Shahrir: ex-refinery prices have not come down so pump prices will not come down

Fuel Wallet GaugeDomestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad says the ex-refinery prices of petrol and diesel in Malaysia have not dropped in tandem with crude oil prices so there is unlikely for prices at the pump to come down, or go up either. He added that ex-refinery prices are not openly available. Apparently ex-refinery prices used to move together with crude oil prices but now it is no longer the case, but he did not elaborate why it was no longer the case.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• B33MER on Feb 14, 2009 at 6:32 pm

As usual … they give many excuses but do not provide any explanation as to why … I guess the government is enjoying the taxes too much to lower it down further

• Wilfred on Feb 14, 2009 at 6:34 pm

between the crude price, and the price before reaching petrol station, there is cost for delivery, refinement, etc. normally if this is not changed, the price to station should fixed according to crude(crude up, price up, crude down, price down. Exclude impact by gov subsidy at this point, assuming it is fixed)

let's say, if the crude price is head down, but the cost of refinement rise the same time, then the effect is countered, and no price reduction then.

its either kind of reason like this, or….
    further reduction will go below the sustainable point of crude business, and forcing the O&G, refinery to close business, hence they stop lowering below than that….to avoid the close down of thing, and impact the business delivery, but……i tot our gov is taxing us??!!!!

• ReactiX (Member) on Feb 15, 2009 at 3:10 am

damn. I saw this week crude oil never reach 40usd from my widget. The moment i m writing this, crude oil is at 33.98usd!!!

• Prices on Feb 15, 2009 at 12:09 am

malaysian style.. price up in overnite.. if price down over years

• lambov12 on Feb 15, 2009 at 12:51 am

stupid G … always think of petronas profit .. now our country is officially selling the most expensive petrol in the whole world ..

useless !

• Calvin Ngan on Feb 15, 2009 at 1:40 am

maybe they are keeping this for a possible perak state by-election? Najib and his tricks.

• littlefire on Feb 15, 2009 at 1:53 am

Who say so? And who have the evidence saying that the cost is still high? Same old G..

• p1basher on Feb 15, 2009 at 3:15 am

always the rakyat becomes the loser.

they always just protect the rich

• BrakeFader on Feb 15, 2009 at 4:36 am

When opportunity exists to raise prices, everybody has a lot of reasons to state. But once the price goes down, they would like to maintain their healthy profit margins. This is not just fuel, even electricity tariff drop less than 5% after hiking it up like crazy.

Malaysians will be the biggest losers here, nothing much you can do with the present administration.

• Ultraseven on Feb 15, 2009 at 4:44 am

For this gomen, I'll definetely not voting them on next election,what a waste of Rakyat money.Their think we as humble rakyat will foloow them blindly? Sorry I said

• Petronas Carigali on Feb 15, 2009 at 4:58 am

don't talk about transportation and refinery thingy, other countries don't have that? indonesia and thai gas prices are lower than the boleh land

• gattaca on Feb 15, 2009 at 5:05 am

please be frank la Mr. Shahrir… just say like this "Er..we cannot drop the fuel price because there will be 2 BUY-election coming thru, we need the money to BUY the votes". kan senang..

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 16, 2009 at 12:20 am

RON95 in indon is about RM1.50, if assuming RM1 = 3,000rp. There's even "premium", though it nvr stated, I guess it's a RON97 at 5,000rp/L (approx RM1.66)

What can I say, this is the govt we chose. Worse still, the opposition can be bought over just bcuz they cannot get new Camry (referring to RPK's sarcastic remark on how that DAP assemblywoman quit just bcuz she didn't get new Camry).

• G has not reveal d new petrol rebate system !!!!

Rakyat is waiting …..

• veetek on Feb 16, 2009 at 1:46 am

Will be waiting a long time then because they already said they dont think any rebate is necessary…

• john mclane on Feb 16, 2009 at 2:54 am

now u see how the AHMO get the $$ to offer JKR people to jump ship…sad..

• kimi_ on Feb 16, 2009 at 3:05 am

hey SHAHRIR!!! don't give any LAME excuse anymore.u thought us are 3 year old kids.

OK, if Govn dont want to reduce and no subsidy for rakyat now,don't EVER increase it when oil price up as you have to subsidise it.

If not, may god blessed u in next general election!!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Feb 16, 2009 at 3:49 am

Calvin Ngan said,

February 15, 2009 @ 1:40 am

maybe they are keeping this for a possible perak state by-election? Najib and his tricks.

————————————————————-

Hey…. the green froggy picture on ur username looks very adorable…. Looks cute … LoL !!!!! take it as complement….. hehe………..

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Feb 16, 2009 at 3:50 am

By the way, its the same old story from G guyz………….

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 16, 2009 at 4:13 am

I don't care about that. I want other items to come down in line with fuel. Consumer goods are still expansive even though petrol lower than before hike

• Stanley Tong on Feb 16, 2009 at 5:50 am

M'sia is a net exporting country for petroleum but provide expensive fuel price for rakyat compared to other country,no doubt BN is the poor governance!

• tiadaid on Feb 16, 2009 at 4:20 pm

Stanley, we may be net exporting country, but the amount is a pittance compared to the bigwigs like Saudi Arabia & Venezuela. And according to figures that I've seen before during the rise of oil prices, we're close to becoming a net IMPORTER of oil.

• floyd (Member) on Feb 16, 2009 at 4:59 pm

"….ex-refinery prices of petrol and diesel in Malaysia have not dropped in tandem with crude oil prices so there is unlikely for prices at the pump to come down, or go up either. He added that ex-refinery prices are not openly available."

—————————–

okay, they can keep it to themselves. Keep as much as you like until you bloat!

• raverus on Feb 16, 2009 at 5:38 pm

For the moment, raise the bloody TOL rate right??????????????????

Ppl don't believe G's reports anymore.