ACA arrests 3 men related to Perdana V6 case

W211 Facelift

The ACA has taken action in the Terengganu state government Perdana V6 maintenance costs case. The Star reports that 3 car workshop owners have been arrested and 8 of the 16 Perdana V6 Executive cars have been seized for investigation. In addition another 10 people have been called to the ACA to give their statements regarding the issue. ACA enforcement director Datuk Shukri Abdull said there was a possibility that more people would be arrested.

This is probably good news for the state exco in a twisted way – with the cars seized they have no choice but to use the new E200K they have purchased, but it’s not that they have not been doing this already. Despite the Perdana Menteri’s directive not to use the cars the state excos have ignored it and started using the E200K cars as their official cars to travel to events and wherever they have to be.

Proton also found that one of its dealers in Terengganu has been using non-genuine spare parts, overcharging on parts and labour and performing work on cars without recording it in Proton’s warranty system. This dealer is under EON and has been suspended, and it may be terminated if found to be implicated in wrongdoings after investigation. The Terengganu state government had revealed earlier that it had appointed 4 service centers to service its cars – Pusat Servis EON, Tenaga Setia Service Sdn Bhd, Pusat Servis Ranaco and AMBL Services.

Proton also revealed that the average annual maintenance expenditure incurred by each of the 35 Proton Perdanas that the Terengganu government sent to Proton authorised service centers was only RM542. Proton mentioned that the average maintenance cost of a Proton Persona was RM2,373 a year… so have these cars been “under-serviced”? Or were the services just not logged into Proton’s warranty system?

According to Proton managing director Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed, out of the RM1,071,668.82 figure spent on maintaining Terengganu’s fleet of 16 Perdana V6 Executive cars, only 17% was spent in authorised Proton service centers, with the rest spent outside. One of the cars was found with cross-drilled disc brakes which were not an original Proton item. “The person who installed the brakes may have passed them off as high-performance brakes and charged a higher price,” said Syed Zainal. The national car company has offered a free audit of all cars owned by all state governments.

At the same time while all of this is happening, Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Shahrir Samad launched the Consumer Day celebration with the theme “Moderation for a Better Life” and “Practice Sustainable Consumption”. Well, the government is certainly not leading by example.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• abtm (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 12:17 pm

there’s always a crime somewhere in this country…and like many others, they would have gotten away with it if it wasn’t for those Mercs

• jaygan (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 12:30 pm

Just another case on the G asked the rakyat to “ubah gaya hidup”

The G does know “talk is cheap” and don’t know what is “Lead by example”

Malaysia boleh. Ha

• armandd (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 12:40 pm

i believe that this is only the tip of the iceberg.

• Hikaru (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 12:44 pm

Interesting as it is, in Malaysia this is not uncommon. Only that it is not made known to the public.

For the parliment to debate on this is just a waste of time and money. There are bigger problems than what car these ppl use. Look at the East M’sia counterparts and the “official” cars they use. No qualms there.

Can our ministers get on with their proper job? Our Country are being run by bandits and the govt is the only ppl who can stop it.

• narrowband (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 1:08 pm

Hope the ACA won’t let me down.

• jackson91 (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 1:55 pm

Great news about the ACA. Now I hope they will look into municipal counties and PLUS/KESAS as well. I know of one workshop (may be more) that “brags” how they also service PLUS, KESAS and MPSJ vehicles. I’ve always wondered whether he overcharges them or “replaces” parts that dont really need replacing.There is always one of those vehicle in his workshop but ever since all this brou-ha-ha started, those vehicles amazingly disappear as well.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 1:59 pm

honestly, i’m tired of all this V6-Merc hanky-panky… anyway, i really pity PakLah, he really look stupid with the act of those state exco not to follow his order… hmmm…. but to be fair, his ‘order’ was stupid too… already buy, so use it lah! wtf use for guest only?? use your power! make a firm decision! either u use it or sell it… jangan lembik la.. ayyoooo….

• kahing (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 2:16 pm

They are all stupid to begin with. The no.1 lamers in our country. Those excos and the ministers.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 2:21 pm

Ha! really funny.
    First our PM allow the menteri to drive that Merc only for ferrying guest. So there’s go one chance for them to drive that Merc.
    Then, the ACA took most of the V6s to do investigation (normally takes few months). There goes another chances for the Excos to take that Merc out again.
    So, the next time what would be happened was:
    1. The work shop found guilty by the corruption agency
    2. The V6s no longer safe to drive due to not qualified parts use
    3. V6s were not driven for long cause most of the engine rustly, need major overhauled, need more $$$, so the V6s were to be scrap and Exco got to keep the Mercs
    4. V6s component was too risky to be put back after taken out. Need to be scrap
    5. The issue eventually taking too long time to be find out and most the Mers already to more than 50k km. No added re-sale value to the G, so Exco got to keep it forever.

Wow, i find myself better become Politician. Cause Politician Damn Good in Making Excuses.!~ :-)

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 2:21 pm

The Proton Perdana V6 vs. Merc E200K official car issue is a great embarassment to this country. The Terengganu state govt should be ashamed of themselves for trying to put out a lame argument to justify their misjudgement in using public funds.

They should’ve been more responsible. I find it gravely unfortunate that a state government (of all people) want to damage the image of our National Car (not that the company hasn’t had enough trouble already in the past) by putting up such a reckless justification apparently to cover up their misappropriation of funds.

Whatever the outcome from here on in, the issue remains as one of the worst moments of our country’s history.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 2:53 pm

i think the TurtleLand G know something wrong the minute they see the receipt… if not mistaken, they r the one that give statement to the press about Merc buying thing in the 1st place… wtf they do something that stupid (buying Merc) at this time & let all the ppl know? must be something else they want to tell… they r confident with their move so obviously they have all the facts & their arses is ‘clean’… ACA can’t sit quietly & watch all this thing.. must remember, he is the one that PM said can’t be the ‘Menteri Besar’ coz of unconstitutional thingy… so, anyone should know that he’s not PM fav…

• bax79 (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 2:57 pm

Trust me….at the end the ‘small fish’ only get caught…..the big fish is still swimming around.

• bmpower (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 4:00 pm

“Moderation for a Better Life” and “Practice Sustainable Consumption”.

Ya ya.. if he’s in front of me.. I gonna slap his face 10 times repeatly.
    Talk c0ck, do nothing good. lead by example first lah!.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 4:02 pm

I’ll believe ACA when they FINALLY charge and convict someone.

They have arrested a lot of people, but somehow never manage to charge and convict people in of court of law.

I’m not going to argue if ACA is run by crooks or the justice system is full of the same.

Its not very convincing of ACA for them to take this long to act. What has it been, weeks already?

• lchan (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 4:04 pm

Terengganu government is the most stupid of the lot. You telling me when they approved the Mercs, no one in the committee said…”hang on…wtf with the numbers? They dont add up and stink like a wet rat” before approving the purchase of mercs? Oh..i forgotten…the whole bunch of them most probably smell worse and a wet stinking rat is perfume to their noses.

• raverus (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 4:34 pm

Caught someone, got action or not?
    Typical Malaysia style, how about those big fat buayas?

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 5:11 pm

The ACA just caught the small fish only……..

I bet the big fish will find other means to accumulate their wealth….one way or the other….

hmmmm, Let see, let’s try buying a fleet of Hayabusa Superbikes for their local postal service, and give the excuse that current pos malaysia kapchai is unreliable and not fast enuf for their task….

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 6:45 pm

Ya, small fish will be caught, big fish and previous boss will clean off hands like that.

• ys (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 6:46 pm

hope ACA will dig more deeper than we will know is big buaya behind.
    anyway, i just wonder how those politician create such lousy excuse. say la G got money to they deserve a Merc. they work for rakyat what? drive Merc ok ma…

• optimus_prime (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 7:14 pm

Anyone with an ounce of intelligence knows that you always pay a premium at car dealership(proton in this case). If u got money go service at the dealership. If you pay more than the dealership, either u got cheated or youre trying to cheat somebody else.

This is how it will probably end up. Get dragged out longer for another few more weeks and then everyone will forget. Fry the small fish for what? If I have a business and the customer willing to pay more of course I accept. If someone in G getting a cut of the profit, will the small fish “sing”? Will the ACA do something next? You all probably know the answer already.

• ganz (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 7:16 pm

if they continue to use V6, definitely the maintenance going to be sky rocket again.. so as a double sword action.. buy Merc.. see the reaction.. if all silent than it ok.. if somebody start querying (just right now).. we have all evidence to support.. after all.. they got their Merc :D

who gonna carried all those “biawak hidup” .. blood sucker of dealer and everything.. and funny.. how Proton just know this incident.. what happen if Terengganu G still silent on this.. n know telling about ” the maintenance cost” should be lower.. should their audit everything .. since those tenaga setia and etc are authorized dealer? how they maintain the status of AUTHORIZED

and suddenly.. all state G talking about this.. the high maintenance of the car..
    why.. before Terengganu G come with this.. nobody talk about this..

not stupid la… they think wisely about this,,it not easy to be a politician.. not all.. even u that so smart also can’t be Menteri Besar :D

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 8:45 pm

proton sucks

• jiash (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 11:13 pm

JULIANLEE2,

You work for the government? If not then your comment show’s your level of maturity. Or either that you’re just another brainless Proton Basher.

• delos3nos (Member) on Jul 29, 2008 at 1:15 am

Well after all the drama they still use the merc and not the perdana. Now they have double the cost. Well no one will listern to the PM event ask not to do so.
    Well they are good in burning duit rakyat. The leadership by example, what respect they show to they leader and what other will think.

Just justified yourself. This show what ACA are doing. They should be one step ahead before complain.

• capeplates (Member) on Jul 29, 2008 at 1:40 am

Obviously the adverse publicity necessitates a scapegoat or two – they’ve got them

• tikus (Member) on Jul 29, 2008 at 9:14 am

Nothing new,This is Malaysia ! Corruption is Part of our life man!

• torque (Member) on Jul 29, 2008 at 2:53 pm

Well, just look at the whole picture guys. If the Terengganu MB and the rest of the exco HAVE NO RESPECT towards the PM by refusing to listen his orders than WHY WE MALAYSIAN SHOULD RESPECT OUR PM?

Plus, Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Shahrir Samad launched Consumer Day with tagline “Moderation for a Better Life” and “Practice Sustainable Consumption”….Wow! What a sight! A COW that talk BULL but sounds like a COCK!! Hmm…should sell this Memory Lane.

• torque (Member) on Jul 29, 2008 at 3:10 pm

Sorry…typo error. * should sell this tagline to Memory Lane.

• Auto_crat (Member) on Jul 29, 2008 at 7:16 pm

It’s not about Proton or Merc. It’s always the people. Perdana is not that bad even though it’s way outdated. People make it bad. Hope ACA rope in not the small fish, the big fish as well.

• elpaciko (Member) on Jul 29, 2008 at 7:25 pm

the aca arrested 3 workshop owners… what next? arrest the account clerk who prepare the cheque? and then what? arrest the office boy who delivered the cheque?

will they ever arrest the real ringmaster? its realy a sad comedy

• Mike8008 (Member) on Jul 30, 2008 at 11:22 am

Yeah right!! the maintenance fee for mercedes is more cheap than Proton!!

• ignas (Member) on Jul 31, 2008 at 12:26 am

so 3 guys got arrested, tats all? where are the others? oh wait, i smelled corruption in the air.

• kahing (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 1:38 am

I just realised that apart from Perdana, there’s another model of Proton’s that somehow everybody have missed out on. Whatever happen to Proton Chancellor ???? Isn’t THAT a more luxurious car than the Perdana ? Longer wheelbase, a very well boasted interior and all that shit ? Why don’t they replace the V sixers with this Chancellor ? Ha ! Even the excos and VIPs don’t really look up to our own Malaysian car, hence the much-talked-about Mercs. Mampos lah ko orang! Cakap je pandai. Suruh Orang ubah gaya hidup, so that you all can be more exorbitant in your own lifestyles ? Memang hantu rasuah para VIP kite ni.