Government to ink deal for free rear seatbelts

Transport Minister Datuk Ong Tee Keat says owners of locally-made cars without rear seatbelts will soon be able to get them installed for free, if a deal with local car manufacturers goes through. A Memorandum of Understanding between the parties involved is expected to be signed in the next few days.

“I wanted original manufacturers involved because fitting anchorage points for seat belts must be done properly. It is part of their corporate social responsibility programme. I would like to advise passengers in cars already fitted with seat belts to buckle up when travelling and for car owners without rear seat belts to install them promptly and not wait until the last minute,” said Datuk Ong.

Remember, the rear seat belt rule starts from this month (June 2008) onwards, so start buckling up! Read the previous posts on this issue to find out more about the new rear seat belt rule. There are some exemptions for certain Perodua models that have supposedly no anchorage points for rear seat belts.

Compulsory rear seatbelt usage from June onwards
Rear seatbelt usage to come into effect Q3 2008?
Rear seatbelt usage to be made compulsory

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BW (Member) on Jun 02, 2008 at 10:50 am

what about Sarawak? Do we sarawakians have to wear rear seatbelts?

• toyowira (Member) on Jun 02, 2008 at 10:58 am

my brother honda city IDSI 2003 and a friend’s honda city IDSI year 2004 have two 3 point seat belt at rear only, there is a missing of one 2 point seat belt !!

my wira at year 2000 have two 3 point + one 2 point seat belt at rear.

• azrai (Member) on Jun 02, 2008 at 11:48 am

Good news. Time for rakyat to tax back those car manufacturers. But only locals one? What do they mean by local? CKDed? or Proton, Perodua, Inokom, and Naza only. UMW?

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jun 02, 2008 at 11:58 am

Don’t mean to be negative abt the rear seat belt thingy, but getting drivers themselves to buckle up is already a long problem. I’ve seen one too many that do not drive with seat belts.

Worst case, they even have a baby sitting on the driver’s lap while driving their car.

Anyway,

Malaysians are wired bunch, they can’t even expect them doing the simplest thing –

putting on turn signal at junction before turning in.

So what is there to do for the rear passenger? expect them to buckle up too?

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jun 02, 2008 at 11:59 am

I don’t mean to be negative abt the rear seat belt thingy, but getting drivers themselves to buckle up is already a long problem. I’ve seen one too many that do not drive with seat belts.

Worst case, they even have a baby sitting on the driver’s lap while driving their car.

Anyway,

Malaysians are wierd bunch, they can’t even expect them doing the simplest thing –

putting on turn signal at junction before turning in.

So what is there to do for the rear passenger? expect them to buckle up too?

• delavirtue (Member) on Jun 02, 2008 at 11:59 am

i called perodua last week, and they want 400+ for the rear seat belts for my 1999 kelisa ..

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jun 02, 2008 at 12:44 pm

i thought they are free?

if not, someone is definitely making money through all these implimentation…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jun 02, 2008 at 1:54 pm

At least the government is trying to do somethign right. Credit will be given where credit is due.

Having users buckling up is not a govenment problem. It would not be an enforcement problem either, knowing how our (traffic) police force operates.

Sooner or later, if you get hurt in an accident wihout buckling up properly, you can bet on it insurance might void payment for your PA. Mark my words.

Malaysians have very little regard for safety. Only when it will cost them serious money they will. A small saman or kopi duit will not discourage anyone.

• zk9 (Member) on Jun 02, 2008 at 2:24 pm

Toyowira, I guess that is why subcompact car manufacturers never bother to fit the 2-point belt in the middle of the back seat because subcompact sedan is meant as a 4-seater.

Lap belt does not guarantee the same protection as offered by more proper 3-point seat belt.

(http://www.mobar.net/journal/1999/mayjun/langdon.htm)

Seat Belt Syndrome, or SBS, is a phrase that was originally coined by the medical community in the late 1950s and early 1960s to describe injuries that physicians were seeing as a result of occupants wearing lap-belt-only restraints in frontal collisions. These injuries typically include: (1) severe abdominal injuries, (2) fractures of the lumbar spine, and (3) serious closed head and facial injuries.

These injuries are primarily the result of the occupant’s body jackknifing over the lap belt, at the waist, during the collision. Under such circumstances, the lap belt causes extreme force to be applied along the pelvis to the mid-section of the occupant. Securing the waist without securing the upper torso leads to increased head and neck velocities, which can cause serious head and neck injuries following either a head strike or inertial loading of the spine. A majority of these injuries can be prevented by the installation of an integrated three-point belt or other upper-torso restraint.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 02, 2008 at 2:54 pm

even my old proton wira manufactured in 96 had 3 belts in the rear, 2-3point, and 1-2point.

most impressive is the waja, 3-3point rear belts and if not mistaken, its the same for neo also.

but end of the day, its all about enforcement.. already there are many problems with basic road laws today.. motorcyclists in general break every known law in the book.. everyone jumps red lights, talk on the phone without hands free, do not stop at junctions..and list goes on…

plus the fact that many malaysian families are larger than 5 people, and they only have 1 car capable of carrying 5 belted up passengers..

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 02, 2008 at 7:46 pm

What about old old cars. Like Datsun 120. or 1st/2nd gen Honda Accord, or Toyota crown. How about those. Don’t think Honda and Toyota will want to fit the cars with rear seat belts…

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jun 02, 2008 at 8:00 pm

what about van used for carrying passengers? Like those van use to ferry school children? Why enforce seatbelt only for cars? not other passenger carry vehicles?

Then should express busses (I know buses have their speed limited, but most of them travel abt 110kph at highway, makes them in the league of passenger cars) need to install seat belt too?

• L (Member) on Jun 03, 2008 at 9:11 am

im used to seatbelt, so no problem for me hee

• I my (Member) on Jun 03, 2008 at 10:07 am

how about my 2003 kelisa which it dont hv rear seatbelts? do I got FOC from P2?

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 03, 2008 at 10:54 pm

@ BanyakMasukWorkshop

Neo has 2-point for the middle rear passenger. Waja do have 3 3-point though.

Myvi don’t have a seat belt for the middle rear passenger, which surprised me.

• BW (Member) on Jan 06, 2009 at 10:46 pm

tokmoh said,

June 3, 2008 @ 10:54 pm

@ BanyakMasukWorkshop

Neo has 2-point for the middle rear passenger. Waja do have 3 3-point though.

Myvi don’t have a seat belt for the middle rear passenger, which surprised me.