Proton MPV sneak peek at Proton Technology Week

Proton will be opening its doors to the public at the Proton Technology Week this weekend. Members of the public will be able to have a look at some of Proton’s R&D facilities and future initiatives at Proton’s plant in the Hicom Industrial Estate, Section 26 Shah Alam.

– 2nd August 2008 2:00 PM to 5:00 PM
– 3rd August 2008 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM

In the technology area members of the public will be able to get a glimpse of Proton’s upcoming 2009 Proton MPV as well as R&D facilities like styling studios, safety labs, VR rooms, prototype studios, noise labs and others. I’ll most definitely be there to share with you what can be seen on Saturday night. Then you can decide if its worth checking out on Sunday which has longer opening hours.

UPDATE: Sheikh Muszaphar will be there on the 2nd of August, so this may be one chance for you to meet him in person for whatever reason you want.

In the carnival area there will be free go-kart rides, a precision driving showcase by Proton’s R3 team, a remote control car championship, a drifting demo, show cars and a demo of a driverless Lotus. It should be quite interesting as the driverless Lotus has been flown in all the way from the US.

The Lotus Autonomous Vehicle is based off the Lotus Elise and was an entry to the DARPA Urban Challenge in 2007. It was developed by the North Carolina State University, Insight Technologies, Advanced Vehicle Research Center and Lotus Engineering. It uses laser measurements sensors, high accuracy GPS, and radar.

For those who have children there’s also a children’s fun area. Look after the jump for videos of the autonomous Lotus Elise.

VIDEO: DARPA Lotus Elise 1

VIDEO: DARPA Lotus Elise 2

VIDEO: DARPA Lotus Elise 3

VIDEO: DARPA Lotus Elise 4

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• azrai (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 7:40 am

The pic actually Gen-2 in design process. Many will flock to get a glimpse on the new mpv. The berita Harian will surely have it on the front page.

• farghmee (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 8:59 am

“It uses laser measurements sensors, high accuracy GPRS, and radar”

GPRS? or GPS?

• ignas (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 9:30 am

whatever they going to show us there will not be the same in production. Lotus? what is the point if proton owns it, but we majority malaysian cant even afford it? Its just a name in proton cars. As usual, another stunt of showoffs under public expenses to suck in more money.

• ganz (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 9:31 am

well.. i’m a public.. :D working with public transportation company.. so.. i’ll be there.. just few km from house

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 10:00 am

i think its a great opportunity for the public that proton is doing this. especially those who are still skeptical that proton designs and builds their own cars.. and rather than talk about it, go and find out for themselves. i believe not many car manufacturers in the world actually open up their R&D facilities to the public.

ignas, i think rather than speculate like you are doing now, the opporunity is there for you to find out for yourself

• goguncas71 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 10:11 am

Ignas, how exactly is this event a showofff under public expenses? To suck in more money? It’s a company event paid by themselves.

Bash bash bash boring…

Proton gets excise tax discounts for using local parts and investing in RND. I don’t hear people complaining about Perodua – a japanese owned company that gets ALL thesame benefits without spending anything on RND?

Free trade and protectionism? Oh get off your high horse, do you wonder why the recent trade talks in Geneva failed? EU and US also plays it too…

• SY0H (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 11:27 am

Asalamualaikum and Hello,

Proton, Proton, Proton… you call yourself Proton, should have called yourself Electron. Cause Proton is a positive charge particles meanwhile Electron is the negative particles which oppose, so that’s what the science says…

Proton, you’ve improved your car design (slight improvement only lah) but you’ll need to make sure your CAMPRO engine to be replaced as soon as possible. Your CAMPRO is a fuel guzzler and your 1980’s engine technology (DOHC) courtesy of LOTUS is not applicable anymore in this “boleh-minyak-naik-land”. Time to shift to DVVT, VTEC and Hybrid. Make your car engine’s more fuel efficient. That’s all I can comment now. Think about it will ya? Proton Engineer? R & D? Where are you guys? Mamak session lagikah?

Sincerely,
    SY0H

• arch747 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 11:29 am

I’ve to agree, whenever there’s a post about Proton, sure it’s bashing time. As for me, I look forward for the weekend.
    You wanna own a Lotus? well, u better work your a** off rather than asking for some kind of subsidy.
    Besides, it’s kinda boring to see every 2nd or 3rd car on the road is Lotus, right?

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 11:52 am

I’m not interested with Proton Tech Week, etc.

I don’t care if they open to public 24-7,

I don’t care if their facilities is top secret like CIA building.

I don’t care & I don’t wanna know, if they give away free karripap or kopi.

I do care about the how proton (by proving it) improve the quality of their cars, Most important, I care about having the time to open to other auto industry / market for fair competition in terms of pricing and tax…..I want choices, not just from Proton, but other brands as well.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 12:03 pm

SY0H, if you have so many comments about proton, stop talking about it here in this forum.. go there, and tell them yourself. the opportunity to do so is finally here. so top hiding behind your screen, go to proton, and tell those people there exactly what you think.

btw, for an open auto industry, i think you need to go to putrajaya for that.. even proton cant help you there.

• ReactiX (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 12:07 pm

well, a good start from p1 rather than copycat p2 entity. surely, p2 also need to develop their R&D. they already jv with big car maker company, but what did p2 get? copycat technology, same as p1 in the early days. just setup a photostat car plant and get the national car maker status. WTFH!!!

-ReactiX

• abtm (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 12:28 pm

until the day that proton can stand on it’s two feet without the unfair tax advantage, i have no respect for them…so i’m not going

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 12:58 pm

then i have no respect for those talk cock sing song commenter here tat keep mentioning proton survive bcz of unfair tax, no quality n ask them to prove their quality is improved, er, there r alot of proton car on the road, go check their new car urself! no need to go to proton factory to prove that right? stop talking, n start doing it! u guys complain our gov oni talk but no action, u arent any different! no respect for u dude!

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 1:00 pm

simple logic is tat u all just wan2 own ur dream car but in a simpler ways, even less respect from me…earn ur moolah urself! stop asking from gov! r u a leech or malaysian? or its malaysian=leech?

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 3:26 pm

A PROTON mpv, this is stupid

• scorpicore (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 3:32 pm

I do think P1 is making some progress even as most of us think a bit too slow. The company does not getting annual financial support from the G for their R&D. So they need to think carefully before making any allocation for this, as P1 is just getting back on track by making some profits. Looking at new vios the the same real light design as P1 Waja, i would say P1 is having capabilities to design cars. That is why China and now another country is interested in rebadging P1 cars. I am sure many Malaysians are capable to make the company more viable and competitive in the future. The company need to adopt a more open system in the recruitment of quality staffs, and further strengthen their capability to design and create a new, affordable and practical innovation for the local and international market. If the Japanese can do it, I dont think why we cant.

• scorpicore (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 3:38 pm

I do think P1 is making some progress even as most of us think a bit too slow. The company does not getting annual financial support from the G for their R&D. So they need to think carefully before making any allocation for this, as P1 is just getting back on track by making some profits. Looking at new vios the the same tail lights design as P1 Waja, i would say P1 is having capabilities to design cars. That is why China and now another country is interested in rebadging P1 cars. I am sure many Malaysians are capable to make the company more viable and competitive in the future. The company need to adopt a more open system in the recruitment of quality staffs, and further strengthen their capability to design and create a new, affordable and practical innovation for the local and international market. If the Japanese can do it, I dont think why we can’t.

• Alifz (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 3:38 pm

Haha…

Now ‘Apple Computer’ can drive a car..Lotus Elise…walauweh…

• dzulcar9 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 3:46 pm

JULIANLEE2 ;

A Proton MPV, this is stupid;

p/s: MPV not yet produce. How u know it stupid? Or it your mind?

• raptorclans (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 4:39 pm

Hahaha… good one dzulcar9… I noticed that he posts only useless comments… especially when it comes to local cars -_-”

Anyways, I might try to get to this event… I went to one of their open days, it was really interesting. They let you see most of their R&D stages (they did not reveal all though). Back then they just launched the GEN.2, but I managed to get a sneak peak of the Savvy and Satria Neo there too (mostly covered, you must be sharp). There’s also a pic of the Satria Covertible concept I took then which has been circulating the net like crazy -_-

Definitely worth a try guyz~

• torque (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 5:14 pm

Aiseyman,

First of all, I’m not a big proton fan but my first car is a Proton. The car have done so much for me in the past and I’m grateful of it. There’s some of you bash Proton and some of you ain’t. I have to say none of you guys is right or wrong in this matter. The one that had lost their faith in proton is definately have a point in this matter. Proton DOES have quality issue in the past but look seriously in this matter…it mostly happen in Tengku Mahalel time la. Now, Proton had improve on it’s quality…maybe slow but there’s still an improvement. It doesn’t matter…as long as they heading the right way. Now, they open their R&D to the public and for some of you that frustrated of them…just go there see them face to face la. Bagitau apa yang tak puas hati. If Proton does improve on it’s quality someday, we also could benefit from it right?

As for JulianLee2, Perodua lagi la STUPID selling Kembara which is copy from Daihatsu Terios and Toyota Rush at RM 90,000. I know la it’s a CBU tapi at least design la kereta sendiri. If they take the platform is ok but don’t simply take the whole “cake” la. More boring right?

• fed-up (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 5:17 pm

Oh please…not remotely interested in watever technology from Proton..I had about enough…then why the can’t compete with other car makers…losers!

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 6:35 pm

tell them to make the MPV like the Mazda CX-7, or the BMW X6 or the Lotus APX, sure laku compared to box MPV’s

• raybrig85 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 7:38 pm

i think u guyz dun say perodua stupid..if u said so..u are saying dat other brand like holden etc is stupid too…mabe they hd their strategy or marketing plan..we dun know abt dat…jgnla nk kate perodua stupid sbab proton bole dsg kereta sndiri..dulu pn proton macam tu gak…btw…to those who is bash2 proton..i think jz go there n see urself n complain to them….

to mystvearn…

CX-7 is nt a mpv….jz wanna correct u..it is SUV…or in detail..mid size crossover suv like nissan murano etc…cheers

• raptorclans (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 8:01 pm

Oh, and for those who wish to complain, they do listen. The last time I went, a group of owners were voicing out problems with the windows, visors etc :)

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 8:33 pm

yeah the pic is definitely a gen-2 concept, u can tell by the lines, sad they didnt followed, else it would look like malaysia’s own lancer gt.

anyways, i was trying to MSN u paul and hopefully u will cover the event

• rt (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 8:45 pm

Dearest all (except bashers)

I propose that we open an online vote for the most stupid basher.

my vote goes to JULIANLEE2
    if I have second vote, my 2nd vote goes to JULIANLEE2
    my 3rd vote goes to … no others.. JULIANLEE2

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 8:48 pm

oh my god… even an event also want to bash… :))

am a proud owner of Waja CPS… no problem at all… can follow the new CIVIC VTEC on highway doing speed well above the legal limit.. :D

so I can’t agree on most commnets about the quality… even my sister Avanza have some issue…

I was told recently by an ex-employee of proton that the real problem with proton is eventhough they study under MMC initialy, the Japanese is reluctant to pass on knowledge. most of what proton has acquired is learned by themselves and that take time.

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 8:49 pm

I second that rt…. :D

• rt (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 9:34 pm

kingbrutal,

sometimes it is not the car.. its the basher… opps.. the driver…
    My Rusa also can follow Lexus, civic, and bunch or other high performance cars at Karak Highway from Genting to Gombak..

Their problem is that they are straight line speedsters.. when the roads bends, they brake like shit… some even goes below 80kph..

These drivers (bashers), they show off — in most of my case, cucuk my Rusa’s bontot, even though I was in the middle lane, not the fast lane — from the comfort of their car (arm-chair) at straight line (air-conditioned home). When we drill them, they then sweating like a pig.

anyway, as a frequent traveller from Kuantan to KL, my advice to those uisng KL-Karak Highway is that slow down when it rains. even though is only drizzling. Most accidents I saw was not during heavy rain, but just when the road is a little bit wet (and oily).

And one more thing, slow down after you had made your point…

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 9:46 pm

@JULIANLEE2

U agrovates me.
    But still what you say shows what you are as a real person.
    Childish

• hazremi (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 9:46 pm

mystvearn said,

August 1, 2008 @ 6:35 pm

tell them to make the MPV like the Mazda CX-7, or the BMW X6 or the Lotus APX, sure laku compared to box MPV’s

• ignas (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 10:16 pm

simple equation, citizens’ money = government’s fundings + protection = proton ‘company’

subsidy? we don’t need one, if you know what the G should be is doing. we are also one of the supposedly well-to-do countries which also produces petroleum.

own a lotus by working my a** off? now that’s naive. i’m working very hard just barely enough to make a living. those that own luxurious and exotic cars, how many actually are really working their a** off and without corruptions? ya i know who are not like certain exco of certain state for an example.

oh and i dun mind the boringness to see every 2nd or 3rd car on the road is Lotus, but at least better than all wiras, wajas, sagas, tiaras, savvy’s’…etc. its not like we have much choice.

y most ppl bash proton instead of perodua? becos proton is supported by G and still provide cars with obvious quality issues. heck, even those exported proton models cost cheaper oversea with better quality build. now who are the suckers and leeches?

so what perodua are rebadged cars from diahatsu. at least it has decent quality and proven crash tests…etc. and some said proton did R&D on their own, y dun they show the public who are the real innovator-researchers and how much their R&D expenses cost, with no ‘sponsorships’ from the G. btw, proton copycats big time from alfa romeo, nuff said.

if proton is indeed a good company, they don’t even need support from G. ppl will promote it with mouth of words. no need sneak peak bull just to convince us. just give us what our money worth. thank you.

• ignas (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 10:20 pm

o btw, im not asking to boycott proton. that’s childish. feel free to go if ya wish. its a free country. unfortunately for me, i still have to work my a** off.

• zerachiel1986 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 10:23 pm

what r they going to call it ? Proton Kangkung ?

• rajtheboss (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 10:27 pm

Dear proton bashers,

Im not a proton supporter but we have to understand that Proton is still a small ant in the automobile industry, huge amount are required for R&D of new technology but most of the profit makes by proton has gone to ?????

Talk about quality problem, japanese and european cars do have defects or problems. Even luxury cars such as Mercedes do have defects. In recent years, we can see some minor quality improvements in proton car but when we compare with jap or euro makers, is still far behind. Therefore a tie up with Volks or GM is necessary for them to improve and compete globally.

• zerachiel1986 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 10:36 pm

Dear RajTheBoss,sigh,nice nick…

okay,since u arent a “protong” basher…let me ask you some Q’s….first of all,have u been a “victim” of protong ?

sadly,i am one of those unfortunate victims….bought one screwed up new “waja a.k.a baja”….in 2002…managed to dump the car by 2004 coz it “faithfully” kept on tearing my wallet….

here are the problems within that “wonderful” two year period….

power window broke off 4 times…

door handles came out 2 times ( good anti theft system i guess )…

front windscreen cracked on its own 2 times…..

gear box gave problem just after three months….

and finally…engine was gone….

well…many more to list…but i prefer to save my energy….

currently using a nissan cefiro 2.0 V6,bought as a second hand,model year 2001…until now no problem at all..even after 7 years serving…and mileage clocked 181000…engine still smooth…..

so,any comments about that ?

• rajtheboss (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 11:16 pm

Dear Zera,

Well, its unfortunate that proton has a corrupted top management that has link with all those bunch of part suppliers. That why Volks wanted to control the manufacturing arm of proton and sack most of the suppliers for its poor quality but our Gov intefere and spoil the tie up and make the protons future dark.

We as rakyat were indirectly force by the Gov to buy proton because of the tax structure thats benefit proton. We should blame the Gov for the failure of proton to deliver world standard car.

• rt (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 11:10 am

rajtheboss, and the rest..

Hopefully we concentrate on Proton post-mahaleel’s progress record..

Lets the past rest in peace, concentrate on what to do today.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 3:07 pm

Time for serious haiku dudes. Some of you are gonna be wasted by the roadside of life for blaming everybody. Some of you who will not change will be roadkill. This blame culture and overall negativity towards life will render you inappropriate to live in the 21st century. Leave it at the doorstep dudes. Live your life. Otherwise life is gonna leave you.
    Blame
    Blame
    Blame
    GROW UP!!

• munky (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 3:58 pm

ive already seen the MPV when i did my practical training at Proton and i have to say it looks good. Better than innova, avanza, grand livina IMO

• carsut (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 7:03 pm

AI, artificial intelligence anyone???

• kobe15 (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 8:16 am

urm.. quite nice for the design but i think proton should design more stylist.. like toyota wish, caldina and stream..
    even the china MPV car (chery) looks much better than this new proton MPV.
    however, this proton MPV still look like a moving box but it better than juara.