The Kia Soul’s speakers change their glow according to the beat of the music played!

Kia Soul

This is somewhat quite interesting. As you’ve previously read, the Kia Soul will be positioned as a lifestyle vehicle, Kia’s very own version of the MINI Cooper, the Alfa Romeo Mi.To and the Fiat 500. It’s gotta be cute and full of gimmicks to keep its owner amused and smiling. MINI has its little mood lighting thing going on in the interior where the user can change the ambiant light from various shades from blue to purple to an orangey-red. And the Kia Soul has the “sound volume reflecting speaker lamp.”

Lights in speakers are nothing new. My Perdana’s speakers are lit up too – they’re Soundstream units that have a light glow behind the spider-shaped speaker grille. They look out of place in an executive car like the Perdana though. The Kia Soul’s speakers take the light behind a speaker grille concept further – the light can actually brighten and dim according to the music being played.

There are four modes – On, Music, Mood and Off. On and Off are self-explanatory – the light will either be permanently on or off. Music and Mood behave differently – Mood just dims and brightens repeatedly in 2 second intervals while Music changes its brightness according to the music’s volume, bass tone and beat.

Check out a video after the jump to see the speaker in action with the MI2 movie soundtrack.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ar (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 5:52 am

cool~
    wonder if i can install it on my moskito

• n8cky (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 7:42 am

Off Topic-
    Paul, I saw an ads in The Sun regarding the Civic Hybrid open for RM129,980. Any details?

• droll (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 9:36 am

man, it looks kinda irritating. can be distracting while you drive so i’d imagine this would work best in a parked position??

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 10:17 am

It’s for when you’re cruising and posing around Bangsar and Hartamas, playing ATB, BT, etc.

• jeanloo (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 10:52 am

This is nothing new. My psp can do that after being modified. The power source for the light is being tapped directly from the speaker.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 10:53 am

jeanloo said,
    February 10, 2009 @ 10:52 am

This is nothing new. My psp can do that after being modified. The power source for the light is being tapped directly from the speaker.

the idea is definitely not new.. but for a car manufacturer to offer it as standard for a new car.. thats 100% new i think.

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 11:57 am

almost like my nokia xpress music
    :p

• csv (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 1:44 pm

i think mood is good enough for me man. put to music will become distracting, unless i got amps and woofers and parking in car park blasting my AH BENG TECHNO song!

PI PI PI PI PI PI, PI PI PI PI !!!!!~!~~~

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 8:48 pm

Now, this is downright annoying and dangerous. Clearly for those who want to bling bling thier car.

• transformer (Member) on Feb 10, 2009 at 10:45 pm

no thanks! that wouldnt help to deliver crisp & clear music and soundstage!

sound clarity means more than light or even loudness…

• julian-lee (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 2:21 pm

i want that!

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Feb 12, 2009 at 2:41 pm

a kia is cool? never