RON97 priced at RM2.00 a liter effective Nov 18

Fuel-Wallet GaugeMost of us was expecting a fuel price cut to happen either on Friday or Saturday last week but the weekend came and went and nothing happened. I know some of you are probably getting a little anxious.

But no worries, the good news is there will be a price cut after all, and its once again an amount of 15 sen that will be effective midnight tonight.

The following are the new prices of fuel in Malaysia slashed by 15 sen each effective tomorrow, the 18th of November 2008:

Fuel Old Price Reduction New Price
RON97 RM2.15 RM0.15 RM2.00
RON92 RM2.05 RM0.15 RM1.90
Diesel RM2.05 RM0.15 RM1.90

In other motoring-related news, the Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak revealed that the Cabinet had discussed recently on whether to declassify the country’s toll concession agreements, but he declined to reveal any result, instead prefering to leave it to the Works Mnister Datuk Mohd Zin Mohamed to make a statement.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mct (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 6:22 pm

too little
    the cruel oil price is usd 56
    haiz…..
    our g cannot tahan critics and simple thing also call isa to protect those people
    the word no gain no pain is not useable in malaysia
    malaysia is got pain but no gain or somebody can gain without any pain ^^

• madmarzio (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 6:37 pm

gosh.. i just filled up my tank.. damn..

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 6:44 pm

price now even without subsidy should be around RM1.90. We’re still overpaying petrol. What a ripoff

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 6:47 pm

Oh an madmarzio, just pump 10 litres everytime you go to petrol station.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 6:53 pm

This is a stupid polical trick again. with the current oil per barrel price. we should get less than RM 1.90

• HMMaster (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 7:01 pm

argh…. just pumped this morning! >:(

• 9166 (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 7:14 pm

Thank you Mr.G.
    You can still maintain your profit margin from the people even when you charge RM2.00 per litre. But please make sure your spend the profit carefully.

• calvin_ngan (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 7:20 pm

@ everyone in this discussion

Crude oil price is USD56 now, but the petrol price is RM2 per litter, now, people have been making noise saying it should be less than RM1.90. We have to remember that when it was RM1.92, the ringgit was strong, today it has weaken to 3.6 against USD, therefore, I believe 1.92 is not possible coz we’re buying the same amount for less because of a weaker ringgit. I think so…

• ignas (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 7:30 pm

zzz…say, lets go for a long journey trip to thailand. lol tiba tiba halfway, the price increases again then no money come bak xD

• ignas (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 7:34 pm

bw, calvin_ngan ur avatar is damn cute lol.

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 7:38 pm

Cheaper goods is what I want. Petrol down to almost before higke, but prices are no where near pre hike prices

• najibest (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 7:59 pm

calvin_ngan,

nah we’re still overpaying. do have a look at how much the americans are paying right now and you’ll know that we’re overpaying…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 8:27 pm

ignas said,

November 17, 2008 @ 7:30 pm

zzz…say, lets go for a long journey trip to thailand. lol tiba tiba halfway, the price increases again then no money come bak xD

————————————-

err.. not to sure what you mean, in thailand, petrol costs more than RM3.00 per liter.

• 9166 (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 8:53 pm

hellooo.since when thai petrol over rm3. Try rm2.30 last month. You seem to forget that there is no toll from north to south.2000km in total. And they pay 10 to 30k less for their cars. Diesel was rm1.53 prior to the increase.how about now?

• 9166 (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 8:58 pm

and thai fuel is euro4 compliant. In malaysia not even euro2 but charge for euro4. Say what you like, the g is making a lot from the people.i just hope they put the profit to good use.

• corollaaltis (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 9:06 pm

How about shell V power?

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 9:24 pm

aiya, just 15sen ja. I tot we can have lower than 1.92. Since now crude oil drop like hell.

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 9:38 pm

calvin_ngan,
    oil price now is at USD55.95 per barrel, which is RM202 using 1USD = RM3.60. Well nevermind, let’s say our ringgit depreciate gila till 1USD = RM4, which brings the price to RM223.80. Now lets take 223.80 and divide it by 117 litres, and how much do you get? And don’t forget the 30 cents subsidy included in it as well. Once you count all these stuff, please come and tell me if your statement is accurate or just pure bs.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 9:41 pm

calvin_ngan said,
    November 17, 2008 @ 7:20 pm

@ everyone in this discussion

Crude oil price is USD56 now, but the petrol price is RM2 per litter, now, people have been making noise saying it should be less than RM1.90. We have to remember that when it was RM1.92, the ringgit was strong, today it has weaken to 3.6 against USD, therefore, I believe 1.92 is not possible coz we’re buying the same amount for less because of a weaker ringgit. I think so…

—————————————

ur froggie pic luks cute …haha… neway, ringgit is weakening bcoz government is weak !!!!!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 9:50 pm

i must go back to JB after midnight today to fill up my tank….haiZzZZ… RON 98 fuel in singapore is now $1.76 per litre…. RON 92 at $ 1.653 and RON 95 at $ 1.686…… Anwar Ibrahim !!!! where are you ??? Why no comment ??? Corrupted BN and G !!!!

• naikmotoje (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 10:04 pm

NOW we subsidized our G pulak! WTH!!

• naikmotoje (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 10:05 pm

It should be RM1.70 or lower la… that means rakyat subsidize 30 cent

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 10:44 pm

Anwar cant comment on this, as the fuel price in Malaysia is only control by 3-4 person (UXXO Guys). Even Anwar comment all the things, will BN listen to it?

What i heard the insider story is that, they dont want to let the pertronas ppl loss money on thier fuel pam. As a lot of those fuel pam station is own by those datuk datuk or well know person which are link to the G. So they say dont want loss a lot of money, then the G do some show by dropping bit by bit for them to clear the old stock and buy cheaper stock to earn more money… Haiz… When fuel price high they shoot up fast fast, but then world fuel price down fast fast, they delay kau kau…

• ignas (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 11:25 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

November 17, 2008 @ 8:27 pm
    —-
    ops haha, i mean since petrol price is lowered but i still dont feel a thing, impulse feeling suddenly feel like driving to thailand for a short vacation. but anyway, pls pardon my misleading statement haha.

i agree that if G reduces bit by bit really has very little impact on us consumer. we’re paying tax, and yet subsidizing our G back. i still believe that the rebate idea was dumb, else how much we have already been saved by now (imagine petrol price lower than rm1.92 now).

• US petrol price per Gallon is 2.05 USD (including all taxes!!!!)

I Gallon = 3.78 liter

Since BN like to compare, let’s compare to US.
    Effective Petrol price = 2.05 * 3.6 / 3.78 = 1.92 RM!!

Najis .. out petrol prices COST MORE THAN US! You paying refinery workers in USD?

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 12:22 am

I can still remember clearly how they convinced us with so call ’30 sen’ subsidy from market price.

Inconsistent, unstable and unjust. This is the government that Malaysian chooses.

• ignas (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 12:33 am

malaysia’s future is bleak…

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 1:32 am

lol..ignas, did u repeat this statement again?lol

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 7:34 am

the malaysian will still complain when the price is even rm1… what make they satisfy is when the price becomes 0… then they will love the country…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 7:37 am

one more thing… i think last time i heard te news that the OPEC country want to reduce the output to increase the crude oil price…

• nebuchadnezzar (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 7:43 am

damn i just filled in full tank yesterday evening…zzz

• 9166 (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 7:57 am

It is not about getting it for free but getting it at the right market price. JohnDeere is about the only person that will happily pay to EUR200 for a can of coke in Malaysia. (at the same time, loving the country)

BTW, about OPEC cutting output, that was last months news. Do diff this time. Normally, prices will go up but not this time. I guess the Bush story is no longer valid as he will not be around shortly, China and India probably has bought forward to last them another 100 years, etc etc. Just not working this time.

• rexis (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 8:27 am

If you say ringgit is weak and crude based on USD, so thats why petrol price cannot reduce further… but we are still earning crude money in USD – okay, this is seriously not relevent to us, they would like to use those money to “develop” the country.

• najibest (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 9:20 am

just in case some of u guys have yet to realized, we have been paying “duty” to the government on the petrol that we bought up to 2004. only after 2004 the government actually subsidized our petrol price. so effectively, we have only been enjoying subsidized petrol price for about 3+ years. diesel is another story as it was heavily subsidized since the beginning up until now where we’re paying market rate.

and yup, with the current crude price, the petrol price should be even lower than RM1.92 that we paid before the HUGE price hike and that’s not including the RM0.30 subsidy that they promise. for all i know, u can remove all subsidy from now, let us pay the market price, and save those money for the future to cushion the crude price hike in the future.

also OPEC lowering production? have u heard of law of supply and demand? the major oil consuming nations would be USA, China and India. USA is being hit hard by the economic crisis, thus lower demand..china and india is faring better but they’re not in the shape they have been in the past few years. americans are scrambling for small fuel economical cars, abandoning their pride and joy huge cars, SUVs and pickups making GM and Ford fall from grace even faster and effectively lowering demand for more oil…

and yes, the crude price would also be unpredictable, the last time during the middle east wars in 1970’s crude was predicted to breach USD100/bbls, but that obviously never happened, and last 2 months, it was predicted to breach USD200/bbls, that did not happen as well. what price would it be in the future? who knows, but at least let us enjoy the low fuel price in this economical trying times. for the future generations? well we’re stupid if we keep on relying on oil in the future..oil has changed our lifestyle in the almost 100 years it’s been important, perhaps we can find something else that would change our lifestyle for the next 100 years…

• BrakeFader (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 9:20 am

Price per barrel drops in tens of USD but our price per litre only drops a few cents.

I wonder what is the relevance of US$ currency to us as we are an oil producing company. We don’t pay USD for something that comes out from our own land. If ringgit drops weaker against USD, does this also mean our roti canai and mi goreng price would go up as well?

Besides when USD dropped to RM3.3 few months back, it didn’t affect our fuel price so where’s the connection?

At the moment, we must be subsidizing the government per litre. All of a sudden, as if the word subsidy has banished from the dictionary. Whatever happen to explaination of how much government is subsidizing per litre? Gone with the wind.

• corollaaltis (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 10:21 am

dodgeviper88 said,
    November 17, 2008 @ 9:38 pm

calvin_ngan,
    oil price now is at USD55.95 per barrel, which is RM202 using 1USD = RM3.60. Well nevermind, let’s say our ringgit depreciate gila till 1USD = RM4, which brings the price to RM223.80. Now lets take 223.80 and divide it by 117 litres, and how much do you get? And don’t forget the 30 cents subsidy included in it as well. Once you count all these stuff, please come and tell me if your statement is accurate or just pure bs.
    —————————————————————-
    The standard barrel of crude oil or other petroleum product is 42 US gallons or 158.987Litre ,not 117Litre

• dr_carz (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 11:15 am

Just plain no gratitude and full of anti establishmen. Even if Lim becomes PM u will say he doesnt do a goo Job, look at Lim jr u still condem him…

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 11:16 am

autojohndoe said,
    November 18, 2008 @ 7:34 am

the malaysian will still complain when the price is even rm1… what make they satisfy is when the price becomes 0… then they will love the country…

——————————————

its not about loving the country or whatever shit it is…. its all just regarding not gettin’ fuel prices at the right price….. As of what u said, ur comment doesnt make sense here….. U said ppl will still complain even it Rm1 per litre… If the global market price is Rm 1 and malaysian fuel price is Rm1, i wonder who gonna complain…. i dont think so ppl will have the guts to question it as the price is similar to market price,,,, but then, if global market price 4 fuel is lower than rm 1and the governmnent sell it at rm1, of course ppl will start to complain bcoz you are over-paying…. so beware of what u say…. one more thing, only you yourself will get fuel price at zero if your father is a BN politician…. remember, even wanna go public toilet also have to pay RM0.30 sen, so only heavily drunk ppl will say fuel price at zero ….

• dr_carz (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 11:32 am

Minyak turun lagi dan harga RON 97 adalah RM 2.00 sahaja. Harga asal minyak sebelum kenaikan sebanyak 70 adalah RM 1.90. Jadi pengurangan semuanya adalah sebanyak 60 sen. Ia sudah menghampiri harga asal RM1.90.

Tetapi kita harus ingat kerajaan juga memberi rebat wang tunai kepada pemilik kenderaan. Saya sudah pun mendapat rebat tersebut dan saya sangat menghargainya. Jika kita inginkan harga yang lebih murah kita harus berkorban. Kita hapuskan sahaja rebat tersebut dan harga minyak sudah pasti akan lebih murah.

Macamana ada setuju?

• torque (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 12:39 pm

Well…it’s good news to hear the price is reduced again!! Better than what I expected (which I predicted at most 10 cent reduction only). Still, what it’s fair or justify…it all depends on that individual acceptance or not. Everyone entitled to their opinion. As for me, 2 bucks…hell, it’s way better than silly old 2.72 if you ask me!! NOW…JUST DON’T MAKE THAT STUPID MISTAKE AGAIN ‘G’!!!

• torque (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 12:44 pm

Pangkat je besar…perangai macam makcik kampong!!! Melatah cepat tak pakai otak!! “Opocot! Mak kau! Minyak naik! Harga naik! Barang naik! Opocot pulak! Undi turun!…duuuuuuuuhhh…

• armandd (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 1:38 pm

dodgeviper88 said,

November 17, 2008 @ 9:38 pm

calvin_ngan,

—————————————————————
    The price of USD55.95 per barrel is for CRUDE OIL, which consists of jet fuel, gasoline, diesel, heavy fuel (ship fuel), bitumen etc. From 1 barrel you can only get around 30-35% gasoline if i’m not mistaken. You must also take into account the cost involved in refining the crude oil, transportation, storage, insurance etc. It’s not as simple as many people believe.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 1:54 pm

Shahril has announced that Govt has stopped paying petrol subsidies.

Elaborating, Shahrir said that at a price of US$65 per barrel, the Government would not be paying subsidies and that the focus now would be on deciding whether to set a floor price or figuring out a way for the Government to get some income from the sale of petrol.

• najibest (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 2:40 pm

from “The Star”

“Shahrir said the Government was now enjoying some revenue due to the difference in the ex-refinery price and the price oil companies sell petrol to station operators.

He added that the revenue being taken now was a form of tax that could max out at 60sen per litre.

“After the station operators take their margin of 12.1sen and the oil companies take their margin of 19.1sen, we are left with RM1.69 from RM2.

“If the refinery price is RM1.30 per litre for example, the Government will be taking 39sen per litre as revenue.””

Hopefully everybody can now get a clearer picture…however, i’m really wondering though, in the USA, they’re using the same structure, but somehow most of their roads are toll free…as the TAX collected from petrol sale are used to build roads etc…Malaysia has been collecting tax from petrol sale up to 2002-2004, but somehow we’ve been paying toll for our roads for like forever…wonder why….

do refer to this website for more info on how the gas/petrol price in the USA is calculated

http://www.eia.doe.gov/bookshelf/brochures/gasolinepricesprimer/

and btw armandd…from 1 bbls of crude, we can sell almost everything as other products…it’s not like we’re selling just the petrol that we refined from crude oil…and btw, we import most of our crude from the middle east and their crude yield most gasoline compared to ours that’s more suitable for jet fuel…

• najibest (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 2:51 pm

oh btw, since i have so much time to express my grouses today…let me go on to the toll roads…we all know that the government keep on saying that they’re paying up to RM 20 billion/year for fuel subsidies, since now we’re paying them tax for petrol that we buy, I’m wondering where all these savings are going to? I’m not seeing it anywhere….the public transport are not improving, well even rapid KL is planning to raise their fares next year and they’re supposed to be owned by Ministry of Finance….

we’re still paying tolls for our roads…and some of these roads only cost about RM2 billion to build…some of which the government is paying up to RM500 million in terms of compensation for setting a lower toll rate….hey, if we’re saving RM20 billion/year..it’s enough to buy 1/2 of the toll roads in Malaysia which spare change left to maintain it for a couple more years…but oh well…our countries have so many advisors who are genius and are more capable to advise the government anyway…so i guess all of these would remain a mystery never to be solved….

• osh_kosh (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 2:54 pm

a few week ago, I’ve read a column in our local newspaper (the star) quoting statements made by a Professor in Economic Studies… it’s either a UM or UKM prof.. anyway, the reporter asked the Prof what he believe the fuel price should be looking at the current world crude oil price… after giving his reasoning etc. etc.. he said RM1.62/litre for RON97… & that’s when we are paying RM2.15/litre for RON97 !!!! Imagine how it suppose to be today?

now tell me, who must i believe more? a Prof in the related field or some G ministers? from the flip-flop G?

• gie7 (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 3:10 pm

kerajaan ni pun satu, naik mendadak n turun slow..camne orang tak marah…nak terima kasih pun sakit ati kalau macam ni…sbb boleh turun lagi banyak…terima kasih jg sbb sedar yang minyak dunia turun n ingatkan kerajaan sedar masa naik je…tu pun macam lambat sedar je…

• aliBaPa (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 3:29 pm

Too low.
    The price will only encourage wastage.
    Not environment friendly.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 3:42 pm

najibest,

very true..it will remain a mystery forever…

we will be fooled forever…unless we give PR another 31 seats..till then we wont know the truth…

but even then BN will be a tough opponent and will use all the dirty tactics..

it is frustrating to know we are living like slave in our own country..we earn less,pay for everything we buy with unrealistic prices..cannot live the live we want even if we work hard enough!!!and some stupid minister suggest us to work 16 hours a day..and the same time we see an add on tv to spend time with family.

when they say something.why cant they just keep to their word??what is so hard doing that??and you saying it to 20 million plus people..and yet trying to make all 20 over million people dumb later when implementing it!!

frustrating!!can we do anything about it my fellow malaysians??or we gonna live like this forever??

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 10:06 am

malaysia sucks

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 12:46 pm

truely sucks !!!!!!!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 12:54 pm

IDIOT !!!!! try to get revenue from big bussiness companies and so on !!!!! I wonder why the hell worlds most important thing being taxed for other development !!!! If u use the petrol tax to build highway, only certain ppl will be enjoyion it since not all malaysian use highway , please use ur brain to think of poor ppl whom just using motocycle….!!!! If petrol is less, burden to all malaysian will be reduced, not only to certain malaysian like highway…..
    FUCKING IDIOT BN & G …. Can Understand !!!!!!

OMG…. wait !!!! i noe BN & G are deaf !!!! so what 4 i nid to giv suggestion !!!!!

ANWAR ………….. PLS COME BACK FAST !!!!!!!

i noe even u wanna do good to country also bleedy fuckers like G and BN will try to file up cases on court on you !!!!!!!!!!!!

SHUT THE FUCK BN on next election !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 9:09 am

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

November 19, 2008 @ 12:54 pm

IDIOT !!!!! try to get revenue from big bussiness companies and so on !!!!! I wonder why the hell worlds most important thing being taxed for other development !!!! If u use the petrol tax to build highway, only certain ppl will be enjoyion it since not all malaysian use highway , please use ur brain to think of poor ppl whom just using motocycle….!!!! If petrol is less, burden to all malaysian will be reduced, not only to certain malaysian like highway…..
    FUCKING IDIOT BN & G …. Can Understand !!!!!!

OMG…. wait !!!! i noe BN & G are deaf !!!! so what 4 i nid to giv suggestion !!!!!

ANWAR ………….. PLS COME BACK FAST !!!!!!!

i noe even u wanna do good to country also bleedy fuckers like G and BN will try to file up cases on court on you !!!!!!!!!!!!

SHUT THE FUCK BN on next election !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    ====================================
    TOTALLY, screw bn, fucker abdul razak baginda, so obvious lying about altantuya thing