Peugeot 308 to hit Malaysian showrooms in January

Peugeot 308

UPDATE: Locally assembled Peugeot 308 VTi and Peugeot 308 Turbo launched in Malaysia: RM96.5k to RM111k

Malaysian Peugeot distributor Nasim Sdn Bhd has started taking orders for the C-segment Peugeot 308, set to be available in Peugeot showrooms in January 2009. Two variants will be available, the Peugeot 308 VTi and the Peugeot 308 Turbo.

The Peugeot 308 VTi is a C-segment car powered by the 1.6 litre BMW-PSA Prince engine with Valvetronic throttle-less operation, the same unit found in the MINI Cooper producing 120 PS and 160Nm of torque. It will compete against other 1.6 litre C-segment cars, which is basically the 1.6L Mazda 3 and the 1.6L Toyota Corolla Altis.

The powerful Peugeot 308 Turbo is powered by a 1.6 litre engine, but it is turbocharged with direct injection to produce 150 PS at 5,800rpm and 240Nm of torque constantly from 1,400rpm all the way to 5,000rpm. It is a detuned version of the 175hp unit in the MINI Cooper S and the Peugeot 308 GT. This will position the 308 Turbo head to head against 2.0 litre C-segment vehicles such as the Lancer 2.0 and Civic 2.0. Don’t be fooled by its 150 PS output, it’s got really good best-in-class torque levels equivalent to a 2.4L engine and the high torque is also achieved from a low RPM point, so expect the 308 to be a very smooth and easy drive around town.

Of course, one difference between the 308 and its competitors listed above is the fact that both the variants mentioned above are 5-door hatchbacks (only the 308 GT is a 3-door hatch) while all its competitors are sedans, except for the Mazda 3 2.0 hatchback and Ford Focus 2.0 hatchback. But you can expect similiar competitive price levels with 1.6 litre and 2.0 litre cars.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 5:00 pm

Yup,

Saw Peugeot’s Road Show at Cineleisure, Mutiara Damansara about 2 weeks ago. 308 is a really awesome car, I like the red colour ones. The design as usual with big smile on the front grille (althought some would describe the Peugeot 407 swallowing the road). But 308 front grille design looks like as if the “mouth” is using teeth bracings.

• Cire (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 5:32 pm

The 308 Hatchback version looks better than the four doors one.
    The Alfa1471.6M will get a good run with the pug’s 1.6 variant.
    Both cars have high torques curves which is good in the mid-range cruise-sprints.. But the Alfa have the roars…hahhaaa

• nonadoes (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 5:37 pm

Have the price list ?

• ... (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 5:39 pm

Paul,

its 1.6L Mazda 3, not Mazda 6…

• isharestuff (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 6:24 pm

Window shape and design seem very dated and boring. Somehow I feel Nissan Latio also looks quite similar to this.

407 is more fun than this. Sharp at the front, reasonable sized head lamp, aerodynamic body, its design categorizes its owner in artist group. The only thing I dislike is the rear lamp.

Urhh… overall design scores 2/5, performance 3, wow factor 2. Sigh.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 6:45 pm

how much is the vti?

• drM (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 6:51 pm

tell me something i dont know. the price. and what sort of vehicles we’ll be getting at such price.

priced at lower than the lowest spec new honda city, naza can count me as the confirmed buyer. that 120VTi is coming home!

hopefully. so now, how about the price?

• fairozee (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 7:29 pm

i think the price shown last time at mutiara dmnsr was RM150k.

• MAJUPERAK (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 7:34 pm

fairozee …. 150K ?

the this is more expensive than the Peugeot 407 at around 128K for the CKD base model ….. althought this is brand new model compared to the facelift 407 …. wonder how is NASIM is positioning this car in terms of pricing etc ? plans for CKD so that more affordable ….?

• lowprofile (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 8:15 pm

based on the class it sits in, which is below the 407, the price theoritically should also be below the entry level 407. question is how much would it be. there are 2 levels so it’s anyone’s guess. as per the 407’s pricing against it’s class rivals, the 308 could also reflect this.

• csv (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 12:08 am

100-120k?

or 90-110k?

i find it hard to reduce price to such low levels cosnidering its a CBU.

if its ckd, then hey its possible.

• lowprofile (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 8:36 am

it’s ckd lah. only the 308gt is cbu.

• kh23 (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 9:37 am

The last I heard the price is similar with 2009City hi-spec, i.e. less than rm95K. Of course the standard equipments are way better than Honda car. 308vti/thp should comes standard with 6-airbags, Auto-Cruise-Control, 2-zone climate control air-cond, 6-speakers hifi, rear-aircond-blower, if not more. Most of these available features are not available in the current Japs model that cost more than rm110K!!
    And do not be fooled by the photo. This is a BIG hatchback. The width of the car is 1821mm. If you compare with Civic, its width is only 1750mm.

• intermilan (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 10:11 am

Paul..

don’t you have any other pictures of the car? interior shot maybe..

And the car with light brownish color as pictured above is not syok to look at.

also best if you could have some comparison with its competitors. then, we all can see what the difference is all about. this posting is too ‘basic’.
    (e.g. dimension, as that seem to be really important to Malaysian, but we don’t buy the Starex in drove? don’t we ..emmm.. :o :o)

my vote for the unknown factor i.e. price is:

A. The 120VTi – RM94-96K

B. The 150Turbo – RM116-118K

However, i believe it is not 150Turbo but 140Turbo, as it should come with an auto g/box. The UK-spec 308 for auto g/box only have 120VTi and 140THP (turbo) petrol engine range in its line-up.

Marvelous if :
    1. my guess is accurate as the out-going 307 CBU (110bhp auto) was retailing at RM136K back then.

2. and if they decided (later?) to CKD the 308SW version. Its 7 seater!
    Malaysia love 7-seater.

.. If only the gahmen listen to what Yamin Vong of CBT tiredlessly preach every single week in its editorial space.. (about the non-sense diesel quality in Bolehland..).. 308HDi i.e. with diesel engine makes more sense in term of practicality and fuel efficiency (most modern diesel car for that matters!).

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 10:21 am

still, its a volkswagen golf rival

• tikus (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 5:20 pm

Wow danm garang looks. More style then Honda City.Cant wait lar….

• tikus (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 5:22 pm

If the price below 100k for turbo, BANZAI !! Naza Boleh!

• lowprofile (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 5:37 pm

tikus,

i hope your wish comes true, but it is impossible as it is the same class as the civic and altis. those are ckd cars too so the turbo should be around there. for those who are considering the city, the vti which is larger should be an interesting alternative.

• lpost (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 11:23 pm

The price should be between RM88k – RM90K OTR for ckd vti.

• lowprofile (Member) on Dec 19, 2008 at 8:33 am

it’s not a city/vios rival being much bigger in size with a 1.6 litre engine instead of 1.5 so, it will probably cost a bit more than rm90k otr.

• tikus (Member) on Dec 19, 2008 at 9:01 am

lowprofile,

308 is the same class as civic and altis, how bout 407? with Accord?
    Somehow Naza selling the 407 as the civic and altis price…
    My Christmas wish is 308 below 100k hee….

• lowprofile (Member) on Dec 19, 2008 at 9:27 am

yup. 407 with accord but priced below accord. 308 same class as civic and altis but priced… ;)

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 19, 2008 at 12:02 pm

i think it would be more than 100k. malaysia does not have very good relations with people from FROGLAND do they?

• lowprofile (Member) on Dec 19, 2008 at 12:22 pm

be surprised then

• intermilan (Member) on Dec 19, 2008 at 12:29 pm

anything below rm90k is just asking too much.

mind that is car is in same segment as civic and altis. so >rm90K is a misguided dream.

i won’t really protest thou, if it is. just feel like its an unsustainable business practice / models.

If Nasim decided to follow-up their price-buster strategy like what they did with the 407, 308 (the 120VTi) should be priced a little bit over the new City but far cheaper than Civic, Altis, Swift Sport, and even the entry-level Slyphy.

Since we all know now that full City E spec sell for RM90,000 already (!), 308 120VTi (with better specifications, more and higher-level accessories) could be priced RM4-6K more. the monthly payment over 7 years then will not differ much. A difference of RM60 perhaps?

We should also acknowledged that Nasim need to make profit here.

Alas, it will be great if the price difference between the 120VTi and 140THP (turbo) is just in between rm10-12K range.

Sure headache to choose one from another! i pick the 140THP, thank you.

• lpost (Member) on Dec 19, 2008 at 3:16 pm

Yeah intermilan, u may rite the price should be higher than rm90k, but honda/toyota/nissan have gained malaysian confident still ppl luv it even with higher price tag but not with peugeot. Compare the prices with Lancer 2.0GT CBU and Civic 2.0 CKD??

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 19, 2008 at 11:17 pm

go to pj service centre and check out the 207 gti

• intermilan (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 12:13 pm

lpost,

IMHO,

Confidence and trust over the brand is cause of the higher price tag of the T,H &N products.
    Put it simply, they took benefit on customer love/trust on them. They like if you want to love them but have to pay extra for that love, okay? It’s not free. But many of those, are blind to see, let alone admit it. Sorry if this hurt a few, but it’s the truth, john doe. That’s’ the danger of upholding a few player as the best and the rest as non-competence. Create unfair and unbreakable ‘monopoly’.

But again, of course it’s your money. My grump about this? Just that its actually have distort and limit the ‘acceptable’ choice available in the market. The auto world is so vast with choices… why are we limiting the choices that we can make in Bolehland already limited market (due to protective measure of the G policy)? Doesn’t make sense lah.

Up to the point when people want to introduce something else also ‘cannot’… as everything else other than T, H &N is not ‘good’ and must make sure its introduction will not be a success. As if it’s a threat that must be neutralize. Sound creepy …

Comparing lancer GT and civic CKD?

Dear friend, nowadays… the tax for Japanese CBU and Thailand CKD do not differ much because of the recent free trade agreement between M’sia and Japan taking effect. And Mitsubishi business strategy of willing to cut its profit margin to win sales leads to lower price of lancer GT. So I don’t know for sure why you bring this up in a manner that seem unfair to me. Maybe you are not aware of M’sia-Japan FTA. There is no such agreement with the EU.
    Well, if u really want to know why the price differ, you better ask Honda M’sia lah. They know why.

And we Malaysian are a confuse lot when its come to which car is in which segment due to Japanese manufacturer keep increasing their car dimension and size at every opportunity (which blurring the boundary) as most Malaysian consider the bigger the space, the more ‘upmarket’ and ‘higher class’ the car become.

Allow me to make some simple basic comparisons.

For example, the new City at RM85K and RM90K is in the B-segment and Civic at RM113,800 (1.8s) and RM128,800(2.0s) is in the C-segment. Altis 1.8G at RM117,900 is also in C-segment.

For info, the 308 are in the same segment as the Civic. And the VW Golf too, for that matters.

Assuming the 308 is going to be priced at RM94-96K (120VTi) and RM116-118K (140THP).

It is easily between RM10,000-12,000 cheaper than comparable Civic models (120VTI vs. 1.8S, 140THP vs. 2.0S), it’s direct competitors.

The pricing of the 120Vti at RM94-96K, is even so near to the City E-spec.

So Peugeot C-segment car price is within the grasp of Honda B-segment car price range.

Talking about peugeot is more expensive… so far not that true.. let go through some more insight…

car cost price.
    IMO, the price of a euro-based CKD will be affected by the higher cost & taxation of its CKD kit (its from Europe and payable in Euro. Therefore, it is very hard to be overall cheaper than made-in-Thailand stuff). But who know, things can change.

And talking about the level of equipments … recent CKD Peugeots are always offering more equipments than direct Japanese competitors.

As an example, city, civic all had 2 airbags (so does 206 bestari).

The 308 meanwhile, minimum 4 airbags for 120VTi and the 140THP-turbo got at least 6 airbags. See? There are more quantity / kits in a Peugeot. Therefore it should make it cost higher, right?

But the estimate final price of the 120VTi 308 at RM94-96K and 140THP 308 at RM116-118K (note: heard it is lower!), as shown above does not seem expensive, when we when through the details…. even when compare to Japanese car in a lower segment.

People will still buy the City and civic in drove..as if its value-for-money and dirt cheap. but whoever ending up buying the 308 will be the lucky one.
    Tak percaya? Tunggu….

Worry about Resale value? No worry. seriously WHY?

First thing first. European CBU car lost almost 30-40% value in first 3 years because of the huge CBU tax in its price when new. as this is not the ‘natural’ value of the car, the market will ‘cut’ the CBU tax components from the car ‘actual’ value over time. That is all why euro CBU car lost a lot of 2nd hand value early on, market want to remove the CBU tax part as soon as possible.

The out-going 307 CBU (1.6L 110HP) was sold at ~RM136K brand new.

Now, newer & better 308 is estimate to sell at RM94-96K (120VTi 308) and at RM116-118K (note: heard it is lower!) for 140THP 308. Mind you that the equivalent 308 with the out-going 307 is the 120VTi. so the price reduced by BIG RM42,000!

when the price reduction is this BIG, there will be no crazy lost in car value like what normally happened to CBU Euro car. This 308 is CKD. And as there are no element of CBU tax in its price structure, there no CBU tax to be removed, so….. its resale value maintain and will dropped gracefully.

I believe the above explainations is fair and just enough. So no worry about resale value anymore. great!

Reliability? All Peugeot passed year 2005/2006 should be generally reliable. I have no doubt about this. The reliability issues are the past. Truth is, no car is perfect. Everybody knows. So it apply to Peugeot car. So does every other car makers too. Just T, H & N always get away with any problems because they are loved and of course currently they are the one to beat in reliability.

Moreover, the 207 and 308 got positive review, even from their harshest critics (the UNITED KINGDOM-based press community). The 207 are the b-segment car with highest sales in Europe in 2007.

I trust any reader should be able to think and analyse further … I consider my posting as the path opener.

Btw, to anyone who plans to purchase a passenger vehicle that cost RM90K-RM130K now, don’t make your decision until you test drive the upcoming 308 (launching in mid-January 2009). Give it a go (test drive, touch touch and look-look), there is no harm in checking and evaluating as much choice as possible. It’s your money, remember that.

• Jerry Phang on Jul 02, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Intermilan, your predictions and sweet talks about this 308 CKD is totally WRONG!! Open your eyes wide now and see! Go Mudah and type “Peugeot 308”! The selling price for a second hand 308 turbo of year 2012 is only RM38,500!!! So what say you of the stable resell value? Furthermore, the Malaysia built 308 CKD is far from having few problems! It is VERY problematic ranging from engine/turbo to airconditioners! So I can safely deduce that you are just a typical bull shitter!

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 1:45 pm

so long…

• intermilan (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 3:41 pm

hahaha.. like an essay or novel already, huh..

• lpost (Member) on Dec 22, 2008 at 7:43 pm

good explainaton intermilan…

r u sure civic are imported from thailand? yes, i’m aware about FTA malaysia-japan but it is not completely implement yet in auto industry untill 2010/2015 for (cbu japan).

‘Up to the point when people want to introduce something else also ‘cannot’… as everything else other than T, H &N is not ‘good’ and must make sure its introduction will not be a success. As if it’s a threat that must be neutralize. Sound creepy …’ –>>
    that is normal lah in most of malaysian mind, that is why lah i stressed out the prices should be very attractive.

at the end. the prices will be decided by G lah…hehehe…

i love this car and plan to hv one…

• intermilan (Member) on Dec 23, 2008 at 9:33 am

lpost,

to me, it didnt matter much were does the civic really really come from. its still not CBU japan. just a CKD.

beside, what important is the totally contrasting manner in which honda and mitsubishi laying down their pricing strategy.

notice that honda will avoid at all cost to ever mentioned the word “C K D” for its CKD car? its never (very seldom) mentioned in their marketing and sales initiative or documents.

many of the buyers still ‘feel’ that the city, civic and accord that they buy was ‘made in japan’. duh.. look at the window glasses (city at least) … its either MSG or Pilkington, both are made in M’sia boleh! one…

compare to peugeot, the 206 bestari or even the new not-yet-released 308 CKD, the windows glassess.. i can bet it surely will be SEKURIT with a lion logo on it. and nasim dont really ‘sembunyi’ the fact that is a CKD coz it comes with ‘CBU car’ parts.

AFAIK, for abovementioned models, only accord 3.5L V6 truly CBU made in japan. that is why the price is even rubbish (but still cheap for a 3.5L car in malaysia boleh).

Regarding the FTA, officially maybe. but there is a loophole in the agreement that being identified and manipulated by several players. This allow Mitsubishi and Suzuki (to cite a few) to bring Japan CBU vehicles at unheard price and passed the ‘saving’ to customer in order to build / rebuild branding, grab market share and create customer base.

• lowprofile (Member) on Dec 23, 2008 at 9:37 am

it’s a valid novel… like a case study but well put together. hope it opens a few more eyes out there.

• lpost (Member) on Dec 23, 2008 at 6:20 pm

intermilan,

u r not answering my simple question… i’m aware the things that u mentioned before… some ppl in malaysia boleh think ‘good stuffs must be expensive’.

• Andy214 (Member) on Dec 23, 2008 at 8:34 pm

intermilan,

nicely said!!! Too bad not much ppl reads, look at it this way and understands.

lpost,

How do you define good stuffs? By price? If by price, I think Nasim would be happily charge more; BUT we should appreciate they made the move to bring down the prices. Honestly, do you think if you’re selling Pug, you would sell it at this price based on the market value for cars?
    With this starting point, you can see other makes starting to feel more competitive, starting from 407 CKD; They can’t simply price their car higher anymore and they have more tough competition when their customers questions and asked; What they ‘ll do? Revert to the old classic technique, reliability and spare parts pricing.
    But with the questions and market view, they need to re-consider their next car pricing and others.

After all, it’s a good move for everyone of us, the customers; So what if you don’t like or don’t buy this car? If you think the pricing good is good, we should support it, let the market be more competitive and pricing be more reasonable to us customers. Supporting the other just makes them feel good and stick to their pricing since they got “support” ma.

Anyway, I got to know that the 308 1.6L VTi 120hp is MORE EXPENSIVE than the Honda Civic 2.0L in our neighbour country, Singapore. What are we getting here? Talk about Malaysians… sigh…

Depends how one see it la, but I think for Pug members, or any brand members for that sake; I don’t think we’re “really” happy when some buys the car and doesn’t appreciates it. There’s nothing to be proud of really, like certain cars which people buy just because they know it is a xxx or zzz.

• Andy214 (Member) on Dec 23, 2008 at 8:49 pm

What I mean by support doesn’t necessarily mean “buy” the car, but by means of supporting their move of bringing down the prices; Who knows, one may go visit and check out their cars, maybe will start to appreciate and knows what most Pug owners are talking about here. Like what intermilan said, go check out the cars and consider before making your choices.

Imagine if you’re the person who’s been trying to introduce more competitive and cheaper pricing (which sounds impossible in our bolehland car market price; I mean, who would’ve thought they can buy/own a new Peugeot back before Nasim took over? Back then, a 1.6L 206 CBU would cost over RM110K! Does anybody know? Those who have been dreaming to owns it will know, it’s like their dream come true when the the 206 is CKD here).
    What if the public never supports you despite you have done so much effort to improve and introduce better pricing? How would you feel?
    Maybe one might just screw it and sell at higher pricing (market value); There will STILL be people buy, those who appreciates the car, and they can still earn anyway;

Another point to highlight, how many units of Pug are sold compared to the other famous brand in a MONTH? HOW MUCH PROFIT is earned per unit? Those produced and sells so MANY in a single MONTH, yet it is priced so high; Does it sounds logical?

Now it’s like they’re opening more possibilities and opportunities for many people who have never thought they could buy/own a Peugeot, making more choices available, and also bring more competition to the market (which is good thing for us customers).
    In many other countries, the cars are HIGHLY spec? But here? Pasar Malam spec got la, and we’re paying so much for it.
    With more competition, they have to bring in better spec, more features, and also competitive pricing.

• intermilan (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 12:37 pm

lpost,

one thing clear is i am not answerable to you.. ok dude?
    does it really matter (to you?) to have me to write it down here where i thought the civic were made? if you have the info with you, just strike me down with it and let’s move on ..

still, don’t take what i just said negatively. no offence. its just to me this is of no significance in a 308 post. i rather concentrate on the marketing and pricing issues. the big fish.

what more important, i am delighted to have read that you would like to have the car.

it shall be worth it. i also want one, the THP of course.

• CR7 (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 2:09 pm

Guys…what had been discussed was really enlightening…especially for a potential 308 buyer like myself….cheers!

While most of my serious concerns about the 308 (e.g. the resale value, reliability concerns etc) that were hindering my purchasing decision had been answered…I was thinking if some benchmarking comparisons can be made against its C-segment competitors (e.g. Honda Civic, Toyota Altis etc) out of your expert opinions…as I’m currently choosing between the 308 VTI and Civic 1.8S…(not sure if there are other potential 308 buyers facing the same issue)

Price-wise…I believe it works on Peg’s favour….but how abt the other parameters (e.g. the performance, fuel consumption, maintenance etc)?

• CR7 (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 11:16 am

Lastest confirmation from Peugeot that the official 308 launching will be on 29th Jan at Shangri-La Hotel…However, the Nasim Glenmarie Sales branch will be running a soft launch on the 19th Jan 7pm…not too sure about the other sales branches though…eagerly counting down the days :D

• ckalex (Member) on Jan 18, 2009 at 11:59 pm

Rented this car when I was in France last month. 2.0 Diesel 6-speed MT. The torquey-est car i’ve ever driven. Running on the highway at 150kph with the rpm only at 2300! The handling was great, cabin space awesome, build quality superb with properly textured dash. Built in sat-nav was easy to use. Pity that Nasim won’t bring in the full-spec version. At the end of the 2 weeks, i felt like trying to drive it back to M’sia as i didn’t want to return it!

• oldwira on Feb 17, 2009 at 8:08 am

For an imported car below 100k, this car is the best buy. This car is much better in all aspects than the Japs (vios the dugung, city autobot, swift, latio tonggek, mazda 3, you name others). This car completes your style. Trust me guys.

• andrew said, on Apr 11, 2009 at 6:21 am

[quote comment="201438"]Guys…what had been discussed was really enlightening…especially for a potential 308 buyer like myself….cheers!

While most of my serious concerns about the 308 (e.g. the resale value, reliability concerns etc) that were hindering my purchasing decision had been answered…I was thinking if some benchmarking comparisons can be made against its C-segment competitors (e.g. Honda Civic, Toyota Altis etc) out of your expert opinions…as I'm currently choosing between the 308 VTI and Civic 1.8S…(not sure if there are other potential 308 buyers facing the same issue)

Price-wise…I believe it works on Peg's favour….but how abt the other parameters (e.g. the performance, fuel consumption, maintenance etc)?[/quote]

I am just like you comparing whether to buy a Civic or a 308. It scare the hell out of me when I get to know that in a night 3 civic was stolen in a same area. What do you think?

• ladygaga on Jan 02, 2010 at 5:04 am

yeay! happy new year! nice car…i plan to have one too! :)