Volkswagen to finalise Thai investment by end-June?

Volkswagen LogoAccording to Thai newspaper The Nation, Volkswagen is expected to meet the Thai Industry Minister Suwit Khunkitti and the Board of Investment (BoI) before July 2008 to finalise its proposed eco-car project investment in Thailand.

Volkswagen’s intended investment in Thailad is estimated to be valued at a total of RM2.52 billion, much higher than the other eco-car proposals as Volkswagen has no major presence in Thailand at the moment, so it would involve setting up things from scratch, including parts sourcing.

The Germans are reported to be reconsidering its eco-car investment as financially it might not make sense anymore following the Thai government’s new push for E85-fueled cars, which now enjoy significant tax reductions.

Whichever way Volkswagen goes, what’s pretty much certain is that they’re setting up base in Thailand for the region, and future Volkswagen Malaysia cars will most likely come from the new production base there.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 10:47 am

Cheaper Golf maybe?

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 11:21 am

Cheaper? i don’t think so as this would kill our local proton & perodua. But it’s good to have competition so there would be more concern on producing more quality and cheaper car.

• jaygan (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 11:23 am

Think about if VW setup operations here in Malaysia… not only cheaper German engineered vehicles… more job opportunity for the people here.

• I my (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 11:56 am

cheaper car in MY.. no way!! as long there is APs & heavy duty in the market.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 12:08 pm

The loss is far greater than some cheaper cars here.

The big looser is the country, which lost another potentially BIG FDI. And with Toyota also announcing more hybrid development/production in Thailand, looks like our automotive sector is left out in the cold yet again.

More FDI = More Jobs

Promote local industries via AP? hah, they dont even know how to get the basics right.

All in the name of protecting local industry (we know what the few gravy trains are). The whole country looses.

• najibest (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 12:37 pm

i’m all in for a cheaper VW heh :)

• azrai (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 12:41 pm

Another living proof of NAP failure. Who are those policy makers? We already know.

• abtm (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 12:53 pm

malaysia’s lost is thailand’s gain

• lchan (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 1:18 pm

its crazy when the government is talking about “ketuanan melayu” and bumiputra being slaves to other races if nothing is being done when we all jolly well know most non bumi are not even challenging or threatening bumi. And what happens…RM2.5 billion dollar foreign investment slips by us (considering we have had talks with VW first), and all the potential jobs. Further more, all the investment on Northern Corridor and Southern Corridor and we didn’t even get VW to come and invest. WTF then is all these corridors for? Imagine having VW located within the Northern Corridor, it would have been such a potential to further attarct other investors. And the among of job available to the people of Kedah and Perlis.

Its just mind boggling!

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 2:05 pm

YEah, rite. Way to go, Proton….

• pippen (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 2:05 pm

Haven’t all of us figure out due to the g cronies (where wanted to manage the suppliers to VW), the deal fail apart? The G is not about the people, its about their own pocket. They dont realized its not which-race become slaves of other race, it will become Msian become slaves of other nations. Its going to that direction already. There will be Msia going to work in Thai, SG, Vietnam, and probably Indonesia in the future if this still persist. Our g has no idea how to “earn” money from foreign companies/countries, but eat money from the citizens.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 2:40 pm

yeah~ another reason for us to change our government.

We had the chance, yet again umnoputras policy screwed it all up again!

Badahwi :” If you wanna invest here, you have to give me shares, give najib shares, give khairi shares, give toyo shares, we will hold at least 30%, but we won’t be doing anything, and you will still have to pay tax, this tax that tax, and if you want proton, you can be the minority, our elite managers will still make the call, but you pump in the money, and your car must be more expensive than proton, and proton will be bla bla bla bla …… in the end, take it or leave it, as we have our own very capable two national manufacturers and we have campro!!! and campro and campro!! your fsi, dsg, is nothing!! malaysians are proud, very proud very capable and very proud, we go moon, everest, and our wira is the first production car to reach the north pole, we rulezzZzzZzZzzzzZzzzzzzzz!!!

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 2:44 pm

#
    pippen said,

June 13, 2008 @ 2:05 pm

Haven’t all of us figure out due to the g cronies (where wanted to manage the suppliers to VW), the deal fail apart? The G is not about the people, its about their own pocket. They dont realized its not which-race become slaves of other race, it will become Msian become slaves of other nations. Its going to that direction already. There will be Msia going to work in Thai, SG, Vietnam, and probably Indonesia in the future if this still persist. Our g has no idea how to “earn” money from foreign companies/countries, but eat money from the citizens.

27 million malaysians agree with you. Minus the the few thousand cronies that walked the corridors of power. May god bless Malaysia, and may those phakkers end in hell, i’ll burn them a few Savvys when they go.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 3:04 pm

“Malaysia Boleh”…. Sucks..

Now “Malaysia Bodoh”. I remember I read an article a few years back, the G wanted Malaysia to be an automotive hub in ASEAN, now this ambition seems like drifting away. All major car manufacturers choose Thailand & Indonesia to be their base in ASEAN despite the fact that Malaysia is the most developed among the three. Sooner or later, like Pipen said, we all have to work in Thailand, Indonesia or even Laos..

Our G has ruined many chances. Set up Proton is a big mistake, but the sad thing is the G is too arragont to admit it’s a was mistake. After 20+ years, what have Proton achieved? Selling 100000 cars to Iran & Indonesia as Taxis? What a shame for our once proud national car.

• desparil (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 4:34 pm

hidup mahathir! father of thailand’s car industry!

• shamel (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 4:41 pm

It’s the circumstance when SILLY running and governing this country. Still remember good old days when a Corolla never exceed M$20k and most of us regard Thai’s product inferior than us NOW opposite and a Corolla 1.6 already RM103k.

Our PM and his saya tak tahu apa-apa ministers have no idea about global economic trying to help their cronies at the expense of vast majority rakyat.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 7:25 pm

Malaysia……a nation that cannot be beaten

by its stupidity…

hahahaha

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 9:31 pm

In fact, over the years, our stupid government had announced funny stuffs like:

We want to be a global hub of Automotive Industry
    We want to be a global hub of Information Technology Industry
    We want to be a global hub of Bio-Technology
    We want to be a global hub of Education Industry
    We want to explore space age technology

Results in our G’s agenda:

2007 Worldwide Production Ranking: (Only 40 Countries)
    No. 15 – Thailand – 1,238,460 (Growth of 3.1% over 06)
    No. 25 – Indonesia – 419,040 (Growth of 41% over 06)
    No. 26 – Malaysia – 413,440 (Decline of 17.8% over 06)

Streamyx, exceptional download and upload speed – In brochures

Badahwi : Bio what ?

“The ranking of UM dropping doesn’t mean we’re bad.” LoL

A dentist playing a gasing in space. ehem ~~

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 9:44 pm

This is what happens when Malaysia don’t allow investment to come in. Now look who get the contract

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 9:48 pm

Yes VW, welcome to Thailand. At Thailand, you’ll be provided and supported with a very conducive business atmosphere. At Thailand, you’ll be joining the other big boys who have been in the region for quite a long time. Considered as an automotive hub in the region; GM, Toyota, Honda, Chrysler and others are seem to be very pleased to be operating here with us. Yes, please come. Now our only concern rival is Indonesia.

What, Malaysia ? Hohoho…we are not afraid of Malaysia. We got to do nothing against her since she’s killing her own self. Besides, she’s so arrogant, selfish and tend to be living in her own imaginary world. She even boasted that she doesn’t need helps from others because she knows damn well what she’s doing. By cooperating with others, just make her looks fool, loss her independence and the most is lossing her dignity….Sooner or later, she’ll be in oblivion.

• kruzer (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 10:45 pm

Well done BN-G and Proton! Thailand thanks you from the bottom of the heart. Soon, we’ll have Malaysian maids. Maybe Indonesia may also want to employ some Malaysian maids because the women there are too busy working in factories due to the influx of FDI which Malaysia rejected. BTW, Malaysian males are always welcomed to help us build our condos and factories. There are no more jobs in your country, so, being your good neighbour, we do not mind to help you.

• Jie (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 11:26 pm

In regards to FDI, jobs, economy etc, this is frustrating news. Just as soon as their advances were rejected by proton/govt, they moved elsewhere. Ok, fine, the govt dont want to sell. But why, when left with the decision to start from scratch, they chose Thailand over Malaysia? Why cant they just build an assembly factory from scratch in Malaysia, just like Honda, Toyota etc?

In regards to consumer, I think this could still be good news, since Asean VWs will be cheaper. Just like buying Thai-made Vios and Camry. I love VW Golf, but really sad to see the price here given that it is such a small car.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 11:54 pm

Hurrah… p(“)q

• csv (Member) on Jun 14, 2008 at 12:20 am

just think, this could have happened to us if only the dumb ass proton management didn’t get cocky over profits from new models.

just because you released a few new models and sales is increasing, doesn’t mean the company is any better. the management still sucks.

this is the raw hard fact, we are losing FDI’s here. our economy is falling, while others around us are increasing, shooting up.

why? because of dumbass government, corruption and cronism.

of course, the citizen itself plays a role, but if the government took steps to ensure the citizen’s are better educated and equipped with relevant skills, heck, maybe our pay would increase, our economy would rise.

on other news, this could mean cheap VWs here for us.but with the rising fuel and AP extension, not much difference.

as long as the corrupted government stays, our lives are not gonna get any better.

be prepared everyone.

• bpkid (Member) on Jun 14, 2008 at 2:10 am

Alahai Malaysia…
    Let’s wait and see only…

• delos3nos (Member) on Jun 14, 2008 at 2:41 am

thailand 01 and malaysia 00

don’t worry malaysia boleh

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Jun 14, 2008 at 8:24 am

VW Golf …. See you… let me own you soon…..

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jun 14, 2008 at 8:34 am

Dude, VW is crazy to do that kind of investment in a country they have next to zero on brand presence. Its not just about making a factory, its also training, vendor development, logistics, all kinda stuff. Plus, they’ve got the only regional market which is Thailand. Who else do you know is into E85?

Its one thing for countries to give tax exemptions. Its another thing for the market to accept. We are addicted to petrol. And how long is this PM lasts before the next military coup? Not to mention blowing the whole Bluemotion thing out of the window.

I’d rather have the solar panel factories in Kulim and Selangor which is worth much more than 1 German auto factory with a neverending potential. Some of you guys just need to know that the world does not spin around the auto industry alone. Energy does. Renewable source of energy.

• tikus (Member) on Jun 14, 2008 at 11:54 am

Later Malaysian will go to Thailand to cari kerja like indo here.”Boss ada kerja tak” .Ta Pau!

• cyborgx (Member) on Jun 14, 2008 at 2:40 pm

you people should understand that as long as those UMNO monkeys are sitting of top govt positions, this country will lose billions of FDI.

• offroader manix (Member) on Jun 14, 2008 at 6:54 pm

%^#$#@@#……………..no wonder our economy……..keep going down……can you imagine………what’s the employment rate going to be like…………

• shenzutong (Member) on Jun 15, 2008 at 12:15 am

Paul, the Guomen never learn from their mistakes. GM Chrysler and many other big players have anchored at Thailand during the time when Bolehland was busy issuing APs to their cronies as well as selling Proton Saga 20 years ago (thanks to the great MM- father of all denials and wrong deeds).

We have been losing FDIs for many years and it means millions of job opportunities have gone with the wind and no wonder so many graduates are unemployed.

Imagine our Guomen still wants to extend APs for another 12 years (suppose to end on 2010). Don’t forget Japan is also one of the 10 + 3 AFTA members. By holding on to the stupid auto policy, we are chasing all the big palyers and FDIs away, including Toyota and Honda.

Just couldn’t believe how foolish this Guomen has become. The younger generations are bound to suffer with these kind of leaders around.

Now, with the fuel price hike, the Guomen must be fair to the rakyat: abolish all highway tolls or reduce the toll rate and abolish the exorbitant auto excise duties and sales tax.

Don’t short change the Rakyat, the Guomen will have to pay for it. The Rakyat is waiting.

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 15, 2008 at 2:25 am

cyborgx said,

June 14, 2008 @ 2:40 pm

you people should understand that as long as those UMNO monkeys are sitting of top govt positions, this country will lose billions of FDI.
    ——————————–

overstatement of the year. i consider them lesser than monkeys.

i think one of the plans to improve the country is to kill off proton as soon as possible. the malaysian public can contribute by not buying proton at all. and hold off buying any new cars as long as possible until proton folds. while proton is not the source of the problem causing the downfall of our country it is one of the reasons they use to keep the public blinfolded and hold the country back. do your part to get rid of it. ive never bought a proton for 15 years and ive made sure friends/family have not and will not buy a proton for the forseeable future.

i also beleive the ap system needs to be scrapped. what use is breaking the 2/3 hold of BN on the parliament when the public has no say at all of them prolonging the AP system.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jun 16, 2008 at 1:28 am

topgunthang,

sir.. i vote for u :)

• the man (Member) on Jun 22, 2008 at 11:36 pm

start to learn thai language…it will be usefull in the future……and can’t wait to see the end of cronies company that suck blood of the people….maybe with some political changes will do just that..heheh..