Pininfarina B0 Electric Car Concept

Pininfarina B0

The car you see above is the new plug-in electric car jointly developed by design house Pininfarina and battery company Bolloré. The first production versions of the car will roll off the production line in 2009, built by the Pininfarina-Bolloré joint venture in Turin. While we’ve seen Pininfarina badges on many cars such as the Hyundai Matrix, this is the first time we’re actually going to see a Pininfarina-badged car.

The four-seater four-door B0 (pronounced B-Zero) is powered by Bolloré’s proprietary LMP technology which uses a combination of batteries and supercapacitors. Its batteries will be located in a special compartment located under the car between its axles, helping lower the center of gravity at the same time. The battery is estimated to have a lifespan of 200,000km and a range of 250km per charge.

That’s about all we know about the car at this point of time. No performance stats about the electric motor have been released but the target is a limited top speed of 130km/h and a 0 to 60km/h time of 6.3 seconds.

Look after the jump for more shots of the B0 Concept.

PHOTO GALLERY: Pininfarina B0 Concept
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

[cpg_album:113]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• droll (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 1:00 pm

sleek and simple. i hope this concept makes it to production in 100% form because it looks stunning!

0-100 in 6.3s?!?!?!?!?!? that’ll put a lot of other cars to shame!

• Paul Tan on Oct 07, 2008 at 1:03 pm

0 to 60 lah…

• mukhri88 (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 3:35 pm

THIS is how a small 5 door hatch should look like. Pretty, sleek although kinda tall. Is there any other hatch in production that looks better than this? Maybe KIA ceed. Definately not Colt ahaks…

Wonder if there’s a 3 door hot hatch version..

• mukhri88 (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 3:35 pm

THIS is how a small 5 door hatch should look like. Pretty, sleek although kinda tall. Is there any other hatch in production that looks better than this? Maybe KIA ceed. Definately not Colt ahaks…

Wonder if there’s a 3 door hot hatch version.. first ever production Pininfarina. I’ll buy it..

• Alias (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 7:37 pm

When the makers of Ferrari come out with an electric vehicle, then you know that EVs are really here to stay, that they have come of age after literally a century in obscurity. Good for us and good looking car.

• syamness (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 11:23 pm

the front is soooo honda

• kaka811 (Member) on Oct 08, 2008 at 7:15 am

felt lil bit weird at the back. overall its cute

• altimate (Member) on Oct 08, 2008 at 10:22 pm

Really nice looking.. very happy to see more and more ‘production’ electric cars emerging.. guess we don’t have to wait very long to own a electric car.. I’ve been dreaming of owning one since the 80’s .. remember the TV show ‘Beyond 2000’ ? :D

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:04 pm

isnt this the opel/vauxhall agila, suzuki splash?