Proton Satria Neo CPS – Feb 13 launch details!

Proton Satria Neo CPS

UPDATE: Read our Proton Satria Neo CPS launch report! View photos, specifications and pricing for the new H-Line Proton Satria Neo with the Campro CPS engine.

UPDATE #2: Read our Proton Satria Neo CPS short parking lot test drive review at the media launch in APAC Subang!

A trio of Proton vehicles were spotted on the highway by reader the_king near the Prai Industrial Estate area. From what I can see, they are two lightly covered up Satria Neo hatchbacks and one heavily camouflaged Proton MPV test vehicle.

Proton Satria Neo CPS

If we look at this lightly covered up test car, we can immediately notice a large spoiler at the top of the hatch, something missing on the standard Satria Neo. It doesn’t even really look like the one found on the Proton Satria Neo R3 so this is something new that could end up on the final product of whatever version of the Neo this is.

You can also see that the rear bumper is new. Those little side strips on the side of the car have always been on the Neo but on this car they continue after the rear wheel arches onto the bumper. The area at the bottom of the bumper near the exhaust pipe also seems to be taped up, indicating it could be hiding a diffuser-like design of some kind.

Proton Satria Neo CPS

The photographer did not manage to snap a front shot of the vehicle, just these rear and rear three quarter views as he was driving alone and turning back to snap a photo is just not possible, or too dangerous. But this is definitely enough as we now get to discuss a future Proton product.

The Satria Neo was launched in mid-2006 and facelifts commonly come every 2.5 to 3 years. This could be a facelift for the Proton Satria Neo that could make a debut sometime next year. Now the question is what’s under the hood. Will the Proton Satria Neo finally come with 125hp Campro CPS power?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• farghmee (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 12:54 pm

the spoiler is cool…

the mpv (?) is too far to be seen..

• wakeyme (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 1:16 pm

the best news i ever heard regarding to future facelift neo’s.can’t wait!i’ll definitely grab this car early next year.

• theking (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 1:34 pm

This is NEO CPS to be launched early 2009.
    Only for HL version and available for both AT/MT gerabox.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 1:34 pm

Satria Neo GTi. The most wanted. Powered by Campro CPS 1.6 with 125bhp and 150nm torque. Can head to head with the old Satria GTi 1.8L?

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 1:55 pm

Ah-haaa!

• The Unicons (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 1:56 pm

I think it is 1.6 CPS as they (Proton) cover up the wording just like they did on Proton Waja CPS and Proton Gen.2 CPS.

Wish it comes with Anthracite (Metallic), Onyx Black (Metallic), colour just like Proton Gen.2 CPS for UK. Most importantly I want better interior, better plastic quality and fit and finish. Leather wrapped steering wheel please. :)

• Kyoshiro (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 1:58 pm

Proton likes to make things worse. It’s like wearing a hairband, the spoiler look fugly on Neo. BTW, from what i can see in those pics, it appears to be similar to civic’s mugen spoiler.

• nyte_skater (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 2:10 pm

the spoiler looks like a hairband

• lchan (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 2:32 pm

the spoiler spoils the look of the car.

• voyager86 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 2:35 pm

si-fu……any latest info for this neo GTI?? :D

• hotwheeler (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 2:57 pm

arggghhhh! who wants to buy my old satria, pleasssssseeeee…!

• wakeyme (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 3:14 pm

imho the spoiler is ok rather than spoilt.

• wajara (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 3:20 pm

Hope the spoiler not consider as “spoiler ampaian kain” heheehheheh

• SY0H (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 3:21 pm

Hi,

Somehow I’m impress with Proton only if they come out with Satria Neo powered by CPS. This car is definitely in my hunting list if it really comes out. For now, Proton Basher Team is on truce mode. *grinning*

• SY0H (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 3:24 pm

…and Proton (I’m sure they’re lurking in PaulTan.org as well) … please change your single pipe exhaust into double tailgate exhaust. Then, we could say the transformation of Satria Neo CPS is complete. :)

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 3:28 pm

It is powered by CPS…confirm!

• jk (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 3:30 pm

Nice….the bumper got a bit of the design that is similar to the satria GTI….the spolier looks cool too…i wonder might this overhang spoiler affect the fuel consumption (air resistance/drag) instead of improving the aerodynamics?

• awak (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 3:32 pm

big wing, downforce,
    surely its powered by CPS,

but im not sure i like the bumper guard (liner) on the rear as proton cars known for a clean presence.

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 3:35 pm

SYOH, i dun think there will be a double exhuast, as u can see in the spy shots, the exhaust muffler is larger then the normal neo. This is to give the bassy grumble for the engine when u rev!

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 3:38 pm

nice and good looking of improvement of satria neo… love to have this car but, i need a larger car like MPV in the future… i hope Proton MPV won’t dissapoint me…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 3:51 pm

Neo GTI pleeeeeaaassssseeee????!!!!

• awak (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 4:09 pm

if you are family man,
    sporty in mind,

keep both (mpv & neo) in your garage,

• SY0H (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 4:43 pm

Hi,

Expected price for this Satria Neo CPS? RM60k above or low?

• _Zephyre_ (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 4:44 pm

Am I the only one that thinks that the spoiler is kinda ugly? Heck, make that the car as a whole. Maybe it’s the angle and all the tape.

I HOPE it’s the angle and all the tape. I’ve been hoping for a Satria Neo without the infamous Camtakpro torque dip for a looong time.

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 5:12 pm

Dun worry _Zephyre_ when u see the car in person, live, u will love it…the spoiler suits the car very well if u see it in real.

Cheers!

• prancingScuderia (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 5:23 pm

I feel this is Satria Neo GTi, coz the flare wheelarch and the rear bumper side stripe seems like is Proton’s GTi design language. And i also remember that during Proton open day i saw a 3 spoke steering wheel got GTi emblem on it.

• ... (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 5:34 pm

That is the rear spoiler from the Neo Desire concept, which is the spoiler for the cancelled Neo GTi with VW turbo engine. The side skirt is camouflaged too. I see the wheelarches is fatter or is it just an illusion?

• _Zephyre_ (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 5:37 pm

Come to think of it, that rear shot reminds me of the Satria GTi.

• aki_zz (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 6:01 pm

i read somewhere that vw has registered the GTi name to them. so other manufacturer cannot use that name anymore. that is why suzuki chose the name suzuki swift sport, not suzuki swift gti anymore, i think ;)

• V8 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 6:12 pm

hey, i guess the rims got change too, no more bling bling wheels anymore! lets just hope for a much better rim design!

• BlackJKX (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 6:26 pm

i could buy the second hand one.

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 6:55 pm

it seems rear bumper have a little diffuser, bigger muffler tip, side skirt looks the same tho, wheel is definately different, looks like 5 spoke wheel hehe just imagining cause the photo is a moving object. not sure about the front tho.

this spoiler will do the job on downforce, dont worry about aerodynamic, there is a big gap between the spoiler n the car body, have lots of space for air to flow thru without create vortex like previous neo. good design imho :) good job! n cps, woooo! wish i could change tat to my neo hahaha wait for halfcut :P or just convert it to EV :D

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 6:57 pm

if the front have diffuser integrated would makes the whole car looks better overall n improve the aerodynamic especially over 100km/h

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 8:41 pm

i hope they fix the seat so 6 footer like can sit comfortably. This is my dream car at the moment.

• huckerz (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 9:00 pm

been waiting for this man! i want to cancel my myvi.. this one is better powerful n sporty! come on. plz come out this year la.. cause i want a new car!!!

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 9:22 pm

Yes Awak,
    i want to keep both (MPV & Neo) of the car but, eventhou i sell my old 2002 850 kancil to get new Proton MPV, i still have Waja and new Saga (owned by my lovely wife) in my garage.. i’m planning to bought MPV because my waja loan will settle in 18 months… i love to own both neo and mpv, but i need to consider my waja loan so i need to decide which one will fulfil my needed in the future.. and i think, i will choose mpv..

• tunomura (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 9:35 pm

nice car, really really suited into my taste…it will be very good if it had 5-doors and it will kill Perodua’s hero, Miyawii sales..heh

i hope the Cristal White color is available for this car and I will be the first who book this car…

really can’t wait this car!!!

• food_fan (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 10:25 pm

Recent chat with R&D Engr @ Proton, said Proton never initiate research putting the CPS into Satria Neo.. bUt who know, Proton.. Everything is possible..

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 10:45 pm

judging by it, it could be a neo gti. instead of a cps. i heard the cps engine is harder to put in due to a cramped engine size

• _Zephyre_ (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 11:02 pm

It’s kinda difficult to see what kinda rims are on it, and we don’t know if those rims will be on the production model, but…

I actually liked those rims with the ‘turbine’ design.

DON’T KILL ME

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 11:35 pm

_Zephyre_ hehe kind of agree with u, turbine wheels r growing on my since the day i got the neo, it suits neo fine

• ENZO (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 11:39 pm

_Zephyre_ said,

October 14, 2008 @ 11:02 pm

It’s kinda difficult to see what kinda rims are on it, and we don’t know if those rims will be on the production model, but…

DON’T KILL ME

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

i am oso a ‘turbine’ liker, if wanna kill, kill us both!!!!

• nizam80 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 12:10 am

I think the spoiler looks a bit wierd, but i could be wrong. Maybe i should see it in real life.

Si-Fu, are there any changes to the interior? e.g: door trim, meter panel, gear knob/stick (i hated the ‘spaceball’ type in the current Neo).
    Have you guys at Proton tested the approximate top speed? I would like to know since its the lightest Proton car using the CPS engine? Hopefully 220km/h sound logic.

This car definitely in my target list!!

• dir3wolf (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 5:44 am

If you look carefully, the spoiler looks a lot like the one on the Neo Desire concept that was displayed when the Neo was first released.

• awak (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 6:54 am

wing is from A1 limited edition neo which is menacing from side profile,

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 8:55 am

Yes there is definitely change in the interior and some added extra stuffs too…which i cant say now. Wait until u guys see for urselves! Top speed oso cant be revealed now.

Cheers!

• kodok (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 9:16 am

the spoiler..WTF!!!???..wayyyyy overkill

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 9:54 am

si-fu, i have 1 question tho, is it possible for proton to do factory fitted undercarriage pan? as a protection for engine bay undies and for a smoother undercarriage, that will certainly improve high speed stability n fuel economy!

if proton will do it to this version of neo, then it will be the best thing proton have put into their cars ;) if any1 of u dont understand what is undercarriage pan, look under merc/bmw’s belly

• bunWMQ (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 10:13 am

actually, what i’ve been informed was, they were testing 3 type of engines for the neo gti, 1.6 CPS, 1.8 CPS and 2.0 VW TFSi…. i.m not sure wether it’s true or not, but the 1.6 CPS is totally confirmed, force induction?

• Roti Naan (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 11:39 am

the spoiler is spoiling the car

• torque (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 12:16 pm

From the picture I think the rear spoiler looks is so-so lah but I’ll save my 100% comments when I see it up close and personal. I can’t wait what surprises Proton has install with this new Neo until it’s launch. As for the single center mounted exhaust, well, I’ve to agree with SYOH that I’m too hope that Proton will come out with a dual exhaust system. Never been a big fan of the single center mounted exhaust like the Porsche Boxster coz I think it looks like the car has an @$$****. Well, you know what people say, beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder right?! Yes…before some people bash me as if I don’t read the whole thread, I know that Si-Fu have pointed out that the dual exhaust may not be possible but hey, there’s still time for Proton to re-think about it right? Anyway, keep the hard work forward Proton! All the best of luck for you…peace!

• mrleehb (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 12:19 pm

good.

hope that she will come with cps.

additional:

solic pure white colour.

• zamildrift (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 12:27 pm

If it comes with 1.8 or 2.0..then this will be another super hot hatch!

• awak (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 12:29 pm

spoiler is from A1 edition neo, its look ok on side profile,

• 90125 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 12:32 pm

_Zephyre_ said,
    October 14, 2008 @ 11:02 pm

DON’T KILL ME
    ============================================
    hate those before,but now it looks fine,don’t kill me too!!!!

• awak (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 12:46 pm

why does 1999-04 satria gti with big wing is ok,
    because all around kit suits it

hope this is an all around kitted, i mean manufacturer kits

• vivio (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 2:52 pm

i want it in gte rs’s green =)

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 2:55 pm

pointless car

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:01 pm

ALPINA BMW,
    Pointless comment

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:05 pm

@ALPINA BMW said,

October 15, 2008 @ 2:55 pm

pointless car

I DID heard him praise the satria neo before.

Now look at what he said.

From this we can say his views are bollocks. Period

• Realeyes (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 4:15 pm

Is that a “tiang gol” or what?! Lol, I’m kidding people, no hard feeling.. It is a nice car, but I like the rally version’s bodykits more..

• naz@proton (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 6:25 pm

i duno why they placed the trade plate wrongly, the big one should be in front. what la u suka kena bashing……

• awak (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 6:59 pm

http://bp0.blogger.com/_avtsBS-bD8s/RqX-ej23gjI/AAAAAAAAADU/JirdUVHoUJk/s1600-h/12911671.jpg

side view of the wing from A1 GP edition

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 7:27 pm

I agree with ur comments kei9 and fastcx,,,,, ALPINA BMW think he’s a big head…..
    My Couzy Bro owns a Neo and i got drive it b4….
    Neo smoked a bmw 320 in jelapang highway…..
    Dun simply try to rate down our national cars….
    Indeed they are better in many aspects….

• lanuncyber (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 7:57 pm

my uncle is working at proton in the ‘new model development’ team. he told me before hari raya that Satria Neo CPS is coming out in this November 2008.

I really think that is Satria Neo CPS 1.6 …
    approx. 1195kg, 125hp, power-to-weight=104.6hp/tonne

great huh? Waja CPS and Gen2 CPS, give way to this new monster!

• 056 v8 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 11:13 pm

yo bro are you serious then i could be holding back and waiting for the neo cps coming out are you sure in november 2008 is coming out?

• 056 v8 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 11:15 pm

yo bro are you serious then i could be holding back and waiting for the neo cps
    are you sure in this november 2008?

• raptorclans (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 7:24 am

Perhaps ALPINA BMW was refering to his pointless comments… LOL

Anyway, this might turn out to be the Neo GTi… since the strips on the bumper seem similar to the 1st model. And there’s the diffuser bumper… But no bolts on the fenders… or at least bulge up the fenders, more garang :P

• lanuncyber (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 12:04 pm

056 v8

that is what i can say according to my uncle. he is in one of the teams for development of any proton’s new models. since he said that. i also will hold and wait for this new baby.

i really think that is Neo CPS. but, as other people said, it might be also a GTi or SE. but the time i am very sure, my uncle said November 2008. 2 weeks to go…

• TheDuck (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 1:10 pm

After all this years, the Satria NEO is still the best looking Proton car. Let’s just hope the design stays that way.

Of course, i still think it’s over-priced. It takes guts to buy a Proton.

• car_craze (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 1:16 pm

Naza@proton-

you just want to comment on the trade plates??

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 1:21 pm

And also..

I’d wonder what they have done to the front.

A minor bumper design change maybe?
    With strips?
    Bigger grille? see:(Gen2 2nd edition)

Whatever the changes are, it got to look more awesome than before.

Not the other way around.

• HafidzMoro (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 1:35 pm

Guys, which i believe..Proton cant use word GTi nemore..coz sudah booked under Volkswagon..so,our old satria GTi will be the last badge caryying GTi emblems before the VW guys registered the names and Proton late to do that..rite Si-FU? ;)

If the engine good as the standard 4G93P (which can tapau ViRS Vtec or EK9,err 318i and few more list), i dont mind selling my Satria GTi now…I hope it carries the look and feel of the original SGTi..trims,recaro seats, pedals, knob, meter panel, dashboard, carpet mats..hehehehe..err..boleh dapat twin tail exhaust pipes ka? mcm dulu-dulu? hehehe :D

• waja2000 (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 8:05 pm

Sifu
    i hope have paddle shift in steering, that will perfact and excellent for marketting bcos paddle shift is very common standard in sports looking car already.. also same, hope paddle shift in MPV steering.

• waja2000 (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 8:06 pm

HafidzMoro

easy solution ..use back Satria GTI name

• neverthar (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 8:11 pm

Isit me or do those wheelarch extensions in the pics are more flared then what the current Neo has?

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 8:26 pm

neverthar said,

October 16, 2008 @ 8:11 pm

Isit me or do those wheelarch extensions in the pics are more flared then what the current Neo has?

It might look so because of the redesigned rear bumper. But actually it isn’t.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 8:55 pm

that stupid spoiler so big add weight only

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 9:03 pm

ini neo cps ke atau satria gti 2nd gen si-fu?
    rase2 sport rim tu mcm dah pernah ade sebelum ni…
    mcm yg dipasang pd neo merdeka edition
    betul ke si-fu?
    tp prototaip ni tgh move,x sure sgt…
    cerita sikit boleh x si-fu,please…
    mcm interior…
    standard dgn recaro seat or leather seat like gen2 cps?
    dashboard neo ni proton ubah part mane?
    stereng design lain ke?
    ade aluminium gear knob mcm early gti?
    sorry byk bertanye
    :P
    sokong klu proton remain gti name for this neo
    :)

• outspoken (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 9:10 pm

it will be a nice car.. GTi.. not a chance,, i do not think the volume is that big to justify the investment.. definitely this will be a CPS engine…

atleast the R3 guys can come out with a more decent new version. the current one is a big let down

• awak (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 10:44 pm

this wheel is most probally thats fit this cps neo.
    if this ,im not gonna like it, a bit bling and VIP style,

http://www.thaiprotonclub.com/picview.php?id=343

seeing it from the way how it spins, this is the wheel,,,,
    oh no

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 11:26 pm

waiting for Neo GTI to come out. Looks nice, though not sure what that wing up there is for, increase drag…

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 11:59 pm

awak said,

October 16, 2008 @ 10:44 pm

this wheel is most probally thats fit this cps neo.
    if this ,im not gonna like it, a bit bling and VIP style,

http://www.thaiprotonclub.com/picview.php?id=343

seeing it from the way how it spins, this is the wheel,,,,
    oh no

——————————-

thats the sport rim i mean it!

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 1:55 am

mystvearn said,

October 16, 2008 @ 11:26 pm

waiting for Neo GTI to come out. Looks nice, though not sure what that wing up there is for, increase drag…
    ———————————————————–

agree…wing is no purpose without wind tunnel testing only increase drag…waste of engine power.

• awak (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 6:47 am

wing,
    huge,
    r3 wing nice though.
    or batter still the r3 ground effect kit.

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 8:59 am

Hi guys! Sorry i cant reveal about the interior but will be up to par as u guys expected! The wing/spoiler is there for a purpose…it will give better traction for the rear wheels thus providing better control and handling at high speeds and corners especially. It’s not something that is slapped on for asthetic purposes only like ‘certain manufacturers’ do!

Cheers!

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 2:11 pm

si-fi, like the way u said “It’s not something that is slapped on for asthetic purposes only like ‘certain manufacturers’ do!” :)

make us proud please! im driving a neo, i would like to see how proton can improve it even further! hopefully with factory fitted hid headlights ;)

• awak (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 2:17 pm

true sifu,
    example, in a satria GTI at 140 or faster.
    you know that the low chin, and wing really works, the car feels planted, and more stable,

not until then i understand ‘ground effect’

• si-fu (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 3:14 pm

Yes guys….most of the spoilers or wings that are fitted in proton cars are aerodynamically tested in a wind tunnel (not done in malaysia)…this is to ensure that when it is fitted on to the vehicle, it it beneficial to the performance and handling of the vehicle.

Cheers!

• sulaiman (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 4:11 pm

The spoiler reminds me…to the previous paultan article about satria neo GTi spotted?

http://paultan.org/archives/2007/06/18/possible-proton-satria-neo-gti-spotted/

In that picture also show that the satria neo have a huge spoiler.

• _Zephyre_ (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 4:32 pm

…But the Neo is a front-wheel-drive car, and current reviews say it’s quite understeer-happy already. Even with the extra power from the CPS, I still doubt the wing is that practical.

• waja2000 (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 5:02 pm

Sifu
    Other hope on Neo CPS is please not speed cut at 180~190km as in Gen2 CPS and Waja CPS.

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 5:47 pm

_Zephyre_, its more tail happy for me…depends on toe n camber setting actually, its quite a controllable car, u know what u do the car react at what kind of way. quite good for beginner to learn in track day

• awak (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 11:03 pm

zephyre,
    at speed, even straight, rear need firm traction for straight line directional stability, downforce is highly appreciated,

• awak (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 11:09 pm

I know neo very much, although mine is 1.3 AT, as it gain millage, it becomes bit more punchier at first gear. I cant exegerate more when mine just a basic campro, 1.3 campro,
    The campro is tuned for revs, so 3500 to 4000 is no strain, sitting in suits me, sporty,, shifter design makes easy with my grab, acc switch is brilliant, steering feel is good thick smallish diameter makes batter reaction, it is center weighted, make the car safe at fast,
    Don’t want to tell about handling, who own it , they know it, power delivery of 1.6 of course batter , combination of lower final drive with 1.6 gives greater relax higway speed,

Styling, is strong, looks solid,

Well comes 1.6 CPS, this engine to push a waja Gen2 and MPV. Now at the Neo,
    , I got to have this, in 5sp manual. If everything ok, ill go to the nearest PE when the booking is open to public.

This is what I can share about the neo, its sporty,
    If youre not planning for sporty, if you are more on decent drive , supple comfortable suspension, cheaper car go with it’s a saga, still a good car. Don’t knock on the dash, as you can get the same effect if you knock on Yaris or Jazz dashboard.

• nizam80 (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 12:09 am

If this 1.6 CPS engine can push the Waja and Gen2 with ease, then i can only imagine what it can do to the Neo. Blistering acceleration!!! (tgh berangan ni)

I agree with Waja2000. Hope that for this Neo CPS, Proton remove the speed cut at 180km/h. That 240km/h speedometer is there for a reason you know. hehe.

Just a suggestion.

• lanuncyber (Member) on Oct 18, 2008 at 7:42 am

if the current Neo can accelerate 0-100kph in 10.7secs (according to Proton), i believe this CPS-powered Neo will do it in under 10, or may be under 9 (after some modifications and enhancements).

but, if i am going to own this new Neo, the first thing will go is the spoiler. imho, i think it is a lil’ bit over sized. i read somewhere when someone said, “why need a large spoiler if you can’t even get enough speed to generate enough downforce?” :)

all i am waiting for is the 0-100kph timing, from a 1.6 lump, in a decent Malaysian-made hatch. Neo CPS will rule!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 10:39 am

To Nizam80……..

are you sure there is a speed-cut at 180 km/h……
    bcoz i was sittin right beside my couzy bro when his needle hitz at nearly 190 or a bit more….. i even saw some neo hittin at merely 210 in YOUTUBE… u can watch it in youtube if u want….

• huckerz (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 10:42 am

my uncle is working at proton in the ‘new model development’ team. he told me before hari raya that Satria Neo CPS is coming out in this November 2008.<—lanuncyber! its the end of November..no news still..i dont think they will launch this in 2008. bcoz people will only buy car in new year or middle. if NEO cps launch on DEC, rugi la..masuk next year kira sort of 1 year bcos of 08 to 09

• darkteror (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 12:35 pm

it looked weird @@

• lanuncyber (Member) on Dec 19, 2008 at 11:32 am

huckerz

i’m also quite disappointed. like people said, proton has put most of their focus on the MPV. and someone did say that, usually new model will be launched at the beginning and the middle of the year, not at the year-end, otherwise it will considered as old car. and that is a good news, because…

my uncle said, proton has forward the launch of Satria Neo CPS to January 2009. don’t blame me as this could also be wrong, but i’m one of you, waiting for Neo CPS… and i’ll be waiting for it to be revealed in January 2009… let’s pray for it… :)

Release the monster!

• huckerz (Member) on Dec 25, 2008 at 3:06 am

yeah lets pray for it :) …i’ve been waiting to buy a proper car(less than RM80k)…im not going to buy Swift..its just not enough power and its auto. I want a NEO CPS and i want to tapau Swift SPORT! hehe! even Swift Sport is lighter..same horspower(125) but NEO CPS has got extra 2nm of torgue..its 150nm, Swift Sport = 148nm :P..

• huckerz (Member) on Jan 05, 2009 at 8:13 pm

shittt!! proton ceo just mentioned in the paper(kesihatan,sunday) say that they will launch MPV and New Satria neo on Mac and April..ahhhh ive been waiting so long..why cant just launch in January?

• krypto (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 3:15 pm

Neo CPS is really coming out. but not with MPV..its gonna be launched on February…damn, i got my Neo for only 2 months..moreover, it got facelifted & other additional bodykit…warrrrrgggggggghhhhhhhhhhh…

• lanuncyber (Member) on Jan 08, 2009 at 7:55 pm

i’m waiting… i’m waiting… just bring her out a.s.a.p. … huckerz said April, krypto said February, goddamn it make it quicker, Proton!

• huckerz (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 12:37 am

krypto…r u sure it will be in February?says who? dont make me excited!The Ceo mentinoed in the paper, i still got the paper in my office. Well the sooner the better. But when i think again why mac or April is because.. shaish Proton maybe wants to give a chance Najib to launch it..plus i heard a lot of things will be announce once Najib as PM(on Mac). So maybe this is one of the reason.

• HafidzMoro (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 12:17 am

haishhh..politics again!! damn it..just launch it laa! so eager to have this neo..(since my GTi got stolen earlier last month..got no car d..hmm)

• Gadssen (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 9:21 am

Woot~ now february or march or april already? the rumours started from last year december, then this month, then february/march/april… =..=”

• krypto (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 9:59 am

dun worry guys…i think my source is quite reliable as we always doing preparation for new Proton models..prove are Saga BLM, Persona SE, Gen.2 CPS..but there will be surprises or unexpected things, so pls dun blame me for any delay or mis-info..i got solution for my NEO…i just need to install CPS head & cam..btw, i won’t be needing the facelift kit as i prefer R3, more sexier and aerodynamics…cheers

• kobealex (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 10:19 pm

I really hope proton do a good job on the Neo CPS’s looks n performance… or else might opt for a neo wit R3 kit as I juz found out people do sell the kit now… n we can install CPS engine into the older Neo? if thats thy case then might consider it too… hmm… and y so long for the launch… haizzz…

• huckerz (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 10:41 pm

krypto, are u sure u can install cps head and cam? would that be a variation valve timing and come to 125hp? if u r real, then no need to wait for the CPS la.. but hey, its a quite complicated task i think..nway, the CEO just delayed the Proton MPV to April now.. so whats gonna happen to neo CPS..shaishh~~if u have good sourve just tell us ok krypto :)

• krypto (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 9:19 am

yeah, i’m quite sure..coz the cam profiling is on the head & cam configuration.. there’s no other mods on the piston, block etc etc…bout the Neo CPS launching, i believes that its all a matter of time..so just worry bout the time la coz the launching are damn certain (wtf m i saying??) ..hehe

• Gadssen (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 10:03 am

i hope proton delays mpv is because of they going to launch satria neo cps, hehe.

• huckerz (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 9:47 pm

yaa..its not entirely new modell.so no need proper launch la..

• Piggen (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 6:49 pm

Well i went to the Proton dealer in Thailand today, and he could tell me that a Special Edition off the Proton Neo with the Campro CPS engine will come in march month, so just a little over 2 more months to wait :-)

• Piggen (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 12:36 am

Some more info on what he said about the Proton Neo SE is that it would be with automatic transmission, and come with leather interior, and the price would be about 30-40000,- THB more than the HI-Line version sold today as costs 564000,- THB

So a price around 600000,- THB = 62000,- RM

• lanuncyber (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 1:24 am

automatic? I pass…

even bar the leather, CPS in, manual transmission… a Neo can be sold to me… Proton, read my lips… CPS + MANUAL TRANSMISSION !

• lanuncyber (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 1:27 am

automatic? I pass…

even bar the leather, CPS in, manual transmission, a Neo can be sold to me… Proton, read my lips… CPS + MANUAL TRANSMISSION!

• huckerz (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 2:01 pm

yeah plzzzz NEO CPS + Manual Transmission!~~ but plz im sure they wil come out with manual too…but if it so not.. then sth is wrong..haha! arghh cant wait till march…i nearly bought Swift Sport(M) year 07..RM78K but somebody took it just 1 day b4 i decided to do so..

• Piggen (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 3:42 pm

Yes as the dealer said this is a Proton Neo Special Edition, and this is Thailand, all the topp off the line versions that comes here have automatic transmission, i am sure that after the launch, it will also be availably in versions with manual transmission to, outside Thailand at least :-(

Remember they launched the New Gen-2 with CPS power here in Thailand first to, and that model is only available with automatic transmission here :-(

• kobealex (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 5:15 pm

Noooo!!! I hope Proton does not launch this CPS just for the Special Edition or Hi-lines only but also for all the Neo’s. I don’t want any Special Editions!!! I just want a Neo with CPS!!!

• pirlo (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 10:52 pm

i went to PE this evening looking for a satria neo. unfortunately, the salesperson said the production stopped about 3 months ago and they do not have any neo to test drive in any PE. how sad.. according to him, a neo equipped w/ cps engine will be came out by end of february. the price should be about rm3-4k higher than the previous price. from that, i booked myself a new satria neo cps w/o knowing other new specs. and i never drive a neo before. so, to neo drivers, what can you say about neo? is it damn good or so-so? i heard the acceleration is pretty good isn’t it.

damyn. can’t wait for it though i know the exhaust in the middle looks fugly. hope proton can change it exactly to gti.

• huckerz (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 3:36 pm

u booked neo cps? hey i wanna book too!!! im sure it would be better than the previous one inc exterior..how much u hv too put to book? where is PE? i justcant wait anymore.. i want a new car!!!

• lanuncyber (Member) on Jan 31, 2009 at 7:59 pm

whoa! did u really book a new neo? end of february? that is goddamn great news to hear!

so, bro, for a H-line MT CPS, how much do you think it’s price? did u ask the salesperson ’bout that? i’m getting excited! :D

• pirlo (Member) on Feb 01, 2009 at 1:17 am

it costs me around rm100 to make the booking. that is what i heard from the salesperson of proton. not sure whether the new neo will be launched together w/ new mpv or not. yeah i’m also looking for a h-line MT. he said the price maybe should be around rm3-4k higher than the old price. he assumed the price based on old gen2 and gen2 cps prices. so i should say around 54++k i think.

• lanuncyber (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 9:57 pm

paul, sorry to make this comment box a Q/A session, but things are getting more and more exciting! :) bro, how long is the waiting list? can we get it asap (let say 1-2 months) if we book it now?

• Gadssen (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 4:17 pm

pirlo, it’s a good news heard from u, hopefully it really comes out at the end of this month, as many people longed for it since last year.

• Gadssen (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 4:24 pm

pirlo, what a good news! hopefully it really comes out at the end of this month, as many people longed for it since last year! (including me as well :D)

• lanuncyber (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 8:34 pm

yes! it is confirmed! i did ask my uncle and he said, according to Proton’s tentative, the Satria Neo CPS will be launched on 14th of February 2009. but he doesn’t know about the booking process as that is a program of Proton Edar. But, i think, it is really now available for booking. :)

And, the waiting list will be approximately 3-4 months. argh, need to book it now! NOW!

pirlo, does it really RM100 needed for booking? PE’s website said that it is RM500 to book any Proton’s cars through them.

and, i did read somewhere that for the earlier models of Satria Neo that were sold by PE, they have been rev limited. Should we want the un-limited rev, they suggest the buying through EON. is it true?

• huckerz (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 10:56 pm

heii where to book? at proton hq in shah alam? what if i go there then they said cannot book? im from Ampang.. if it really 14th Feb..i must book now my Friend..

• huckerz (Member) on Feb 03, 2009 at 11:29 pm

where can i book? at proton HQ in Shah Alam.? thats great another 2 weeks!!!

• lanuncyber (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 1:26 am

mr pirlo, you have made the booking. mind to share with us which PE did u make your booking? of course, booking after the launch will push us to wait until 4-5 months. the order will be paramount!

• pirlo (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 9:15 pm

the salesperson said i’m not the only one who on the list. there are numbers of people who booked earlier than me. damn. i booked in PE jalan ampang. huckerz, its not far from your house bro. yes i only paid rm100 for the booking. but then, when i got home and read through the pamphlet, as you said the booking price should be rm500. and this morning, i just got called from PE to confirm about my reservation. i told her the booking costs me a hundred and she was ok with that. so i guess there wont be any problem.

• huckerz (Member) on Feb 04, 2009 at 10:06 pm

Dear Pirlo, thanks for your info. But i just made a random call with this PE near Jln Gurney then he checked, at 5.30 he told me he just got a memo said i can book. Guest what i just booked wth RM100 too. haha i knew b4 the PE branch know about this. thanks to the folks in Paultan who spreads the news. im the first one who book at the branch :). he said launch will be on mid of March. i hope i can get a.s.ap

• lanuncyber (Member) on Feb 06, 2009 at 8:51 pm

hihi… me too! i’ve made my booking at PE Senawang, near to Giant Senawang, Seremban. booked for RM100 too. they also said the Satria Neo CPS will be launched on early of March. i just can’t wait for it! :)

• huckerz (Member) on Feb 09, 2009 at 9:52 pm

Hello to those NEO CPS owner(soon). Come we make a club of Satria Neo CPS…hehe is tht sound sellfish? noo we make a new Satria Club la, so we can know each other. the present neo club i think too many people la..any suggestion? (hehe kereta belum keluar lagi dah keco)

• pirlo (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 11:01 pm

i just randomly searched through the internet and end up i got this which i think is a very good news..

Excerpted:

Title: [Official]Satria Neo CPS Launch Day
    Post by: faliq on February 10, 2009, 12:35:04 PM
    Hello Everybody,

FYI, Proton Holding have invited our club to join official launching day of Neo CPS.
    But, sadly to say, they invited only 5 person. Detail of this launching as per below:

Time : 2:30 p.m. – 6:45 p.m.

Venue : Asia Pacific Auction Centre (APAC)

Sultan Abdul Aziz Shah Airport

Subang, Selangor

So, the selected person from our club is:

1. faliq- Acting President
    2. izzuan- Vice President 1
    3. Mr. Bern- Central Head Region
    4. riez
    5. achadd

so, yes its true, Neo CPS will be launched on this Friday.

Thank You,

• kobealex (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 4:32 am

Does anyone remember the post “possible Satria Neo GTi Spotted” about a year and a half ago where presumably P1 employees where seen toying and kitting up an aggressive looking grey Satria neo? I kinda think the new Neo CPS has a lil resemblances of that design after comparing a photo of the CPS front bumper.

Well, will wait till this Friday to know the real CPS… hope it has “WOW” factor in it…

• kobealex (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 4:38 am

Does anyone remember the post “Possible Satria Neo GTi Spotted?” about a year and a half ago where presumably P1 employees were toying and kitting up an aggressive grey Satria Neo? I think the styling of the CPS kinda resembles the design a lil bit after comparing a picture of the CPS’s front bumper.

Well, will have to wait till this Friday to see the REAL Neo CPS, hope it was a WOW factor in it

• krypto (Member) on Feb 11, 2009 at 2:25 pm

hey, faliq is my friend..i’m gonna give him a call la then..haha..so, my source is apparently rite!! neo CPS gonna be launch this month..huhuhu..i believe its gonna cost around RM60k or a tiny bit less than that…coz even Gen2 with CPS are expensive than Persona SE..expect the CPS-ed NEO to be equipped with new bodykit, PVC-vinyl interior, bluetooth enabled ICE, & more important, CPS engine!! (which produce the same bhp like mine if i change into sport exhaust system or change the ECU..hehe)..cheers!!

• krypto (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 9:46 am

hahaha…i already got the brochure in my hand!!! ready for tomorrow guys!! u can get the brochure tomorrow at any showroom…but brochure only laaa…not the vehicle…hehehe

• HafidzMoro (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 9:52 am

Got phone call this morning from my kakak at Proton Jalan Ampang Showroom..asking whether i want to book neo cps today..she said Neo CPS only available in Black and White..the interior trims and overall exterior bodywork wont disappoint et all..She said official launch would be on this coming 13th (tomorrow)..she also said bookings are mounting! she ask me to book early..as usual starts with rm500..this neo cps must be something good! i really hope so! :D

• HafidzMoro (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 3:23 pm

eh..new Satria Neo CPS bodywork same like Satria Neo S2000 (Rally version) ke?

• lanuncyber (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 3:30 pm

got a phone call from PE this morning. he asked me what color to choose, either black or white. but, he said for the time being, only these two colors were available. i said that i need to take a look at it first, cause i don’t want iredescent (grey-ish) white. black is nice but i’ll take it for sure if the color is pure white / grand prix white. it will look really cool! ready with your pay slips, guys! & the d/p of course. hehehe… :)

• huckerz (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 4:59 pm

hehe berlagak ye krypto dah tgk brochure.. hey cant wait laa for the launching.. he friends.. come we make a NEO CPS club..hoho!~

• kobealex (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 12:07 am

counting down to the launch of Neo CPS… XD 14 more hours left!!!

• Timmy on Feb 13, 2009 at 11:23 am

Ummm….I saw 2 trailers on the side of the road with this cars…located near Subang airport. I would like to ask…. is there a CPS variant ? As I saw 1 of the cars had GTI like allen key “design” on the sides. Trailler spotted at 10:55 AM.

• autojohndoe on Feb 13, 2009 at 2:43 pm

I ve sit in the NEO CPS….

Cool… Black and red colour blend…. really attarctive

• Piggen (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 4:02 pm

The interior is not exactly new, they have been selling it in the UK fore almost 1 year now, as a leather package

• Piggen (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 4:48 pm

Its out:

Neo CPS 1.6 A/T (M) RM 60,763.00
    Neo CPS 1.6 A/T (S) RM 60,313.00

Neo CPS 1.6 M/T (M) RM 57,736.00
    Neo CPS 1.6 M/T (S) RM 57,313.00

• Piggen (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 4:55 pm

http://www.proton-edar.com.my/index.php?page=campaign&action=view&id=53

• Piggen (Member) on Feb 13, 2009 at 5:47 pm

Anybody have any pictures from the unveiling today?

• pirlo on Feb 13, 2009 at 8:19 pm

see? told u so.
    btw, the spoiler spoils the look. R3 spoiler is much better w/ twin muffler exactly like previous gti. the i will be extra WOW!

• pirlo on Feb 13, 2009 at 8:20 pm

see? told u so.
    btw, the spoiler spoils the look. R3 spoiler is much better w/ twin muffler exactly like previous gti. then i will be extra WOW!

• Leena Ahmad on Feb 14, 2009 at 9:55 am

The things is we are not going to see R3 Neo CPS. I heard the Department was no longer there. Sad!

• ploton on Feb 16, 2009 at 6:23 am

Got R3 mehh??