Porsche Cayenne gets Audi-like LED daytime running lights thanks to TechArt

Techart

Some Porsche Cayenne owners must have been jealous of the fact that the facelifted Audi Q7 will most likely get Audi’s new trademark LED daytime driving lights, which first debuted on the sexy Audi R8. Or something like that, it doesn’t matter, all that matters is Porsche tuner TechArt has decided to give the Porsche Cayenne some Audi-like daytime running lights of its own, as seen in the photo above.

The daytime running lights kit also function as signal lamps. I’m not sure exactly how but there are probably another row of orange LEDs below the white running lights that light up when you want to signal or something.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• red7 (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 3:38 am

still an ugly cayenne

• xenith (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 4:08 am

So cool…

• freeze (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 5:36 am

ewww why the bumper so squarish in front?

• awak (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 7:40 am

talking about daytime driving light, here in malaysia sometime i am so frustrated that some people reluctant to turn on the light when its rain or when its a bit dark, its SAFETY.
    of course some of the forumers here live in europe or the other side of the world know this very well about driving light.

but here they just do not respond very good to safety precaution in term of object visibility, its just a flick away on your control stalk, nothing to loose.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 8:04 am

I’m jealous too..! Fierce looking SUV.
    I’m too sexy for my car..

• mokkf82 (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 8:08 am

Shit!~ this is one ugly car.
    But that front portion remind me of those big mafia guy driving it really fast and hiting all kind of object just to avoid the police.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 8:09 am

all cars should come with daytime running lights..
    research has shown for decades now that running your lights even during a bright sunny day improves visibility overall. volvo has also known this for years and some of their 2series cars in malaysia used to have them the moment you turn on the keys although they only used old fashioned bulbs back then and no fancy-shmancy LEDs.

• White Jack (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 8:13 am

Wow the head looks like Hulk Frog ready to eat big :)

Good trend with LED daytime for all fast car (slow car no need la)

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 8:37 am

I wish the cayenne get ‘less ugly’ with that LED .

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 9:49 am

Ah beng mod? What’s the purpose for the LED? fog light? Spot light? or cosmetics purpose? Look at our local Ah Beng’s wiralution, we already have all sorts of different look with LED. front, back, under, top all over the car. and now only it’s Porsche turn. Too late… Hahaa.

• BW (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 11:07 am

cayeene is an ugly car but i don’t mind to have drive one

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 11:07 am

jolly_idiot said,

October 30, 2008 @ 9:49 am

Ah beng mod? What’s the purpose for the LED? fog light? Spot light? or cosmetics purpose?

———————————

they’re called daytime running lights.. they are there as a safety item first, cosmetic item second. its not about who is first or not.. its the reason behind application of the LED.

• ignas (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 11:08 am

if all cars come with LED, wouldnt there be a lot of LED bright dot lights on the road? thus create distraction rather than ‘improve visibilty’. in the end the LED is just another cosmetic marketing gimmick to look cool with no actual function. me still prefer the one-bulb fog light.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 11:22 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,
    October 30, 2008 @ 11:07 am

they’re called daytime running lights.. they are there as a safety item first, cosmetic item second. its not about who is first or not.. its the reason behind application of the LED.
    ———–

IMHO. I don’t see there’s a need on those led during daytime. Since this car is big enuf where i don’t think most people are having problem identifying such a huge godzilla moving on the road. Besides, having the LED lights up during daytime, I don’t think the LED is bright enuf to have it’s visibility to others. I may say it’s more on cosmetics.

• motberg (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 11:43 am

this is nothing to shout about… last night I saw one old ford van with similiar LED lights under the front signal lamps! truly our Malaysian brethens are not short of creativity! :)

• torque (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 12:10 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop,

Bro, hate to say this but jolly_idiot does have one point that struck my attention bro. “Since this car is big enuf where i don’t think most people are having problem identifying such a HUGE GODZILLA moving on the road.” Hahahaha… :-) Kinda true dude…

Still, daytime running lights or not…those bunch of rich guys who’s driving this monster won’t bother about their daytime running lights lor. When they drive fast, they simply tailgating you or flash you like they own the bloody road!

• realALPINAowner (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 12:57 pm

phew…with LED light and a touch by TechArt, this big catzilla still not so pretty.but still wish to own one.it’s still a Porsche

• droll (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 1:29 pm

what are those 2 ugly things at the top of the bonnet? nostrils with nose rings???!

• awak (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 2:03 pm

driving light is an extra safety feature, certainly yes,
    regardless the size of the vehical,

even batter if it is led because it has a good lumination and can easily noticed.
    big hauler like IVECO VOLVO MAN or tankers, prefer led for rear light cluster for extra safety,

its not about saiz which is enough in noticing any vehical, but proper use light catches attentention batter.

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 2:26 pm

fierce and a bit ugly.
    But hell, who doesn’t mind owning one?
    I don’t.

• torque (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 3:49 pm

awak,

There’s no argument about “driving light is an extra safety feature”! But… it just what jolly_idiot said that remind me during my driving experience. It’s really not that hard to notice the arrival of this monster SUV from your side/rear view mirror…it just sooooooo massive to kinda miss it, that’s all dude! No hard feelings though…still, it sure hell add that super cool looks on your car if you got one. Peace!

p/s: Lots of people says this monster is ONE ugly SUV but hey, if you drive one…you just “shout” to the public (in Malaysia la) especially the chicks that you have loads of green in da bank!! I think that says a lot…

• torque (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 4:13 pm

Sorry, out of topic!

Hey Paul, since your forum is all about cars…how about each week you post a segment call “Tyres Review”. Example, the first week you post Brigdestone Potenza model code RE01R and let all of our fellows in paultan.org citizen give their comments on those tyres based on their experience. I mean what are the pros and cons. Who knows it might help someone made up their mind when they decided to change their current tyres brand to others. Just a suggestion…since tyres these days cost like a bomb!!!

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 4:36 pm

This is not daytime running lights. The definition of DRL is that it is switched on the moment you start the car. In the US, even the corolla has this function as I guess some are just too lazy to turn the knob. As for the eye liner Audi LED lamps, it is more of an aesthetic thing to make it look more agressive, likened to those rugby players that put paint under their eyes to make them look fierce. If anything those are just another intimidation tool used by these people to push slow moving cars off the road.

• xavier_lert (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 6:13 pm

aaaaaaaaauuuuuuuuuuuummmmmmmmmmmmmmm

torque

about the tyre thing i agree i wanna comment on my Michelin Pilot Preceda……

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 6:44 pm

nice effect but awful car

• szw (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 6:55 pm

wats da point ?

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 7:12 pm

Porche is jealous,l looks like a lot of ques taken from the Q7. Nice effect but still overall ugly car. Like having lipstick on a pig :P

• csv (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 8:25 pm

copycat!

i think audi should patent the technology, and the cayenne still looks ugly even with the led light, like THAT ONE. LOL.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 8:51 pm

LOVELY !!!!!!

Cayenne forever~ :-)

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 9:07 pm

THE KAHN RANGE ROVER LOOKS BETTER

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 10:26 pm

Only cocks buy porsche. period.

• hans (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 12:17 am

When we said implementing day lights in cars doesn’t mean only applied to this porsche cayenne, but all cars on the road. Day lights on cars have proven safe in many countries. For example canada, their car lights will on automatically once ignited and their countries accident rate had went down significantly after the implementation of this safety policies.

Let’s ignores whether these LED day lights is just designed to beautify the cars or not, as long as it increase the safeness of us on the road, why not…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 8:37 am

dodgeviper88 said,
    October 30, 2008 @ 4:36 pm

This is not daytime running lights. The definition of DRL is that it is switched on the moment you start the car. In the US, even the corolla has this function as I guess some are just too lazy to turn the knob. As for the eye liner Audi LED lamps, it is more of an aesthetic thing to make it look more agressive, likened to those rugby players that put paint under their eyes to make them look fierce. If anything those are just another intimidation tool used by these people to push slow moving cars off the road.
    —————————————————–

just because you guys havent seen the application of these lights very much or at all, or have not even seen the results of the research, doesnt mean they are not a safety feature. just cause its new to you, and you dont know the purpose of it, doesnt mean your opinions are right.

• BlackJKX (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 10:25 am

i’ve seen some wira install this lamp lining just under the headlamp.
    Tak pelik pun…

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 12:03 pm

DRLs are useful in countries that don’t get much sunlight like Canada and Scandinavian countries, but they are unnecessary and potentially distracting in sunny countries.

Some manufacturers in the US have made DRLs standard, which works ok for the north of the country but when driving in say, California, the DRLs simply glare and distract, especially to people who are naturally a bit more sensitive to light. Not to mention occasionally piss off other drivers who don’t know you have DRLs and think you’re trying to intimidate them.

If all of the cars had them in a sunny climate it would be an absolute glare-fest and potentially hazardous, made even worse by the common problem of poorly adjusted lights.

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 12:09 pm

A better option for local conditions, which usually swing between glaring sunlight and dark overcast rainclouds, is light-sensitive headlamps or even better, proper driver education and awareness. Though there’s not much chance of either for the majority of drivers here unfortunately. In the US for instance you can be pulled over and ticketed for not having your headlamps on one hour before dark, or during a heavy downpour.

• droll (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 1:01 pm

yeah and i absolutely hate those heroes who drive at night with only their front foglamps turned on (which only turns on the front parking lights) what the hell?

trying to look cool or trying to save a few ringgit by prolonging the lifespan of the bulb (or battery) vs a bigger bill when you get involved in an accident?

i had a very scary experience once as I was exiting a junction and merging into a main road. i stopped to look right (it was a one-way street) and what i saw freaked me out. i saw trees disappearing but couldn’t see what was making them disappear! yep…….it was twilight and the culprit was a bus. the lighting was just right that i couldn’t make out the bus but could make out what it was blocking. needless to say, the driver should have switched on his headlamps.

never take road safety for granted…..

• droll (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 1:03 pm

and may i add that i had a friend in the passenger seat and he too didn’t see the bus. but he didn’t notice the missing trees either. he thought it was all clear.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 2:02 pm

even the touareg is cooler than the cayenne

• awak (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 2:13 pm

driving light is not much to produce a glare, volvo for instance, people would not have a problem having it turned on ,not much an irritation to pedastrian or other motorist,
    its luminousity of driving light is calibrated for this purpose,

• albagmane (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 4:40 pm

wow… the LEDs… i wonder in long term these lights will burnt and malfunction since daytime oso on, night time oso on… signal lights oso their business…

• David9988 (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 4:56 pm

All new Mercs have the daytime driving light feature. You just have to change the settings in the trip computer. In some countries, it is a legal requirement to have lights on during the day.

• aMoei (Member) on Nov 01, 2008 at 3:05 am

ugly

• huckerz (Member) on Nov 01, 2008 at 10:35 am

TIIIIRUUUUUU AUDII!!!!

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Nov 01, 2008 at 12:36 pm

They are lower intensity than headlights but I assure you they do glare and distract in sunny conditions. Again, they are suited for countries which don’t get as much sun but not for sunny climates. Unfortunately with most versions you cannot turn them off or adjust them to suit conditions.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 11:53 am

huckerz said,

November 1, 2008 @ 10:35 am

TIIIIRUUUUUU AUDII!!!!
    —————————-
    porsche owns audi , in a messy way

• Ho OC. on May 15, 2009 at 8:21 pm

it seems everybody is talking about the Q5, is it really that great, so when it makes it way to KL, I like to see it too.