2009 Volvo XC60 to be unveiled at Geneva

Volvo XC60

Volvo’s new X3 competitor will make its public production debut at the 2008 Geneva Motor Show. The new 2009 model year Volvo XC60 is what Volvo claims the most stunning Volvo ever, as well as the safest.

“This car is charged with more emotive form and more energy than any other Volvo. We’re elevating our design DNA to an entirely new level by litreally turning up the visual volume. If you say that you’d recognise a Volvo from 300 feet away today, I dare say the XC60 radiates a clear Volvo presence from at least twice that distance,” says Steve Mattin, Volvo Cars Design Director.

If you look at it, it looks like Volvo has taken their usual design cues that are present in all of their cars right now, from the C30 up to the XC90 and applied Ford’s Kinetic design to it, making it look alot more sleek but essentially an evolution rather than a revolution. I think it works rather well and I like where Volvo is going with their styling. Volvo interiors are also one of the best places to be in, they really do know how to give car interiors an upmarket feel. There is a photo of the interior after the jump.

Some of the safety features that will come standard on the XC60 includes City Safety, which applies brakes if the car is about to drive into the vehicle in front and the driver does not appear to be able to react in time. Maybe you’re in a traffic jam or something and you’re dreaming away, or somehow distracted, there’s a chance that you’ll just ram into the car in front of you if you do not realise it has stopped.

Initially the Volvo XC60 will come with a single engine option – the 3.0 litre T6 engine with 281 horsepower and 400Nm of torque from as low as 1,500rpm. All-wheel drive is standard on the XC60.

More photos after the jump.

Volvo XC60

Volvo XC60

Volvo XC60

Volvo XC60

Volvo XC60

Volvo XC60

Volvo XC60

Volvo XC60

Volvo XC60

Volvo XC60

Volvo XC60

Volvo XC60

Volvo XC60

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 4:33 am

Nice colour, both interior & exterior
    Not bad looking also

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 4:38 am

Capt Shopalot,

Are you one the fashion critics from the Star newspaper?

Sorry out of the topic, the Volvo looks nce by the way, designed by one group of ladies if I have not mistaken.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 7:02 am

Somehow to me it doesn’t look new. Does anyone share my humble opinion?

• azrai (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 7:05 am

MyviKiller, you’ve got it wrong. The all girls design team is for another car from volvo a hatchback if i were not mistaken. This Volvo has some Ford design cues. moreover, Volvo is own by Ford. They seem to stick to its ‘safe’ image because volvo is famous for safety. Safety first. Even our 3-point seatbealts are ideas from volvo long time ago.

• Allan (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 8:04 am

I remember reading somewhere that that was a team of women involved in the design of the XC90. I think they were in charge of the interior design if im not mistaken.

• s60t (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 8:15 am

looks like an updated mini XC90 but more streamlined.the womens team gave input o the design of the XC90 in terms of of daily practical usability of an SUV.the centre back seat for kids can slide forward to be near the front passengers(parents).the teenage kids can plug in their headphones at the back and listen to their latest songs while the parents listen to their light and easy in front.wonder why they don’t offer a smaller engine.even the XC90 has a 2.5T model.not everyone needs 280hp and 400Nm and the maintenance for a T6 will be high.

• kington (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 8:27 am

It’s a breath of fresh air from the common SUVs we see these days, and i must say, i am in love with Volvo cars even though their German counterparts have better driving dynamics. I hope they do well globally.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 8:46 am

azrai said,
    February 21, 2008 @ 7:05 am

MyviKiller, you’ve got it wrong. The all girls design team is for another car from volvo a hatchback if i were not mistaken. This Volvo has some Ford design cues. moreover, Volvo is own by Ford. They seem to stick to its ’safe’ image because volvo is famous for safety. Safety first. Even our 3-point seatbealts are ideas from volvo long time ago.
    —————————————————————-

It was just my assumption. The girls were assigned to design the XC90, not a hatchback.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 8:57 am

i think it looks great. i beleive volvo has managed to continue their “boxy” safety first designs from their older cars and evolved it into a contemporary look that still shouts “VOLVO”, if that makes sense to you guys.

• jehutyz (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 9:15 am

XC90 already a very nice car to me.
    Now this XC60 have a sporty look.
    The rear lamp is cool.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 9:33 am

Unlike the Japanese cars, they still manage to retain its Volvo-ness design philosophy, impressive…

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 11:29 am

Paul, ,u nvr sleep kah? Or u’re a vampire? Still posting at 4am, fuh, salute u man.

The rear combi light sure looks wicked sick :D

• proton GL (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 3:19 pm

ok

• nmh (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 3:43 pm

Its a ‘melt’ version of current xc90. Look at the dashboard….OMG its melting. Im not sure if im like it or not

• Poxxue2 (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 4:21 pm

Ello2..the all gurls Volvo designer were assigned to develop the YCC (Your Concept Car) in 2004 lerr…not the XC90 or others mentioned. Back to the XC60, Nice!..very emotional n sculpturistic design, tension treatment…..Side view ..silhoutte almost similar to XC90 though….

• szw (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 9:07 pm

nice car…

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 9:15 pm

the rear leds are sooooooooo sexy…. :p

• kingleontan (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 10:58 pm

i dont know man, volvo just doesnt work for me… not enuf to make its way away from BMW or Mercedes at the price… I dont know man… just… not there yet… kinda nice but just… just…almost there…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 11:05 pm

if paul is vampire…i cant imagine dat…hahahaha…maibatsu…im with u…hhmm…dun have a wow factor la..

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 11:07 pm

Looks like XC60 is copying front lights from Lexus GS model? Or is that the theme nowdays to make a small light and encapsulate that rather than a use a big light?

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 9:27 am

@raybrig85
    U dun watch much anime? His current avatar is Alucard from Hellsing, the most wicked sick vampire in the anime kingdom!!

Yokaro. Naraba orewa Alexander Anderson. AMEN~~!!

• King Samurai (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 10:05 am

Volvo always failed to impress on the interior