Dakar 2008 to help Mitsubishi with turbodiesels

Mitsubishi Dakar

Mitsubishi will be using the upcoming Dakar 2008 endurance race to collect valuable technical feedback on both durability and endurance for its new range of high performance clean diesel engines, which will be used in Dakar 2009.

Some Mitsubishi concept vehicles have already given us a sneak preview of whats in store – one of them being a 2.2 litre found in the Mitsubishi Concept-ZT that produces 188 horsepower and 400Nm of torque and another more high powered one in the Concept-RA putting out 204 horsepower and 420Nm of torque.

Mitsubishi currently uses PSA Peugeot Citroen turbodiesels in cars such as the Mitsubishi Outlander. The turbodiesel Outlander features a biodiesel-capable 2.2 litre turbodiesel producing 156 hp and 380Nm of torque.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Dec 10, 2007 at 11:27 pm

pajero’s were well known with their own turbodiesels, i still dont get why did they had to outsource from citroen-peugeot, maybe their turbodiesels isnt euro4 OK?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 12:52 am

I dont think the Mitsubishi diesel engine are good. If u compare the old 1 used in Pajero & L200 storm the output & F.C. is not as good as the competitors.. So why not? European are famous for diesel engine, i think is good to share it wif them.

• kingglim (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 1:04 pm

The end of petrol engine is near…

• transformer (Member) on Dec 11, 2007 at 9:37 pm

should end Petrol engine fast! as our mother nature are being choked with CO2 for years already!!!

Future renewable energy…. ?
    go Diesel!
    go Bio-Diesel!
    go Nuclear!
    go Solar!
    go windpower!

• aksMs (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 9:08 am

I guess someday there’ll be no more PETROL HEADS. Err…DIESEL HEAD, anyone?

• rexis (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 9:26 am

The fact is that petrol car nowadays is >more> then diesel car, you cant expect the car makers/owners to disband their petrol anytime too soon.

BTW, any idea how did they squezz all those horses out from that tiny CC their TDI have? Just put in a bigger better turbo? How about their durability?

• abe (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 11:20 am

go Diesel! — yes
    go Bio-Diesel!— hmmm. hh mm . nanti minyak masak naik rega susah
    go Nuclear! — nanti kena serang terrorist
    go Solar! — orang pekak dan buta x boleh dgr kereta datang. bahaya. nanti eksiden. kesian beb
    go windpower! — kain layar besar . x boleh parking dlm bangunan.

RECYCLE COOKING OIL !! —YES

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 12:27 pm

rexis, Turbo didnt mean it will hurt the engine durability if u know hot to maintain it. I own a Turbo L502 kancil for a long time de, wif proper maintained u can last for a long time.

Anyway they no need to add a bigger turbo, u know what VGT turbo? That is a very good efficient turbo. Diesel is proven to be more better in F.C and more better output compare to Petrol, the maintanence is low thx to lower grade use of engine oil and no need of spark plugs.

Let me ask u 1 question, if Diesel engine no use? Why all those lorries, big trucks/pickups use turbo diesel engine?

• szw (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 10:26 pm

i like 535d

• Norman on Apr 12, 2009 at 12:53 am

I ever saw a Proton Wira diesel convert to some kind of Mitsubishi D4D TDi engine which whip out at least 150hp on a 2 litre engine!