Supercharged Lotus Evora with 350hp in the works

Lotus Evora

Thanks to Lotus, we now know Toyota’s 3.5 litre V6 can be forced inducted to a nice 350hp and 400Nm of torque without any modifications, as a source in Lotus discovered during the development of an upcoming “Evora SC” and revealed to Autocar UK. The Lotus Evora SC will make at least that amount of power, and will drop 0 to 100km/h acceleration time to below 5 seconds. The Lotus Evora is expected to do in in approximately 5.5 seconds. The Evora SC’s supercharger will be fitted between the V6 engine’s two cylinder banks, so it won’t intrude into rear visibility like the supercharged Elise does. If the Evora goes for £45,000, the supercharged Evora is expected to retail for between 55,000 and £60,000.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cam.shaft (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 6:44 am

love lotus handling..but design wise…getting really boring….is like they din bother to even think of a new design..the tail lamp looks like its copied straight out of the lotus elise and exige….and the front…well….kinda dated…

cam.shaft

• moha774 (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 8:21 am

Nice… it look as though Proton Group got two sets of mind, Proton is still in love with Mitsubishi and Lotus just dont have enough of Toyota…. only that, when will Lotus supercharging a production Proton car..

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 9:03 am

Didn’t the Solara Coupe come with an optional TRD Supercharger?

I’m thinking they are very similar, well, given the 0.5L jump in displaement of the Solara/Camry’s then 3.0L V6

• Tengku (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 9:06 am

lOvE It!!!

• ansonlee (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 11:01 am

Toyota in Australia has a superchaged TRD Aurion(Camry in some cuntries) which produced 241kw. But after just 2 TRDs projects, they have already canned TRD Australia. http://www.toyota.com.au/TRD/#main/vehicles/trdaurion/trdaurionFeaturePerformance:page=1

• torque (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 11:17 am

Looking forward for this Evora SC since most of Lotus sport cars are track base or just plain basic on it’s interior which difficult to live by on daily basis. Let’s hope this Evora will shine where the Europa failed! Even Jason Plato from Fifth Gear tested the Europa and generally didn’t find it good enough to be a proper GT car because the car needs to be more comfortable. I really want to see this Evora to be better than Europa in both comfort and performance wise. Cheers! ;-)

• BB (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 11:29 am

agree to moha774, just hope proton don go for 4 wifes! sendiri dah tak cukup makan, nak kawin lagi ???

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 2:41 pm

proton + mitsubishi + lotus + toyota = strange bedfellows!!!!

• red7 (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 4:30 pm

did lotus ever had developed their own engine in the past?

cheers~

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 6:09 pm

i wont buy a lotus until proton sells off lotus

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 6:17 pm

read in tuner mag, Gen2 Campro supercharged by powerzone got 180hp…

• tanasi (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 7:52 pm

what’s the point, i’d loose all the extra weight the evora is ‘blessed’ with and do away with all the creature comforts. it’s a lotus for goodness sake! Shouldn’t the evora be a sub 1000kg car for a start?

• topgunthang (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 10:51 pm

yea. its problably just the toyota australia sourced 3.5 litre supercharged. wats the point of the evora if you want to make it just a bigger elise. lotus simply do not know how to make a comfortable sportscar.

• csv (Member) on Jan 09, 2009 at 11:30 pm

nice chasis and good engine reliability. this should prove to be a good formula.

for those who want a nice coupe car with the reliability of a toyota. LOL.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 12:59 pm

topgunthang said,

January 9, 2009 @ 10:51 pm

yea. its problably just the toyota australia sourced 3.5 litre supercharged. wats the point of the evora if you want to make it just a bigger elise. lotus simply do not know how to make a comfortable sportscar.

————————–

i’m pretty sure lotus will not just source an engine like that from toyota. i’m pretty sure the supercharger will be sourced by lotus, and plenty of retuning done by them.

and if you want lightweight, theres always the elise. the whole concept of the evora, is to open up new markets for lotus.. not everyone wants a super lightweight no frills sports car.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 3:26 pm

what about the tesla roadster? its cooler….

• raptorclans (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 5:37 pm

Tesla roadster is modified from the Elise…

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 11, 2009 at 8:46 pm

raptorclans said,

January 10, 2009 @ 5:37 pm

——————–
    top gear says it only 7% elise

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 10:59 am

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,
    January 11, 2009 @ 8:46 pm

raptorclans said,

January 10, 2009 @ 5:37 pm

——————–
    top gear says it only 7% elise
    __________________________________________-

the chassis design, suspension system..etc. is an elise. the car is even built on the lotus assembly line in hethel. even the styling was done by lotus design according to tesla’s design brief.

what top gear meant by 7% is the “shared components” from elise. stuff like mirrors, swithgear, dashboard..etc.

• jesterbot on Jun 13, 2009 at 9:13 am

Like Banyak says… the Tesla IS an Elise, albeit heavily modified. Which means you still get to deal with high (and deep) door sills, crammed interior, poor visibility, etc. To me, aside from the interior updates (a bit more leather, and a cooler looking center console/strip) – the exterior looks very plain jane, and obviously no one is spending 100k on an electric car to save gas money… It's more a publicity thing for celebs and collectors than anything.

On the original topic, I think all these specs on the Evora floating around are mostly speculation at best despite the "inside sources" they claim to have. Everything I've read from official lotus sources have different specs. 0-60 in 5.5? 4.9s is the official spec, with 5.1 0-100kmh… that throws doubt on any other spec listed in this article.

Definitely previewing the car as it crosses through my dealership next weekend though – I think my Elise will be up for sale in a couple months tops while I wait for this more "grown up" Lotus :)