New 175hp Peugeot 308 GT for RM159,999

Peugeot 308 GT

LATEST: Read our Peugeot 308 GT Test Drive Review!

Malaysian Peugeot distributor Nasim Sdn Bhd has launched its second Peugeot model – the 3-door Peugeot 308 GT hatchback, which joins its 407 facelift sedan cousin in an attempt to take the Peugeot brand up to new levels in Malaysia.

Adding to the increasing number of fun and fast cars under RM200,000 that are starting to be available here in our market (Golf GTI, Polo GTI, Bravo GT, Civic Type R), the Peugeot 308 GT features the same 1.6 litre turbocharged direct injection engine that’s found in the second generation MINI Cooper S. That means oodles of torque – 240Nm from 1,600rpm and 175hp at 6,000rpm. This is mated to a 6-speed manual.

It’s got a decent list of premium equipment as well – 18 inch alloy wheels, automatic Xenon headlamps, a full moonroof, a leather interior and a total of 6 airbags in the interior.

The fully imported Peugeot 308 GT costs RM159,999, much cheaper than that other car that you can enjoy the BMW-Peugeot Prince engine in.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kennytan70 (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 11:17 am

Any plans for localisation?

• altimi (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 11:22 am

240nm at 1400 rpm? I bet it can climb a hill at 1000 rpm…..

• torque (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 11:26 am

At last, it’s finally here. We finally could see it on the road other than the ever bestseller Mini Cooper and the VW GTI which flooded our road. Can’t actually compare it with the VW GTI since the GTI is more powerful and slightly expensive. It’s rather fair to compare head to head with the Mini since obviously they share the same PRINCE engine. The Mini might be nimble at corners but I think the Peugeot 308 GT is more of a highway high speed cruiser due to it’s larger size than the Mini.

• Cooper (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 11:30 am

Cool….especially with the full moonroof

• sooks (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 11:42 am

I hope it does well. VW’s Polo GTI which comes with a manual gearbox has been poorly received. Even in the vast UK market, there is no auto option.

But as a 2nd/3rd car for thos who can afford it, it will be a hoot to drive in the evenings. Good on ya, Naza.

• theanswer (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 11:42 am

any naza 307gt? might be a lot cheaper. hehehehe~

• mspfaz (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 12:04 pm

Paul, I read in MotorTrader, the price is RM158,888 OTR but you wrote here is RM159,999. So which one is correct?

Paul Tan says: It is RM159,999

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 12:24 pm

Wow! The car looks great. Franky I like Peugeot cars for its safety features, price and design. Some may not agree with me as they say the design is for aunties who have no money (or something like that) but the design really makes me enjoy looking it for hours. I even have the intention to buy a 407 someday but someone adviced me to be aware of French cars, they have the worst quality and reliability.. They even quoted a website for me as reference… http://www.topgear.com/content/carsurvey/2006/. With the price like that, I still can afford Peugeot cars but if it is true that the quality and reliability sucks, then is it worth to fork out my hard earn money for it? I am lost, please give me some advice, please do not bash people so mercilessly or take it personal, I am really asking for advice because I really intend to buy either a French or Korean car, But if it is as suck as what they claimed. Then I really have to consider about it again as I don’t want to make anymore wrongful decision. Thank you.

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 12:26 pm

by the way, I would like to thank Torque and Proton Sagwa for their advice and support from the previous posts. Thank you

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 12:37 pm

dont dream of a naza versionlah. i’m sure they have learnt their lesson. in a comparison with the mini, maybe the mini corners a bit better but the 308gt would be a lot more comfortable for all 5 occupants.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 1:18 pm

Hi lowprofile, you would want to test drive a Peugeot to experience their handling. I haven’t driven a 308GT, but i’ve driven a few Peugeots including the 206, Bestari (Which feels exactly the same) and the 206cc (Alot) and I must say they handle wonderfully, especially en route to Genting and Cameron, the steering of the 206cc (thou with weird sitting position) steers the front with pinpoint accuracy and the car never seems to push wide. Wonderful experience I must say.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 1:42 pm

It has been reported repeatedly again and again that after the 206 Bestari, Nasim was appointed PEUGEOT distributor. The 207CC, 407 (which is locally assembled), 308, 308GT and all other upcoming PEUGEOTs will be badged PEUGEOT. Having said that, I’ve been in the Cooper S and there’s basically no rear legroom. Maybe this car is a bit more comfy but can still handle really well.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 1:45 pm

that is well priced..is it cbu or ckd?

• torque (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 3:08 pm

alvin_chan88,

Dude, I’ve already gave my opinion and advise regarding your question with your dream car. I’m sorry if it’s too long for you to read! Heh! :-)

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 6:02 pm

Torque:
    Thanks for the advice, I just read it. Hmm…. Its either I will buy despite the cons about the car because of the PASSION towards it or really consider buying something else, I rather be the 1 that see it, touch it but don’t own it as RM really means alot to me.. hehe. Thank you for your detailed explaination.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 7:26 pm

The front intake would look better maybe if it is not “smiling”, instead I would prefer it to look aggresive, o compliment its performance spec/capability.

• trustgtr (Member) on Sep 13, 2008 at 8:35 pm

if i was going to spend 160k for a sport hatch, i would spend a little extra for the Golf GTi…when you are taking a loan for several years, another 35k won’t make much diff in the monthly payments..pug are well known for its fun hatchbacks though

• hyundai (Member) on Sep 14, 2008 at 12:41 am

Great car with great price… Hope to see more 308 on the road…

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 14, 2008 at 2:19 pm

it’s a cbu.

• kevin62 (Member) on Sep 14, 2008 at 3:13 pm

If Nasim able to do like MBF, i think peugeot will come back.

Nice car with nice engine. Worth to get this car rather than Polo Gti.

Well done Nasim, keep it up.

• _xXx_ (Member) on Sep 14, 2008 at 5:22 pm

So, this is a car for the poor. Road tax RM90 per year only….

• s60t (Member) on Sep 14, 2008 at 8:17 pm

alvin chan,i had a 307 from 2004-2007. fantastic for comfort and driveability. but I had problems with the tiptronic gearbox and had to sell it before the gearbox actually gave up. My friend with a 807 had to change the gearbox for 25K after 3.5 years and one 7K gearbox service at 3 years.Imagine his shock when the new gearbox broke down again 6 months later.Fortunately it was replaved for free this time but only after getting the green light from France which took 6 weeks.He had to buy another spare car(vios) just to drive to work cos his alfa 146 also broke down.the only car in the house working was his wife’s accord which she needed.So if you want reliability, go for japs but if style,comfort and individuality if your preference then go for european marques

• bobdbilder (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 1:07 am

No kevin62. I hope they don’t be MBF. But the Pug never had a good distributor. The main grouse for owning a Pug in Malaysia is the spare parts pricing. My friend practically had a spanking engine replaced under warranty (he did raise hell to get it) of his 406.

And I found from an AAM mechanic if ever your 405 Ignition module do fry up after washing the engine bay; you could snap it off a Proton Tiara.

Well S60t, this 308GT comes with a proper manual. And that’s how a proper GT should be fitted. Nasim do have the guts to offer the 3 door hatch. That speaks lots of them. I guess they knew about the tranny problem. Europe market mostly consist of manual with this type of car. Asian markets mostly auto. Cos Europeans know its way much fun with it. And its more economical. Some markets would have worst depreciation on an auto car. I guess that’s why they offered tiptronic for Asian market.

Sad truth is, I’ve had my fair share of the Pug or any conti for that matter. Unless they open up more service centres, I wouldn’t be tempted. Its definitely, without a doubt; sexy, fun and eye pleasing. Its a tease. Go for it if you can stand the heartache. See you n 5 years and I’ll buy it off yer. Ahh the french…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 6:42 am

From what I heard they’ll have the 308 1.6 VVT 5Dr Auto, 1.6 Turbo 5Dr Auto and this 3Dr GT 6-speed manual. Good lineup and model strategy. Pricing for the VVT just above Honda Jazz level??

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 8:21 am

or just below the Jazz? anyway, if it is going to be near the jazz, could be worth the wait as it is a car that is one class above the jazz. i’m talking about the VTi.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 9:18 am

This GT is pretty cool. Is there a high probality rate that the tranny is gonna break under 5 years time? One would think Pugs are not designed for our balmy weather..

Anyway, I think it’s a pretty good looking Frenchie, not as aggresive as a Seat Corsa but then Spaniards are a different lot. Would anyone agree that a Hyundai Pro’ceed looks more refined.. looks and engine dept.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 9:19 am

Sorry, Kia pro’ceed

• tikus (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 9:20 am

Bravo Nazim,
    Danm hot and sexy car, but 159K for 3 door is quit out of reach for common Rakyat. Nazim please CKD it .

• mukhri88 (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 9:25 am

sorry again, seat cupra, vauxhall corsa

• lchan (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 9:51 am

whats the price of the 150 THP GT model. I am interested in that one tho.

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 10:02 am

Rented the VTi Sport 5-door in the UK recently, nice car overall. Very grown up feel to the car now, which has been the general progression since the 306. Impressions quite positive, the interior is really top notch and exudes class, even down to the gorgeous instrument cluster. Overall interior feel definitely nicer than Camry/Accord/Golf/Bravo. Also had a full glass roof with retractable cover which was awesome for UK weather, probably not so good here.

Car is quite tall which did detract from the sporty element, felt more appropriate for family use than flogging. Handles competently enough but doesn’t inspire confidence the way the old Pugs did which is a shame. Power with the N/A 1.6 was adequate with the 5-speed manual but would probably be a bit underpowered with an autobox. Needless to say the GT will fly, not as quick and agile as a Mini S due to the increased bulk but can likely carry a family of 4 or 5 and their bags comfortably, which the Mini can never do.

• szw (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 8:01 pm

i don’t know what to say bout this cars reliability
    should be good since its a mini cooper’s engine
    who knows…

• alpha0201 (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 9:06 am

tikus said,

September 15, 2008 @ 9:20 am

Bravo Nazim,
    Danm hot and sexy car, but 159K for 3 door is quit out of reach for common Rakyat. Nazim please CKD it .

Please don’t CKD it! Unless Naza decided to improve QC assembly.

Anyway, 308GT is really a great buy alternative continental compact to Mini, Renault Megane, Golf & Polo.

• intermilan (Member) on Sep 16, 2008 at 1:33 pm

starting with the 207 and 308, peugeot has finally raised the overall quality of interior. exterior design is attractive, feline, as always.
    build quality was improved too. more like german quality but perhaps not quite there yet. conclusion: much much better and its more than acceptable.

service centre, well .. look like nasim is expanding the SC network. but not much news or coverage is given. even their campaign and website does not highlight this up to the roof. more importantly, after sales service quality must be raised. if not, all the good news that they had bringing in = no use.

ichan,
    the 150 THP GT model is a manual. don’t think they will bring it here.. unless you special order it.

i highly suspect the 308 line-up in m’sia will be the 120hp VTi (auto), 140hp THP (auto) and this 175hp GT (manual). very good line-up. there is a 1.4L 95hp within the range in UK, but no auto box, only manual. Now of course the remaining question is the ‘trim level’ a.k.a version and list of equipment of each offering.

For 308 there are more than 10 engine you can choose from (here, in addition to the GT, only the petrol 120VTI and 140THP might be offered).

the is 3 door, 5-door and SWin the UK, but here GT is 3-door , there other 2 is 5-door. SW might come a lil bit later if there are enuff demand.

there are a lot of trim-level / version too i.e. Urban, S, SR, Sport, SE. so which one nasim will be selling here is anyone guess. but looking at the possibility, the petrol auto 120VTi only available in S version and the pterol auto 140THP only available in SE version.

to know the full possibility of trim level, price, accessories etc visit peugeot UK website.

reliability of auto gearbox remains slightly dodgy, but what we been told by nasim it that its has been improved, with bigger oil cooler to offer enhance protection against heat (which is to the extreme in our weather condition).

mukhri88,
    with GT model is equipped with a manual, and the is no reliability issue with manual gear box. so this GT (should) got no gearbox problem. i guess u a lil bit confuse/lapse when u asked.

in terms of electronic gremlin, 206, 307, 407 pre-20044/5 do have some. again, improvement done, let see what the early 407 CKD owner feedback on this portion. however, i believe to totally eradicate occurence of this sort of problem is very challenging due to the heavy usage of electronics, sensor etc in peugeot car. the hot n 100% humidity of malaysian weather didn’t help either.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 17, 2008 at 9:00 am

its not the same as the cooper s engine, the cooper s version has a higher bhp power, same as the 207 gti, we should see the same engine in the 308 gti

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 9:46 am

Alpina,

check this site www.mini.my. the power stated officially for the cooper s is indeed 175hp. there is no doubt that the 308gt, 207gti/rc and the cooper s share identical engines. they all also have the overboost function. by the way, there is no 308gti officially.

the cooper comes with 120hp. similar to the 308 with VTi which i suspect will be the entry level 308.

mini does not have the 140hp(auto)/150hp(manual) state of tune in their line up at this point in time.

you were probably referring to the john cooper works version when you said that the mini is more powerful. if you meant that, i’d agree with you as the cooper works edition has 211hp. peugeot does not have the 211hp version in their stables for now.

• sherif ibrahim on Feb 13, 2009 at 3:35 pm

does peugeot 308 good in gulf area,if so why these cars is not as popular as japanese cars whish is very efficient in this area