Proton appoints ex-Audi man as Director of International Sales and Services Division

Claudius MeynertProton has appointed Claudius Meynert as its new director of International Sales and Services Division. 44 year old Meynert used to be Audi’s managing director for the Asia Pacific region (he served Audi for 14 years) before starting up a Bangkok-based automotive parts and trading company called Trade Asia in 2007. Meynert holds an MBA from the Georg August University in Goettingen, Germany.

You can actually see that in the photo on the left provided by Proton, Meynert is actually leaning on a blue Audi. Part of the large shield grille and its four rings are just barely visible in the bottom left corner of the image.

“With Meynert at the helm of PROTON’s ISSD, the company is now more equipped in its effort to focus on PROTON’s long term export strategy, concentrating on high growth regional markets namely ASEAN, China, India Middle East, including North Africa,” said Proton’s managing director Dato Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kennytan70 (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 11:45 am

Good Luck to Proton & Claudius Meynert!

• kennytan70 (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 11:47 am

Mmmm…, Ex-Audi man. Any chance of revival of VW talks?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 11:53 am

Don’t think so.

Best of luck to proton indeed.

• REX (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 11:54 am

Good move Proton…Proton should be managed as a business entity not a “charity organization” for cronies vendor to dump their products.

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 11:57 am

only one thing came across me, how much they pay him?

• GTI (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 12:09 pm

BRAVO PROTON.. JUST THE WIND OF CHANGES….

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 12:19 pm

Another common beliefs that Mat Salleh always do the good job~

• w_lighter (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 12:34 pm

After the new CEO took over really can see a real effort on Proton part to improve their company. Kudos to them. Hopefully it will go on and be on par with Petronas which at least try to improve themself rather then simply taking hands out like MAS

• lomotus (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 12:41 pm

Well, based on the salary paid to the Lotus’s Mat Salleh , should be nothing less than 10K USD.

• normaluser (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 1:03 pm

Last time Proton also recruited a British guy (forgot his name) to hold an important position in the company. Any news on him? How significant is his contribution?

Hope this guy can perform a great job in transforming proton into a regional player, which is an extremely difficult thing to do given the weak brand perception.

• torque (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 1:08 pm

Good move Proton! Still, I believe it’s might be much better if Proton to hire a well known car designer to improve on it’s design. Maybe more european kinda styling so it would be easy for Claudius Meynert to do his job. All the best Proton…

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 1:12 pm

Regardless if proton may adopt the corporate management culture but not the sendirian berhad style again. If management problem, no matter there’s a hero in there, still become zero.

• kucau (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 1:33 pm

“Another common beliefs that Mat Salleh always do the good job~

Its not a common Mat Salleh. Look at his exp la

• Hikaru (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 2:02 pm

I am just wondering how many countries is proton being sold and whether these markets are sufficiently big enough for such a person with such high expertise….

It’s good to be ambitious but still, I wonder how necessary is it to employ someone so highly qualified, perhaps over qualified? I don’t know.

I just hope this is a genuine decision and not one tainted with ulterior motives. Think along the lines of MAS consultants and you get the picture.

• e-by (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 2:34 pm

Instead of Marketing why not appoint an ex-Audi man as a Director for Proton R&D as this position is much more critical.

In a automotive industry, no matter how good that particular marketing guys, if the company come out with a undesired product, then the product won’t sell.

For example, when Perodua beat Proton with the Myvi, do you think it is becoz of good marketing strategy or just becoz of product itself? As for me, I don’t see anything good in perodua’s marketing strategies. The salesman attitude and quality are similar with Proton.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 2:54 pm

Without prejudice, I wonder how many RM this guy is gonna cost Proton. Someone told me John Robinson of Lotus had a total package of about RM70,000 per month.

• csv (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 3:28 pm

take note ah, only to manage export business.

so this guy is not gonna be in charge of designing or Researching.

his job scope most likely is to oversee the business and how to expand it globally.

which means we’ll be stuck with some boring designs.

sekali, proton doing better at export business than local.

from what i heard and see, export variants of protons are better than local ones!

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 3:34 pm

after this they are going to bombard you with figures that are out of proportion in your local newspapers.

• szw (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 5:28 pm

hope that he will help to build up proton

• White Jack (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 5:47 pm

Soon we all will see LED lights on every Proton headlamps.. (like Audi A4)

• mokkf82 (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 6:06 pm

Let’s just hope he will be able to boost some sales outside. Good luck for proton then

• clover leaf (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 6:21 pm

soon, we’ll hear proton claims to be asian Audi. (oso asian Porsche wannabe)

• WXX8XX (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 6:26 pm

Aihh.. better experienced Mat Salleh than stupid, uneducated, moneyhunger cronies isn’t it?.. Good Luck Proton..

• NiceCar (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 7:06 pm

Just the beginning, no need to say bravo, great, excellent…
    Perhaps he can fully manage the P1 but not disturbing by G and some of the “boss” ..

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 7:48 pm

GOOD LUCK, I JUST HOPE HE KNOWS WHAT HE IS DOING, OR PROTON IS PAYING HIM A LOT OF MONEY, OR THE MALAYSIAN G BRAINWASHED HIM,,,

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 8:50 pm

Hope this mat salleh is good. Seems a logical choice to place him in the position. Put Malaysian there and he talk about protectionism…

• tokmoh (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 10:49 pm

White Jack said,

September 11, 2008 @ 5:47 pm

Soon we all will see LED lights on every Proton headlamps.. (like Audi A4)

~~~

His qualification indicates that he’s more a management guy rather than a technical guy. Doubtful he’ll have any influence in the development of new cars by Proton.

Abt those who wonder abt his salary, here’s a figure to put into perspective: it was revealed recently that Syed Zainal Abidin is paid RM1.34 million p.a. http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/6/18/business/21578128&sec=business

I doubt there can be anyone in Proton or Lotus gets paid more than him, after all, he’s the MD!! In any case, I’m not against high salary if this guy show results that he do improve Proton’s export market. If he helps to increase Proton’s value, he deserves good pay.

All the best, Mr Meynert.

Btw, my stand on TNB’s CEO salary is no, he shouldn’t get 100% salary increase. The timing is just wrong, they increased tariff 15% last July so that can cover cost, then why pay more to CEO? kanasai, no need increase tariff la like that…..

• Roti Naan (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 12:07 am

It’s the product (proton car) that is having problem. Not the sales and services (actually, the service oso sucks). Improve the product then there is hope for sales. No point pasting “LULUS” on every proton car rolled out from factory but nobody really does the QC inspection.

Anyway, this attempt by proton is like spending millions on advertising and promotion worldwide, but the “candy” sold taste lousy. Soon enough, the people will stay away from it. last last, bungkus la…

Branding must be backed by quality. Thundercat logo solely isn’t going to make sales.

• ferox (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 12:50 am

Proton doesn’t need to improve International Sales and Services Devision, they need to improve Local Sales and Services and R&D.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 7:13 am

I think a lot of readers don’t seem to get the point. Notice that they say “long term export strategy”. This guy’s job is EXPORT SALES. He has been hired to PUSH METAL OVERSEAS. He has nothing to do with local branding, quality control, domestic sales (in Malaysia), R&D or MARKETING! I really hope this works out for Proton since, without prejudice there are lots of mat salleh’s at Lotus with high salaries but in the end Proton goes to LG CNS in Korea for Savvy, Saga and the upcoming MPV.

• tanasi (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 8:15 am

I think Roti Naan fits the bill for the Director of Proton R&D, based on his armchair expertise pearls of wisdom evident in his posts.

maibatsu, I agree with you. Lotus guys are expert at building low volume, hand made sports car. And Proton is maker of production car for masses. LG makes more sense, most of the personnel are ex Daewoos as the company was bought over by GM. These people know how to build passenger cars better than the Lotus chaps.

• bmpower (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 8:58 am

if lotus in all proton’s things.. that supposed to downgrade the lotus level itself. Lotus got jobs from others supercar maker in the world. To keep the lotus at high standard and price, they must not totally or directly involved in proton. That’s why lotus in proton was separated document deal.

LG CNS might be cheaper to pay, and they also had expertise in it. I dont believe if they just be like that. Same as mitsubishi, they we also an Electric company!. What problem with that?

Overall, the Proton quality increase. Slow and steady. Wish upcoming model as great as German car. (Japan car still cheating in many way especially toyota).

• bmpower (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 8:59 am

mistypo. Mistubishi also had Electronic company.

• waheng (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 11:34 am

who care about that, proton tried hard to be clever i guess, to me proton only lack of a good & innovative R&D peoples, I’m talking about peoples who able to create quality, brilliant cars or parts, if proton quality is the best , nothing i could say, i support and buy.

• moonier (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 12:02 pm

proton, there is still lot of improvements for domestic sales and service system. focus domestic first rather than international. as i know, proton unable to take control of their dealer and branch nationwide. some are closing and effect a lot of customer whose booking the car at their branch and dealer. proton, proton.. proton edar especially. i belive proton can’t go further if they do not improve their internal domestic sales and system….work fast and furious, proton edar. don’t lembab lembab pahammm!!!!!!!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 12:36 pm

n8cky said,

September 11, 2008 @ 12:19 pm

————————————————————–

i just cant believe how narrowminded some people can be.

at least they’re getting someone with international business experience.. honestly, how many malaysians have this kind of experience in the automotive business?

for a business to be competitive, it not about who you hire(race, religion or creed), but who is the best person for the job.

everything else, quality..etc. takes time, and already, the new cars are much better than before. just because you are working on improving your domestic market, and working on quality, doesnt mean you have to ignore expanding your export business.. things have to move forward together..

• I my (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 1:16 pm

So time to con the others $$, not from our poor malaysian $$. Good move to P1.

• waheng (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 6:18 pm

sent so many malaysian students for overseas studying, they all Master degree…… and hire foreigner to be our local car brand director of International Sales and Services Division, where’s our people? I’m sure there was a lot of talented malaysian businessman around. Proton really pay by our money for foreigner.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 6:47 pm

There are quite a lot of talented/capable Malaysians pushing metal in and of the Malaysian branches of the Japanese trading houses (like Mitsui, Itochu), used car dealers and also logistics companies. They really know the duty structures, type approval requirements (emissions, noise tests, safety, etc.) inside out as they deal with these things every day.

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 8:47 pm

oo
    good luck

• db8 (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 10:00 pm

the cause of lousy design is becoz the designers not kepala gila2 like us..they should be more creative like honda or mazda designers..they need to have feedback from us the consumers..not by design like they want..

• Infinitt (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 11:40 pm

Like that ka? Just wish proton success. Can’t wait of your new baby born. I just put named the name.Mat saleh pun ok janji boleh buat kerja..yang penting profit, my company also many mat saleh working here. Good luck !!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 1:20 am

maibatsu_thunder said,
    September 12, 2008 @ 6:47 pm

There are quite a lot of talented/capable Malaysians pushing metal in and of the Malaysian branches of the Japanese trading houses (like Mitsui, Itochu), used car dealers and also logistics companies. They really know the duty structures, type approval requirements (emissions, noise tests, safety, etc.) inside out as they deal with these things every day.

—————————————-

maibatsu, what you’re talking about is highly simplistic view of things and has nothing to do with building a major business.. he is at the director level, he probably has plenty of people working under him who know duty structures, logistics, freight, type approvals.. his job is to grow protons export business, which is a huge and incredibly tough job. honestly, i dont envy his position at all.

• chap_de_x (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 2:03 am

wah hire mat saleh also wrong…hire malaysian also wrong…then want to hire whom….this is good move by proton…by expanding their export market they can get larger car sales and not to worry about domestic market that never appreciate wut they doing and improvement they have made…let malaysian drove a dugong or ugly latio…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 8:33 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop,

Without Prejudice – Speaking from my experience, dealing with major car companies, including new business development, you don’t need a highly-paid foreigner. ROI is important to look at, unless you’ve got a bottomless pit of cash. Coming from a premium segment regional office to pushing mass market cars can be quite a different ballgame, but capable people can definitely adapt, no denying that. I’m also not denying a business unit head can definitely operate based on the skills of their subordinates but it may be also simplistic to assume we need foreigners from big-name international companies to push sub-RM70k mass market products. Just my 2 sen.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 10:11 am

In response to all the crying out loud people.

Sometimes at corporate level, especially listed companies, releasing a good news would already be sufficient for share price valuation of worth more than that whatever mat salleh’s 1 or 2 year salary. If not why you think we can see 2 empty Starbucks in one street? Just imagine if you’re the investor and you heard Starbucks’ CEO announced:” We’ve opened 2,000 new shops in South East Asia.” Will the stock price fly up in Dow Jones or Nasdaq? Will you as a share market hogger, buy their shares at fluctuated value?

Bobby @ Wheels Weekly

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 10:16 am

Oh yah, that Blue Audi is an S4 B6.

• offroader manix (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 11:27 am

What’s the point employing this man ?

If Proton have a strong product it is easier to sell. but they don’t have anything in hand.

If forget about the enviroment we are in, sack the whole R & D department and replace with reputated ones, Proton might comes up with a good product 5 to 10 years time.

Other then that, Proton are in a comfort zone protected by government interested in only the RAKYAT’s money and not vice versa.

To many out there, Proton is still here today because of the government, otherwise already close shop. Who wants to put in our hard earn cash to buy junk which deem unsafe, unreliable and uninnovative at all.

: (

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 1:29 pm

If there are no tax for imported cars, Persona and Waja would be hit hardest, as City / Vios would be around RM50k. But the Saga, at RM30+k would still be able to sell.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 3:07 pm

Without Prejudice, and as far as I’ve heard, come on lah, City/Vios, being of Thai origin are already enjoying like 0% Import Duty for ASEAN origin CKD parts. For Excise Duty there is an exemption for all ASEAN origin parts (treated as ‘Local’ parts) as long as its CKD, via the IAF (Industrial Adjustment Fund). So basically they only pay 10% Sales Tax.

• ask82 (Member) on Sep 14, 2008 at 5:12 am

P.S.—>I live in Egypt btw and I’m a big fan of this brand as a brand and what it symbolized despite of the negatives.If M Gov. gives this company total freedom with minimal protection like 5 % tax on imported goods from Asean and just 15% on Overseas.also; let the company choose it’s suppliers without favors and control.U will c a giant born.ANYWAY.Some mistakes of this company that it doesn’t develop left handed as quick enough and like the facelifted Waja was just launched in Egypt although Egyptians like to buy PROTON and Persona not yet and even facelifted Gen2 not yet no Savvy.JUST OLD GEN2 and NEW WAJA with 110hp old campro.That is the problem in export markets.AT THE TIME THEY BEGIN TO SHIP THE PERSONA AND WAJA THEY WILL BE OLD AND NOT VALUABLE.FOR EX,PICANTO SELLS LIKE MCDONALDS IN EGYPT EVEN THOUGH THE SAVVY IS BETTER.but the savvy isn’t sold in egypt.so the new EXECUTIVE Claudius Meynert as its new director of International Sales and Services Division MUST FOCUS ON Countries in North Africa and the arab world a.k.a the middle-east exculding ISRAEL where safety features in Asian cars are reduced and only the basic engines are available such as 1.6L and below are widely available because of taxe reductions on this category.I mean Egypt and North africa as THE GCC HAVE NO TAXES AND THEY LOVE JAP,AMERICAN AND GERMAN Premium brands.
    (This comment was posted by me on THE MPV NAMING CONTEST ARTICLE BUT WITH SOME FURTHER EDITING AND EXPLANATION)

• God.of.War (Member) on Sep 14, 2008 at 4:49 pm

n8cky said,
    September 11, 2008 @ 12:19 pm

—————————————————————-

I disagree, coz if u look at the history of his career, hes very good at his strategy with this and that.

While u? what u got?

Same like if u go for an interview, we will look at ur resume 1st, then we will appointed u ! If u good la.

Pls leave a good comment rather than useless one.

Im begining to thk that our money goes to him. -_-“

• God.of.War (Member) on Sep 14, 2008 at 4:52 pm

Roti Naan said,
    September 12, 2008 @ 12:07 am

It’s the product (proton car) that is having problem. Not the sales and services (actually, the service oso sucks). Improve the product then there is hope for sales. No point pasting “LULUS” on every proton car rolled out from factory but nobody really does the QC inspection.

Anyway, this attempt by proton is like spending millions on advertising and promotion worldwide, but the “candy” sold taste lousy. Soon enough, the people will stay away from it. last last, bungkus la…

Branding must be backed by quality. Thundercat logo solely isn’t going to make sales.

———————————————————————————-

Agree with u ! QC Suckx wanna go for mgmt, Zzz !

But just hope it will be beter !

Heard that Proton ask other vendor do their parts, true ar?

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 14, 2008 at 6:43 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

September 12, 2008 @ 12:36 pm

i just cant believe how narrowminded some people can be.

at least they’re getting someone with international business experience.. honestly, how many malaysians have this kind of experience in the automotive business?

for a business to be competitive, it not about who you hire(race, religion or creed), but who is the best person for the job.

everything else, quality..etc. takes time, and already, the new cars are much better than before. just because you are working on improving your domestic market, and working on quality, doesnt mean you have to ignore expanding your export business.. things have to move forward together..
    ————————
    From my point of view, narrow-minded when they thought the local can’t manage an international company, or the question sld be like this,: did they really went thru the list from Malaysia, before going out?
    (p/s; i’m not refering myself, pls someone stop talking about talent here, it’s just a comment) Just wondering, wat’s the race?/ any idea who’s managing the Japs auto company?

• knight_templar (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 10:39 am

So is Claudius ‘Midas’ Meynert here gonna lend his gold touch to Proton? If he’s gonna go by the book, he’ll get nowhere. Proton needs some totally out of this world thinking, some youth and imagination; not an established salesman. Proton needs an identity crafted out of the very fabric of its own existence. That is the only thing that can help it.

• lomotus (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 6:50 pm

the last mat salleh Proton brought in was Bob something…he was the engineer for the mazda mx5 team. And after years in proton, still no progress and improvement except for his big belly. You can see him if you happen to be in Proton Shah Alam.

These people are just unwanted by the real automotive industry in US or EUROPE, so they got to find job here.

the so called rejects.

• Cindy :)))) on Mar 20, 2009 at 1:23 am

I do think he will bring luck and new energy to Proton without doubts! Ich liebe :))) Two thumbs up yeahhh!

• IbrahimC on Dec 01, 2009 at 1:54 am

OK guys heres a Mat Salleh commenting…….notice the capitals please! :-)

Proton looks to be developing quality and design – positive but it takes time to develop….some horrors tho' in the past

The Malaysian home market is small by global standards so needs good export volumes and profits to fund growth. This will be a tough job to re-invigorate dealers who have suffered in the past by sloppy management, poor follow up and communication as well as support that has in some markets taken months apparantly……

Also feedback – sales or lack of sales – from Overseas will drive product improvement….

For a business to grow you need progress on all fronts……

They should take talent from where they find it – provided the person can work with Cultural differances and has the necessary passion, leadership skills and a resiliance to handle a level of bad news over a period before making strong headway…..

Note that Audi has dramatically developed volumes compared to all premium brands in many markets. Through vision, good business process, passion, determination and splashing of some cash……

So sounds a good selection to me.

The quicker Proton can grow to a volume that fully utilises its production capacity the better off you guys are not having to support Proton……but it will take time…….