Petrol and diesel prices slashed by 10 sen tonight!

Fuel-Wallet GaugeIt’s the middle of the month again, which means it’s time to revise the fuel prices! In line with the lower average prices for crude oil over the past month, the government has decided to slash prices of RON97 petrol, RON92 petrol and diesel in Malaysia by another 10 sen across the board.

The following are the new prices of fuel in Malaysia effective midnight, the 16th of December 2008:

Fuel Old Price Reduction New Price
RON97 RM1.90 RM0.10 RM1.80
RON92 RM1.80 RM0.10 RM1.70
Diesel RM1.80 RM0.10 RM1.70

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tananiki (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 5:24 pm

1st to knw tis news… good…

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 5:30 pm

Quite late but Good News!

• swoosh3553 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 5:31 pm

me 2nd to know this news… yippee…. Fuel tank just went “E” today… :-). Soon can just use Shell V-Power as constant fuel… :-)

• ckengyo (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 5:43 pm

sure or not? please confirm. 5.30 ntv7 news not even a singer word about this. still expensive if not petronas wont offer 1million cash & car 4 just rm20 filling.

• ckengyo (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 5:45 pm

ok sorry paul. confirmed price drop in radio already.

• freeze (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 5:50 pm

Petrol is piss cheap these days…

I pity Anwar…

• HMMaster (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 5:50 pm

argh… just pumped this morning >_<

• lambov12 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 6:34 pm

late is better than never ..
    still too expensive lar ..

global crude oil now only RM1.12 per litre ..
    where is the 68 cents profit go … ??

• tricycle (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 6:35 pm

To Freeze:
    Don’t pity Anwar, lets support him for as long as he does the right thing. If the opposition did not win more than 1/3 on the March 08, the price won’t come down this much. In fact it might go up, since the corrupted G needs more money to be lavishly and foolishly spend at the expense of the people. Remember they need to buy more helicopters, more private jets and more girls (esp girl like noritta S or altantuya S).

If any of you read newspaper today, in Indonesia today, they dropped the price of petrol to IDR 5000 which is about RM1.67 per liter. So our beloved Malaysian G should drop the price more, it should be around RM1.50 now.

Don’t give a unclever reason that the G nowadays doesn’t have money to improve the economy and such. It is the G fault that we don’t have money to stimulate the weakeking economy. If they spend it prudently when they have money, it won’t be like this.

And we are now loosing our attractiveness to the foreign investors. They now move their electronics, auto (VW) and other industry to Thailand and other better countries with lower cost of doing business (esp China and India).

What a crap G.

• tiadaid (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 6:49 pm

tricycle said,

December 15, 2008 @ 6:35 pm

To Freeze:
    Don’t pity Anwar, lets support him for as long as he does the right thing. If the opposition did not win more than 1/3 on the March 08, the price won’t come down this much. In fact it might go up, since the corrupted G needs more money to be lavishly and foolishly spend at the expense of the people. Remember they need to buy more helicopters, more private jets and more girls (esp girl like noritta S or altantuya S).

If any of you read newspaper today, in Indonesia today, they dropped the price of petrol to IDR 5000 which is about RM1.67 per liter. So our beloved Malaysian G should drop the price more, it should be around RM1.50 now.

Don’t give a unclever reason that the G nowadays doesn’t have money to improve the economy and such. It is the G fault that we don’t have money to stimulate the weakeking economy. If they spend it prudently when they have money, it won’t be like this.

And we are now loosing our attractiveness to the foreign investors. They now move their electronics, auto (VW) and other industry to Thailand and other better countries with lower cost of doing business (esp China and India).

What a crap G.

———————————————————–

What about the RM 625 that the G has given to car owners since the price shot up to RM 2.70? Indonesia certainly didn’t give money to their citizens when the fuel went up. If you want to fuel to be RM 1.50 then give the money back to the government. Simple.

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 7:16 pm

I just fill my car today….no more fuel to move. Unlucky. LOL.

I want cheap prices. If not all my shoping at hypermarkets

• MyviKiller (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 7:28 pm

Hope this can tahan longer…

• adunadun (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 7:37 pm

lambov12 said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 6:34 pm

===============================
    68 cent go to trak driver, petrol station owner, petrol station clearner, bangledesh worker, petrol tank manufacturer, they need money like u too.. they cant do that for free,,, u think only u want to survive aa? :P

thank to anwar to give pressure to gov. he is good balancer , accept it.

• madmarzio (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 7:38 pm

hah.. good strategy.. there’s a by election middle of next month.. whatever la.. i heard they keep pause the decision/policy for the fuel floor price until this election, or i miss something??.. huhu..

btw, its better than nothing..

• aliBaPa (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 8:09 pm

I already said before, too cheap liao!
    Air and noise pollution.
    Treat the people good only when election? then….
    This govt is not good at all.
    Everyone, let’s don’t bail out BN anymore.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 8:13 pm

hehe….. Good news from BN neway !!!!
    Keep considerin’ the Global Crude Oil Prices…..
    Each drop worth a lot for the poor !!!!

• whiteeye (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 8:31 pm

How smart is it for MR G to reduce by little and little and little, for what the newspaper said during the petrol oil expensive the G will follow the the US crude oil and now it just reduce slowly, MR G u think people are stupid enough what a lie that show BN now, what they say just bull shit all the way until today if follow the crude oil is just below Rm 1.20, rmb don’t elect BN anymore just know how to makan their own country money that’s call patriotic MY ASS to fellow BN.

• armandd (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:01 pm

Anwar used the oil price hike just for his political agenda lah.. wake up malaysians! his speech can really ‘pukau’ people.. haihh..

• tricycle (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:29 pm

tiadaid said,

December 15, 2008 @ 6:49 pm

What about the RM 625 that the G has given to car owners since the price shot up to RM 2.70? Indonesia certainly didn’t give money to their citizens when the fuel went up. If you want to fuel to be RM 1.50 then give the money back to the government. Simple.

lambov12 said,

December 15, 2008 @ 6:34 pm

—————————————————————-

Dude,
    Of course Indonesia didn’t give the rebate to its people when they increased the petrol price. If you are not already know, Indonesia is a NET IMPORTING country. Malaysia is NET EXPORTING country. Indonesia has 250 million population, Malaysia has only 28 million population. I can add many other points. But lets let your brain move first.

I hope in 5 years time we are not going to use country like ZIMBABWE to compare our country against. It is ridiculous when our country used to be compared against country like South Korea, Singapore and Taiwan. Look what happen now. So many people like tiadaid who is in power that make this country moving backward.

One more thing tiadaid, if you look at lambov12 entry, where does RM0.62 go? Does the current G know how to use the money to make money? Do you think this G is able to bring our country forward? I think it is better for the G to continue giving subsidized petrol to the Malaysian, since it is very clear they don’t know how to make money from money. So plus the 30 cents rebate, it should be RM0.82 per liter.

Then only the investment might come back to Malaysia. I hope.

• arie1968 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:33 pm

Right now oil price down but goods price still high,
    may be after this when oil price hike goods price hike again.
    ( harga minyak turun, harga barang tak turun tetapi you will see kalau harga minyak naik lagi lepas ni….. for sure i rasa harga barang mesti naik )

alasannya minyak naik……

• adam123 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:47 pm

to tricycle, you sound like a smart person. apart from bitching about the price drop and the crappy G, what have you done? you should become a member of parliament.

• dagaro (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:00 pm

Before June petrol price hike 10kg of rice cost less then RM20, now 10kg of rice is RM30. Infant milk is also RM10 cheaper per tin before June. Do I need to to start telling about the price of diapers, roti canai, teh tarik, nasi lemak, nasi campur, nursery fees etc? Whatever government do now, it’s too late already to rectify the effect of petrol price hike. RM625 cannot cover for monthly expenses for years.

Rakyat is always on the losing side. It’s sad thinking that when crude price went sky high,the burden was transferred to the rakyat almost immediately but when crude price came down, rakyat ‘subsidize’ the government like ‘forever’. Whose the beneficiaries of the Makmur part in the government’s Manifesto? Anyone has the answer?

• yeohhk01 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:04 pm

just wanna ask, comparing the diesel grade here and other country, g claimed tat global diesel is exp. are we using euro 4 grade diesel now?

• Jomo (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:05 pm

typical Malaysian, fuel price rise complaint more, than fuel price drop complaint more and more……..what the hell this people thinking?

• osh_kosh (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:09 pm

bro madmarzio,

“Asked if the ministry would impose a floor price for fuel, Shahrir said there were no such plans.”

quoted on the Star today…. LOL.. let see if he is a man of his word :)

• csv (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 11:23 pm

so they should let the oil prices in malaysia float. this will make people more aware.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 11:56 pm

First of all, petroleum, durian, mango tree, tin, fish or whatever natural resources belongs to the country, and we, made up our country.

How do you feel when our dear government who use the power we empower them, to decide that ALL our petroleum belongs to one single SENDIRIAN BERHAD company, of which most shareholders are our government’s servant themselves and sell it to us, the rakyat, at international price?

What if your dad tells you the mangoes from the mango tree planted in your house, is available at pasar, and you can buy them there?

What makes them having the rights to our natural resources?

• claxxion (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 11:57 pm

When the fuel prices go down, this means= more cars, more traffic jam, and more people driving like maniacs since petrol is cheap. Sometimes i wish the petrol price is set at RM3/litre instead.

• bukitdamansara (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 12:09 am

agree with Jomo..price go up complaint..price go down also complaint..

claxxion..good point! lol..

take LRT la..save budget what.. :p

• KatakHijau (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 12:32 am

ermm..
    so many comment..
    but from what i know,,
    the time taken from the crude oil to reach our pump is like 5 to 6 month rite??
    so G cannot lower the fuel price after the global price is down..
    it take time..
    ** Sorry for my bad english**
    Peace

• 9166 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 3:40 am

Nice reduction but I still do not like the fact that we now subsidise the government.

• frossonice (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 4:30 am

ingolstadt said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 11:56 pm

First of all, petroleum, durian, mango tree, tin, fish or whatever natural resources belongs to the country, and we, made up our country.

How do you feel when our dear government who use the power we empower them, to decide that ALL our petroleum belongs to one single SENDIRIAN BERHAD company, of which most shareholders are our government’s servant themselves and sell it to us, the rakyat, at international price?

What if your dad tells you the mangoes from the mango tree planted in your house, is available at pasar, and you can buy them there?

—–

Well, I’m a government servant. I don’t see money falling like rain into my wallet yet. Which share are you talking about here?

• Mavmanuel (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 7:53 am

RON97 Fuel:-

(13th Nov) US: 1.60usd per Gallon(4 liter) *3.55 exchange rate = rm5.68
    (16th Nov) MY: 1.80myr per liter * 4 = rm7.20

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 7:59 am

ingolstadt said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 11:56 pm

—–

Aiyyooo…. even tho the petroleum, mango etc belongs to the country and its ppl… still it doen’t mean that it is yours. Let say land. When ppl buy a land… it become theirs… do you still want to say that land belongs to ur country thus it is urs too…? will you accept it if i say the land that u bought is malaysia’s land hence it is my land too since i’m malaysian?

same goes to petroleum… it been there for few hundred years… petronas are the one working hard to get it, using their money, their energy, their time.. of course they can claim it is theirs….

what have you done to get the petroleum from deep inside the earth?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:03 am

Suddenly i felt that our imported cars are so expensive… We are in par with world fuel price (Higher), should we have world fuel standart (lower standart) and world car price (super high for imported AP cars)?

Especially EURO2 above standart Diesel which have been promised for a long time…

• arch747 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:06 am

sigh…..
    minyak naik marah kerajaan..
    itu minyak sudah turun pun masih maw marah kerajaan jugak….
    crap G la, etc etc..

I guess human nature is not always satisfied with whatever they have.

• ericfoong81exe (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:20 am

Good…back to the nearest old price RM1.69/L….

• fyzal (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:27 am

agree wit ericfoong81exe…
    go back to the nearest old price…
    RM 1.62/L if im not mistaken…
    correct me if im wrong ;-)

• rexis (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:33 am

Shh… otherwise tuan cakap kau orang tak tau appreciate.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:34 am

frossonice said,
    December 16, 2008 @ 4:30 am
    —–

Well, I’m a government servant. I don’t see money falling like rain into my wallet yet. Which share are you talking about here?

Well no offence bro. You do have a JOB from the government right?

This is not a pot shot at you, but look at how efficient putrajaya staffs are. You get the drift. Its overstaffed and underused. The Government is basically buying votes….WITH OUR MONEY. In the private sector, one clerk can be expected to do the work of 3 putrajaya staff.

Don’t get me wrong, I have sincerest respect for those that have long time presevered in the Civil service, even more if they are not malay. It takes guts to work there till retirement seeing all the injustice done. My Dad was one of them. He served for 30 years seeing himself being leapfroged by junior officials just because he wasn’t a particualr race.

• raverus (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:18 am

Still need to pay tax through petrol ah?
    Next year got tax cut or not?

IF NOT, CUT PETROL PRICE MORE.

• Islandman (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:18 am

This is just a JOKE to share
    —————————————————————-
    Gangster: Give me all your money or I kill U!
    Malaysian 1: OK! This is all my money, please don kill me.
    Gangster: OK.
    Malaysian 1: Thanks, I really aprreciate you are not killing me. You are such a great guy!

–Next Day–

Malaysian 1: Yesterday I was robbed by a gangster!
    Malaysian 2: Oh… that day I was robbed too!
    Malaysian 1: The Gangster is so good for not killing me.
    Malaysian 2: Mine is even better, give me back my ICs and RM10 for me to take taxi to go home. The taxi only cost RM 8 and I still left RM2. Great!
    Malaysian 1: We should appreciate these Gangster… only took our money. They are such a caring person.

—————————————————————-

Good Luck Malaysian!

• mits27 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:39 am

If complain for a good reason, then we should do it. If complain can improve and raise the sense to fix the problem, I think it is worth it…

• xavier_lert (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:41 am

G00D….. but crap G anyway…. :p

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:36 am

sure they drop today, but when the fuel prices go up again, will they rise too?

• torque (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 11:52 am

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,

WOW!! That’s a fancy nickname you got there dude! :-)

• torque (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 11:54 am

Even his comment is shorter than his nick….go figure!

• wuttaheck (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 12:57 pm

4G63T DSM said,
    December 16, 2008 @ 8:34 am
    My Dad was one of them. He served for 30 years seeing himself being leapfroged by junior officials just because he wasn’t a particualr race.
    —-
    What a racist statement…

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 1:39 pm

“give and take” doesn’t exists in malaysia… It has always been take, take, take…

if cannot take… complain… can take also complain cuz not enuff…

give sum more… still complain cuz want more….

aiyyya…. “.-

• Islandman (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 4:21 pm

Still, there are lot of people appreciate robbers that give us back RM 10 for taxi, and still think that they are making RM 2 from RM 8 taxi. haha!

• torque (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 4:43 pm

Sigh… :-(

RM1.80 is better than RM2.70 and for me any reduction is better than no reduction…

Human nature where could be satisfied wan…I also kalau boleh mintak RM1 per liter laa…but for now, accept it and USE that petrol wisely la! Don’t simply go to 7-Eleven buy a box of cigarette with a HUMMER plak. Nonsense!

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 7:55 pm

there was a time when petrol was cheaper than water. and everybody complained. now are you happy that petrol costs more than water. – some bald dude from top gear malaysia.