Official specs of Lexus IS-F announced

Lexus IS-F

The full specifications of the Lexus IS-F and the 5.0 litre V8 engine has finally been announced, and the new performance Lexus sedan is now on sale in Japan, coming from Toyota Motor Corporation’s Tahara Plant in Aichi. Lexus reveals that the F in IS-F comes from the F in Fuji Speedway, at which the Lexus IS-F was extensively tested at.

The new Lexus IS-F uses the 2UR-GSE, a variant of the 5.0 litre V8 2UR-FSXE that goes into the Lexus LS600h without the Lexus Hybrid Drive, and has different tuning. The 2UR-GSE makes 423 PS at 6,600rpm and 505Nm of torque at 5,200rpm. It is a high compression engine with a compression ratio of 11.8:1. It has the same 94mm bore as the 4.6 litre unit in the LS460 but is stroked up from 83mm to 89.5mm to enlarge it’s displacement to 5.0 litres.

Fuel is delivered via a D-4S fuel injection system which incorporates both direct injection and conventional port injection. Dual VVT-i provides variable valve timing on both the intake and exhaust cams, and the intake cams use VVT-iE, which varies the cam using an electric motor instead of conventional mechanical methods.

A dual-intake system provides good torque at low to medium engine speeds, with additional air inlets opening at high revs. Lexus has managed to get the engine to produce three different intensities of engine roar as the needle moves up the rev range.

This engine is mated to an 8-Speed Sport Direct Shift transmission which is based on the 8-speed unit in the LS460, but tuned for more sporty intentions. In gears 2 to 8, the engine and transmission has a direct lock-up connection while the first gear uses a conventional torque converter to transmit power so that the car can launch smoothly. The transmission also automatically blips the throttle to smoothen downshifts.

The entry level IS250 is already in Malaysia thanks to Lexus Malaysia – will they introduce the IS-F here for those who feel adventurous and want to try out the Japanese luxury automaker’s first high performance model?

Check out more photos of the Lexus IS-F in my previous post.

Related Post:
2007 Lexus IS-F: a performance Lexus sedan!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 4:24 am

I don’t think so. Its too expansive, and niche market. People hear Evo-X, Imprez a and IS-F never comes to mind…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 8:29 am

Interesting gearbox. Any further details on it?

Torque converter AND a direct lock up? Is this just a locking torque converter or a torque converter with a separate hydraulic/electric clutch?

• transformer (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 10:36 am

No thanks for electric motor actuated cams!!
    Should use conventional mechanical instead!

lets see how it fares compare to Nissan GTR or Z ?

• I my (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 11:02 am

wow!! I think the coming years we will see lots of High performance car from Japan. As the 280bhp is no more in trem the Japan cars will sure hit hard on the conti performance cars market, 1st kill (I think) is the GTR vs 911 turbo.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 11:41 am

What else can i say..it’s “The pursuit of perfection” and this big toy is being bred at the most sophisticated and worldly recognized Tahara Plant, benchmarking the highest quality for car manufacturing plant in the world. Such a superb.

A friend of mine has placed his order for IS250L last Sept and to get his car due in this coming Nov. For all this while, he’s being treated like a lord by those Lexus’s representatives. I wonder how it would be like if he ordered for the LS flagship…

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 12:29 pm

japanese performance is good for the niche and non-niche market..which is good…hmm great.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 1:28 pm

If I have the choice, I’ll put my money on the M3 instead. The target customer for this range is beyond boy racers but there are sure to be some rich ah-bengs who would want to show off in this ride.

I agree with 4G63T on the transmission. PAUL, any chance of getting a video on this mechanical wonder?

torishimeyakuin, that’s how Lexus won over the Americans, by lavishing them with the best Service in the country. After Lexus showed them how customers should be treated, Mercedes and BMW followed but Lexus maintained their lead as number 1 in customer service for many, many years.

• longjaafar (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 2:29 pm

Good effort by Lexus. But still behind the RS4 and the M3.
    However, they are still tops in service and customer relations.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 5:37 pm

Lexus treat customers differently. If not they would just be Toyota.

Even when you walk in with a base model unit (I brought a ES300 – at that time the baby lexus for a service) the service and attitude you get is completely different than lets say you bring in its Camry sister to a Toyota dealership (which was at that time already pretty good). This was in Canada mind you when the ES300 was only a 30k car. Not exactly “luxury”.

Thought Mercedes and BMW a thing or 2 on how to do customer service.

Same applies to many industries. Even computers. The service I get with my Dell XPS M1330 is worlds better than even my Dell corporate support (let alone the consumer support).

Premium, most often dont have to mean premium products. It means premium service.

As for the IS-F. Its got a long road ahead. BMW and Mercedes still hold the premium performance crown. Perhaps its taking the Audi route. Trying to claw its way with technological advancements.

• feez98 (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 8:22 pm

it only thing i’m interested is its exhaust… hahahhaha, luv it

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 8:36 pm

one thing for sure, those exhaust are unique whether ugly, fugly or damn good. haha :)

• szw (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 9:57 pm

if 5.0 i would prefer a v10 not v8

• F430CS (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 12:15 am

KL-ATR,
    Rich ah-bengs with m3 do not show off?

• _xXx_ (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 3:13 am

it’s going to be easily RM2 mil per piece when AP king bring it in.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 9:21 am

szw said,
    October 8, 2007 @ 9:57 pm

if 5.0 i would prefer a v10 not v8
    —————–

v10 wont be suitable for such an application because it will make it nose heavy. Remember a v10 is 20-25% longer than a V8 and will carry extra weight penalties.

I hope that they will retain the v8 soundtrack but (knowing lexus) will try to mute it a little. I still miss the soundtrack of a summer fling with a ’97 Camaro z28….awesome.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 2:40 pm

F430CS said,
    October 9, 2007 @ 12:15 am

KL-ATR,
    Rich ah-bengs with m3 do not show off?

LOL!!! Good point but M3 is considered too tame for them. They would rather have 350Z or Skyline with wild body kits and huge turbos. 250k for the car, 150k for mods. That’s how they like to show off. I bet you’ll need a bucket to collect their drool while they’re looking at this Lexus.

• king (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 10:53 pm

_xXx_ said,
    October 9, 2007 @ 3:13 am

it’s going to be easily RM2 mil per piece when AP king bring it in

RM2 million? you gotta be kidding me. thats F360 modena territorry. but you may be right….there will still be buyers…its a toyota mar. for me I’ll take the prancing horse anyday.

I think it would prob be priced above the e46 M3 i.e around 600-700K if it comes to m’sia.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 1:48 pm

a performance lexus? thats stupid

• jamsbong (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 8:27 pm

Despite the criticism, I’m looking forward to see reviews of the car. This is a formidable car against the M3 and RS4. The car has a bigger engine (5L vs 4L) and Direct injection. Mercedes is still the king for having the biggest engine capacity, thus the fattest torque.

Personally, I find lexus and Mercedes very comfortable. Audi and BMW are not.

Did you guys see the burnout/Drift videos of IS-F on Laguna Seca? you can find it in Youtube.

• engtaokia (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 5:34 pm

seriously, i hate the exhaust pipe looks…

• ah liew (Member) on Oct 12, 2007 at 11:02 pm

This is an aeroplane not a car. 5.0 liter V8 engine is a monster!

Remember an old Nissan Cefiro advertisement? which they esemble the 2.0L engine into a mini airplane & it flew?