Official Aston Martin showroom in Malaysia

Aston Martin Rapide

We are in the midst of a financial depression but apparently the rich are still thriving, perhaps enjoying the freed-up money that they have from laying off extra workers. Earlier this month we heard news of Maserati making a come-back to Malaysia. Next up is Aston Martin, another maker of sexy high-end sports cars.

There’s apparently an Aston Martin showroom being built on Jalan Genting Kelang near Berjaya’s Sri Pelangi condos. A quick check with Bursa Malaysia filings (page 160) shows that a unit of Berjaya Land Berhad had actually purchased a 49.9% share of Singaporean company Aston Martin Lagonda (S.E.A.) Pte Ltd for RM8.47 million back in 2006. AML SEA is the dealer for Aston Martin in Malaysia and Singapore.

Looks like Berjaya’s making a big re-entry into the automotive market. It now deals with Mazda, Skoda, Changan, Mercedes-Benz commercial vehicles and soon Aston Martin. Berjaya has also secured rights to sell Changan cars in Vietnam. Pretty soon we’ll be able to see more of the DBS, DB9 and in the future the Rapide on the road, I hope!

PHOTO GALLERY: 2006 Aston Martin Rapide Concept
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

[zenphotopress number=99 album=33]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 12:09 pm

Rich getting richer, poor getting poorer.

Not good.

• Faris ToneDeaf on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:23 am

that’s the price we have to pay. That’s what happening in the other countries. I’m very sorry to tell you this. You cant deny that statement and one must work hard to change your life. You can’t depend on others. Life is a competition.

• lorrycar (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 12:34 pm

Great job Berjaya. You should bring it in earlier. More choices for us to choose but now Sorry man. I love my Wild Bull. Will consider if the great models coming in. Well Done Berjaya

• David9988 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 12:46 pm

Wisdom said,

January 23, 2009 @ 12:09 pm

read 1 of robert kiyosaki’s books to understand why tht is so.

• juicer (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 1:20 pm

Wisdom said,

January 23, 2009 @ 12:09 pm

Rich getting richer, poor getting poorer.

Not good.
    ————————————————–

ppl will oso bankrup..
    “perhaps enjoying the freed-up money
    that they have from laying off extra workers”
    hope they soon be bankrupt .

• albagmane (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:16 pm

only can see for wat… ppl are driving while we only can see… its juz getting ppl mad and bad… -_-

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:17 pm

the aston martin dbs is the only aston martin i would like to own.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 4:00 pm

albagmane said,
    January 23, 2009 @ 3:16 pm

only can see for wat… ppl are driving while we only can see… its juz getting ppl mad and bad… -_-
    ___________________________________-

its called the history of the world. there will always be rich people, and poor people. do you think everyone who lives in the US, or UK drive aston martins?

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 8:07 pm

It is not the rich is getting richer, the rich are not at all affected by the crisis. Poor people will definitely suffer. Go to African country also same thing. Mugabe can go around in new S-class, while people don’t have clean water to drink.

• szw (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 9:22 pm

address ?
    lolz !!!

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 9:41 pm

welcome Aston Martin to the world of rally ..

c how the cars suspension work on our bumpy roads ..

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 10:03 pm

Welcome Aston Martin to the rally country ..

dunno how will be the ride comfort if the cars on the malaysia tarmac

• I my (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 11:44 am

if own it will sure take it to SIC to wack it kau kau!!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 2:17 pm

hopefully it will topple the porsche sales here…kudos aston…

• hidrogentank (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 7:34 pm

showroom ? in GK? what a “great choice” of location…….so howcome not somwhere near starhill ??

• Infinitt (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 8:07 pm

cun sangat this car.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 10:42 pm

not at all

• julian-lee (Member) on Jan 26, 2009 at 11:48 am

aston martin is nice car, i like 2 doors version

• torque (Member) on Jan 27, 2009 at 7:52 pm

Love the DB 9 from Aston….welcome to Malaysia!

• torque (Member) on Jan 27, 2009 at 7:53 pm

Oh! Nice legs btw….

• hazimfarid (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 12:33 pm

Hello all,

i am a newbie

have been an avid reader but only recently joint.

encountered with a black DB9 at Jalan Istana last week driven by a mat saleh
    with wilayah registration plate no.

the DB with red color 9. what a beautiful car.

• there was an article in News Strait Times CBT featuring the owner of a DB9 with DB 9 registration plate not long ago. It’s a fat chinese middle ages owner bagging that he paid 100k for the registration plate la. Yes, fat uncle coz i;m being bitter lol

• tuckio on Sep 16, 2009 at 8:31 am

i want Aston Martin One 77

• jeffrey on Jun 27, 2011 at 11:46 pm

Hello mr paul, or anyone who stumbles upon this page.
    i am just wondering what has happened to these rumours of the dealership. its been 5 years now since they acquired the title, and we still dont have one.
    if anyone knows anything please advise

thanks