Separate fuel pumps for foreign vehicles near border

Fuel-Wallet Gauge500 fuel stations in border town areas between 30 to 50km from the border to Thailand in the north and the border to Singapore in the south have agreed to set up separate fuel pumps for foreign-registered vehicles that will charge current market rates to fuel up.

This was announced by Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak yesterday, so there is unlikely to be any random contradictory changes in the announcement the next day as observed with the last fuel pricing change (something must be up between Shahrir and the PM).

Petrol station operators will be responsible to look at their customers number plate to see if it is a local or foreign registered cars. But what’s to stop them from profiteering from letting them pump at market rates plus a little bit of “incentives”? One way would be to let petrol stations earn more profit margin on fuel pumped into foreign cars, or we will probably have to rely on citizen police.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jaygan (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 9:40 am

Er…….

The beginning of another “Flip” again?

Did the gomen think deep if this will work?

• k3mpGT (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 9:54 am

Its just another avenue for abuse…

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 10:53 am

Govt don’t really think that far.

If problem arises, the G call for meeting, have makan free, no need to do other work in office. Then setup committee to do (more) researches. After that, make report and forget about it. Waste more time and money etc. REPEAT again from the start.

Heck, this is the attitude of the civil servants……

• melvin.foong (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 10:54 am

This is the beginning of the dim wits. How long before someone actually tries to earn some extra bucks by letting foreign registered cars pump at local prices?

We have lunatics giving out free petrol, we have lunatics that do not know how to manage the government’s funds too!

• azrai (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 11:55 am

Flip-flop policy again. Remember those 2times salary for civil servants. Hehe. Joker’s rule in Malaysia.

• xsaraloeb (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 12:31 pm

I am wondering how this would work out. Not sure how the pump staffs will notice this…what happen if they pay cash…will MyKad need to be verified etc etc….

Somebody high ranking mentioned by doing this will give benefit for people in 2 things :

1) Foreigners and non-Malaysians will be charged more
    2) Malaysians will know the true petrol prices

Above all is the G men trying to intimidate us again by saying “Malaysians will know the true price of petrol” just becoz u guys lost in election !h

• peter1 (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 2:14 pm

Stupid system that will not work.

• bavarian (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 3:58 pm

I think this system should be apply in the whole country, not just border

• avanza (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 4:28 pm

Paul, you are darn right when you said… ‘But what’s to stop them from profiteering from letting them pump at market rates plus a little bit of “incentives”? ‘.

Did Najib think about this?

• aliBaPa (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 4:41 pm

FAIR.

but if too much different the prices, definitely there will be cheats.

• gey2718 (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 10:58 pm

1: i think the intention is remove all subsidy, but too bad they lose too much on the past election! in hokkien we call it LAN LAN BO BIAN!!
    2: foreigner only stay around 50km of borders???
    3: how about malaysian that work cross border but bring back lot of foreign money and making great contribution to the country? they are abandon citizen
    4: $$ save from lesser subsidise will be benefitting citizen but not being POCKETTED by already BLOTTED GOVT servant?
    5: u think malaysian all dumb dumb like u never concern of foreign news still need to peek the price on pump to know the global fuel price?
    6: …….. too much to comment
    &: PAL! get ready to enjoy coming POVERTY!

• gey2718 (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 10:58 pm

1: i think the intention is remove all subsidy, but too bad they lose too much on the past election! in hokkien we call it LAN LAN BO BIAN!!
    2: foreigner only stay around 50km of borders???
    3: how about malaysian that work cross border but bring back lot of foreign money and making great contribution to the country? they are abandon citizen
    4: $$ save from lesser subsidise will be benefitting citizen but not being POCKETTED by already BLOTTED GOVT servant?
    5: u think malaysian all dumb dumb like u never concern of foreign news still need to peek the price on pump to know the global fuel price?
    6: …….. too much to comment
    &: PAL! get ready to enjoy coming POVERTY!

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Jun 24, 2008 at 12:27 am

i wonder who came up with this idea…must be someone really fool…

are you expecting the bangla to separate the cars???

let me remind all these gov people…

if you want to create something…a system or anything…

let that system rely less on human..

dont simply ask ordinary people to enforce your stupid law….

and when they ‘break’ you law…senang2 nk denda RM250,000 la…

huh…our flip flop gov is so stupid!!

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jun 24, 2008 at 5:07 am

wow! our Gs are getting really brainless lately

• shenzutong (Member) on Jun 24, 2008 at 8:26 am

All these flip-flop policies only reflect how incompetent those Guomen people are. How can Bolehland become a developed country in this kind of situstion and with these kinds of leaders around?

The photo in one of the local dailies showed Shahrir’s gesture of winning after yesterday’s parliament session over tabling the motion (both fistshigh in the air-Yahoo, the BN won…). How the Rakyat feel? Who cares? The ruling executives and elits still enjoy their life as usual.

May be this is just the beginning of doomsdays for the Bolehland’s Guomen. What an irony.

• daze (Member) on Jun 24, 2008 at 11:40 am

dumb ass….
    i wonder what a foreigner impression when he drive a foreign car down to KL…
    how this systme implement then??? die die hav to look for pump for foreign car as well?
    If in the case, both local and foreign use d same pump but they are charge much higher in price.. what will d foreigner feel?
    Plus, i suppose there’s a reason wat attract the S’porean investor in Johor area..lower running cost. and with tat discrimination … how can we sustain a good economy grow??

Last but not least…M’sia Gov..please wake up..God Dammit..
    Stop implementing stupid system and rules…and STFU if they have no knowledge about wat they are talking about.