Proton unveils details on its roadmap, new petrol and diesel engines

Proton Waja 2
Theophilus Chin’s “Waja 2” rendering, a Waja/Perdana replacement model – what could happen if Proton pulled a SEAT and rebadged an Audi A4.

Proton managing director Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir revealed a few details on what’s coming up on Proton’s roadmap in the future. The following is a quick summary of what’s hopefully going to happen if everything goes well:

• Proton is in discussions with shareholders on the issue of strategic collaborations with a partner that could complement Proton’s existing markets instead of competing directly against it. Collaboration include areas like technology, vehicle platforms, improve efficiency, etc.
  • Next generation Waja and Perdana will be a partnership with other manufacturers. The Proton Waja replacement should be out by early 2010. It seems that Proton is working with one partner for the Waja project and a different one for the Perdana project.
  • A decision to be made soon on a new engine family that will replace the Campro engine by 2014, preferably a collaboration with another company for better economies of scale.
  • A small capacity diesel engine for passenger cars from either PSA Peugeot Citroen or Fiat. The 1.3 litre Fiat JTD turbodiesel engine seems to be cheap enough for the diesel-powered Tata Indica Vista Quadra Jet so it could be cheap enough for Proton. It is available in various states of tune. Tata uses the 75 PS version. This engine won the 2005 International Engine of the Year award for the 1.0 litre to 1.4 litre category.
  • Evaluation and testing of hybrid and electric technology for cars.
  • Consolidation of dealer network to continue. Optimum value is said to be 200 outlets, while the current number stands at just under 300.
  • Proton MPV launch in March 2009, targets 50k-60k global combined annual sales.
  • Proton will continue to monitor and be cautious about the China partnership with Youngman. Syed Zainal says Proton is looking at how they are performing and will not hesitate to make a move if there are obstacles. Proton could appoint another dealer if it feels it is necessary, but this remains to be decided until after the Persona is launched in China. Proton cars are sold in China by Youngman under the Europestar badge.

Look after the jump for a rear 3/4 view of Theophilus Chin’s rendering.

Proton Waja 2

Proton Prima
Proton Prima by Kevin Lee

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kimi_ (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 2:20 pm

before this vw want to join but proton reject ;
    then now want to colloborate again, come on Proton ,find one partner if want to be competitive and not to be too proud of yourself.Don’t always “MALAYSIA BOLEH”….

nice design from chin!!kudos

• vivio (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 2:42 pm

nice design please produce it!

• Prem3377 (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 2:58 pm

theophilus Chin,

you are just getting better and better..regardless of what people tell about you..keep up your good work..

• hulala (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 2:58 pm

the head look like new vw golf
    the back look like audi body frame shadow…….

• dale (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 3:09 pm

Beauty. D-segment?

• hareshi (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 3:32 pm

Please NO to WAJA … New Perdana! please sick of waja looks..Too typical..

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 3:42 pm

AHh theo

ya forgot the redo the rear in 1st pic.

Not the same with the second one.

Ahh just minor..xD

Anyway..
    Audi plus VW = Perwaja

That ian’t bad.

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 4:17 pm

theophilus,
    your perwaja looks conti to me :)

• Infinitt (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 4:19 pm

Sekali tengok belakang macam bmw..this time i have to give credit to you theo..nice design..if true when p1 going to launch this?

• DrA (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 5:27 pm

We don’t need the WAJA. Already got Persona.
    Supermini: SAVVY/Satria
    Family Hatch: Gen 2
    Small family saloon: SAGA
    Family saloon: Persona/WAJA
    Executive Saloon: Perdana
    MPV: Proton MPV
    4×4: ????
    By the way the design above is quite nice. A4/A6 wheels. 2009 Golf grill and maybe headlamps. A4 side mirrors. SAGA rear lights.

• abtm (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 5:29 pm

nice one Theo, now get to work on the Proton’s Audi R8 and make us all happy…thanks

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 6:06 pm

DrA,

Proton nd waja la. compete wit altis n civic.

Persona to vs city n vios.

Perdana to vs accord n camry.

4×4? u gila ka, nw ppl wanna go green, u pula suggest proton build an anti-social gas-guzzling agent. Electric, hybrid n fuel-cell is the “in thing” now la brader. Stop dripping at X6 la, haiya, it’s just a BIG german gen2.

• hyundai (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 6:11 pm

Hope that PSA will be interesting in co-operating with Proton…

• kahing (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 7:51 pm

Proton should really hire someone like Theo to design their cars. The current Proton designers are running out of ideas I think, or they’re just not too creative about it. Good designs comes with age and Waja these days are just so, so *speechless* :(. Perdana is getting old as well. They should look into a longer wheelbase and a wider version of Saga. Imagine a full-sized luxury saloon design that’s derived from the Saga. It’s actually not bad to begin with. Reminds me of a Mercedes tho. :)

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 8:48 pm

My ideal Proton line-up should be as follow:

1. Savvy – 1.0 liter (small CAMPRO to replace Renault’s 1.1 liters) and 1.3 liters; same category Perodua Viva and Hyundai/Inokom i10; Chery QQ

2. Satria – 1.0 liter, 1.3 liters and 1.6 liters (for GTi); add a 5-door variant; same category as Perodua Myvi, Honda Jazz, Toyota Yaris, VW Polo and Suzuki Swift

3. Saga – 1.3 liters and 1.6 litres, and a 1.4 liters turbo-diesel (as Malaysian taxi); same category as Chevrolet Aveo, Hyungdai Accent, Nissan Tiida, Suzuki SX4 sedan, Honda Jazz and Toyota Vios

4. Gen•2 and Persona – 1.6 liters and 1.8 liters petrol; 1.8 liters turbo-diesel (for export market, and maybe for Malaysia if our diesel quality improves); same category as Chevrolet Optra, Mazda 3, Honda Civic, Toyota Corolla Altis, Nissan Sylphy, Peugeot 308, Subaru Impreza, Hyundai Elantra, Ford Focus and VW Golf

5. MPV – again 1.6 liters and 1.8 liters petrol; 1.8 liters turbo-diesel (for export market, and as KLIA taxis); same category as Nissan Livina, Honda Stream, Toyota Wish, Mazda 5, VW Touran and Citroen C4 Picasso.

I personally don’t think Proton should do an thirsty SUV, nor do they need huge Camry- and Accord-sized car. They should instead, build the following two…

6. Arena-replacement – redesigned to be in the same category as Toyota Hilux, Ford Ranger, Isuzu D-Max; meaning it’ll have 2.5 liter turbo-diesel engine, 2X4 or 4X4

7. Waja/Perdana replacement – 1.8 liters and 2.0 liters; 1.8 liters and 2.5 liters turbo-diesel (for export market and as KLIA limo); same category as Hyundai Sonata, Kia Magentis and Mazda 6

and perhaps…

8. Putra-replacement – 1.6 liters, 1.8 liters and 2.0 liters (for GTi version); an image building model to link Proton’s association with Lotus, around the size of… mmm… Hyundai Coupe, VW Scirocco.

• n8cky (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 9:21 pm

Good for Theo if Proton willing to employ a designer..

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 9:24 pm

i second that.

good work

• nyte_skater (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 9:46 pm

Im really anticipate the waja. hey theo, why not waja with the famous audi grille? anyway, that pic look awesome. love it.

• legacy88 (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 10:16 pm

Nice. Good job rendering Mr. Theo.

• johnson wong (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 11:09 pm

i hope they come out wit it lar… can

• Roti Naan (Member) on Oct 12, 2008 at 11:27 pm

Dear Proton,

Less talk, more action….and make improvements.

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 12:06 am

I’m very sure a ‘strategic alliance’ would fail as Proton has a tendency to ask too much while offering too little. I think Proton has failed to understand that global automobile companies aren’t like the government; that they’re not Santa Claus that gives in to everything Proton wants while expecting nothng back. It has to be a win win situation.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 12:15 am

Theophilus Chin is simply a living legend!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 12:17 am

time for p1 to introduce DSG ! with 1.8cc CPS i wil be happy !

• kahing (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 12:34 am

You know what ? I think if there’s a Satria Neo, there should be a Wira Neo as well. Satria Neo is already quite stunning, but I really have no idea why they Neo-ed the Satria and not the Wira. Hmmmm……..I think they must have missed out a plan chart or something.

• Jomo (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 2:16 am

Proton should produce SUV, West Malaysian will love it. Most West Malaysian prefer 4WD and SUV’s

• Jomo (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 2:19 am

Jomo said,
    October 13, 2008 @ 2:16 am

Proton should produce SUV, West Malaysian will love it. Most West Malaysian prefer 4WD and SUV’s

Correction:

Proton should produce SUV’s, East Malaysian will love it. Most East Malaysian prefer 4WD and SUV’s.

• haroldz (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 8:38 am

Jomo said,
    October 13, 2008 @ 2:16 am

Correction:

Proton should produce SUV’s, East Malaysian will love it. Most East Malaysian prefer 4WD and SUV’s.

wot to la bro…
    jalan here teruk banget..
    stil waiting for pan-borneo which is still in construction after more than 20 years..
    after all the traffic volume is low so building a super highway like in west msia not applicable..

satria 1.0L?sound like very much underpowered.
    sharing platform would be much cheaper these days…
    styling n engine change..

• theking (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 8:51 am

I have latest spyshots for Proton MPV and NEO CPS on the plus hiway but donno how to post here.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 9:39 am

@haroldz: As a Sarawakian, I couldn’t agree more. The road conditions in Sarawak & Sabah are just deplorable – potholes abound, hazardous bends, hidden dips, blind summits…the list goes on… *sigh*
    =(

• awak (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 10:09 am

theking
    ( ?????? )

• rsrulz (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 10:39 am

kahing said

October 13, 2008 @ 12:34 am

You know what ? I think if there’s a Satria Neo, there should be a Wira Neo as well. Satria Neo is already quite stunning, but I really have no idea why they Neo-ed the Satria and not the Wira. Hmmmm……..I think they must have missed out a plan chart or something.

No point if they make wira neo because then there will be 2 wira replacement , persona and wira neo. Just change persona name to wira la, i think wira sounds nicer than persona, wira also got better meaning.

• rsrulz (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 10:39 am

kahing said

October 13, 2008 @ 12:34 am

No point if they make wira neo because then there will be 2 wira replacement , persona and wira neo. Just change persona name to wira la, i think wira sounds nicer than persona, wira also got better meaning.

• GL3n (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 11:13 am

the rear look a bit outdated…….well, its just a rendering rite?

• alihms (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 11:54 am

Paul Tan says – The Proton Waja replacement should be out by early 2010.

That’s less than 1.5 years from now. Assuming the development period of 2 years ++, I guess the test mules, interior & exterior design mockups, final vehicle specifications are all in existence already. Hmmm, time is ripe for some snooping around.

Happy hunting!!!

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 1:14 pm

BTW that PRoton Prima render by Kevin Lee is based on a ssangyong concept.

Sorry it he already stated.

It’s a nice job too.

• David9988 (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 1:48 pm

front of perwaja reminds me of VW phaeton

• carneo (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 2:47 pm

Appreciate TheophilusChin, If you work for Proton sure we have a good car.

• rt (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 5:14 pm

awak,

Probably theking really saw the test MPV.
    My friend also claimed that he saw a taped MPV and a Neo at Karak Toll Plaza rest area few weeks ago.. He suspects that it was a Proton MPV.
    But he did not get any shots.

rt..

• rt (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 5:24 pm

dear kahing & carneo,

As much as I appreciate Theo’s rendering, I know that Proton do have equally creative, if not better designers.
    Unlike Theo, they have much more limitation than pure imagination such as aerodynamics, balance, materials, and they also have to ensure that they did not infringe other maker’s design rights.

Even if Proton got Theo in their payroll, it might not work as you imagined.

It is better for him to work outside Proton, so that he could render anything without the worries of production, performance or any legal problems caused by his design.

RT..

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 5:33 pm

rt said,
    October 13, 2008 @ 5:24 pm

It is better for him to work outside Proton, so that he could render anything without the worries of production, performance or any legal problems caused by his design.
    ________

Theophilus agrees and grins.

• WilliamSmith (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 7:08 pm

I feel that our govenment isnt worried bout the employment of the thousands of employees in Proton itself if they’re to JV with foreign investors but more on other grounds like those linked suppliers who charged high price but sub standard quality parts. Proton can still maintain its Proton branding while rebadge other manufacturer’s models like Holden rebadges GM’s models. This keeps the local employment intact while instantly boost the quality of its offering as well as the ranges while still reaping profits for the investors (one of them is EPF). At the same time lowering the taxes on cars while working on a different taxing shemes to contain the number of vehicles on the road (such as introducing stepping taxes for those vehicles above certain price range as well as redundant tax where one person has more than 2 vehicles registered under his name). This will contribute to the nation’s progress and the living standard of the majority. We have all paid too much for Proton to do too little for too long, isnt it?

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 8:20 pm

theking said,

October 13, 2008 @ 8:51 am

I have latest spyshots for Proton MPV and NEO CPS on the plus hiway but donno how to post here.

———————————————————

really ah king? can u email me please…[email protected]

• knight_templar (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 11:07 pm

the first point itself made me feel like emptying my bowels in that Proton MD’s face.
    “Proton is in discussions with shareholders on the issue of strategic collaborations with a partner that could complement Proton’s existing markets instead of competing directly against it. Collaboration include areas like technology, vehicle platforms, improve efficiency, etc.”

– Just admit you got no b*lls to survive on your own and given a chance you’ll impose some idiotic quote system to help you survive. Your like a bloody castrated matador begging the raging bull not to gore you in the b*tt and send you flying sky high. Go and dielah you.

Next generation Waja and Perdana will be a partnership with other manufacturers. The Proton Waja replacement should be out by early 2010.
    A decision to be made soon on a new engine family that will replace the Campro engine by 2014, preferably a collaboration with another company for better economies of scale.

– So basically the Waja and Campro is local b*lls*it and the people who bought them are third rate demented cows? Listen to that all you Proton fans, that what PROTON THINKS OF YOU. They make you buy their s*it and then proclaim a new strategy for ‘better economies of scale’. The morons have no continuity in their plans what bloody roadmap are their talking about?

Im not going to go on anymore on this cow feces that has come out of the Proton MD’s mouth. That fella should just get a daytime job as a clerk or despatch boy. And Proton has to go. Dont complain about fuel prices or taxes or inequality. Complain about your (YES! you who are reading this) inability to think with proper judgement and speak up for betterment. Proton must GO!

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 11:18 pm

Aiya knight_templar THE MD been there for just a few years maa why he should take the responsibility of proton past mistake? The MD is great and daring to change, we should be happy..Proton Must GO yes. GO MOVING TO THE FUTURE.

• azrai (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 6:26 am

Very2 ambitious but why they need the european counterparts? It is known for the hig maintenance. Furthermore, Syed Zainal is counting his days.

• car_craze (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 8:25 am

Nice rendering TC. But not many of you guys know that it is just the first stage to make cars. After going throught the clay models and prototypes, the end product could be entirely different. If you want to see real car designers you can check out -http://cardesignnews.com/site/home/

Look at portfolio of “designers”.

• farghmee (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 8:26 am

hmm..
    don’t think too much or u’ll go nowhere.

MisterBenjo, did TheKing sent u the pics?

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 8:52 am

farghmee said,

October 14, 2008 @ 8:26 am

hmm..
    don’t think too much or u’ll go nowhere.

MisterBenjo, did TheKing sent u the pics?

———————————————————–

Not yet :-(

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 9:17 am

The roadmap does sound plausible, and should fit nicely with the abolishment of preferential tax breaks on the local industry.

I personally feel that for a small car company, having too many models is more of a burden than anything. Drop the waja line or merge it with the persona, then spend the additional available resources to push the MPV through ASAP.

knight_templar, please look at other countries who were developing their own automotive industries. Korea epricven banned foreign imports completely for a good 40 years to force hyundai and kia down the throats of its citizens without competition. Thailand took a different approach from malaysia… no NAP.. yet your friends in bangkok should be able to confirm that cars there are actually more expensive (OTR, not internet es) there than in malaysia. And btw i think you were referring to the quota system, not “quote system” – there is no such thing: proton was given preferential treatment by way higher taxes imposed on foreign imports.

• car_craze (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 10:01 am

knight_templer;

Sorry, but you sounded like a demented psychopath. Could you argue your points without too much emotion and vulgarity?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 12:07 pm

car_craze said,

October 14, 2008 @ 10:01 am

knight_templer;

Sorry, but you sounded like a demented psychopath. Could you argue your points without too much emotion and vulgarity?

———————————————

after watching so many documentaries on psychopaths, you really wonder what exactly happened in their young lives that made them become who they are today..

but after reading knight_templer’s remarks, the last thing i expected is that a small car company like proton could turn someone into such an angry, angst ridden individual. my advice is, to chill dude, before you do something to hurt yourself.. better you channel all that hate into something more productive like..er..erm.. heavy metal music? or something like that.

• SY0H (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 4:39 pm

Hi,

Proton should employ you as free lancer for their future car models, TheophilusChin.

Anyways, I still prefer your “Perodua Kici” (check previous posting in PaulTan.org). Haha.

• shooter (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 4:52 pm

we need more Ezralimms and less of knight_templers, shalom y’all

• knight_templar (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 9:11 pm

car_craze said,
    October 14, 2008 @ 10:01 am

ezralimm said,
    October 14, 2008 @ 9:17 am

The roadmap does sound plausible, and should fit nicely with the abolishment of preferential tax breaks on the local industry.

I personally feel that for a small car company, having too many models is more of a burden than anything. Drop the waja line or merge it with the persona, then spend the additional available resources to push the MPV through ASAP.

knight_templar, please look at other countries who were developing their own automotive industries. Korea epricven banned foreign imports completely for a good 40 years to force hyundai and kia down the throats of its citizens without competition. Thailand took a different approach from malaysia… no NAP.. yet your friends in bangkok should be able to confirm that cars there are actually more expensive (OTR, not internet es) there than in malaysia. And btw i think you were referring to the quota system, not “quote system” – there is no such thing: proton was given preferential treatment by way higher taxes imposed on foreign imports.

————————————————————–

Uhuh Shakespeare’s in the house correcting english and all. Why dun u get alive and stop being naive?
    Ten years down the road Proton will have another road map asking for more help and preferably ‘special status’. U can already see the pitfalls in this roadmap. Let me tell you electric cars are not the solution to any problem. When your done using them where the heck do you plug them in for charging? your as*? You plug them back into the bloody electricity grid that uses hydrocarbon fuels you dumbhead! Whether its fuel cell or hybrid or any jargon they merely shift the problem from ur perspective.

knight_templer;

————————————————————–
    Err who rattled your cage? Why dont you just lead your routine, intelligence stagnant, sex deprived live quietly and just save precious cyber space? The physical world already has enough twirps like you so pls save cyberspace. Maybe i should come out with a roadmap to rid cyberspace of lower beings like you in the near future.

—————————————————————-
    BanyakMasukWorkshop said,
    October 14, 2008 @ 12:07 pm

but after reading knight_templer’s remarks, the last thing i expected is that a small car company like proton could turn someone into such an angry, angst ridden individual. my advice is, to chill dude, before you do something to hurt yourself.. better you channel all that hate into something more productive like..er..erm.. heavy metal music? or something like that.

————————————–
    I understand sometimes PMS can make people turn sagely or unintelligently wise. Dont worry my dear its only three days. Then switch on ur pc, log into this blog and delete your account.

—————————————————-
    Honda was created by two very passionate individuals who began by innovating from a bicycle with a motor to the cars that we have today. The key words are passion and innovation. Read about Honda or so many other famous marques and you will understand why i resent Proton. I will support a local car that is made by an enthusiast in a pondok workshop with raw passion and talent even if it has no seats, not this spoilt child of a company. With that this argument stops for i have proven i am an epitome of nationalism and patriotism. If u fools dun get it, shoot each other and save our dear country.

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 6:53 am

Lol ezra, there you go again, taking a protected market (thailand) and comparing it to malaysia and saying things aren’t so bad. Guess you gave up on using australia as your sham example? But really, saying Thailand has no NAP when they have had high protectionist tariffs all along is either purposely deceitful or simply ignorant.

And yes, picking on someone’s english is really lame, especially when it couldve been just a simple typo. You should be ashamed of yourself.

• rsrulz (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 1:02 pm

I don’t think that we need a waja replacement, just do away with the waja and launch perdana replacement ASAP and for perdana replacement try 2.0 CPS.

Also I hope that proton comes up with a putra replacement (RWD 1.8 or 2.0 CPS).

I also hope that persona CNG becomes taxi nation wide (better to have standard taxi). but to make that happen more NGV stations have to be set up.

Lastly for the savvy, they can do away with the renault engine and do a 1.0 or 1.2 campro IAFM

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 2:57 pm

if a proton can look this good, na, thats a bloody audi a4

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 7:52 pm

eerrmmm….. obviously better but i think proton should come up with its own ideas… come on la proton !!! u should be independent…

• SY0H (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 8:02 pm

Hi,

To
    “knight_templar said,

October 14, 2008 @ 9:11 pm”

Dammit, I’m always impress with your talent in blog writings. You could actually fend off all the attacks on you in this thread alone in one go and in one breath. Phew, man, serious shit, you should be a politician. We need more people like you to stir the Parliament. Haha.

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 8:29 pm

knight_templar said, October 14, 2008 @ 9:11 pm
    -> Why are you rambling about electric cars when replying to my post? I didnt even bring it up. Perhaps you are replying to someone else? Anyway, Malaysia does have very good potential for clean hydroelectricity.
    -> Pls dont quote the entire long post. Makes the thread look messy.

Proton Sagwa said, October 15, 2008 @ 6:53 am
    -> Ad hominem points ignored.
    -> Regarding your point about the thai industry: Yes, that was my intention. Alot of people dont realize that regardless of how you look at it, a 50 year old country has a higher car ownership than other countries in the region – in other words, the affordability of cars has dropped very significantly in 50 years. To other readers, the australian example wasnt a sham. It was to provide prospective and correct misconceptions on what was going on, with hard numbers. But i’d figured that the thai example is easier to understand and more straightforward…and close to home.

• knight_templar (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 9:07 pm

SY0H

I dont take too well to compliments and not interested in them either, im just asking everyone to be themselves and not let foolishly ‘wise’ plans, roadmaps or any other crap blind them. As i said let Abu or Ah Chong or Raju create a car in a workshed under a tree out of their own resources and i will buy it even if it falls to bits. Not the contraptions that come out of this bloody leach of a company.

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 12:42 pm

Show me one instance in the globalised world where said person “create a car in a workshed” has been successful.

Developed countries had car industries based on competition as many companies started at roughly the same time with the same level of expertise. In the modern world, it is simply not possible to start from scratch and be competitive.

There are heaps of articles out there online about the history of the motoring industry if you are interested. In particular, look at how countries (who missed the intial car boom) develop their own motor industry – there isnt anything really unusual about malaysia.

You are an odd critic… most critics (regarding this i do agree with them actually) will state the need for mass production and lower costs.

“-.- i guess there will always be a market for cars like the Bufori.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 8:57 pm

i wished warren buffet brought over proton and turn it into an alfa romeo factory

• qozhx (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 1:52 am

fuhyoooo….
    alot of crack headed ppl here…liao….

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 2:24 am

ezralimm said,
    -> Ad hominem points ignored.

It would seem that despite all that money spent on an overseas education you don’t know what “ad hominem” really means. There isn’t space here to explain, so do yourself a favor and read:

http://plover.net/~bonds/adhominem.html

About thailand, again you’re changing your argument as you go along. Your tired tactic has always been to justify the NAP by favorably comparing Malaysia to a protected market (australia/thailand) without mentioning that said market is also protected, thus making it a false comparison. When someone calls you on it, suddenly you switch to the same old ” Well at least we’re better than (insert impoverished ASEAN country)” platitudes that the govt loves to trot out. And like the govt, you happily ignore the ridiculous advantages in natural resources, infrastructure and location that are the real reasons Malaysia is ahead of its less fortunate neighbors, though who knows how long that will last at this rate.

Incidentally, your description of cars being more expensive in Thailand is nothing more than a half-truth. While premium CBUs can be pricier there, CKD models like Vios are substantially cheaper. (Yes, OTR)

I mean really, when you have to resort to falsehoods, distortions and wolf cries of ad hominem to sustain your arguments, surely it’s a bad sign?

• farhathaniff (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 6:30 am

if proton could produce such a car, id jump out of the window hoping to survive coz i wont believe it and want to buy it.

Wont it be cool if Proton could rebadge an E-Class as its Perdana and sell it for RM100K.

• Aaron Ch'ng You Liang (Member) on Dec 19, 2008 at 4:18 pm

If PROTON COULD PRODUCE SUCH A CAR, I WILL JUMP OUT FROM THE WINDOW HOPING TO SURVIVE , I WON’T BELIAVE AND REALLY WANT TO BUY IT……..

WON’T IT BE COOL IF PROTON COULD REBADRE AN TOYOTA CAMRY AS IT PERDANA 2 REPLACEMENT AND SELL IT AT AROUND 110K (RM)

Wont it be cool if Proton could rebadge an E-Class as its Perdana and sell it for RM100K.

• Abg Am on May 08, 2009 at 8:30 pm

Good design but proton must be follow japanese automaker before thier going to louch any model thier were invite targeting customer to choose any design to produce from external or internal looks.This is what Toyota and Honda practice.Proton should follow.

Quality must be improve.good design but lack on quality it worst.

• Shawal on Sep 30, 2009 at 5:40 am

WTF r UUU not working for protoin maite ,i dunt hav a clue

bout d new lancer is going to be d next waja, plz proton… dont screw up the interior, no more alfa obsession, and NO MORE SISSY SMALL TYRES, Simple 7 spoke twin fork 17inch design shud be enough, please please,

• looks like the new honda accord

• ahmed on Nov 19, 2009 at 2:31 pm

i want to see that new perwaja into egypt nearly soon

• Daniel ng on Dec 05, 2009 at 5:32 am

Mr.Kevin Lee,you stole my plan 2 give a future Proton car's name Proton Prima.anyway,nice design.i wish u all can do it better.

• fuuuyoooo…..sporty

• harry on Aug 28, 2010 at 5:13 am

hmm… the car called proton prima… nice design… yeah its looked like the new honda accord… but the important thing is theres some different with others car… i hope this car will come out for sale… and bring up malaysians name.. by the way… i thing this car is the most suitable car to replace the old proton perdana…

• car lover on Aug 31, 2010 at 4:43 pm

WTF….. is malaysian is soo dumb to take other car’s design and engine…. come on… i already see the talent of proton’s engineer in the design of cars.. i can tell you that they are all creative… but for some reason, proton continue to produce a low quality rip off model from other manufacturer…. is the malaysian got no dignity? no pride? i think it’s time for us to lower the foreign car’s duty and let the proton compete a bit… i think, only then proton will able to produce an international quality model which is more suited to be marketed globally rather than continue to rip Malaysian money… Btw, malaysian’s cars have low safety rating…..

• merol_milner on Sep 07, 2010 at 1:28 pm

i think it*s cool :)

• Alvan Cheong on Dec 13, 2010 at 8:57 pm

the front looks a bit like want of the mazda car and the back looks like a volvo.. and the other car design like the asx model look like lancer evo? what next? bmw? ferrari? come on.. make something out with your own creative idea. not copy and paste other brand and make it into a car. that is not yours, is other people’s car you are making.

• Alvan Cheong on Dec 13, 2010 at 9:06 pm

the front looks a bit like want of the mazda car and the back looks like a volvo.. and the other car design like the asx model look like lancer evo? what next? bmw? ferrari? come on.. make something out with your own creative idea. not copy and paste other people’s brand and make it into a car. that is not yours, is other people’s car you are making. get some idea of your own. i am sure you can do way better then getting some other people’s idea.