Chevrolet Corvette ZR1 laps Nurburgring in 7:26.4

Chevrolet Corvette ZR1

This is for fans of cockpit recordings from the race track. General Motors recently announced that the Chevrolet Corvette ZR1 had completed a Nurburgring run in 7 minutes and 26.4 seconds. The standard ZR1 was driven by development engineer Jim Mero, and he said it was likely that the ZR1 could have completed the lap in an even faster time if there was less headwind going against the car during the straights.

The Chevrolet Corvette ZR1 (codename Blue Devil) is powered by the new supercharged Chevrolet LS9 engine (based on the LS3 block), producing 638 horsepower at 6,500rpm and 819Nm of torque at 3,800rpm, with a 7100rpm redline. Its Eaton TVS R2300 roots supercharger is intercooled and boosts at 10.5 psi or 0.7 bar. 0 to 100km/h acceleration time takes 3.4 seconds.

View the video after the jump.

VIDEO: Chevrolet Corvette ZR1 Nurburgring lap in-car recording

PHOTO GALLERY: Chevrolet Corvette ZR1
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

[cpg_album:20]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• aksMs (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 5:02 am

Now the Yankees has learned how to take bends. Haha!

• droll (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 6:52 am

hot damn…….why are people still making such monsters in view of rising fuel costs? :)

• azrai (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 7:18 am

Typical american muscle.

• S9E (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 9:22 am

droll, if you can affort this car then you should not be bothered about rising fuel cost…definitely this one is not for me, so i won’t be bothered to complain.

• munky (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 9:33 am

Driven by the development engineer. What if it was driven by someone like michael schumacher or something ? Surely this car can go way faster than that

• armandd (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 9:37 am

hm, it still can’t beat the GT-R V-spec (7:25), which has less power-to-weight ratio. anyway, well done yankies!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 10:53 am

this “development engineer” is still one heck of a driver. anyone who can drive like that, and below 8mins on the ring is an exceptional driver.

• droll (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 11:59 am

S9E – yeah, i was only jesting. hahaha.

but this is one crazy car. and is that a manual gearbox i spy?

• LHQ (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 3:28 pm

Probably not much cars can beat it in quartermile drag.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 6:18 pm

Wah lau, cool

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 10:08 pm

YAWN..CHEVROLET PLEASE CHANGE THE DESIGN AND IMPROVE THAT INTERIOR

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 10:34 pm

@julianlee2
    pls no full caps.. Its an eyesore

I’d gotta say thats once sweet vid!
    sexing out those corners! :D

• csv (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 11:35 pm

eeek, still lose to GT-R which has less power and weight.

typical trashy american cars. big engine, big horsepower, shitty cornering abilities and handling.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 6:26 am

lose to GT-R? but ZTH website said officially beaten the new R35 GT-R lap time

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 10:26 am

csv, for a start, the corvette is a totally different car from the GTR. secondly, this is not your typical “trashy american car”.

in case you didnt know, the ‘ring’ is not a horsepower track. its renown for its challenging corners. all the famous manufacturers tune their cars ride&handling on the ‘ring’. for the corvette to do such a quick time, proves that it is still an exceptional handling car, as can be seen in the videos.

• Alifz (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 10:39 am

The Yankiees are preparing for the entrance of ‘Godzilla’ next year…

Hehehe…..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 11:44 am

why everyone are comparing Corvette with GT-R ??????

the GT-R is definitely a SUPERCAR, but i think Corvette should compete directly with Viper, Ford GT etc…..

btw, totally agree with BanyakMasukWorkshop, because the mightly (and ugly) Bugatti Veyron is not the fastest car in Nurburgring…..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 11:57 am

the corvette has also been a highly successful endurance racer, having won class victories at the lemans 24hrs and every other major endurance race. i wonder if nissan will ever contest the GTR at the 24hrs?

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 4:40 pm

gt-r much better

• ManicMan (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 6:01 pm

Vette and GTR? Vette anyday… it has the history, the pedigree and quite frankly more mechanical fell to it. The GTR is a great car for sure, but to me it’s like a computer on wheels…. And I agree with mitlanevo, the competition is with other American muscle cars, the Viper and Shelby GT500KR

• aksMs (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 2:42 am

JULIANLEE2 said,

July 15, 2008 @ 4:40 pm

gt-r much better

Julian Lee, now, that’s much better. You’ve just been a good sport. It’s not just an eyesore to kei9 when you use all CAPITAL letter but to the rest of us too. Keep it that way, aite! ;)

As for this ‘Blue Devil’ to compete with Viper and Shelby GT500? Look at the way it goes around the corners, I’d say this Vette will win hands down (road car of course, not the track prepared one).

• Antistereotype on Jun 24, 2009 at 2:35 am

The Vette has better skidpad lateral acceleration than an Enzo…

The reason the GT-R was so fast around the Ring was because of all the electronic help and a better driver (former F1 driver), while Vette did it without traction control, and driven by an Engineer/test driver.

Put an F1 driver in the Vette, and we'll be seeing better lap times than even the Viper.

Seriously, if you can't drive that well, get the GT-R, because you probably won't be able to handle the power of the LS9 without traction control.