Toyota overall output down but Daihatsu gains

New Toyota MPV

This is one sure sign of the shift in consumer preferences towards smaller vehicles: Toyota’s global production (for all Toyota brands) was down by 12.6% to 791,665 units for the month of October and its sales in Japan dropped by 6.9% for the month compared to October last year at 177,606 units, but its Daihatsu brand improved its output by 11.5% to 82,780 units mainly thanks to increase production and demand in Indonesia. This is just going to go up even further when the new Toyota/Daihatsu/Perodua MPV (artist impression shown above) is launched early next year.

For the overall first 10 months of 2008, the Toyota Group produced 8,004,661 units, up 1.4% from the same period in 2007.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 9:33 am

hhmm…. so see you soon..

• peYno (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 3:25 pm

yeah.. they did mention how they get a money from Daihatsu Indonesia,

but didn't mention how they get money from P2 royalty

huh

• droll (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 8:02 pm

it's still left pocket, right pocket. toyota wins in the end.

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 9:35 pm

Thanks to P2. A Great contribution. By without even touching water, but easy access to local market. Smart~

• adunadun (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 12:09 am

n8cky said,

Thanks to P2. A Great contribution. By without even touching water, but easy access to local market. Smart

——————————————-

some body smart, bcoz some people become stupid… so who the stupid people?

• ericfoong81exe (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 12:30 am

This is the future stream at least for this coming 5 yrs time by shirinking the petrol vehicle size due to petrol and energy crissis. Other options will be switching the petrol engine to new diesel engine and electrical power motor. Since both of the optional choice technologies still under high costing and immature status, K-car and small car is the only choice for getting high c/p value.

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 4:41 am

People need fuel efficient cars. Not muscle cars

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 8:08 pm

Fuel efficient but lousy handling = Toyota+Daihatsu+Perodua.

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 9:17 pm

Just wait and see. Most likely P2 mpv thrash the Potong mpv nicely.

Although P2 have its share of fault, at least its vehicle actually can see the improvement over the years – unlike the useless "big brother" company.

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 9:33 pm

Just wait and see. Most likely P2 mpv thrash the Potong mpv nicely.

Although P2 have its share of fault, at least its vehicle actually can see the improvement over the years – unlike the useless “big brother” company.

-not ah beng

How sure are you? We'll see.

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 10:17 pm

"How sure are you? We’ll see."

Very sure. Myvi even though approaching mid-life of its design still outsell the likes of Persona by 3 times (and Waja and Gen 2 by 10x!!!! LOL) while even the overpriced and not-that-good Viva is still outselling Potong Saga BLM.

Plus they got solid backing of Toyota/Daihatsu, a renown automaker.

This is total opposite of Potong, who makes crappy cars – and thought just by sticking some photos of mockup with Toyota Wish cover all the Malaysians will rush to buy their MPV. Well……….too bad la Potong, after 23 years, we know all about them and their "quality". Only Potong fanboy continue to believe.

• ReactiX (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 12:23 am

nobody willing to buy viva anymore when BLM arrives. even my friend disappointed with the viva he bought, saying that he was too rush to get a car. now he cant even afford to buy a new car because the resell value of viva like shit. all those who buy viva "after" BLM arrive is a loser.

to ah beng, get your fact before posting nonsense. and read my comment at DSZ reappointment.

"Very sure. Myvi even though approaching mid-life of its design still outsell the likes of Persona by 3 times (and Waja and Gen 2 by 10x!!!! LOL) while even the overpriced and not-that-good Viva is still outselling Potong Saga BLM.

This is total opposite of Potong, who makes crappy cars – and thought just by sticking some photos of mockup with Toyota Wish cover all the Malaysians will rush to buy their MPV. Well……….too bad la Potong, after 23 years, we know all about them and their “quality”. Only Potong fanboy continue to believe."

• Nakal (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 12:36 am

Perusahaan Otomobil Nasional Sdn.Bhd (PROTON)

Potong Sdn.Bhd not exist…( maybe illegally exist- only ah beng know this workshop)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 12:59 am

not_ah_beng said,

December 1, 2008 @ 1:17 pm

Although P2 have its share of fault,"" at least its vehicle actually can see the improvement over the years"" – unlike the useless “big brother” company.

————-

just in case you didn't realise.. its not really their "own vehicle". but credit to perodua though, for aggressive marketing and sales initiatives.

But to be honest, i dont see the perodua mpv competing directly with the proton.. i'm pretty sure the proton will be much larger than the perodua.. and price wise, will be at a higher level than the perodua. it will definitely not be an apples to apples comparison.

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 1:33 am

we'll wait n see :)

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 7:37 am

Very sure. Myvi even though approaching mid-life of its design still outsell the likes of Persona by 3 times (and Waja and Gen 2 by 10x!!!! LOL) while even the overpriced and not-that-good Viva is still outselling Potong Saga BLM.

This is total opposite of Potong, who makes crappy cars – and thought just by sticking some photos of mockup with Toyota Wish cover all the Malaysians will rush to buy their MPV. Well……….too bad la Potong, after 23 years, we know all about them and their “quality”. Only Potong fanboy continue to believe.

-not ah beng

haha. besides fuel efficient… nothing can be said about perodua cars. even their so-called problem free myvi has been plague with power window problem (have to press button few times before it winds).

Malaysian buy perodua mainly to save on fuel bills (fuel price fluctuate quite violent lately). Things might turn the ather way round later.

sincerely, perodua cars are lack of passion. organization with typical max-profit policy. seeing viva dashboard (especially aircond control panel) make me wanna puke, just as disgusting as reading your comment. and their screaming engine, huh, priceless (no value)

• tec96248 (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 6:37 pm

ReactiX said,

December 1, 2008 @ 4:23 pm

–are u sure nobody willing to buy viva anymore when BLM arrives??? haven't u heard people disappointed with Saga BLM? u r no where better anyway. haha.

• tec96248 (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 6:48 pm

Wisdom said,

December 1, 2008 @ 11:37 pm ,

–haha, perodua cars lack of passion? might be true since they are small cars. i wonder why my friends started cursed his new persona lately? i guessed all my friends who bought personas just bad luck. a friend complained that the persona dashboard is damn stupid, no sense of ergonomics, and started crappy sound here and there already. even a 10 year old corolla better than his. lol.

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 7:46 pm

Perodua cars no passion???

I guess you may say that…………….IF you compare against maybe Mazda, or Aston Martin or VW Golf.

But against Proton?!!?!? Which drugs you been smoking? LOL.

Your Saga BLM alot of "passion" mer. Persona? Even worse. Looks almost similar to Waja combine with Gen2 with some really minor facelift.

Lets face it, Potong cars even less passion than Perodua. At the very least the Myvi, Kelisa and Viva look "cute".

And btw, Perodua power window may be difficult to wind down, but better than Potong power window, can't wind down at all! And according to SC guys (I know as my gf drives Myvi) this issue can be solved by reconnecting wire, a quick and painless (and cheap!) job. Unlike Potong power window, need to change the whole *#$#@T%ing power window motor. Ask anyone who drive Waja. You know what is the cost? 150+ PER WINDOW.

Screw Potong and their overpriced crappy cars sold to malaysian at gunpoint.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 7:51 pm

tec96248 said,

December 2, 2008 @ 10:37 am

ReactiX said,

December 1, 2008 @ 4:23 pm

–are u sure nobody willing to buy viva anymore when BLM arrives??? haven’t u heard people disappointed with Saga BLM? u r no where better anyway. haha.

———————–

and how sure are you tec96248 of what you say?.. just coz 1 person, or a friend told you about something.. doesnt make that a fact. end of the day, facts speak louder, and so far, the persona and saga are still selling, and in reasonably large numbers.

i have some friends who also condemn their perodua cars like crazy, with even one of them selling off his car in less than 6 months coz it was driving him mad…literally.. but perodua is still selling well, and thats also a fact.

10 or 20 guys complaining about their cars doesnt represent the tens of thousands of people who have already bought the cars..

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 8:07 pm

@BanyakMasukWorkshop:

and how sure are you tec96248 of what you say?.. just coz 1 person, or a friend told you about something.. doesnt make that a fact. end of the day, facts speak louder, and so far, the persona and saga are still selling, and in reasonably large numbers.

How come when talking to Potong fanboys about Saga BLM, they say its selling well so it must be very very good, but when topic turns to Vios and City outselling Gen2 and Waja by huge margins, is only because Malaysian are very very stupid and all his "pakcik" and "ahpek" only buying Honda and Toyota for the brandname instead of the superior Gen2 and Waja CPS?

Seriously don't understand the reasoning.

Anyway, say what you want about Perodua, but lets face it, they offer Malaysian DVVT(VVTi) engine much much earlier than Potong much overhype (and much delay, LOL) CPS engine. True, it might not be their own, but at least its there 2 years before Potongs.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 2:39 am

not_ah_beng said,

December 2, 2008 @ 12:07 pm

@BanyakMasukWorkshop:

How come when talking to Potong fanboys about Saga BLM, they say its selling well so it must be very very good,

————————

btw, i'm a bmw fanboy.. and because the car is really selling well, and the numbers prove it and I cant change that, go look up the MAA report..

you can shout and jump and down, and talk about something else all day, and you cant change that fact.

• car_craze (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 4:37 pm

Obviously not-ah-beng is a Perodua Fanboy! (Because he cannot afford a Honda yet, much less a BMW).

• tec96248 (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 5:11 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

December 2, 2008 @ 11:51 am

–hahahaha! i guess u couldn't understand what i was saying. care to read and understand again? i believe u really can imagine beyond the point of the sentences. hahaha………

• ALPINA Burkard Boven (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 10:05 pm

stop buying toyotas, buy ferraris

• Nakal (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 11:25 pm

Alpina $%&%(#

most of ppl in malaysia not as rich as you…so pls respect them by not giving such stupid comment…

• ALPINA Burkard Boven (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 7:51 pm

Nakal said,

December 3, 2008 @ 3:25 pm

Alpina $%&%(#

most of ppl in malaysia not as rich as you…so pls respect them by not giving such stupid comment…

————————————-

it may be stupid, but not as pointless as ur riff raff whatever shitty username u have