McLaren F1 Car vs Mercedes Road Cars, Part 2

I’m sure alot of you have watched this video pitting an F1 car driven by David Coulthard against a Mercedes Benz E50 and a Mercedes Benz A160 on a race track, it’s one of the more popular car-related videos on the internet.

Now before you say it is not a fair race, the A160 and the E50 actually got a big head start, but the Formula 1 car still managed to catch up in the end.

The A160 isn’t exactly the fastest thing on the road, and the E50 while having a large displacement isn’t meant to be a track weapon. This video brings the stakes closer together, pitting Coulthard in an F1 car once again against Mercedes-Benz cars.

This time the cars are the Mercedes Benz C200K Coupe, the Mercedes Benz SL55 AMG, and the Mercedes Benz CLK DTM.

Video: McLaren F1 Car vs Mercedes Road Cars, Part 2

Mclaren F1 car versus Mercedes Road Cars, Part 1

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 3:57 pm

fun to watch, thats all….

• narrowband (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 3:58 pm

Interesting. Haha. The F1 car overtook the rest like they were stationary.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 3:59 pm

btw, there’s quite a lot of those C-class coupe in Penang…..

• raptorclans (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 4:40 pm

Heheheh that was fun… lol at Coulthard taking his sweet time goin into the car XD

• engtaokia (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 5:31 pm

mana pergi SLR McLaren? xD

• Xoomie (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 5:32 pm

The timing has been choreographed nicely.

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 5:33 pm

To all the kaki motor out there, a street car will always be a street car. So please drive carefully and dunn act like a F1 driver. Your car will never be as fast.

Ha ha…

• BigCar (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 5:59 pm

ala.. Ferari already do this show long time ago… same idea lor..

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 7:51 pm

LOL…those Germans sure have a sense of humour…that was funny. If I we’re driving the street car, I would be really pissed, especially the C55 Coupe driver, lolz.

• blazerSST (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 8:45 pm

F*cking amazing last corner, F1 just rocket out like nothing

• siacw (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 8:53 pm

old video is it? As david is no longer with mclaren liao

• kevyeoh (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 9:45 pm

fuuyoh… what can i say… 500+hp car also nothing compare to F1 car…haha…

dang… totally rawks !!!

• geejun2 (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 10:58 pm

lol…. i think they shld pitch the F1 cars against the bugatti veryon…. tht shld be a show… hahahah

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 17, 2007 at 1:20 am

nice to see but pointless really. Its just like fifth gear BMW M5 vs BMW f1 car. Though that was even more pointless and not fun

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 17, 2007 at 1:58 am

Nice race!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 17, 2007 at 2:00 am

If put in our stone age Iswara milo tin on the wheel at 110Km/H, they must let it to go first for 3 minutes, and all Mercs and F1 still managed to overtake at the end of the race!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 17, 2007 at 10:14 am

Of course nothign will get lose to an F1 car.

@bigFish

To give some perspective, a set of good tyres, suspension and a half decent engine swap will do wonders to a Saga.

That thing practically weights nothing. Its only like 750kgs. I reckon it will be quite entertaining.

• jamsbong (Member) on Nov 17, 2007 at 11:47 am

This was back in the late 90s when Murray Walker was still commentating with Martin Brundle. Does not surprise me though F1 has always been the fastest.

I remember going to the Grand Prix in Melbourne many years ago. On the straight line, just out of the corner, like 50metres, I couldn’t see the car. I could hear it coming and then it is gone! Moreover, the noise was really ear bleeding loud!

So the best place to actually see the F1 car is at a series of corners, Then you can see for a short moment before it disappears into the distance.

I don’t think any other sports will ever come close to F1’s speed.

• bolo (Member) on Nov 17, 2007 at 11:59 am

A closer match would be the old group B rally cars in their last evolution against F1 racers. In their days, these monsters are good enough to qualify mid starting grid in a F1 race!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 17, 2007 at 12:59 pm

ferrari already done dis back in mid 90s….with fiat bravo,ferrari 550 maranello n ferrari f1…

• almattitude_v1 (Member) on Nov 17, 2007 at 10:42 pm

Lol… and its no longer West McLaren…

• syanas (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 12:20 am

whooa…it’s very clear how the fast f1 there

• szw (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 5:06 pm

so old

• jamsbong (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 5:32 pm

Huh? Edmunds think that Audi is better than Lexus? The nose heavy, understeer like RS4 is the superior car? Oh well, Looks like the reviewers are into safe, relaxing car. I don’t think the IS-F was made just for safety, but also for real fun and performance.

I can think of a few things that IS-F can do which the RS4 can’t. Drifting, better cornering speed, better braking performance and better looking interior.

• shooter (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 5:48 pm

i still miss the the wailing of the old v10 engine; its much more ‘musical’ compared with the current flat-plane v8, which sounds..flat..

• shooter (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 5:55 pm

BigFish said:
    If put in our stone age Iswara milo tin on the wheel at 110Km/H, they must let it to go first for 3 minutes, and all Mercs and F1 still managed to overtake at the end of the race.
    —–
    kalu u compare dgn toyota corola LE ke, honda civic ef ke, tak kisah la kan, ini nak compare dgn a Merc, takyah F1, the Merc Coupe pun bleh pukul abis…next time compare apple with apple la…

• dzat46 (Member) on Nov 19, 2007 at 10:21 am

This just shows that F1 is not a car….got nothing to do wt yr everyday car, the DTM got similarity wt normal car….

an F1 thg is a plane with its wing creating down force instead of up force……thats all…..

• poyo (Member) on Nov 19, 2007 at 2:07 pm

hebat sungguh cara tapau nye….

• msnahar (Member) on Dec 09, 2007 at 3:27 am

BAGUS Tapau nyer … ala Ferrari dah buat macam ni dulu la…