Government to revise pump prices every 15 days

Fuel-Wallet GaugeMinister of Housing and Local Government Datuk Seri Ong Ka Chuan said the cabinet agreed on Friday to review the price of fuel sold in Malaysia every 15 days or twice a month instead of once a month. He did not say when this would start.

Pump prices would take into consideration the average price of fuel for the 15 days and after deducting a fixed subsidy (currently supposed to be at RM0.30 per litre) and the prices at the pumps will be adjusted accordingly.

He assured the rakyat that despite this new arrangement, the government would not revise prices to above RM2.70 per litre for RON97 fuel even if the situation calls for it. The government will simply increase the amount subsidised to keep it at a max of RM2.70.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• xenith (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 11:19 pm

Interesting and confusing.

• ignas (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 11:27 pm

Ong Ka Chuan is BN’s puppet.

• chanel (Member) on Aug 24, 2008 at 11:49 pm

yet another example of the flip-flop government decision……..reformation…….

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 12:11 am

Yup… Its another flip flop decision….. Revise every 15 days? Real or not? what kind of guarantee you can give me? Will you going to say you all will revise every 1 week, everyday, or even every hour? Scared la the way you all make the decision….. And revise it evey 15 days will make the traders even happier as they could sell at higher price because the merchant can say this ” I dunno when the price will increase wor… so I have to mark up in order to gain a sure profit, rather than getting a lost when the price goes up” Then the whole Malaysia will be in havoc! But nevermind, I don’t trust them anymore, see what they willl change summore lah.

• whiteeye (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 12:36 am

HA HA HA, CHANGE POLICY AGAIN, come own 15 days ar? How many years already have cheated the Nation?

• whiteeye (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 12:40 am

Come on compared it with Brunei lol, RM2.55 omg better don’t review than review lol!

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 12:42 am

they revise frequently bcoz this gov failed n unable to predict the future…

• whiteeye (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 12:43 am

Ong Ka Chuan not a puppet, but is a CHINESE DOG.

• n8cky (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 12:54 am

Another back door for them to say>>”o~USD/barrier increased”, the next 15days we’re going to increase as well..
    Or it’s suitable(easy to ran away from their bloody image) to adjust it back to 2.70/lit after loses PP?
    Darm big back door~

• BrakeFader (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 7:37 am

You all better stop complaining else Najib is going to be pissed. Then no more fuel rebates for you.

• ignas (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 7:45 am

najis + pee = good combo :P

• rexis (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 9:03 am

from 31st to a week later, from monthly to alternate week.

The only thing is to make sure you folks won’t suprised if the price go back to RM2.70, coz it is the “ceiling price”.

• White Jack (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 10:46 am

eh strange.. the topic “Najib not happy rakyat not appreciate fuel price drop” already taken out deleted already ah ? :)

• pirate (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 11:25 am

What’s our Minister of HOUSING and LOCAL GOVT got to do with fuel price policies and its public announcement?
    Bloody pathetic!

• Alifz (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 11:26 am

What the heck is this???

Trying to jerpodise the people kar??..i know the RM625 is given but fluctuating the price making the economic fluctuate too…I can cause much more inflation due to unplanning in terms of cost of everything eg transport, procument, groceries etc…

Scrap this proposal, or BN will be scrapped…

• God.of.War (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 11:26 am

U all dono how to thank ar? at least got some decrease than nothing. u guys are bunch of bashers. bash this and that. did u all compare the price at other country? malaysia is one of the cheapest. good thing gov put at ceiling price of RM 2.70. still wanna complain. make ur own fuel with piss water la !

• mofo (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 12:09 pm

Hi God of War,
    G nvr list down how the RM.270 kick in, just telling us world price is pushing this and some sweet talks than we still cheaper if compare from other countries. Yes i do admit that other petrol still cheaper compare than others, but most of them didn’t have petroleum as we do. When you wan to compare something, basically you need to compare an apple with apple, not apple with orange. (Otherwise you’re ‘blind’, just to protect without facts). Try to understand why most of us disagree about this.

PS, If my piss can use as petrol, i would like to do that also.

• chee89 (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 12:24 pm

and the rm2.70 is only for this year.. now already August.. 4 more months.

• dr_carz (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 12:40 pm

Good job for the Minister…
    Dont call him a dog, he is a human being. Please respect other people too.

This is good because we are payaing fot the actual price of petrol plus the 30 cents subsidy.

I dont know what brilliant idea are you all suggesting but if u want give it just dont critic without suggestions.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 1:45 pm

With such practice of revising the petrol price, which no doubt influence the transportation and raw material prices…

I scared my favorite bowl of mee will be priced diferently every 15 days..

Today RM4.00/bowl, next 15 days RM4.20/bowl pulak…….

The stall would put up a signage that says

“Harga Mee Tertakluk Kepada Harga Minyak Semasa”

• ignas (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 3:38 pm

good one Roti Naan lol. well i can only think that we are paying world market’s price for our own petrol while the profits who knows pigi mana.

• najibest (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 4:54 pm

i’ve said this before and i’m saying it again. for me the RM2.55/L is still quite expensive considering that we can actually get petrol in the USA for around USD3.30/gallon. convert that and you’ll see that the price that we can get in the states would be around RM2.83/L. bear in mind that out of this price only about 70% represent the price of crude oil (~RM1.98/L) and the rest are made up of refining + transport (20-25%) cost and also tax (~10%).

obviously the refining and transport cost for us here in Malaysia is way cheaper since we do earn RM here not USD and as far as i’m concerned, the government say that they subsidize the fuel price so there’s no tax for malaysian fuel. so even if you take out the tax from the USA gasoline price, you’ll see that it should be around RM2.55/L and that’s considering the USA imports most of its crude oil and the fact that it does cost more to refine and transport oil there due to the high labor cost.

so i’m really perplexed to see the current fuel price with the supposedly RM0.30 subsidy being still high. also bear in mind that the subsidy started only in 2004 (when the oil price jumped past USD60/bbls) and before that, we have been paying tax for ever L of petrol that we consume. so yes the government has only been subsidizing us for the last 4 years and i really wonder what happened to all the petrol tax that we paid before…..

i used to remember that i can actually get a gallon of fuel in the states (back in 2001) for as low as USD0.78/gallon which is around RM0.80/L and we’re paying around RM1.35 if i’m not mistaken then…so at that time we’re actually paying the government around RM0.30-0.50/L already, i don’t see anything wrong for the government to now SUBSIDIZE us ….

• blaze (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 5:15 pm

So dr_carz, you said better stop complaining and want suggestions? Err… i think people are fed-up already because what ever sugesstions that u gave, it will always tied up to `whats in for me?’ mentallity.

Example, why dont they abolish the AP system? just come up with a simple `sales tax’ system to any new vehicles sold. Anybody has got the right to sell any vehicles, no more permits or `Approve Selling Price’. In this case, our money will go directly to the manufacturers, importers, dealers, and the goverment DIRECTLY. The tax may also be varies with different groups, `national cars’ (protong and p2), `national cars wannabe’ (inokom, naza), ckd and then cbu.. In fact the goverment can save a lot of manhours and paperworks by having a simpler system.

Used the amount of money spend on the petrol subsidy to buy back all or some of the toll concessions. Many people have proved it before that actually it can be done. Does the G listening? Dont tell me u never heard of this dr_carz?

In fact the whole buisness of AP should be abolish, i mean not only for cars, but for everything, especially the for food.I was told that u cannot import any rice, flour, even beef without these AP. I m not an xpert nor an economist, but if u have an open economy, the competition will bring the price down.

Personally, i dont mind paying the market price for my fuel as long as other goods that i have to pay around me is being done fairly and transparent.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 6:40 pm

more bullshit by our government

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 6:46 pm

ya, good one Roti Naan.

Price revised every 15 days, but they cannot go more than the RM2.70, so its max 2.70 or lower. The fuel price slash will be more dependent on by elections and unpopular government decisions rather than world fuel prices.
    If gov wants to make some new unpopular law, first, lower fuel prices, then same day announce the law (in small fonts).
    If got another by election, revise fuel rates.

• rt (Member) on Aug 25, 2008 at 10:15 pm

I got an unconfirmed news from quite a reliable source.
    The govt might reduce toll rates for some highways during the budget this coming Friday.

RT..

• delos3nos (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:15 am

BN is in a mess now everybody want to be the boss and want to do things without boss a approval. Semua Kurang ajar punya cabinet macam samseng do things they way now without thinking for the rakyat.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 8:46 am

rt,

if G can reduce the toll price then it prove 1 thing… actually it can be done! why the heck they increase it in the 1st place?? toll operator not making money lah, rugi lah, maintenance increase lah, follow contract aggrement lah, boleh BLAH!

• Realeyes (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 12:09 pm

I’ve been cursing infront of my TV when I heard Shahrir stuttered that the oil companies are not “familiar” with reducing the price but very quick to increase it. He was asked by a journalist why govt take some time to reduce the price when the world oil price has lowered for about a month already..

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 11:13 pm

God.of.War said,
    August 25, 2008 @ 11:26 am

U all dono how to thank ar? at least got some decrease than nothing. u guys are bunch of bashers. bash this and that. did u all compare the price at other country? malaysia is one of the cheapest. good thing gov put at ceiling price of RM 2.70. still wanna complain. make ur own fuel with piss water la !

mofo said,
    August 25, 2008 @ 12:09 pm

Hi God of War,
    G nvr list down how the RM.270 kick in, just telling us world price is pushing this and some sweet talks than we still cheaper if compare from other countries. Yes i do admit that other petrol still cheaper compare than others, but most of them didn’t have petroleum as we do. When you wan to compare something, basically you need to compare an apple with apple, not apple with orange. (Otherwise you’re ‘blind’, just to protect without facts). Try to understand why most of us disagree about this.

PS, If my piss can use as petrol, i would like to do that also.

Dear God Of War:
    If the government can ensure that our INCOME is ON PAR with our expenditure, if our fuel is much more expensive also I don’t mind. See Singapore and Hong Kong as example. We Malaysians will die of hunger if we use our income to survive places that has such high inflation. But why don’t the die of hunger? Because they are earning enough to cope with day to day expenditure, may not be very lavish, but at least can survive. The government even provide 1st class public transport where citizens has hassle free to go from one place to another. So please tell me, is our G doing what they should do? Tell me guys… what do you think?

As for mofo:

I totally agree with you, if I can use my Pee for my petrol, I will do it. Thats for sure! haha

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 11:16 pm

Aiya, wrong english again… My sentence “But why don’t the die of hunger? ”
    should be “But why don’t they die of hunger?” sorry sorry sorry sorry….

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 11:32 pm

Oh ya, Don’t give too much sensitive comments ok? After this topic also deleted. We surely don’t want Paul to get into trouble right? After we also kena ISA for “GangBang as a form of protest agains G” haha