VIDEO: Carbon Motors E7 purpose-built police car

Carbon Motors E7Remember the Carbon Motors E7 purpose-built police car that this blog covered sometime last year?

The car has become a reality now and Carbon Motors is now trying to pitch the purpose-built vehicle to police departments, and what better way to do that than to showcase it at the 115th Annual International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP) conference in San Diego.

Their pitch is simple and makes sense. While other servicemen like fire fighters and even postal delivery personnel get specialised vehicles, the 800,000 law enforcement officers in the US and pretty much all over the world have to make do with retrofitted vehicles not designed to function as a police vehicle, though I bet the Italian policemen who are assigned to the Lamborghini police cars probably don’t have much to complain about that.

Carbon Motors also claims the E7 has a lower cost of ownership, which could be a major draw factor for the US government who has had to blow plenty of cash recently on its financial sector bail-out. They’ve even done a comparison chart between the E7 and its competitors to show its advantages.

A quick point-form run-down of the specs is available after the jump together with a video of the E7. We now also have shots of the interior, complementing the 3D renderings of the exterior we saw last year.

VIDEO: Carbon Motors E7

VIDEO: Carbon Motors E7 – Roadshow Promo

PHOTO GALLERY: Carbon Motors E7
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

[cpg_album:140]

Carbon Motors E7 Specifications 1

Carbon Motors E7 Specifications 2

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 5:29 pm

first! yay!

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 5:32 pm

Wow…Cool!! Remind me the transformer..ah.. i forgot what its called..that police robot

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 5:33 pm

damn…2nd..haha

• Dracryst (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 5:34 pm

It looks….. odd. A bit like a elongated Savvy or some sort. But it’ll serve well I think. XD

• droll (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 5:37 pm

for being first, you will wake up tomorrow morning with one hand missing and your head under the bed being totally separated from your body, but you would still be alive! LOL.

man, this is a good pitch for the police officers. and i’d agree it’s a step in the right direction. but but….it has 18inch STEEL wheels???? (i’m assuming that’s not referring to the tyres). wouldn’t some other material be lighter and stronger than that?

diesel too. woohoo loads of torque. i’m guessing all that equipment is bogging down the car and preventing it from doing a better 0-100 time. 50%/50% weight distribution is good too! does it comply with pedestrain safety standards and what is its NCAP rating? :) wouldn’t want to waste precious little police officers in accidents in this vehicle.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 5:41 pm

well… it surely somethng that public never gets… how big is the engine capacity?

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 5:41 pm

300hp? cool!!!..

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 5:46 pm

Just like transformers deception, it just totally cool, anyway how much will it be?

• farghmee (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 5:49 pm

i wonder if the villain could steal this car from the cops.
    sure the cops will have tough time catching up with the villain :p

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 6:02 pm

maybe after this they will produce real ROBOCOP..

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 6:11 pm

wonder what would happen to all the crown victorias in the US. Most of that model’s sales comes from police car purchases.

• w_lighter (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 6:16 pm

75 MILES per hour rear crash capability

1) Is that a typo or something?
    2) So does it mean that the crimal have better protection than the cops?
    3) As far as i know you would want police to do the crashing. Not the criminals. Someone has been playing to much Need For Speed…

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 6:22 pm

not bad… they should have more blue flashers !!!

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 6:42 pm

Picture one of these sneaking up your rear view mirror…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 6:46 pm

It does look like something that would roll off Proton’s production line…heheh…so I guess Proton designers have a reason to be proud…no? =P

• aki_zz (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 7:04 pm

looks like a toy car. haha

• nyte_skater (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 7:54 pm

wow, this is an awesome car. there are switches and folding things all over the places.

• carsut (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 8:12 pm

its beyond awsome cool!!!.. 300 bhp!!! wow..

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 8:30 pm

it is lotus designed if u followed paul’s blog from last year, so theres something for proton to be proud of

anyways, its a very nice stealth plane-ish car, i dont want to be chased by that. heck this is even faster than a stock evo

• oodane (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 8:38 pm

wow..IF Msia got this patrol car,im pretty much sure that more people would like to join the force..hehe..in Traffic la..
    weewoooweewoooweewooo..beri laluan.beri laluan..

• kei9 (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 9:09 pm

frontalside design of the car really have the lines similar to the satria Neo.

Yeah this car is awesome!

Better then the italians polizia Lambo?
    I think not :D

• albagmane (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 9:14 pm

this car is only applicable to US anyway… we only can watch and drool over it… Waja as Malaysian police cars consider not safe as its a family sedan *roflmao*

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 10:11 pm

extremely COOL :-)

• SY0H (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 10:35 pm

Hie,

Yup, this car reminds me a lot of Robocop series. Most likely the designer loves to watch Robocop too. LOL.

Owh yeah, it resembles a little bit like oversize Proton Waja, especially the rim and the front fender.

That police car does resemble a little bit like Barricade of the Decepticon.

I wonder if our Malaysian police will buy these cars too for hot pursuit.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 10:52 pm

nice car…better than many passenger car…

i dont know why everytime i look at it..it just remind me of a proton…

front bonnet looks like a waja

side fender looks like satria neo

front lights and all looks like proton savvy..

find out whose the designer for this..i bet he is a ex proton man..hehe

• charles27 (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 11:07 pm

wa.. look like robocop car already.. kakaka.
    the roof need some rework.. not nice.

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 11:47 pm

‘nice car…better than many passenger car…’
    -prem3377

I bet nobody wants to be a passenger on this car.

It have spacing to put hands at the back- handcuffed.

• csv (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 12:19 am

nice man!

now police really got true authority and can participate in illegal races.

but cannot do PIT maneveures anymore since the car like a gem. lol.

• fighter_B2500 (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 12:23 am

i think there ll be version of e7 for civilian later…like hummer h1, h2 n h3..and sure the rich ‘bling2’ hip hop guy ll be interested on it…hehe

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 12:28 am

Wisdom said,

(I bet nobody wants to be a passenger on this car.)

This is only your opinion, may be need to do modification at the interior, especially the seat, don’t compare your mind with other’s.

Paul Tan says: I think he means he does not want to be arrested by the police!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 7:04 am

Why doesn’t Proton negotiate for the rights to build the right-hand-drive versions for ASEAN/UK/Australia/NZ. Perhaps their R&D or LG CNS can improve it.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 7:43 am

whiteeye and wisodm has something to settle between them…

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 7:47 am

pls dont spoil this topic with proton issue..or G issue..

• ignas (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 10:10 am

no wonder it resemblances so much of waja’s body. good job proton…i mean lotus! too! too bad will never see car like this in msia. say, who wants to go for a free ride hehehe.

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 11:25 am

“This is only your opinion, may be need to do modification at the interior, especially the seat, don’t compare your mind with other’s.”
    -whiteeye

Yes i believe you want to be the passenger of that car. Straight to ‘lokap’.

“Paul Tan says: I think he means he does not want to be arrested by the police!”

Thanks Paul for clearing that up.

“whiteeye and wisdom has something to settle between them…”
    -autojohndoe

Haha. No heart feeling huh whieteye.

• bolo (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 11:40 am

ha ha ha…to punish and to enslave

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 12:02 pm

To Paul Tan

Paul Tan says: I think he means he does not want to be arrested by the police!—

How dare you to insult me, this is between me and Wisdom none of your business, mine your on business, what wrong to product it, as the design is cool. I have misunderstanding to respect this kind of person, anyway mind your on business.

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 12:15 pm

To Paul Tan,

If you want to block me from signing in, fine! I’m not interested anyway, do careful words that come form you!

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 12:50 pm

We are more not interested with you either!
    Rubbish!

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 1:27 pm

pls la whiteeye, dont make it personal…

later it can be ‘Whiteeye bashing forum’ … sori to say…

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 2:13 pm

Legendary Whiteeye…huh!

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 2:18 pm

“do careful words that come form you!”
    -whiteeye

Its not ‘form’. Its ‘from’.

Calm down.
    Good words come from calm heart.

And i believe Paul are being fair to justify my sentences. You’re getting funnier whiteeye.

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 2:21 pm

‘mine your on business’
    -whiteeye

Which means ‘my own are on top of your business’? Is that what you trying to tell us whiteeye?

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 2:27 pm

‘what wrong to product it’
    -whiteeye

What the heck is that? Haha. Marvelous!!! Priceless!!

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 2:30 pm

Wisdom thanks for reminder glad to had an “English teacher” my ass, this is only the beginning, watch ur step!

bmpower and autojohndoe, if you want to get involve in it, you’re welcome!

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 2:37 pm

wohoo..

whiteeye :
    Paul has every rights and business to comment watever he wanted in his own site i believe..

ur d one who had issues with one of the forumnist in the forum, n i also believe that its none of our business to even know what u guys are quarreling about right?
    (sorry, i dont know what happen between u n wisdom)

also, i dont think anyone insults u here..Paul is just clearing out some points that u misunderstood.

nonetheless, please get over ur arguments somewhere else n if can..no need to get too personal i hope..

everyone have their own piece of mind to share right? so chill ;)

happy motoring~

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 2:48 pm

Rufus,

Nothing much happen actually. Its just me and our friend whiteeye aka whiner having some english tution.

Paul will never ban people because i believe he understand the concept of online blogging / forum. Its an open world. But he got limit too.

Some people easily got offended like our whiteeye whiner here. But he’ll learn.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 3:05 pm

whiteeye said,
    November 12, 2008 @ 12:02 pm

To Paul Tan

Paul Tan says: I think he means he does not want to be arrested by the police!—

How dare you to insult me, this is between me and Wisdom none of your business, mine your on business, what wrong to product it, as the design is cool. I have misunderstanding to respect this kind of person, anyway mind your on business.
    ———————————–

whiteye.. just cool down bro. and paul wasnt trying to be sarcastic. so no need to get upset. and as rufus said, everything said in this blog is paul’s business anyways. we are just the ones who “tumpang” here.

also, its a public forum.. whatever you say or do, everyone can see it. so what you’re saying is also our business.. the quicker you understand that, the less upset you will feel. so just relax man.

• RCM (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 4:10 pm

[
    whiteeye said:

Wisdom thanks for reminder glad to had an “English teacher” my ass, this is only the beginning, watch ur step!

bmpower and autojohndoe, if you want to get involve in it, you’re welcome ]

Now everyone scared already, pls whiteye, dont hurt us!!! Pls go somewhere else..pls,pls..we r so afraid of u… (suggestion : english class)

( With that kind of attitude, you r inviting everyone. ;) )

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 4:12 pm

get into the e7 car! get into the e7 car!

there is a chaos out here….

u will be safer in there…

• RCM (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 4:32 pm

Yeah, back “into” the e7 car; i believe one day the car will be sold to public like the humvee, because i think lots of non-police people like the car..

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 4:48 pm

i think there will be new ROBOCOP movie and the car will be featured… i am waiting for it….

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 4:50 pm

Only to Wisdom, watch out ur word, i don’t need your tuition, if you so educated go and be a lawyer,do you think that you have the right to judge people’s English , don’t play a fool of me, You are the one who started it, so be it!

RCM do you want to get involved in it? If you don’t know anything just shut up!

• ReactiX (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 4:55 pm

Rear door is suicide type. cooooool!!!!!!

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 5:04 pm

“whiteeye said,
    November 12, 2008 @ 12:28 am

Wisdom said,

(I bet nobody wants to be a passenger on this car.)

This is only your opinion, may be need to do modification at the interior, especially the seat, don’t compare your mind with other’s.

Paul Tan says: I think he means he does not want to be arrested by the police!”

-The post where it all started. Thanks.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 5:07 pm

pls dont start it again….

everybody!!!! get back into e7 car!!! there is likely chaos to happen again….

hahaha… no hard feeling though…

• ignas (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 5:56 pm

after watching the clips, it really looks like how they introduced robocop in the first movie lol.

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 6:56 pm

i wonder..
    the car itself is a beauty..
    will they really use the PIT maneuvers to stop bandits..?

huhuuu…habis la calar kereta…

one more thing…the siren lights…if broken…how much are the repair job?

walauu…;)

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 7:40 pm

“pls dont start it again….

everybody!!!! get back into e7 car!!! there is likely chaos to happen again….

hahaha… no hard feeling though…”
    -autojohndoe

Let me in! Let me in! Its a lost Wild Bore out here!

Haha. Piece.

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 8:00 pm

english teacher…

peace or piece..?

LOL just kidding man… ;p

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 8:06 pm

Haha. This is hilarious.

I might want a piece of him. lol

• steering (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 10:29 pm

cool car …like the consistency of lines

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 10:47 pm

whiteeye no need english tution teacher.
    He/she need Psychiatrist actually…

• fighter_B2500 (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 8:53 am

bmpower said,

November 12, 2008 @ 10:47 pm

whiteeye no need english tution teacher.
    He/she need Psychiatrist actually…

i got friend work as Psychiatrist at tanjung rambutan, i can ask her to arrange the session….i really mean it..

• varman24 (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 9:14 am

Its the new TrAnSfOrMeRs.

• SY0H (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 10:23 am

I QUOTE:

“whiteeye said,

November 12, 2008 @ 12:02 pm ”

I’ve been in Paul.Tan.Org or any other forums in the web for many years. This is the first time in my lifetime, I see an idiot who even doesn’t know what his writing (whiteeye) . There are times when I’m not in the same term with Paul.Tan (the owner of the website), but he is still a cool guy, brilliant enough to cater car enthusiasts to visit and unleashed their comments as well. He deserve my respect. But still, it is a taboo to ‘whack’ site admin without proper reason. Unlike you “whiteeye” you’re an asshole who doesn’t even know how to respect people. And your command and understanding of English language is very poor till’ you can’t even understand what “Wisdom” was trying to say! Typical idiot+arrogant+wannabe dogs+lowlife son-of-the-bitch. Your argument are basically non-substance with nothing at all to argue in the first place, just plainly post your idiotic comments without nothing in particular to say. Just wanna cheap attention. Well, you’ve got one; I’m giving you the “Paul.Tan’s best Blind-Idiot-Basher Award” to you “whiteeye”. Administrator of the website, please remove this asshole from the system. No point keeping his account in the server, you don’t want to taint your server with this idiot. He doesn’t even deserve 1 byte of the server’s memory! I rest my case.

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 11:14 am

calm down everyone..
    i think bro whiteeye just snap thats why he’s so mad..
    n pls wisdom n others, dont tease him nor his english..
    he’s just like us, cars enthusiasts.. ;)

p/s: siapa kata paul tak bagi komen dlm BM…? so, taip je la dlm BM…adoi laa… ;) (if thats the main reason why all of this started la…be nice ppl…)

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 11:18 am

err..wonder whiteeye is malaysian or not?

• Hilmax (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 11:47 am

The misunderstanding factor in this ‘mataputih & bijak’ war because ‘mataputih’ say he wats this police car turned into passenger cars.
    Its like say ‘beautiful’ to its friend but his friend don’t see the object.
    Please write in full sentence,LOL. By the way, sure the police car look mean @ scary when its show up from behind, cos no way to outrun them. Just stop or be stopped(busted).

• ignas (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 11:49 am

fighter_B2500 said,

November 13, 2008 @ 8:53 am
    —-
    your psychiatrist fren at tanjung rambutan, is she pretty? i wan to meet her too :P

rufus-x said,

November 12, 2008 @ 6:56 pm
    —-
    you got a point there. nice to see, but how nice to maintain? unless there are no crimes that would damage the car.

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 12:01 pm

He’s gone. Now nobody will entertain us. :(

• mukhri88 (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 12:10 pm

bound and gag whiteeye and throw him into this cop car, let him struggle inside for an hour, then throw him in lockup let him get married to ‘Big Bear’ Billy.

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 12:22 pm

ignas :
    wouldnt it be nice if the nano-skin techs like the ones on knight-rider version 2008 truly exists…haha
    (just saw the movie again last nite)
    then all of us wud have a bumper car fiesta when we get bored LOL ;p

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 2:09 pm

european police cars are the best, malaysian one you can outrun them anyday

• ignas (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 2:40 pm

rufus-x:

havent watch that movie yet, but i bet it would hehe. ok, its in my list of the next pasar malam visit :P shhh…

mukhri88:

that joyride part reminds of me the movie, Grindhouse: Death Proof. owned! lol.

• Realeyes (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 4:25 pm

How can suicide doors improve the safety of this car? hence the name..

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 8:22 pm

-Realeyes

Well i guess its more towards the safety of goods that will be transported using E7. Normal door could give him the opportunity to jump-out to freedom whereas suicide door will make him smashed to the tarmac for good.

• ezralimm (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 11:48 pm

This car just looks good.

Im sure if it’s released a civilian version would sell well too, just like the civilian hummer.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 11:06 am

Realeyes said,

November 13, 2008 @ 4:25 pm

————————–
    easier for the bandits to escape

• orangetribal (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 6:25 pm

this car if not half,it’s partially comparable to the lambo 560-4 which is currently being used for the italian polizias…damnit this car sure breaks badasses from running away even before it begins!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 10:19 pm

what the f**k is this !!!!!!! U guyz given me a “HEART-ATTACK” man !!!! A friendly comment from Paul Tan had been mis-intepreted till u guyzZz are bashin’ out !!!! Neway, ChIlL GuyzZz!!!!!! Mentally-disturbed guyZzZ are given exception here !!!!!

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 3:06 pm

what car is this based on, dodge charger?