Shahrir: Government now enjoying fuel tax revenue

Fuel-Wallet GaugeWhat a turn of events! In just a few months we’ve gone through a record number of petrol price hikes and reductions, the hasty introduction of a lump sum-based subsidy cheque, and more. All because of fluctuating crude oil prices.

As of today, Malaysians have begun paying tax for their fuel again… in fact the government has not had to pay the promised RM0.30 per litre fuel subsidy since the beginning of November 2008 due to the dropping crude oil prices which leads to lower refinery prices.

According to Minister of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Datuk Shahrir Samad, the government also collected taxes for fuel from September 2001 to February 2002, but after that period crude oil had gone up so the government had stopped collecting taxes to prevent fuel prices from going up too much.

From the current price of RM2 per litre from RON97 petrol, roughly 12 sen goes to the petrol stations and roughly 19 sen goes to the oil companies. The balance is RM1.69, but Shahrir says this is actually higher than the refinery price.

While he did not say exactly how much refinery prices were at the moment (this will go up and down according to crude oil prices), he gave an example of RM1.30 per litre. This means the government can make as much as 39 sen per litre of fuel, and this amount will vary as the refinery prices go up and down along the month.

Because of the change of situation and the potential now for long-term income from the sale of fuel in this country, the government Economic Council will be meeting this month to decide on a new mechanism for petrol pricing in the country. Things that could be discussed are how often should price revisions be made, and what kind of tolerances towards crude oil prices should there be. I would imagine they could decide on something like a maximum tax when crude oil prices are low (or alternatively, a floor price for petrol), and a maximum subsidy when crude oil prices are high.

It’s sad to see the government so easily turn its back on its promise of a RM0.30 per litre subsidy, but Datuk Shahrir is of the opinion that the current low fuel prices are quite fair and there’s no need to go drop them too much even though the government won’t have to pay fuel subsidies per litre. He says this additional revenue will be used to strengthen the economy in face of the threat of the recession.

I’m pretty sure the Cabinet is happy with Shahrir’s performance as Minister of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs so far. He’s done his job well in helping tighten the government’s coffers, though many would argue it isn’t in the interest of “Consumer Affairs” at all.

All we can do is hope that the money saved and earned will be used in the right channels by those who have the nice job of choosing where to spend the money.

BTW, no one has revealed what the margins, subsidies and revenues are for diesel. Is there room to upgrade to something with less sulphur so we can enjoy cars like the Ford Focus TDCi and a potential upcoming diesel Honda City?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express widespread frustration and skepticism over the Malaysian government's fuel tax policy, perceiving it as a revenue-gathering move rather than benefiting consumers. Many criticize the government for not passing savings from lower global oil prices to the rakyat, accusing officials of corruption, mismanagement, and prioritizing political gains over public welfare. There is also concern that these taxes will be used for questionable mega projects benefiting elites, with calls for better allocation of revenue, improvement in public transport, and lower overall costs. Some mention the lack of transparency around natural gas and GTL technology, feeling Malaysia is lagging behind in energy innovation. Overall sentiment is highly negative towards government actions, with hopes for political change and better accountability in future elections.

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 4:12 pm

maximum tax when crude oil prices are low (or alternatively, a floor price for petrol), and a maximum subsidy when crude oil prices are high.
    —————-
    Maximum tax when crude oil prices are low..AND MAXIMUM SUBSIDY WHEN CRUDE OIL PRICES ARE HIGH??
    check in when we were suffering 2.70, what are they thinking?nuts. And now the price is going down, they wan to increase taxes to coupe with less income? Smart G.

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 4:14 pm

Please separate Minister of Domestic Trade and Minister of Consumer Affairs. Darm.

• Hikaru (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 4:20 pm

Yeah, isn’t cash saved on petrol better than tax collected by Govt that goes no where?

We have been promised the world but yet we only get peanuts. The supposed saving is to improve the public transport but I don’t see more people taking buses or otherwise. Somemore they say they are going to increase the price of express bus tickets. The Govt’s logic is so skewed to the extent that I believe none of the rakyat is believing the dung they are dishing out.

What more now a U-turn in taxing us for our petrol. So now we are even worst that non-oil producing country?

I have not gotten my 625 subsidy because i didn’t renew my license and must wait till next year, so how? I don’t get the subsidy and I am paying for more expensive fuel because apparently I received the subsidy. How fair is that.?

oh…..wait……I am in Malaysia…..I will just lie down while they S***w my back side….

• tommy73 (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 4:37 pm

I can still stomach it, although it’s hard, if no subsidy. But, now terbalik we are subsidising the BN government, WTF! Where is the extra LRT lines promised long time ago? If the G keeps sucking the rakyat, should we just keep quiet, and pray, and hope? I will remember this come next GE!

• torque (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 4:41 pm

Aaaaaaaa…I knew it it’s too good to be true…Nuff’ said la guys…Politician is no more than the DEVIL himself!!!

• IsaacVky (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 4:44 pm

Petrol price is cheap enough now, I agree that.
    Too many cars on the road .. jam & waste time
    Mat Rempit, Ah Beng etcetc

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 4:55 pm

Ok, If you want to TAX us by today and not following world price. I have just 1 request… Can you upgrade your stupid diesel quality?!?

We are paying more then world price, should we get better quality fuel or diesel standard? ppl already using Euro 3 or 4, while we are still at Euro 1?!? Somemore ppl paying almost the same price with us..

• pippen (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 4:59 pm

As I have mentioned many times that the G care about the rakyat? or their own pocket? Oil export country’s citizen subsidizing the government,what a crab. The ruler says all based on the situation, there is no promise, or promise that cant be do, or basically, they have no plan or intelligent to handle to whole economy. You cant get a farmer to do finance job or get a cleaner to do engineer job. Its that simple. I mean, what is the background of those person in charge to handle the destination of our country? I mean, as long you be a worker long enough in place you can promoted to be the finance planner? It is the suit-the-job-title we totally ignore.
    Count down to the next GE is the best thing we can do…and hope we can survive till then.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 4:59 pm

So it is true when we consider the Rakyat subsidizing the Government after the price of crude oil dropped dramatically. It is no surprise that the Government was silent when they started enjoying “subsidized revenue” from the rakyat.

With inflation going up and cost of living going up, it is obviously better if the rakyat could enjoy lower fuel. Knowing our government, they won’t give such benefits out easily. The best they could do is taking out the Rakyat’s future savings (EPF) and give it back to you as so called financial help as the mandatory step.

• harsher (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 5:04 pm

chakap tak serupa bikin… the gahmen is a piece of shit…

rakyats are suffering and those shits are enjoying their luxury life!

• torque (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 5:21 pm

harsher said,
    November 18, 2008 @ 5:04 pm

That’s why…like what I said earlier. No more than the devil himself one…give you the ‘sweet’ first then the ‘poison’ later…suck up la since what choice do we have till maybe next election…

• 9166 (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 5:41 pm

My hunch was right, I think we have been subsidizing way before November.

Since the G is interested to enrich their coffers, how about the AP that goes to individuals. Can they make it so that the money goes to the G. Like open tender and funds goes to the G instead of individuals.

How about also reducing the road tax rates and taxes on cars?

We are now officially worse of than our neighbours…
    Fix all these and I will be happy to pay even RM2.50 per litre.

A sure fire way to loose the next election.

BTW, Can someone make a police report on this. It is daylight robbery in progress…

• TheDuck (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 5:41 pm

Pathetic, we are probably the only Net Oil Exporter that’s earning from the domestic market.

• ys (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 6:13 pm

WTF, how thick is this fellow face…???? They dont know how to do simple methematics. dump nuts.
    how could a leader talk like this. everyday they talk different. hello.. Malaysian are not stupic.. they are watching you ok..
    you guys better watch out as next election we will give you much bigger supprise. good luck.

• nemu-iii (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 6:41 pm

the gov is full of crap most of the time. Look at how they panicked when the fuel price went way up and have to increase price of petrol, and only to decrease if slowly after a few months, even though it has dropped significantly. They can’t promise anything since they don’t have the balls to do it. They are either too old to do any good leadership or they are just born without them. We need young guns!

• ly60 (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 7:00 pm

One word to say all.

The politicians and the Gs are damn fucking bastards asshole.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 7:31 pm

f**k them up together !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

what the Sh*T u are sharrir !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

s*ck your ASS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

oh wait, shld f**k bleedy BN fools too !!!!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 7:32 pm

GUYZ !!!! Indirectly, they are sayin’ they gonna cap the price at RM2.00 instead of RM1.92 !!!!!!!!!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 7:37 pm

BLEEDDDYYYY HELL BN & G’ ……………!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 9166 (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 7:42 pm

Not only that they are proficient in their jobs but they are now very efficient liars. The next time any of them makes a public announcement, take a good look at their faces and eyes, they are never looking into the camera. Straying eyes denotes the first sign of lying.

What else can you believe from this G?

• ly60 (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 7:46 pm

Believe from G? Believe my cock.

• tricycle (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 8:01 pm

Few weeks ago, Indonesia had their petrol price drop to IDR5000 per liter (the regularly petrol used by its people), That’s about RM 1.85 per liter. Source: CNN.com .

Remember they are still a net importing petrol country, and poor than us, and full of corruption than us (what the Ameno-BN leaders always said) and 10 times the population of Malaysia.

What a F G!

• keretakura (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 8:02 pm

Stupid Shahir !!?? … actually he very SMART to make money for BN cronies. Thanks a lot to Pak Lah (The S****D Prime Minister that i ever know)

• droll (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 8:30 pm

omg, we are paying for AP, import duties, road tax, toll, and now fuel tax?!!!! i don’t mind if you give us a viable alternative i.e. public transport, but in m’sia a car is a necessity and they very well know that no matter what tax they plonk onto the cost of owning a car, m’sians will have no choice but to pay!

• Ralliace (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 9:01 pm

This “extras” are much needed to bail out Malaysia darling companies like PROTON and MAS. The rest is for thier “bonuses”! Talk about mis-management!

The colour we all should go for is light blue or green from now on! Screw the dark blue…. if you guys know what I mean exactly.

• altis_fan (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 9:04 pm

I hate seeing menteri “otak udang”
    Cakap tak serupa bikin
    Keep thinking of rakyat as “otak udang kecil”.

• kody (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 9:41 pm

wahlaueh…
    hot topic…

you know what… golden chances to fork out $$ from rakyat again… hooo hooo later great projects again only go to someone…???

RM2…. hak …toik…. everyone please use your vote smartly!! dun just look at the small sweet given when elec. time…

haha…. ‘otak udang’… heritage fom the ‘boss’…

• car_craze (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 10:39 pm

Ralliace – where’s your source? Saying the G is bailing out Proton and MAS is old news. Back it up or shut up!
    No, IMHO both The Green and the Blue is NATO – No Action Talk Only.

• csv (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 11:04 pm

yeah, make sure the money earned is PROPERLY spent on the rakyat.

improve diesel quality, improve public transport etc.

dont f***ing use it to pay for the minister’s vacation.

• Ralliace (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 11:11 pm

Car_Craze….. you are a typical katak di bawah tempurung!

Use your brains (if you have any??) and add two plus two la, stupid! Its no bloody f**king secret that our stupid moronic G saves PROTON and MAS…. remember some years back when MAS was bailed out using EPF money? Bet you don’t remember that…. MELAYU MUDAH LUPA!

• Ralliace (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 12:03 am

Car_Craze a.k.a Katak di Bawah Tempurung…..

A more recent bail-out…..Valuecap Sdn Bhd! Bacalah suratkahbar sedikit, bang!

From your short post, you seem like a pro-BN supporter. Well done to you. Hope that you have had a lion’s share of the that melee.

So, I’ve back it up and will not shut the f**k up!

• ignas (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 12:14 am

okla, pay the fuel tax nevermind, but hey, at least control the price of consumer goods la. im still paying rm4 for my char keow tiuh. and reduce the car tax too la. stupid rebate and the stupid epf idea too, those who wish to remain 11% need to fill the form. kNS G @#$%….. :x

ly60:
    yeah you’re the man xD

keretakura:
    you yet seen the worst. guess whos the next in line lol. hint: shit.

• tango5 (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 12:22 am

Paul and All,

Dunno whether you people noticed or not. Have you guys seen Shell GTL TV advert? I first saw it on Oct 30, in Miri, Sarawak while was there for a work related matter with err..who else, Shell.

Curious, browsed Shell website to know more. GTL simply means Gas-To-Liquid. Lay man understanding – Shell managed to LIQUIDIZED Natural Gas – (literally turn gas into liquid) thru their investment in R&D and at the commercializing the product.

Facts that surprises me:
    1. Their present production plant is in Bintulu, Sarawak Malaysia
    2. Have been operational since 1993
    3. GTL first “public appearance” is during 2004 Summer Olympics – Athens; used by thousands of cabs there.
    4. The liquidized gas needs no special equipment to use to be filled into vehicles fuel tank. Its using ordinary diesel fuel pump!
    5. They even have GTL V-power; used in Le Mans, and won!

Probably I’m not really following the news in O&G innovation, but to know that our own country have been producing liquidized natural gas, since 1993, exported for use in Europe makes me feels…let down.

In June, to cope with the rocketing fuel price a lot of us have been forking out monies to installed NGV kits, ranging from RM2k – 8k, queuing with cabs to fill-up NGV at Petronas. NGV stations are not sufficient to handle the deman, but were told that the Petronas service stations are reluctant to provide NGV facilities due to high installation costs. There are even two incidents of “explosion” reported, the latest cost a life in Melaka…

My point is, all these happens while we have the solution – in our own soil, the GTL, since 1993!

I dunno whether its the G, the oil company or someone else, but its really a let down to me to know abt this. Dont you guys think that we deserve to have GTL here?

To read more about GTL:
    http://realenergy.shell.com.my/?lang=en_MY&page=homeFlash&access=false&site_version=flash#

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 12:33 am

A little calculation shows that we should be paying only 1.24 excluding 30 cents subsidy. This means we should be paying only 94 cents a litre, and only happens when pigs will fly, turn blue and halal at the same time.

• mengking (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 12:34 am

I’M SEDIH.

(HOPEFULLY I CAN GET MY 625 IN MARCH 2009 :()

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 1:35 am

Remember when certain people would defend our inflated car prices by saying other countries didn’t get subsidized petrol?

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 2:23 am

i was so mad after reading what paul wrote..but after reading the comment area..i started laughing half way..there is many people who are frustrated as me!!haha

nevermind guys,election will come..people say once beaten twice shy…our G still dont bother..i just hope anyone frm the G reading this..if they dont make sure they curb inflation,return EPF money,lower toll,and let us pay to correct amount of fuel..

BN will enjoy its last few years of governance…PR and Anwar will rule..simple as that!!!

dont get to frustrated..we will show our ppl power!!

• neurra (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 2:56 am

hahah fuel drop, enforce the bloody restaurants to drop price oso la.. cigarettes? geez rm9 per box.. teh o ais even at mamak shop oso average 1.30 now, last time 1 oni.. car price? well i don’t even wanna start there..

• Realeyes (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 7:45 am

Ralliace_retarded dude! Stop bringing race issue in this forum..

• alihms (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 8:14 am

Since now the cost is lower, why not simply remove the tax / subsidy thingy? Lets have market forces determine the prices – not the government. Saves a lot of hassle on the part of Gov. and for sure silenced most of us here.

If the crude price go up later (hope not!) – the gov saves itself from the curse of the rakyat. And when it comes down even more (hopefully!), why need to impose tax? Taxing the rakyat in the pretext of controlling mat rempits, over car population, air pollution etc is not right. That amounts to punishing us – rather than helping us, especially in this economically uncertain time.

In any case, credit should be given to Sharir – at least he dared to reveal the real situation (although partially since he did not say the exact amount of the “tax”).

• NiceCar (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 8:20 am

since G may “earn” a lot.. hopefully they can use this money wisely especially on the transport system in M’sia.

• numb3r7mu (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 8:48 am

To G, BN, UMNO, MCA, MIC, Pak L**, Na#&* & Sha@*#
    you all worst then LANGAU suck rakyat blood. Hope you
    happy ever after after you all did to ppl like me

• droll (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 8:51 am

ok i really don’t get this. why are we paying for fuel tax?????????????!!!!!!!!! WHY WHY DAMMIT WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY we are already paying for so many things. at times when the economy is not doing well, the govt should stop taxing the people more.

words cannot describe my frustration and anger. sigh……:(

• lembagatanah (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 8:59 am

let’s see if they upgrade petrol and diesel quality.
    aaaaarrrrrggggghhhhhh….. really pissed of every early in the morning.
    angry is too soft to describe what i feel.

• rexis (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 9:05 am

Outrageous!

Last time say saved subsidy to do development, now say collect revenue for development.

Wheneven you read a news quoting some politician speech, better read it as entertainment news.

While Petronas earning dropped, government chunking in record income!

Bravo…

– – – – – – – –

To tango5 on November 19, 2008 @ 12:22 am

I have know Bintulu GTL plant long time ago and I has the same feeling like you, to add more salt, it is once the biggest GTL plant in the world, walla, Malaysia bloeh.

And none of us know about it, and all the DME(Dimythyl Eter, the liquidize natural gas) are exported to Japan and Europe(as quoted by tango5) at a low price(which is a contract signed for several decades long). DME with lubricant addictive can run diesel engine, or more specialized DME engine that work similar with diesel engine but nearly as clear as natural gas engine.

It is not feasible to build pipelines to isolated location like Bintulu with rich natural gas resource, hence it is more feasible to build a GTL plant there.

• Ralliace (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 9:22 am

Realeyes,

I wasn’t making this a race issue but was merely quoting a famous line of our ex-PM. I hope this clears the air.

• ckengyo (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 9:52 am

pippen said,
    November 18, 2008 @ 4:59 pm
    As I have mentioned many times that the G care about the rakyat? or their own pocket? Oil export country’s citizen subsidizing the government,what a crab. The ruler says all based on the situation, there is no promise, or promise that cant be do, or basically, they have no plan or intelligent to handle to whole economy. You cant get a farmer to do finance job or get a cleaner to do engineer job. Its that simple. I mean, what is the background of those person in charge to handle the destination of our country? I mean, as long you be a worker long enough in place you can promoted to be the finance planner? It is the suit-the-job-title we totally ignore.
    Count down to the next GE is the best thing we can do…and hope we can survive till then.

Proton Sagwa said,
    November 19, 2008 @ 1:35 am
    Remember when certain people would defend our inflated car prices by saying other countries didn’t get subsidized petrol?

rexis said,
    November 19, 2008 @ 9:05 am
    I have know Bintulu GTL plant long time ago and I has the same feeling like you, to add more salt, it is once the biggest GTL plant in the world, walla, Malaysia bloeh.

And none of us know about it, and all the DME(Dimythyl Eter, the liquidize natural gas) are exported to Japan and Europe(as quoted by tango5) at a low price(which is a contract signed for several decades long). DME with lubricant addictive can run diesel engine, or more specialized DME engine that work similar with diesel engine but nearly as clear as natural gas engine.

It is not feasible to build pipelines to isolated location like Bintulu with rich natural gas resource, hence it is more feasible to build a GTL plant there.

<try 2 answer this question, an ex pm now bcom tun signed the contract with japan & OD the money 4 mega development. so when oil go above 100, we become the biggest sucker in the world like the bintulu plant as well. so now explained y when all the oil export country enjoying huge surplus n we still have 2 donated our blood 2 G. our country is technically go bankrupt cos the inflation is 2 high 4 our economic 2 sustain. everything go down 2 slow, petrol, electric, base lending rate, n kill the public spending. now u should understand y ringgit from 3.80-3.20 now is going 2 3.60. u can lie 2 the people but u cant fool the foreign fund.

• ckengyo (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 9:55 am

pippen said,
    November 18, 2008 @ 4:59 pm

Proton Sagwa said,
    November 19, 2008 @ 1:35 am

GOOD POINT from both of u
    rexis said,
    November 19, 2008 @ 9:05 am

try 2 answer this question, an ex pm now bcom tun signed the contract with japan & OD the money 4 mega development. so when oil go above 100, we become the biggest sucker in the world like the bintulu plant as well. so now explained y when all the oil export country enjoying huge surplus n we still have 2 donated our blood 2 G. our country is technically go bankrupt cos the inflation is 2 high 4 our economic 2 sustain. everything go down 2 slow, petrol, electric, base lending rate, n kill the public spending. now u should understand y ringgit from 3.80-3.20 now is going 2 3.60. u can lie 2 the people but u cant fool the foreign fund.

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 9:59 am

go england now, exchange rate so low now

• pippen (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 10:28 am

How can the G let such a blood suxker make such decision! Check out the msn website.
    http://news.my.msn.com/regional/article.aspx?cp-documentid=1791236
    He is proud of what is has done!! Since when the rakyet serve the G instead of the other way round? It’s sick! What kind of place are we living in now? We rather import the oil! I mean, you want to earn more money, export it out la! Selling the rakyat more expensive and earn the money!? It is the same strategy for import cars!
    The whole oil and automotive industry in Malaysia will go down to Malaysia history as the biggest culprit and evil happened in the history of Malaysia, and those people’s to practice such evil act, their next generatioin will be forever be cursed, history wont lie.
    Our country will become the biggest joke in the global. I am planning out for sure.

• lchan (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 10:46 am

Now is the time for the government to let the price of fuel govern by market demand.

• Huz (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 10:53 am

RoadTAX
    Tolls
    Now FuelTAX?

And what are we getting from all those taxes? Some other so called “govt. based developments” that will eventually get privatized and we are charged more to use it? Its simply ridiculous.

Very typical of our Almighty G.
    Step 1: Make the rakyat pay for development.
    Step 2: Make money in between the development.
    Step 3: Make rakyat PAY to use whatever the new development has brought.
    Step 4: Tell the rakyats that G have no money, or can’t subsidize anymore, so have to increase the prices, or cut subsidy.
    Step 5: Rakyat dies in debt. They live in their 10 rooms mansion with their collection of Merc’s, BMW’s, and what not. Happily ever after. And yeah, with pension. :)

BolehLand.

• dr_carz (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 11:13 am

Wait for the meeting…

We can see if there is a lantai and syiling !

hAHAHAHA

• motberg (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 11:17 am

They must really think Malaysians are like mushrooms… keep us in the dark and feed us crap! Sigh…. this country really needs sweeping changes. The way it is run reminds me of monkeys trying to steer a ship. One fine day sure gonna run aground. Have to seriously consider migrating for the sake of the next generation…

• dr_carz (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 11:19 am

YERR JUST GO MIGRATE!

I HOPE U GO TO IRAQ!

• droll (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 11:51 am

unfortunately, sweeping changes won’t happen so soon. the only way i see for it to happen is for m’sia to fall behind economically so badly that the greedy folks up there don’t have much to gain and look elsewhere. but that would be a dark day for us….kinda like an evil version of a symbiotic relationship. sigh.

i still find it hard to force this down my throat. we are paying for fuel tax. my god….BN/UMNO, what are you guys doing??? are you so greedy that you fail to see how this would destroy even you within *this* lifetime????

may god help us all……

• tango5 (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 12:37 pm

rexis, ckengyo, paul and all,

another thing I forgot to mentioned about GTL is that the material derived from NATURAL GAS. Tax structure is way different than petrol and diesel ie as what NGV consumer is getting now.

Some how it doesnt make sense why GTL is not available here..in its own production soil. Not suitable because its cleaner, cheaper and cost efficient for motorist?

Is it possible if we form a pressure group via this forum to call for GTL to be available here. Any comment Paul?

• torque (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 12:38 pm

Sorry..*out of topic*

Paul, is it true we gonna get the 10% discount on the toll starting January 1, 2009 if we travel from midnight? Any post on this new news? Thanks.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 12:43 pm

Should shut sharir the fuck up !!!! bleedy !!!! capping fuel at RM2.00………

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 12:56 pm

IDIOT !!!!! try to get revenue from big bussiness companies and so on !!!!! I wonder why the hell worlds most important thing being taxed for other development !!!! If u use the petrol tax to build highway, only certain ppl will be enjoyion it since not all malaysian use highway , please use ur brain to think of poor ppl whom just using motocycle….!!!! If petrol is less, burden to all malaysian will be reduced, not only to certain malaysian like highway…..
    FUCKING IDIOT BN & G …. Can Understand !!!!!!

OMG…. wait !!!! i noe BN & G are deaf !!!! so what 4 i nid to giv suggestion !!!!!

ANWAR ………….. PLS COME BACK FAST !!!!!!!

i noe even u wanna do good to country also bleedy fuckers like G and BN will try to file up cases on court on you !!!!!!!!!!!!

SHUT THE FUCK BN on next election !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Bleedy Hell U BN !!!!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 12:57 pm

GOVERNMENT ENJOYING BY GIVING BURDEN TO PEOPLE !!!!!

GUYZ…. DID YOU ALL SEE THE HEADING !!!!!! THEY MENTIONED THE WORD ” ENJOYING ” !!!!!!!!!!!!!

• tananiki (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 3:16 pm

they just know how to do crap n earn easy money… i know majority race in malaysia is malay… what if our PM is chinese or indians or maybe real “bumiputra”…? not that i said malay is lazy… but only some small group of ppl thought they gonna get many advantages from the rules that have been for many years since merdeka… 308 is a good sign of people choosing more on hardworking ppl rather than letting those small group of ppl shaking their leg knowing that they will always get money from us without doing any nice jobs… majority of the malay stay in singapore give up their privilege to compete with other race and make them smarter… even mahathir also branded them “brainless”… the next election is up to u all… whether you want to remain with current G or make a new start giving a chance for other parties to rules…

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 3:29 pm

atleast if they use this money(which so called tax) as an investment in a special fund and use it as a cash reserve so when the petroleum price goes up..this money can be used as subsidy to maintain whatever price they gonna come up with and maintain until the money habis or price turun….

if they have such a system or better idea people wont mind..to increase the price they just took 3 hour to come up with a decision but to decrease they took 3 mths and now taxing people..they say wanna maintain to world price..why now not keeping their words??frustrating man!!!pity malaysians…

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 3:45 pm

tananiki,

do you think politician care for their race,people and all??as you say malay are the majority and the petrol price is affecting the malay most in that case because they consist of 60% of the population…

so ketuanan melayu and all that is just political gimmick so they can get votes and win..after win they make people suffer again…as if they care..

in DEB starting from 1970 to 1990 they say they wanna help bumiputra to achieve 30 % equity..but till today they claim they still have not achieve it..why??

because they dont care..all they care is winning the election and make more money..if they really care..they wont let companies like naza grow and monopoly our automotive industry..if they really care there will b atleast 10 to 100 malay successful businessman compared to only a few now…

politicians only care about them and their family…NEP,DEB,ketuanan melayu and etc is just political gimmick to gain votes from 60 % of the population…

if they really care DEB should be a success,NEP should be a success..why no real effort in put into these things??simple..they dont wan it to be a success so they can use it a reason to gain votes every election..even beyond 2020 they will make sure all this wont be a success…otherwise they got no issue to gain votes….all they care is VOTES and MONEY.

there race doesnt matter actually..but the right people must be at the top..he must care for all and keep to his words..malay,chinese,indian or any other race…they must really care for the people….race is always secondary….

the fact is all is suffering now regarding what race they are..and people with good political contacts still making money..and living the live we all wan to live…

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 6:57 pm

Prem 3377….. Totally agree with you….. At least malaysian ppl wont mind paying extra now if the extra revenue that G gains now used back for fuel subsidy in the future coz lower fuel price is just 4 temperory !!!! It will sure hike up badly in the future !!! So, they can use this money to resubsidy back to prevent fuel hike in malaysia…. BUT IDIOT G & BN doesnt think like….. as of what i told u guyZzzz…. THEY ARE BRAIN-LESS IDIOTS !!!! G & BN ARE SMART DAY-LIGHT ROBBERS !!!!!

Bleedy Su*kErZzzzZZ !!!!!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 7:06 pm

tananiki said,
    November 19, 2008 @ 3:16 pm

they just know how to do crap n earn easy money… i know majority race in malaysia is malay… what if our PM is chinese or indians or maybe real “bumiputra”…? not that i said malay is lazy… but only some small group of ppl thought they gonna get many advantages from the rules that have been for many years since merdeka… 308 is a good sign of people choosing more on hardworking ppl rather than letting those small group of ppl shaking their leg knowing that they will always get money from us without doing any nice jobs… majority of the malay stay in singapore give up their privilege to compete with other race and make them smarter… even mahathir also branded them “brainless”… the next election is up to u all… whether you want to remain with current G or make a new start giving a chance for other parties to rules…

——————————————–

I do agree with you too….. I live in singapore rite now……….. Singaporean Malays in singapore are really different…. The way they think are very broad and they are ready to compete with chinese and indian and other races there without any privilage !!!!! Thats why all races in singapore are smarter and not pampered like in malaysia bcoz all of them knows the meaning of competition in life !!!!!

• shooter (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 8:42 pm

you cant blame them, i think they know thryre gonna lose big time in the next GE, so now is the time time to harvest, pillage, cash-in/out or whatever term/expression you guys wanna use- and set themselves an exit plan, so that when the sh*t hits the fan, they’ll have themselves a golden parachute of some sorts, of such magnitude that thier feet will never touch the ground, for several generations..i think you guys get the picture right???

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 1:03 am

xx Ferrari xx,

Yeah, I absolutely agree with u. A couple of weeks ago, I was helping my fren’s sister’s fren’s who hv relatives from SG to move some wedding stuffs from her house to the wedding location.

Here, we’re told the SG malays are marginalised la, cannot azan la, perform friday prayers on staircase la, but looking at them, they seem to be doing above average financially than a typical malaysian malay. They’re very nice n rational people, n they speak very good english. They hv no ketuanan melayu bull to protect them, n look what they are. Malays, who are able to duduk sama rendah n berdiri sama tinggi with the rest of the world.

The fault then, is more to do with the social politic system I believe. Racial politics plagued with corruption n using intimidating tactics has led us to where we are today, a very big mess. Whereas, SG, believing in meritocracy, is well, yeah.

• ckengyo (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 9:14 am

latest updated, the big chuck of money save from fuel already prepare 4 next mega project: 1st class waste water system, complete in 2010.

i think the window opportunity of changing g is close now due 2 the fact that the next 1 wont hesitate 2 start malaysia 1st political assassinations. u think the greedy 1 will let u take their resources away. over here money & politic is the Siamese twin which is inseparable. if u force 2 separate this 2 they make sure u go or u die b4 u kill or separate them. if not the 2010 transition plan wont have 2 move forward. i think by 2010 may b ringgit will b rm6- us1.

• Ralliace (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 9:23 am

Wait for Dr. M start naming those involved in money politics (Refer to: .http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/11/20/nation/2595164&sec=nation)

That should clear some of these shitbags away. Will be so embarrassing and that when everyone will really understand that the the Ketuanan Melayu only benefited the top assholes and not the common man in street.

Time to wake up.

• tricycle (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 6:59 pm

Ralliace:
    F to TDM, he is the one behind all of these. It doesn’t take 5 years for us to have this F crap country, with mat rempits, high crime rates, and etc. It is actually longer than that. Before TDM came to power everything was so peaceful, the police, judiaciary and etc can be trusted. But he is the one screwing things up. Using the Malay to gain political mileage with the racist highly insulting “Malay Dilemma” . Lastly F to TDM!

• Ralliace (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 10:15 pm

Tricycle:
    I know it was him who introduced all the on-going rubbish here but the current fellow has perfected it! And good that he wishes to disclose names. “We” just fold our arm, sit back and enjoy the greatest show on earth…. they killing each other. :)

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 9:06 am

when the economy improves, see what will happen.

• aliBaPa (Member) on Nov 23, 2008 at 12:45 pm

Don’t be too low, only will encourage air/noise pollution.
    I’m ok with 2.00 price now.