How and when can you claim your RM625 cash fuel subsidy?

Fuel-Wallet GaugeAs all of you probably know by now, those who own a car with an engine displacement of 2000cc and below, and have a road tax disc which will be renewable from the 1st of April 2008 and the 31st of March 2009 will be eligible to a RM625 cash subsidy in the form of a postal order.

Those who have already renewed their road tax between the 1st of April this year up to the 31st of May 2008 will be able to pay a visit to one of 683 post offices nationwide and claim your cash subsidy. For those whose road tax expires after the 31st of May 2008 all the way up to the 31st of March 2009, collection of subsidy can be done from the 1st of July 2008 onwards.

All you need to do is bring your IC and the post office will look it up in the JPJ database to see if you qualify for the subsidy. Identity will be verified using fingerprints, and you will be paid in cash. Money orders will be mailed to those who send an appointed third party to claim the subsidy.

UPDATE: There is one additional piece of information which I believe has not been released before. A person can only receive subsidies for a maximum amount of 5 vehicles, which can be a combination of motorcycles, trucks or cars. If you have more than 5 vehicles, you will not get subsidies for all of the vehicle’s road tax.

For more information click the two links below:
Petrol Subsidy Claim Fact Sheet
Petrol Subsidy Claim Process Flowchart

RELATED READ:
Oil prices and subsidies: an explanation by the National Economic Action Council

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• azrai (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 4:15 pm

Last week it is the petrol station, the next two day the post office will be swarmed. I guess many robbers and snatch thiefs also wait outside the post office. Be extra careful my friends.

• baldwin (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 4:32 pm

thanks for the info Paul…
    =)

suddenly got extra cash of RM625..

• cutester (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 4:35 pm

I checked the link above and the “Mode of Payment” says “The eligible private vehicle owners shall receive their rebates in the form of cash.”

How are they giving out the cash? Through postal order as we know but how to get cash? Through bank or post office?

If it’s post office, isn’t the post office going to be loaded with cash? Be careful….

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 5:16 pm

some of the “low income” car owners who qualify for this subsidy.. i wonder if they’re actually gonna queue up at the post office to get their RM625??

Audi A4 1.8T – RM228,000
    Audi A3 2.0 FSI – RM225,000

BMW 116i – RM179,800
    BMW 118i – RM199,800
    BMW 120i – RM223,800
    BMW 320i – RM236,000
    BMW Z4 2.0i – RM348,800

Mercedes C200k (1796cc) – RM248,888
    Mercedes E200k (1796cc) – RM353,888
    Mercedes SLK 200K (1796cc) – RM468,888
    Mini Cooper R56 Turbo (1598cc) – RM239,000

Jaguar X-Type 2.0 V6 – RM288,888

• cutester (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 5:35 pm

Wow… nice listing there…. No forgetting some Volkswagen models under 2.0

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 5:35 pm

hmmm…. I knew someone with a 80s camaro 5 liter v8 but his road tax is a 2.0ltr .. there’s also a BiTurbo V12 Merc S-Class at Phileo Damansara with a annual road tax of RM1,600 ….. tthink bout those…. haha

• mr_em (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 6:29 pm

nice one BanyakMasukWorkshop,

using vehicle engine’s cc as a guide to give back rebates for fuel is the dumbest method I have yet seen from any government. IT IS SOOOOO 80’s thinking.

This is the year 2008. Some countries have used CO2 output to charge taxes (to help reduce pollution)… why not use this as a basis. All cars are required to measure its CO2 output and people are taxed or subsidised accordingly at the same time help to reduce pollution. It is bad enough to see some buses/lorries using low quality high sulphur diesel (plus black smokes etc)!!! Why not help the environment and punish those frequent polluters at the same time.

Further to the CO2 taxes, why not give rebates based on the individual income as shown on his income tax return…. surely LHDN/IRB got the data already….

Govt should not use cc or even car prices as a criteria of giving cash rebates…. its just too much generalisation in that assumption and the loophole allows even rich ppl undeservedly claim the rebates (that should not be due to them) given their wealth and when they can afford a RM400k 2 litre car…. or they may choose to buy cheaper 2litre car while keeping another 4 handy in their garage… and still claim rebates…. this policy is not helping the situation…

VERY SAD INDEED…

• xg9 (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 6:54 pm

the owner of my car passed away last year… how? anyone want my RM625?

• xg9 (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 6:55 pm

i guess no subsidy for me then….

• tikus (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 7:15 pm

Hey Friend BanyakMasukworkshop you forget RX8 only 1.3cc

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 8:43 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zP_1oPFQ1PI

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 8:56 pm

ya, RX-8 1.3cc only. Looks like used car owners will need to register all the cars to the employees, and family members to qualify for that

• chanel (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 11:39 pm

just to clarify……

i just bought a new car register on the mid April 2008…..1500cc car, will I be eligible to collect the rm 625……still found the statement a little confusing…..

• dr_carz (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 11:56 pm

yer la paul confusing!

CAN U LIST OUT BY CC

EX

1.O RM 200
    1.3 RM 300
    1.5 RM 400

LIKE THAT LAHHH

UP THERE JUST EXAMPLES AAA FOLKS

• kancildriver (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 9:51 am

still a bit confuse also. in the newspaper, it seems like those who is renewing their road tax will get it by the time they renew the road tax.

paultan said “For those whose road tax expires after the 31st of May 2008 all the way up to the 31st of March 2009, collection of subsidy can be done from the 1st of July 2008 onwards.”

i’ll be renewing my road tax on feb next year, will i be able to get the money this week if i go to post office within this week?

• kancildriver (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 9:53 am

sorry, i mean if i go after july 1st, even though my road tax expires on march 2009, will i be able to get it? or do i need to claim it after march 2009?

• andre128 (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 10:33 am

i dont think so

14/6/08 start for owner renew from 1/4/08 to 31/5/08
    1/7/08 start for owner renew from 1/6/08 to xxx

you still not renew roadtax how can you claim it?

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 10:34 am

dr_carz,

what’s so confusing about that? vehicles less than 2000cc all can have RM625 rebate… no more no less.. Kancil 660cc can get RM625, same as Perdana 2000cc also etc.

guys, correct me if i’m wrong;

1) All those who already renew their road tax from 1st April 2008 to 31st May 2008 can now claim the rebate. That’s include new car owner as per bro chanel..

2) All car owner who had & will renew their road tax this month (1st June 2008 to 30th June 2008) will have to wait for 1st July 2008 to start claiming their money.

3)All car owner who their road tax expired after that (1st July 2008) up untill 31st March 2009 will have to claim their rebate after renew their road tax.

• Alifz (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 12:34 pm

Collect, jangan tak collect…

Anthother hit list:Lotus Elise, Toyota Celica, Mitsubishi Lancer Evo.

For me I don’t mind if RX-8 owner colect the subsidies, not much effect since RX-8 is fuel guzzzling car,,hehe,,

• dr_carz (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 10:33 pm

ya ke.. osh kosh …

ok macam tu saya faham lah semua dapat 625

sesekali .. cakap bahasa kebangsaan

• volks2 (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 11:38 pm

how about my new car is 1.8cc and registered on 1 April 2008, am I eligible for the RM625 rebate…another question is that companies car entitle for the rebate???

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jun 14, 2008 at 12:59 am

volks2,

1) All those who already renew their road tax from 1st April 2008 to 31st May 2008 can now claim the rebate. That’s include new car owner as per bro chanel.. & you!

i don’t think companies vehicles can get the rebate… Paul?

• k3lv (Member) on Jun 16, 2008 at 10:16 pm

my road tax just renew at May and the due date is 31st May..i went to claim the rebate last Sunday and i was told that my record not found. They told me that a lots of ppl who due date is on 31st May din get to claim also with the same reason (record not found) and asked me to come back on 1st of July…

wasn’t there written 1st April-31st May..i wander how they do thing..

do anyone else have the same situation with me?

Paul,do anyone complaint bout this to u?i reli want to know y…

• prado700 (Member) on Jun 17, 2008 at 3:48 pm

The story about “subsidy”.
    A man called Maha owns a farm which can produce 10 apples every day.
    He has 5 workers to operate the farm.
    Each of them eats 1 apple daily and it is enough to keep them operating the farm
    normally.
    The remaining 4 apples, the landlord sells them at RM10 each and he earns RM40.
    He uses the RM25 to improve the farm operation and facilities.
    He gives RM2.00 to each of his workers and he keeps the remaining RM5.00 as profit.
    Day by day, the farm is well developed and all of the 5 workers are happy with the
    money they can save.
    When Maha passed away and there is a new landlord, Abdul comes to continue the farm
    operation.
    He says to the workers:” We need to improve the farm quality and redefine our way of
    thinking.
    From now on all of you only need to pay RM1.00 for each apple you eat.
    It is very cheap as the price is RM10 each outside the farm.”
    The workers have no choice but to pay RM1.00 for the apple they eat daily.
    Their earning decrease from RM2.00 to RM1.00 per person.
    As usual, Abdul sells the 4 apples and he gets RM40.
    He uses RM25 for farm improvement and pays RM10 to his 5 workers.
    He gets RM5.00 as profit. On top of that, he gets another RM5.00 from the apples
    that he sells to his workers.
    In total, he gets RM10 as profit every day.
    Soon, the apple price increases to RM20 each.
    The new landlord gets a higher profit as he gets RM80 for the 4 apples he sells daily.
    Then, he decides to give the farming improvement contract to one of his close
    friend, Samy.
    Samy says:”Apple cost naik, improvement cost also misti naik.”
    So, the farm improvement cost increases from RM25 to RM50.
    In actual, the improvement only cost RM30.
    The remaining RM20, Abdul and Samy share evenly among themselves.
    Let’s calculate how much Abdul gets daily:
    RM10 (from farm improvement cost)
    RM20 (Net profit by selling 4 apples: [Gross profit, RM80] – [Improvement
    cost, RM50] – [Wages RM10] = RM20)
    RM5 (from selling apples to his workers)
    In total, Abdul gets RM35 daily compare to RM10 initially when he takes over
    the farm from Maha.
    His profit increases RM25 and the workers are still getting RM1.00 daily per
    person.
    The greedy Abdul does not want to stop there.
    One day, he says to his fellow workers:” You see ah, the current market price for
    one apple is RM20 and you are only paying RM1.
    See how lucky you are! I have to SUBSIDY RM19.00 for each of the apple you buy and
    total I need to SUBSIDY RM95.00.
    This will greatly burden the farm and we might get bankrupt if we continue like this.
    In order to avoid bankruptcy, I need to increase the apple price that you buy from
    RM1.00 to RM1.50 and I will bear the remaining RM18.50 per apple as my subsidy to
    you all. ”
    So, greedy Abdul adds RM2.50 to his current profit and the number becomes RM37.50.
    After you have read the story, I am sure you have already understood the meaning of
    “SUBSIDY” given by the government.
    The RM95 subsidy never existed in the first place and so was the RM52 billion fuel
    subsidy generously “given” by the government
    Cutting fuel subsidy is actually just a reason to steal money from your pocket
    ps: message copy from my colleague email.