Unmarked car confirmed to be new Honda City (2PS)

2PS Honda City Front

This month’s issue of Autocar India carries computer generated images of the fourth generation Honda City (code 2PS) that’s due to be launched soon. We previously saw images of the City on test in India. Autocar India claim a November 2008 launch, which should mean the new City will find its way onto our local showrooms by early 2009.

Honda R&D India was quoted to have issued a statement stating that the car is indeed a prototype belonging to Honda that is currently being tested to collect on road and climatic condition data, but declined to comment further on what it is or any possible launch dates.

The 2009 Honda City bears little resemblance to the second generation Honda Jazz, unlike the previous generation which looked like an awkward 3-box Jazz with a boot stuck on. This time the City looks more like a sedan version of the European market FK/FN chassis 5-door Honda Civic hatch, which coincidentally actually has much more in common with the Jazz than its FD chassis Civic sedan brother. Hint: chassis built to take i-DSI engines and a torsion beam rear suspension.

The current generation City we have here in our market has a wheelbase of 2450mm which was equal to the first generation Jazz’s 2450mm wheelbase. The second generation Jazz’s wheelbase has grown to 2500mm, but since Toyota’s rival Belta/Vios sedan’s wheelbase has grown to 2550mm, expect the City to have a longer wheelbase than the second generation Jazz and set new best-in-class interior space records following the footsteps of its Civic sibling. Something closer to the FK/FN Civic’s 2635mm wheelbase could be possible.

In the engine bay you will find that the i-DSI engine has been discontinued for the latest generation of Hondas, instead a 1.3 or 1.5 litre i-VTEC SOHC engine is offered, with power outputs of 100 PS and 120 PS respectively.

One more rear shot of the new City after the jump.

2PS Honda City Rear

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• whodz (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 5:02 am

It’s quite different without the cover back in India. In term of design overall is new and fresh…not exactly. But, its kinda dull. One thing, its not like before with small feet(tyre). 1.3 cc with 100 PS? better than Saga and a lot better than Myvi. Wow, sure interesting. What about interior?

• abtm (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 7:45 am

if it looks like that and has a 1.3, honda will rule the market no doubt, although the rear looks like it’s been in an accident

• Bebelon (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 8:13 am

would like to see how this new city beat the ugly vios. and i also quite anticipate the new suzuki sx4 sedan come into malaysia

• King Samurai (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 8:19 am

Wait till Thai launch lor…If India will be in November Thai must be earlier.. Based on current City which the interior similar to jazz, I bet its gonna be similar to New Jazz also. So its gonna have Civic steering wheel..perhaps pedal shift as well like the hi-end Jazz. Wallauweh…want to sell my idsi lah..better sell now before this new one come out & before value drop.

• Bob_B78 (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 8:34 am

Front design is not interesting. Headlamps and grill similar to that Europe civic which is bland. I do not hope that this is the final design.

• SpyderRMX (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 8:51 am

I still prefer IDSI engine, as it give better fuel consumption compare to i-tec, we shall wait and see, at least we can tell that the 4th generation had improve alot on it’s look.

Great Job

• edperdana (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 9:19 am

Thks Paul for update. Nice fastback look. Shame abt the X-ing of the IDSI- Gr8 economy. Wonder if their smaller I-VTECs can deliver superior economy? Also heard they are dumping the CVTs for conventional 5-speed autobox-this should mean less refinement on the gear change. Looks like Honda is coming down to Toyota’s Vios level. Cost cutting?

• Hikaru (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 9:29 am

This looks fast even at standstill, which in my books always means it is some what of a looker.

Nevermind how it drives or what engine it runs, if given the choice of Vios and this new City, I think I will choose this over the Vios just because of its sharpish looks.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 10:38 am

Somehow parts of Theo Chin’s design of a sedan Fit Aria managed to make it to the actual design. Congrats Theo. IMHO they should have added the kink as well.

• kseow0 (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 11:16 am

Looks cool and sporty, kinda of US version Civic hatch. Hope this will getting mass prod in real and no more Jazz with add-on boot version !

• shamel (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 11:35 am

If l in the market of this segment l’d love to have this in my garage. By the way, HONDA CITY will win over cost-cutting Vios if they come with longer than 2500mm wheelbase.

Rear resemblance 1st gen Vios but acceptable if allowed over 450l of luggage volume.

Pricing-wise shouldn’t more than RM89k otherwise unfavorable interest rate will reduce traffic to HM order book.

• mankrm (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 11:51 am

from the back, it looks like facelifted mazda lantis..

• albagmane (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 12:50 pm

well.. it does look much better than the current City… looks kinda aerodynamic to me… at least Honda manages to strip off the huge elephant butt like current City has… looks good to me anyway…

• Muhammad Najmi El-Halim (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 1:22 pm

nice…can’t wait to see in Malaysian road….look like european car design..

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 1:54 pm

I did miss the I-DSI, it is a good fuel consumption vehicle. Why stop it’s production…
    But the rear of this car looks funny. a bit like vios

• mytouch (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 2:29 pm

This new City will sure kick the “Dugong” Vios ass…hopefully it will set an alarm to UMW to not to overpricing their T batch car in the future…

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 2:53 pm

hahaha, ‘dugong vios’. nice one. this new city sure looks great. very much like the euro civic hatch look.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 3:21 pm

NISSAN, HYUNDAI AND TOYOTA WOULD CRY I THIS WAS REALLY THE HONDA CITY, ONLY ONE THING CAN CHALLENGE THIS, THAT KIA AND THAT FORD FIESTA

• David9988 (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 3:33 pm

The backside looks like the one of the current bmw 3 series…Except the city looks even better.
    Although not particularly original, who cares?

• azrai (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 3:34 pm

Civic EURo inspired City. this is much better than the current seterika one. How much is it? A truly man car compared to Vios dugong.

• kingv6 (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 3:37 pm

Julienlee2, u dont have to shout..
    Cheers..

• kingv6 (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 3:50 pm

The new butt is shorter. I wonder if Honda still maintain the 500liter boot space.

• car craz (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 4:37 pm

the car design looks really sporty… cant wait for the actual one to arrive…

• avanza (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 4:50 pm

Noticed that the wheels are of the 5-nut type. Not really a B-segment car anymore.

• jaymashimaro (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 6:27 pm

exterior impressive, its like totally different design from current city
    wonder why all honda car like to change their look so much, they change this , cahnge that, simply dun have a consistent design
    anyway, honda services is totally unacceptable in malaysia
    for new car , u need half year to deliver . quite lousy for a car maker.

and the honda website, www.honda.com.my is so dumb, unfriendly, i cant even submit a suggestion/comment there

please make more research honda, ur marketing is unacceptable

• jaymashimaro (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 6:27 pm

choose vios for its reliability and services
    cheers toyota !

• Jie (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 6:50 pm

Agree with jaymashimaro on the website. I’ve been trying to use the loan calculator but it *@#^$ up every time.

I would buy the 1.3l version if it’s priced below RM69k. Otherwise I would buy a Vios. Never liked the current generation City, so ugly and facelifted so many times.

• kkchai (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 6:53 pm

Comparing the picture and the photos, the picture does looks much sportier and sharper. If any R&D Honda do take our opinion, please do try to make sharp, not just from front but the side shown by the photo look very overgrow “FAT” to fit the new iVTEC.

New Jazz with 1.3 iVTEC win either in performance or fuel economy, great work by Honda’s.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 7:30 pm

The front reminds me of the bigger car Kia has on sale now, which looks like the Accord. Rear looks like a 3 series beemer. I am really guessing that this car will outsell Vios.

• noactiontalkonly (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 7:42 pm

This beauty will only arrive in malaysia early 2009? this mean at that time the current vios already reached it’s midlife, primed for facelift in 2010 based on their usual 3-year cycle. don’t you all think there’s something strange here? many people here compare toyota vs honda, citing all sorts of technology and figures.. but in my opinion both company seems to be avoiding each other (or is there any gentlemen’s agreement between them?)

• sam1983 (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 9:52 pm

IMHO, I believe the new Honda City will not be released not at least until 3Q, 2009 as the company would need to first launch the new Honda Jazz around Sept ‘08.. If you had taken notice all the car launches from Honda, whether it is City, Accord, Civic, etc, the timeframe between them is at least 6 months apart. You can also refer to Wikipedia for the year and types of honda launches in Asia. Besides, the current bad economic turbulence will postpone the launch date imminently. Only insane company will launched a top volume sales vehicle in the middle of an economic crisis!

Good news is that, Honda Jazz and Honda City will share the same platform of engine mated with 5-speed auto or manual with further powered horsepower to 120HP.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 10:43 pm

Out of the topic, there is one LMG showroom at the Chain Ferry Road in Butterworth. Remember our Just Add Water advertising campaign?

Anyway, this car (City) makes the Dugong car looks dated. I’m lovin’ it!

• Wisdom (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 10:45 pm

The rear wheels seems slightly protruding out. But i guest they will equip smaller wheels on the original car later.

• transformer (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 10:56 pm

Nice front!
    Back are a bit like their old prelude…

• topgunthang (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 11:26 pm

yea. websites that use all that java crap are shit websites. but perhaps they’ve done thier research and actually found out asians really like those japanese taiwanese java graphics crap. hence toyota and honda malaysia websites are so terrible you cant even leave a comment to say that the website is crap and actually turn you off from buying the car. i just want a fast loading clean website that gives me the details and pictures that i want and where to arrange as test drive .

• csv (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 11:57 pm

not bad looking!

beats the current generation one anytime.

but wonder if fuel economy would be good.

if it really is good, can kill vios.

• chanel (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 12:37 am

just seeking some clarification….

actually CVT gearbox is more advanced & better than conventional auto gearbox or otherwise? some City owner had complained CVT gearbox problem, wonder it still had it now?

• king (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 9:49 am

edperdana said,
    July 9, 2008 @ 9:19 am

Thks Paul for update. Nice fastback look. Shame abt the X-ing of the IDSI- Gr8 economy. Wonder if their smaller I-VTECs can deliver superior economy? Also heard they are dumping the CVTs for conventional 5-speed autobox-this should mean less refinement on the gear change. Looks like Honda is coming down to Toyota’s Vios level. Cost cutting?

_____

aiyah…honda gave us good value for their current city and malaysians punished them by buying 3 times more vios. so it makes sense that malaysians do not want a better spec car but a cheap basic car with conventional spec.

since malaysians do not appreciate all that…maybe honda can consider giving us a stone age 4 speed auto instead…..and spend the extra money on advertising and marketing like what toyota does for its products. save RM10k on each car and employ brad pitt, britney, paris etc

so in the end we consumers stand to lose…while the pop stars/actors gain.

• king (Member) on Jul 10, 2008 at 10:03 am

choose cheap n ugly dugong vios if you got brain damage

• Bob_B78 (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 8:58 am

Totally agree that latest Vios looks terrible compared to previous model. Rumors say that this generation vios fuel economy is worse than previous model. I wonder if that is true…… Actually how the city vtec compare with vios in terms fuel economy? maybe someone would like to share this info?

• JasonMaxx (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 4:13 pm

Honda said that it will introduce 3 new hybrid car in the future 1. FCX 2.CR-Z 3.JAZZ hybrid. They said the FCX will have a look same like the FCX concept so I think the City is quite like the FCX concept…will the next City use hybrid system ??

• tracktion3 (Member) on Jul 11, 2008 at 9:17 pm

maybe is my eye, but from the 2nd photo, it seems that the car is using a 5 lug nuts wheel. What does that mean? Better torque?

Is rather rare to see a car with 1.5 engine need a wheel with 5 lug nuts. But it does give a prettier look of the car actually.

• kancildriver (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 12:07 am

if i’m not mistaken, think i read somewhere; this i-vtec engine is claimed to save more than i-dsi. not sure. anyone to comment?

just bought my city vtec…. cis cis cis

• jhj249 (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 8:27 am

kancildriver, is it true ?

“this i-vtec engine is claimed to save more than i-dsi. not sure. anyone to comment?”

anyone can confirm?

• Bob_B78 (Member) on Jul 12, 2008 at 2:36 pm

I read in a car magazine that states the 1.5 vtec which now produces 120 ps has the fuel economy as our current city. As for the 1.3 model it just matches the idsi model in fuel ecomy but with a rated of 100 ps. All this is based on the latest honda jazz model which most likely the same engine will be used for the new city.

• isfufushah (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 9:47 am

wow…

1 ps = 0.735 kW

so,

1.3 engine = 73.5 kW
    1.5 engine = 88.2 kW

1.6 campro engine = 82 kW

coOl.~

• shoaib on Jun 14, 2009 at 12:32 am

pls send me honda 2ps working information

• shoaib on Jun 14, 2009 at 12:33 am

pls ssend me new honda 2ps working information

• Winnifer on Dec 07, 2009 at 1:25 am

I don't see the point to you guys here to promote the Honda. If the car company do not put in effort to keep the customer. Just tell me my experience with the Boon Siew Honda Inanam in Sabah.. Ordered my car for almost 2 months and the company still unable to confirm when I can get my car. When asked, they point the fault back the the Head office in kuala lumpur that has not deliver my car. Any justification ? Tell me what you would do!!!!

• mr tommy on Mar 29, 2010 at 9:30 pm

u should refer to the head office directly if u think its take too long to deliver ur car..

• arsalan haider on Jan 28, 2010 at 11:11 am

it,s a very beutifullll CAR IT,S MY DREAM AND VERY SOON I GET IT

• arsalan haider on Jan 28, 2010 at 11:12 am

IT, A 2ND BEUTIFULLL CAR IN THE WORLD 1ST IS LAMBORGHINI REVENTON

• ARMAGHAN HAIDERI on Jan 28, 2010 at 11:19 am

hahahahahahahaha he gabar singh ki ulath chup kar be kuthe tana na sir ek baad bolo chapli kabab asoli yaha koi nahi banata ham ra restaurent karachi par hai defence par badar comercial restaurent ka nam BIG BITE hai hahahha

IT,S A 2nd beutifullllll car in the world and 1st is lamborghini reventon

• mr tommy on Mar 29, 2010 at 9:26 pm

it's very nice looking and very suitable with the price. nice interior with aerodynamic body shape. looks better than the honda city before…