Nissan develops nuclear “X-ray” for engine oil flow

Nissan has partnered up with the Japan Atomic Energy Agency (JAEA) to develop a new neutron imaging system which can be used to precisely visualize oil flow in an engine operating at high speed, allowing the car manufacturer to study the behaviour of lubricant in an engine and pin-point precisely where frictional losses are happening so that fuel consumption and CO2 emissions can be reduced. This is a project under the Nissan Green Program 2010.

The system uses neutron radiography and high-speed imaging to look at the oil flow through the engine block to each component, oil splash from the crankshaft and oil delivery to the final drive gear.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 12:02 pm

very interesting stuff.. i wonder how the other engine manufacturers do the same job today and whether they have their own x-ray technologies?

but as with all paultan threads.. i’m just waiting for someone to come along to spoil the discussion by making a comment like.. “proton is crap, dont have this kind of technology.. blah blah…”

• 707 (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 12:45 pm

“proton is crap, dont have this kind of technology” heheee oops!

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 12:47 pm

haha…agree with BanyakMasukWorkshop..

Hope someone from MINT can read this topic.. Automotive+nuclear may be very interesting!!

Basher..know what is MINT?

• farghmee (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 12:59 pm

cool~:)

• ragnahse (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 1:29 pm

this technology will then be shared with Renault to produce better cars for the public….one of the many advantages of technology sharing n collaboration..many other car manufacturers do this…putting behind ego many other unnecessary aspects behind just to focus on improvisation..its a business after all.. n v consumers win…granted all these companies don’t merge into one and kill off competition..

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 2:22 pm

Good research. Nissan have some of the most reliable engine from my experience. It took decades before the valve seals & rings gave way and the engine started to consume engine oil (Nissan Sunny engine for example).

With this ‘engine scanning’ technology, soon their engine could last a lifetime. No need to change car.

And its my turn. “proton is crap, dont have this kind of technology”

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 2:40 pm

Wisdom said,
    November 11, 2008 @ 2:22 pm

And its my turn. “proton is crap, dont have this kind of technology”
    ———————————————–

what you’re saying is crap as well, because to be fair, you should be mentioning every single manufacturer who supposedly doesnt have this technology as well.

then again.. i thought toyotas the one with the unbreakable engines perception wise…?

• droll (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 2:40 pm

Smart!

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 2:56 pm

Banyakmasukworkshop,

Its me on sarcastic mode. I thought everybody can take their chance to condemn Proton. Haha.

Correct. Toyota, especially those from 90’s (Corollas, Camry, Corona) was bulletproof cars but engine aside, i’ve heard and saw some of their cars been niggles with reliability issues lately.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 3:56 pm

i just read on the US articles just now… Toyota has lost their reliable image as the camry, altis is not recommended.

i m not reading the full articles though but that the meaning though… also forgot the website.. but i am not lying…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 3:57 pm

i just read on the US articles just now… Toyota has lost their reliable image as the camry, altis is not recommended.

i m not reading the full articles though but thats the meaning… also forgot the website.. but i am not lying…

sori for bad manglish

• mokkf82 (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 4:09 pm

Nice techies.
    then they can start using x-ray to scan all the vehicle during final inspection and check all those hidden problems.

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 4:22 pm

Watch out. Grammar teacher at work here. Haha.

‘Not like that la actually broken oso can but to condemn others, we have to look sharp, hence the need of good vocab and grammar then look confident to condemn proton like we are from high class type.’

Above is the example of acceptable broken manglish. Cheers!!

Back to the article, here’s a link for some pricipal of neutron imaging. It detects hydrogen and one of it’s main application is visualisation of fluids moving through metallic containers. Its a non-destructive test. Nice.
    http://www-llb.cea.fr/neutrono/nr1.html

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 4:23 pm

lol…like kinda throughout CCT scan of the human body? Well, lots of car manufacturer still do not concern about these greeny thingy, just sales and how much petrol they can sell. Dang~

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 4:37 pm

Is it something like the pipe tracing? well, jump in a small amount of Uranium-232, and trace it using Nuclear tracer?

• farghmee (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 5:16 pm

neutron imaging..
    so, can we say that lube at high rpm (for sure at hi temperature) behaves
    as different as we know now?
    or
    maybe this neutron imagine is the only way to obtain (to verify) true behaviour of the lube, whether it behaves as it intended in the fluid numerical calculations..

need to read more on radioactive decay in wikipedia ;)

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 6:20 pm

dats how automakers in developed country thinks……

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 8:33 pm

maybe this will develop into new techniques to change fuel injection into the piston or used to find cracks in the engine

• peYno (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 9:42 pm

i’m waiting for ahbeng japanese wannabe comment
    ” since this technology come from Japan (nissan) i believe in future Perodua (toyota son) oso will have such technology..

unlike proton..

prrrfthhh

• locoroco2 (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 10:11 pm

hmmm…this X-ray only serves a purpose for combustion engine right? Nissan Green Program 2010 still focuses on combustion engine? Shouldn’t it on electric power engine? Someone please enlighten me..

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 11:41 pm

For a high capital company they could run a few expensive projects simultaneously.

We have a good team here. I have some gamma radiation left in my body from my last sterilization study. Lets use that see what happen inside our Campro. We could fix a thing or two.

• csv (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 12:15 am

meeting of science and technology.

good for us!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 11:58 am

Wisdom said,
    November 11, 2008 @ 2:56 pm

Banyakmasukworkshop,

Its me on sarcastic mode. I thought everybody can take their chance to condemn Proton. Haha.
    ———————————

even if the topic was on roti canai, people will be condemning proton ;)

• proton supporter (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 1:53 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop!!!!what the hell are you??how can u said that proton is crap??can u make a good car likes proton??u is so bullshit!!!just can talk like u are superb!!!how can u compare the established car makers such like nissan that had develep their business almost hundred of years??proton just established for 22 years…then how u can expect proton to be more superb than other car makers…plz think rasionally…dont think like the fool man..or u already fool man??by the way for me proton is superb..for only 22 years old proton can be recognise around the world..see how vw want to buy proton share..this prove proton is precious

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 2:57 pm

Teh tarik topic also blame proton :)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 3:12 pm

proton supporter said,
    November 12, 2008 @ 1:53 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop!!!!what the hell are you??how can u said that proton is crap??can u make a good car likes proton??u is so bullshit!!!just can talk like u are superb!!!how can u compare the established car makers such like nissan that had develep their business almost hundred of years??proton just established for 22 years…then how u can expect proton to be more superb than other car makers…plz think rasionally…dont think like the fool man..or u already fool man??by the way for me proton is superb..for only 22 years old proton can be recognise around the world..see how vw want to buy proton share..this prove proton is precious
    ————————————-

hmm.. i cant even make up my mind if you’re being sarcastic, or you are really serious with what you say.

..AND, please dont be a Blind Basher like you are now.. you are no better than all those who bash proton without checking facts and just opening your mouth.

My advice to you is, i suggest you do a search on my postings in pauls blog, and read my comments on proton before you make another posting. If not, you’ll just end up looking like a ranting-raving lunatic.

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 7:10 pm

add ons..hehe

with all the techs outside the country..
    shudnt proton be learning much faster oredi?
    they shud be i think..
    i’m not saying that proton shud just copycat all the successful big carmaker company..
    but make an example out of them rite?

we shudnt reinvent the wheel..
    its oredi there..make something more out of it i say.. ;) be innovative..

but i dont really think thats the problem with proton though..hehe
    its more of a failed decisions made by the management + politics etc..

anyways, proton ARE doing farely well nowadays since DSZ take over…
    i say, now we are finally heading to the right direction..at last… ;)

• varman24 (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 9:13 am

proton boleh install tak.hehehehe

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 2:10 pm

x-ray….medical check up

• hidrogentank (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 10:33 am

this is what i call progress.BANZAI progress!