Honda Civic Type-R Track Experience

Civic Type R Track Day

It’s been several months since it was simultaneously launched with its Hybrid cousin, and finally, the media got their hands on the Honda Civic Type-R. It’s been so difficult simply because the car has been selling itself, with the initial shipment snapped up immediately, and the 5 car monthly allocation causing a waiting list of over 8 months.

Those who’ve been fuming as they await their unit to appear on their driveways will be pleased to know that a bumper shipment of 25 units will be landing in January, but by then, it’s likely that the waiting list will not be shorter at all.

For those who’ve yet to place an order on the RM199,800 (OTR) performance car, then Shannon Teoh’s report on the media track day might be helpful.

For those who have, you have his apologies for making you wait a bit longer as two units were seconded for the event on Nov 13. However, you’ll discover after the jump, that you have none of his pity for being able to afford such a car in the first place.

Civic Type R Track Day

To begin with, let me clarify that it was a pretty short acquaintance with Honda’s most powerful car, outside of the S2000 – one out lap, then two more around the north circuit of Sepang and then back in. They weren’t even really flying laps as there were cones set up throughout the course.

Presumably, this was under the pretext of exhibiting the full characteristics of the Type-R, although with an ABS-inducing brake zone before a slalom section at the start/finish straight, one would have to deduce that the real reason was to keep us from finding out what the top speed might be, which Honda seems to want to keep mum about – I can’t seem to find this info anywhere, can you? We can guesstimate by extrapolating from the running diagram with gearing overlaps that it is capable of hitting 250km/h, aerodynamics allowing, but the suspicion is that it’s speed limited at 180.

Whatever the case may be, I never got to touch it. It didn’t help that there was a rather twitchy instructor sitting on my left as well.

But you learn certain things after four laps with a car. Unfortunately, I never got to put them into practice after that.

Civic Type R Track Day

The first thing is that the engine is useless below 5,000rpm. Ok, not useless, but pretty pedestrian. After that, all hell breaks loose.

Then you find yourself frantically shifting up through the gears in an effort to avoid the rev limiter spanking you when you try to go anywhere past 8,000rpm. Thankfully, the Civic’s multiplex display allows you to monitor your shift timing via the i-VTEC tachometer that signals the impending redline with a series of increasingly intense LEDs.

But it’s here in the final 35 per cent of the rev range that the naturally aspirated K20A i-VTEC 2-litre engine really opens up. The good news is that this is the angriest K20A yet, putting out 222hp at redline with a peak torque of 215Nm achieved at 6,100rpm. The bad news is that that amount of torque isn’t really all that staggering.

Perhaps we’re just spoiled by figures of 400Nm in other sedans like the Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX and BMW 335i.

Civic Type R Track Day

It’s not helped though, that it weighs something like 100kg more than the DC5 Integra Type-R, with just five extra ponies to pull that weight around. Where the car did excel, was around the corners – whether inherent to the track, or man-made with cones.

With a hydraulic steering instead of the electrically powered one on the basic Civic, steering seemed very intuitive and this was helped by the fact that the car felt neutral at all times. Even when gaining speed steadily through the slalom, the car just refused to lean much in any direction. Dampnig rates both front and back are higher than the DC5 Type-R and of course, ground clearance both front and back too has been lowered as compared to the Civic 2.0S.

Civic Type R Track Day

Not to mention a body with 50 per cent more rigidity than the forementioned DC5. But if ever you were to test the outer limits of the chassis, as we did when leaving a cone-introduced chicane and deciding to pretend the exit was a hairpin, the 225-profile Bridgestone Potenza RE070s on the 18-inch rims were unfazed.

And these weren’t even new tyres. They apparently cost so much that Honda didn’t bother changing them at all despite the instructors doing heavy-duty installation laps before we arrived to set up the course.

Civic Type R Track Day

This car makes you work for your speed and it is at once a consuming experience yet certainly, has its drawbacks as a practical car to be driving on streets with actual traffic. The close-ratio six-speed gearbox is an example of this methodology. Perfect for optimising power around the track but one can imagine it’ll be quite tiresome to change through four gears when sprinting from one traffic light to another. Plus, while it was no problem on the relatively smooth Sepang tarmac, I’m sure ride quality won’t be fun and games on Malaysia’s notoriously unpredictable roads.

Inevitably, the obvious question has to be, is it worth the 200 grand? Well, frankly speaking, if it’s going to be your only car, you’ve got to really want a Type-R. There seems to be no way that in the “only one car” situation, I could ever conceive choosing this over the Volkswagen Golf GTI – no need to change gears yourself when you don’t want to, e.g., when doing said traffic light sprints – which comes with a lot more creature comforts.

But as your weekend performance car, with the splendidly supportive Type-R front seats to bring out the boy racer in you, this is unparalled as far as sub-200K new cars are concerned. The Evo might still be more bang per buck, but not everyone who has RM200,000 has another RM85,000 to spare.

Text by Shannon Teoh.

Civic Type R Track Day

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• aliBaPa (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 4:40 am

I think the same too.
    Not good for everyday real traffic.
    Good for long weekend ride.

• v0ices (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 5:04 am

Driven it, loved it.
    But yea, it’s never meant to be a daily driven car.
    Would make a lovely “toy”. Unfair to compare it to the EVO or Beemer or Suby…
    But it is after all touted the “fastest FF production” car around.

• longdongsilver (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 6:41 am

Just wait for the “localised” bodykits. Hahahahaha!!! Many would fit type r fakes on their standard civics and have fun posing!!!

• sarawakguy (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 7:07 am

Expensive “toy” indeed….

• keyboard.rosak (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 8:24 am

close-ratio six-speed gearbox wouldn’t be a problem for an enthusiast or a petrol head, they could do the shifting all day long

and for the ride comfort, Tsuchiya and the gang (best motoring) already solve the problem, they call up japan tuner to their touge track to tune the CTR suspension up to perfection for road and track. Spoon come out with the best setting for comfort and clocking the best time. They shown the setting in Hot Version – VTEC Club Vol5.

p/s: touge track is not a smooth race track, its a winding road full of bumps

• kington (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 8:29 am

Good thing that Shannon pointed out on the weight against the DC5. I only managed a short sprint on this car, but against the Golf GTI and the DC5, i’d go for the Golf, followed by the DC5 ITR.

• abuga (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 8:34 am

The Civic Type-R at RM 200K = expensive toy. Prefer DC5.

Civic TR is another good example of an expensive toy. Honda takes a perfectly good sedan car and turn it into a “performance” sedan that does not match up to any other performance sedan.

Its just no good for daily drive or long weekend drives to nowhere. Its suspension is hard, gearing is tight, the NVH is pretty bad, and the overall package is not a cruiser – this is NOT a grand touring car for long drives.

It has to be said that out on track, its pretty decent… for its class.

• AlexKhoo (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 8:43 am

Sweet…
    still prefer the normal civic tho’..
    neighbour has one..
    i’m from penang…
    and it’s so far the only type-r in penang i believe..

FACT : The current civic 2.0’s 17-inch rims were from the previous generation type-r euro hatchback

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 9:00 am

Well, it was meant for the track anyway…..I could imagine how other boy racers will treat you on daily roads….never-ending ‘challenges’

• ENZO (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 9:07 am

RM220k++ can buy a Accord already.
    But if i have that much money, I’ll choose Type-R

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 9:37 am

Toy for Tun, Tan Seri, Datuk’s son, grandson or son-in-law… We won’t able to afford it. Sky high price with sky high speed. Road killing machine…

• szw (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 9:42 am

not worth the money .

• xg9 (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 10:17 am

i saw a civic with very nice led taillight and led headlamp in sec 14 pj… anyone know which version is that? i thought it was a type-r…. it was the best looking civic ever..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 10:22 am

this might be the fastest civic type r…it easily smoke the euro civic type r…btw…4 me…i still prefer the euro civic type r rather than dis…bcoz euro civic type r gt wut dis one doesnt hv…the charming look…dis one looks boring oredi…

• longjaafar (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 10:54 am

215nm at above 5000rpm is nothing to shout about. For that kind of money, one could get a very good facelifted E46 325i which has 247 nm at a much lower rpm. In the handling department, I’m sure the BM can match the type R anytime.
    But it will no doubt sell, because of it’s uniqueness and charisma.

• AzaniLaiho (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 12:05 pm

of course E46 325i has more torques due to extra .5 litre engine… and what is the point to compare the weight differ from DC5 as long as the CTR clocked faster timing than DC5 at most of track has been tested…BTW DC5 wheelbase = 101.2 and FD2 = 106.3+2 doors extra compare to DC5… what a stupid point…

• Hikaru (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 12:08 pm

Agree with Longjaafar. a 2nd BM can put this CTR to rest. What’s more, wait for a few more years and get a 2nd e46 M3.

Only draw back with this is the BM are really expensive to repair. The new CTR? It’s new.

Then again even the european counterparts rate this car very well.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 12:53 pm

The type-r parts are also expensive, if i not mistaken even the DC5 half-cuts are more then RM20k. So if for fame, handling and performance the BMW is quite evenly can win over the Civic Type-r a bit coz it is RWD. If can get a manual BMW should be great..

• BuLaiEn (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 1:34 pm

i doubt a BMW of any sorts, maybe apart from those coming from the M divison, could hold a stick to the CTR when it comes to the twisty stuffs.
    the CTR has a LSD, has a suspension tuned in nurburgring, has a lightened body, a highly tuned engine which puts out 111hp per liter.
    the average bmw has an auto and a bodykit at best.
    after all, none of the BMWs sold here comes with the option of having a manual, which is the first and foremost requirement for being a flingable car around the bends.

furthermore the CTR has its reputation, its loyal folowings, it’s a cult car for god sake, so i don’t think a bread and butter BMW 345 is even on the same league in terms of breed and pedigree.

• superman (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 2:31 pm

Shannon Teoh said

“Whatever the case may be, I never got to touch it. It didn’t help that there was a rather twitchy instructor sitting on my left as well.”

Maybe he had a valid reason for being “twitchy”….

As for the CT-R itself, I too have driven it on the road,and againts a Golf GTi or a ITR DC-5 , the Civic is hard. On your bum, on your head, on your senses.

Driven hard the CTR FD2 is fine, superb even, the chassis, LSD, engine working hard to help u push the performance envelope but once in “cruising ” mode, it’s just too uncomfortable. Too HARD CORE. A track car and a Sunday Drive weapon , not a daily drive.

The ITR had a more compliant ride, an adjustable chassis too. The Golf, does it all.

But I’m sure the CT-R would sell. It’s a Type R after all, imported & sold through official channels.

• mrm (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 2:44 pm

Agree to BuLaiEn and Superman…

It does not warrant comparison with BMW & others etc etc…. this CTR is Honda’s road version of its Civic race car that won the MME race… for all the race technology crammed into the car… it is value-for-money… it is like what Porsche have done to its 911… produce a car for the track and road eg the 911 GT3.

On another note, one European reviewer have mentioned unofficial 0-60mph time for the JDM CTR is around sub 6.0 sec. That’s fast for an FWD car.

but if one wants prestige, comfort…. go buy something else…. full stop.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 3:10 pm

great car

• arcana (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 3:34 pm

this car is for the hardcore Type R fans who can afford to own anyway.
    no comparison between performance vehicles like evo or scooby…..it just depends what a buyer likes wants…….turbo or N/A.

• abtm (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 3:46 pm

this or golf GTi

• xavier_lert (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 4:00 pm

i need those bumper……!!!!!…………

• rosdi (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 4:04 pm

I would choose Golf GTI anytime over this car. DSG is simply awesome.

Performance wise is probably neck to neck, but I believe Golf GTI is more practical as daily ride, the interior quality is superior as well.

• TheDuck (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 4:12 pm

Ok. it’s time to convert my current Civic1.8 into a Type-R.

How much does the bodykit cost?

• K.A.R.R (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 5:50 pm

wish they could bring in type-rr by mugen…

• KL-ATR (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 6:15 pm

But the older model 2.0 Scooby is cheaper and produces more horses. Doesn’t look as good but bang for buck, I’ll put my money on the Scooby. And the turbo starts kicking a storm by 3k rpm. By the time the type-r starts cooking, it’s shifting on the Scooby. I’ll pass.

• transformer (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 7:28 pm

White looks absolutely gorgeous!!!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 8:24 pm

overall this is a great car……

btw, when will we get the Civic 3-dr Type-R???

if really want to buy, can i get it from Singapore or Thailand??

• droll (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 12:23 am

but it all depends on what you want at the end of day. and no way does a 325 best this car. 0-100 in 6.5 for the type-r. 325??? dream on. it’ll eat the Type-R’s smoke. and handling?? u’re kidding. the 325 has better handling?!?!?! the Type-R is like riding on 4 titanium rods! the springs “don’t” exist! have u seen its body roll vs the 325? i’ll admit though that the type-r isn’t a comfortable car to live with everyday nor is it as practical as something like the GTi. in fact, the GTi has better creature comfort equipment for rm200k. the type-r would be spartan in comparison.

one question that most purchasers probably haven’t thought of yet is – 2 years from now, how much will it cost to replace all 4 of the potenzas, or even the 4pot Brembo pads? :) i suspect they might either put in cheaper alternatives or start putting the car out for sale. remember, the RE070 is SPECIALLY manufactured for this CAR and this CAR only! and you wouldn’t want to compromise its finely tuned performance by putting in cheaper brake pads or crappier tyres.

the type-r is in a league of its own and you can’t compare it on price alone. it is a fantastic machine. incredible. pity the “ah beng” reputation is associated with it.

• v0ices (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 1:42 am

droll,

Actually… the RE070 is already OE on the Subaru Impreza WRX STi.
    It wasn’t specially made for the Civic Type-R

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 29, 2007 at 3:02 pm

they should do a test between this, gti(r32 if gti not fast enuf),cooper s, 130i

• jamsbong (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 8:16 am

Have you guys seen the review on Best motoring of the Type-R? The suspension is bloody stiff! I bet it is as stiff as the covette. This means it is simply undrivable on the road.

I wonder why don’t Honda uses something like active damping system? Porsche, Audi, BMW all have such suspension, I know they are expensive. However, even Ford Mondeo will have such suspension in the near future.

The Type-R is meant to be something special. I would think fans will be happy to pay some extras for an optional active suspension. Anyway, I’ll spend my money on a WRX and mod the car for extra grunt and tweak the suspension to corner better.

• keyboard.rosak (Member) on Dec 01, 2007 at 10:05 pm

like i said in my prev comment, the CTR stock suspension setting is not for road driving, but Best Motoring already provide the setting for road condition. They tested it on the touge track. The setting is in Hot Version VTEC Club Vol 5

—————————————————————-
    jamsbong said,

December 1, 2007 @ 8:16 am

Have you guys seen the review on Best motoring of the Type-R? The suspension is bloody stiff! I bet it is as stiff as the covette. This means it is simply undrivable on the road.
    —————————————————————-

this CTR is already RM200k, and a lot of people saying its too much, if u install active suspension, how many more would complain about the price?

The UK CTR (FN chassis) is not on the same performance level as the JDM CTR (FD2 chassis), if u prefer that CTR, its only for the look

• mrm (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 4:02 pm

In Malaysia the Civic Type R FD2 is priced the same as the Golf GTI RM200k (not much change you get anyway from 200k, in fact the Golf price exclude insurance)

anyhow, remember that we are the only country (using RHD) outside Japan to get a Type R FD2 officially with 3 year manufacturer warranty for a high performance saloon. UK have to import this unofficially and selling at GBP22,995 (higher than the GTI price at around GBP18k (after dealer discount)). GBP23k equivalent about RM156k already. The RM43k is probably made up of our exorbitant import duties etc.

But still, there you have it, so so privilege of Malaysia to get this car officially. Imagine a 3 year warranty on high performance weekend track car. You don’t get this from your grey importer.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Dec 10, 2007 at 7:34 am

How well does this car stack up to a VW Golf GTi?

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 22, 2007 at 11:34 pm

i think the buyers who will chose to buy the Golf gti are not the same type of buyers who will choose the type r.

those buying the gti’s are compromisers. those buying the type r are not.

• What is the best timing for a stock CTr in Sepang?