Chery A6 Coupe in second half of 2008

Chery A6CC

Chery’s new Chery A6 Coupe will go on sale in the second half of 2008. The front wheel drive coupe was based on the Chery A6CC Concept shown at Shanghai 2006.

It is built on Chery’s new B2 platform, and has a wheelbase of 2700mm. The original concept had a 3.0 litre V6, but for the production version three engine options are available – a 3.0-litre V6, a 2.4-litre V6, and a 2.0-litre turbocharged inline-4 engine.

Read the linked post below for more photos of the A6CC Concept.

Chery A6CC Concept

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 5:32 am

wah very good looking la this car(the girl also not bad)…when NAZA want to rebadge this?

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 7:09 am

they started to have larger displacement and force induction. how bout our beloved potong??

• venomie (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 7:27 am

Proton Satria Neo?

• normaluser (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 8:18 am

3.0L V6. Any indication on the power output?
    I guess around 220BHP +. If its engineered well, I’ll be interested to see how well it competes with the Integra, Celica and Eclipse.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 8:35 am

Nice!
    Can China Rock the “Automotive World”?

• megadisc (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 8:44 am

i’m not sure about the car

but the girl looks hot

• narrowband (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 9:04 am

Chinese man crashes S350, vows to only buy Chinese cars (link).

• digiman (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 9:06 am

this is interesting.. this i would like to know more.. later turbo boost, side effect; car shakes violently… parts falls off.. revealing Gen2 frame… hahaha

• mofo (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 9:41 am

If this car same price with Satria Neo, for sure i’ll go for Neo.
    Only one word i could think of this car. “WEIRD”
    Cheers

• KY (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 9:42 am

I thought the car actually looks good.

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 9:47 am

cantik kete nih..

aku xkesah chery tiru sape, yg penting cantik & bkualiti :)

• ndmervin (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 9:47 am

Very similar looking as the Neo, only wider on the fenders.

The lights look similar to the Nissan cars today i.e. Latio, Livina..

It would be a smack on the face for Proton if this car ever come to MY.

Its not a bad looking car though. wanna see how the butt looks like.

• redragon (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 10:44 am

lokks like CLS to me.

• maxtek (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 11:18 am

If Chery Malaysia imports this model and sells it for less than RM70k, it’ll be the next cheap coupe, just like the early Proton Putra. XD

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 11:24 am

i do sense some similarity to neo (a very good looking proton), only the major leap forward is the engine, for about just 10 years of existents but capable producing some goodness…

• Xoomie (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 12:03 pm

old skool side mirror styling

• normaluser (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 12:31 pm

This car only caters a small market segment in Malaysia. I doubt it will sell well if it is introduced here..

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 1:05 pm

At risk of calling everyone a cheapskate (LOL), it will sell well if its cheap enough.

With a good engine, it will appeal to performance or younger people with limited budgets. Looking half decent cant do much bad either. Follow the link in the post and you will see the rear end pictures.

In the same flavour of the Putra, although that car, however good it was, was about 10k more than the market demographic it was targeted. Same goes to the GTI.

The only thing I see resembling a Satria is the colour…..

Now the party piece, knowing the chinese, its probably compatible with a lot of engines “from other people…”.

• feeze26 (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 1:13 pm

Ya.. thats girl is so hot.. the car too.. they must put some fog lamps..

• KL-ATR (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 1:58 pm

Looks almost like an Infiniti. I say it’s a very good effort from a company that’s only 10 years old. Chery only started production in 1999 and by 2003, they were already designing their own cars and are now working to produce 18 engines! Proton supporters who kept on moaning that Proton is a “young” company should look at Chery and STOP saying Proton is young! Proton should feel the presure of global competion to improve, not protected and be complacent as they have been for so many years.

• szw (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 2:00 pm

have to have 2nd thought

• kei9 (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 2:14 pm

Last time i saw this. Its pretty good in terms of styling. =)

• AmiR (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 2:31 pm

its looks like combination of satria Neo & mers CLS……looks ok..but if asked wheter i will buy it, i will say NO ofkoz…not value for ur money…better buy lancer or civic or Perdana… :)

• thecrash (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 2:53 pm

Some of curve line looks like Satria Neo…. bravooo….

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 3:46 pm

Chery , 10 years consider to be young but capable of producing 18 engine is some huge gap, but point is right now is how well are all those were made, how reliable it is and this may refer back to quality issue, but have to admit it is productive…,

Proton, which turn 22 this years of production (correct me if i’m wrong) has just producing 1 engine (with help from lotus) yet they still concentrating on some parts, still researching in terms to deliver a well made engine and that’s good at some point

but automotive world is a fast growth world nowadays more challenging & demanding, and taking through that matters, Proton seems a bit too slow

• legacy88 (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 6:01 pm

Much better styling than S Neo, but the rear exhausts are really hideous. Yuck!

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 6:11 pm

Proton should produce bigger cc engine such as 2.0, 2.5 and 3.0 with turbocharger.

Anyhow the car look good… hope fully it’s cheap (haha so i can buy hahaha)

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 8:36 pm

There are still sceptic from those die hard proton supporter who are always perceiving Proton have a better build quality than Chinese made car.

Time will come (after 2010) our market will be flooded with Chinese makes and Chinese assemble (Japs or Conti car). This may included rebadge Europestar (Gen-2) or other Proton models.

We have to be more realistic, Proton is our Jaguh Kampong and the Chinese will dominate manufacturing sector on the world scale for all kind of products and services.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 8:39 pm

China is the superpower of 21st century, at least economically, if not militarily.

So, those die hard supporters and blind defenders alike, don’t “yucks-hu-hu-ha” about Chinese products as they give value for money. They won’t sale low quality at high price. You want quality, they quote you “quality price” yet still competitive, and vice-versa.

• nmh (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 8:39 pm

How great…they manage to squeeze neo and cls design into one. Unfortunately it doesnt fit properly…notice the uneven gap between the hood and grill.

• legacy88 (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 9:56 pm

How about crash safety? Since Cherry or Geely or Brilliant failed miserably on that area. Would you buy one?

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 10:40 pm

legacy88 said,
    January 3, 2008 @ 9:56 pm

How about crash safety? Since Cherry or Geely or Brilliant failed miserably on that area. Would you buy one?

but they manage to produce cheap car just under 15k. how bout p2.
    kancil also not safe enough to protect u and sold over 30k…!
    malaysia car makers aka potong and protakdua both are blood sucker

• legacy88 (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 10:50 pm

Yeah cheap at China but when entered Malaysian market all the greedy and leeches will crawling to suck the buyer.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 12:05 am

“Can China Rock the “Automotive World”?”

absolutely, sure BOLEH !!!!!!!!

• mejaneujoe (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 12:49 am

give me 10 cherry cars.. even if they cost a mere 10 cent each. i dont think i will ever want to buy it. And.. they are not even cheap.. at all.. a silly chery, copied down 100% costs 40K. i’d rather buy a proton. BTW, does chery make its own engine? for as far as i remember, they put a toyota engine in their geely.. hmmm..

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 5:53 am

cost 40k. 25k goes to the stupid G…!

• linear_system (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 11:06 am

BigFish said,

January 3, 2008 @ 8:36 pm

There are still sceptic from those die hard proton supporter who are always perceiving Proton have a better build quality than Chinese made car.

Time will come (after 2010) our market will be flooded with Chinese makes and Chinese assemble (Japs or Conti car). This may included rebadge Europestar (Gen-2) or other Proton models.

We have to be more realistic, Proton is our Jaguh Kampong and the Chinese will dominate manufacturing sector on the world scale for all kind of products and services.

—————————————————————

again..big fish comment when someone praise proton…sigh..

• linear_system (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 11:07 am

this car really have neo’s styling cue..

• KL-ATR (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 11:24 am

@mejaneujoe, Yes, they’re designing engines with an Austrian company. FYI, Geely is ANOTHER Chinese manufacturer. Chery’s first partner in 1999 was with the Spanish company Seat.
    ——–

After looking at a couple of Neo in my rear view mirror yesterday, I have to agree that Chery has copied quite a bit of Neo’s design.

• wildthingz (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 1:40 pm

want to buy both the car and that lady can meh. is it real this china produce car low in quality have someone buy china car please share some experience of your with this china made…..

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 10:59 pm

The die hard proton support and blind defender bouught Chinese toy car and it can spoil easily, then they perceive the real car have same quality as well. How many of them who complaint about low quality is actually purchase Chery QQ or China makes in Malaysia?

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 11:02 pm

wildthingz, “don’t bring back the cow for the sake of drinking the milk”!

• fls67 on Mar 03, 2009 at 10:44 pm

I think with the speed of Chinese going now, another 10 years , Chery will match with other Japanses cars. Because 40 years ago every one will look down on the Japanese cars.But now they can compete with the American cars

• raymond on Sep 29, 2009 at 3:48 am

Some people think China car & China engine is no good , But i think so if compare with Japan engine , If compare with Proton campro engine , What do you think .

China people buying china car is very cheap , Malasian buying proton is Cheap ? Yes compare with japanese car , do you know how much they tax & become you compare proton car is cheap . please think about it .