yes the probability is very low,mostly wear and tear,I enjoy driving the car so I think its worth it, but u still can buy good cars below 100k,my wife drives a satria Neo,great handling and so far so good,..

• kingbrutal (Member) on Sep 19, 2007 at 3:48 am

Buying a car shouldn’t be a gamble of getting a car with no problems and getting one with a long list of headache. Car manufacturer should be able to produce car with the same quality with regular consistency. Maybe lucks have something to do with what car you get but they should be able to make all their customer lucky when buying their’s product. But then again, who says the world is fair?

• i'm engineer at miyazu in proton shah alam. miyazu only producing blank sheet for TABM. the quality of material (metal sheet) use by toyota is inferior to proton car. proton car using a much thicker, expensive, corrosion resistance and higher grade material comparing to toyota.

• makeitmine on May 23, 2011 at 11:15 am

You are right, man! Malaysian buy Proton cars to have it last 20 years on the road. Japanese/American buy Toyota cars to have it last only 5-7 years on the road.