MITI Proposal: RM 5,000 incentive if you sell your old car for a new one?

Car sales in Malaysia are continuing to drop, and given that our protected car industry has many government-linked players including our national car manufacturer, it won’t be long before they step in with some kind of incentive program that actually works and appeals to the rakyat other than the earlier proposed car-scrapping scheme that wanted to put an age limit to cars on the road and force you to scrap your old cars for a measly sum. This new proposal sounds alot more appealing, IF I am interpreting the news reports correctly, otherwise it is still the same old thing they’ve been proposing, which I suppose is decent if it is voluntary.

The Ministry of International Trade and Industry is proposing a RM 5,000 incentive scheme if someone with a car that’s 15 years old or older sells their car and buys a new one. So he doesn’t need to scrap his car for a pathetic amount, he can actually sell it off for whatever value it has and on top of that get an additional RM 5,000 to buy a new vehicle. If my assumption is wrong, you scrap a car for the RM 5,000 and that’s it. How the RM 5,000 will be given has not been decided yet though. It could be a reduction in excise duties and sales tax or other ways safer and less prone to abuse than giving cash directly to the owner.

Another plus point is there is nowhere in the news reports that this would be restricted to new Protons only, though we don’t know the final details yet. Nothing is confirmed yet as the proposal still needs to be tabled.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• redwings (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 10:14 pm

Hmm..I can buy an old car value below RM5k and wait for this proposal to confirm..

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 10:18 pm

New only?

I suppose these will leave the 2nd hand dealers and recon dealers out in the cold.

very old used cars probably appreciate in price now….. after all, what you get from a scrap yard is usually about $800….

So what is stopping me from buying a $1000 junker and "trading" it in for a $5000 discount? hmmmm.

Unfortunately, the government hasn't really thought this through. Even a 15 year old kancil still fetch $5000. Let alone any "higher" class car.

And those that actually own a car that is worth trading it in, probably can't afford a new car anyway (old timers, limited income groups). seriously, if most could, most would have anyway traded it in for a new car when it was worth more….

• Sex is wonderful, bu (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 10:20 pm

a 30 year old porsche 911 turbo is worth more than a new one

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 10:29 pm

I don't know, but the recent policies from the Government seem to be at odds to which "demographic" it is helping.

The people that are already affected by recent price hikes and the looming recessions. So far the Government has only made it worst for the lower income group.

This new "suggestion" is no different. MITI's "issue" is people that can afford a car isn't buying. The same people aren't usually the one with a 15 year old car that is worth less than 5k.

Those that are holding on to a 20 year old car, would probably not even buy one irespective of what the government does.

Say even if one gets 5k (maxed out), a base kancil is 25, you will still need to fork out 20k. Lower income group….retiries, how to get a loan?

Think about that for a moment.

??

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 10:35 pm

This is not mandatory if i'm not mistaken.. it's optional… if u want to scrap ur old car and buy a new one then it'll benefit u…

if u dun want to… then nothing changed..

• nonengko (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 10:42 pm

Must wait for the guidelines to be out first……

What will happen to the old car after one sells it and gets the incentive? Can the new owner of the old car do the same and get his incentive? Or the rebate is only once per car basis?

A timeframe must also be imposed, otherwise it defeats the purpose of reducing the number of older cars on the road….

But some old cars are in better condition than the "newer" cars. Many car lovers would testify that and their cars are in prestine condition/refurbished and I dont think they would want to trade it off for 5K.

Banyak soalan……..

• Paul Tan on Feb 23, 2009 at 10:45 pm

From what I understand, if you have a reasonably old car and sell it off for RM10k, you get that RM10k and the additional RM5k, so you'll have RM15k to put towards a new car. I may be wrong in my interpretation.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 10:51 pm

[quote comment="214258"]From what I understand, if you have a reasonably old car and sell it off for RM10k, you get that RM10k and the additional RM5k, so you'll have RM15k to put towards a new car. I may be wrong in my interpretation.[/quote]

If that was really the case, maybe there is really something bright coming out of MITI…..but given its track record, probably not the case…

Ps. I missed that part out earlier.

• corollaaltis (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 10:52 pm

RM5k not much helping.

• kemosabe (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 11:02 pm

Maybe Miti should suggest lowering all car prices by Rm5,000 with immediate effect. Would make a better incentive for everyone and less hassle of paper work.

• naz@proton (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 11:08 pm

Proton already start this programe but for certain model such savvy,neo,gen2and perdana. Respone is ok but dealer n salesman take advantage making money. When customer come purchased one of those model without car to scrap so dealer or salesman will declared under scrap programe. If u own old car my company keen to buy price nego but up to2.5k, purpose for scrap programe. But car must go for puspakaom (pengesahan identiti) if got joint sign or lantai potong so ur r not qualified for scrap.

• neobies (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 11:40 pm

I thought the RM5k will be discounted from the new car price upon purchase when i saw on TV3 last nite..mayb dats not what it meant…

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 12:03 am

I think the way it work is ppl with old car will have to go sell their car to appointed old car buyer or trade in at car dealers….

i dun think it works if u sell it to just anyone and then go and claim the incentive. then the new owner will sell the car again and go claim the incentive… and so on….

if like that, then the old car will never be scrapped and gov. will have to give 5k incentive for the same car over n over again…

there must be some appointed junkyard or old car dealers that you have to sell the car to… in order to receive the incentive.

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 12:24 am

does anyone feel annoyed with the quoting thingy??? Somehow it made the comments section shifted to the left until i can't even read the comments or post comments (other article) since the it has shifted too much to the left..

dun experienced this before…

• kelvin011 (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 12:47 am

what d goverment shoud do is just reduce all the taxes n it will definately boost d car sales market.as u guy know car sale in malaysia is very2expensive as compare 2 other countries

• bmpower (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 1:10 am

actually.. since the 12th election..

I think it's not about MITI or RM5K.

but the current gov are not capable enough to be a good gov.

the more they do, the more worst their image are. The more they talk 'bad things' bout 'others'. They we hate them. Whatever they do, none well acceptable nowadays.

This 5K is just too small beside of corruption things reported. Hundreds of thousands report but none of it 'investigate' nor brought to court!.

Im sorry.. im the one those already lost confidence in what ever they did. They doing something just for theirs advantage… sugarized me not!.

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 1:22 am

i think.. it doesn't matter which parties is the govt. be it BN or PKR…..

if their decision or action does not benefit you but better for others… it will still be wrong in your eyes…

if you think being a leader is easy then u r wrong… leaders decision is always unpopular… if leaders only do popular decision then I can assure u he/she is not a good leader.

it is not easy to satisfy everyone… if u think it is easy then try run for election.. see if u can even convince 100 ppl to vote for u…if u can and u win… try and see if u can make a decision/ any decision that can satisfy these 100 ppl and at the same time benefit to ur country and govt….

• tiadaid (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 1:26 am

[quote comment="214372"]actually.. since the 12th election..

I think it's not about MITI or RM5K.

but the current gov are not capable enough to be a good gov.

the more they do, the more worst their image are. The more they talk 'bad things' bout 'others'. They we hate them. Whatever they do, none well acceptable nowadays.

This 5K is just too small beside of corruption things reported. Hundreds of thousands report but none of it 'investigate' nor brought to court!.

Im sorry.. im the one those already lost confidence in what ever they did. They doing something just for theirs advantage… sugarized me not!.[/quote]

What makes you think the alternative government can do better. Lets face it, they are just the same.

• CFA28 (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 1:35 am

Paul, i don't think that u get another RM5K. It should only be 1 time, else the "intention to scrap the car is not achieved. Proton has a so-called "xChange Programme" whereby you can xchange your "old car" and be given a RM5K rebate voucher to but certain Proton models.

The car that is xchanged will be "scraped". However, its for models that cannot sell such as Savvy, Gen2, Perdana but recently added in the Saga.

Believe it or not, but there are many cars in driveable conditions but because of their country or origin (not from Asian), its difficult to trade-in and such a programme can be beneficial, but it has to be voluntary.

• Paul Tan on Feb 24, 2009 at 1:40 am

[quote comment="214397"]Paul, i don't think that u get another RM5K. It should only be 1 time, else the "intention to scrap the car is not achieved. Proton has a so-called "xChange Programme" whereby you can xchange your "old car" and be given a RM5K rebate voucher to but certain Proton models.

The car that is xchanged will be "scraped". However, its for models that cannot sell such as Savvy, Gen2, Perdana but recently added in the Saga.

Believe it or not, but there are many cars in driveable conditions but because of their country or origin (not from Asian), its difficult to trade-in and such a programme can be beneficial, but it has to be voluntary.[/quote]

If that is the case then disappointing.

• pippen (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 1:52 am

Sometimes i am wondering, is their any single policies that really HELPS the public?…i cant think of any, in other side, instead of blasting the G-policies, would probably recommend the following to boost my voting (if any chance i can become a nominates :P): Here it comes.

1) Scrap all import car tax, all cars would be cheaper and public noneed to spend so many $$ in cars, and safe the money for other investment (house, shares, etc), furthermore, many manufacturer will start investing factories in here then, and create more jobs for blue-workers. In return, will tax those factories extra if they making good profit (compare to AP holders paying who-knows-how-many tax). Does this sounds good?

2) No such thing as taxing on oil since oil is our own countries natural resources (and no alternative!), and should return to the public with minimum charges, but will float the price with international oil price. No rebate system that encourage red-tapes.

3) No tol is allowed for a road already existed. (e.g LDP) improvement jobs does not and should not be tol. That is totally illogical. North South express way make sense since it is really building a road.

4) Subsidize Proton cars to encourage national car. Instead of making other car expensive, use the petronas money to subsidize and encourage public to buy local products. This should be the way, not the other way round to cost public money. Rebate them by buying local products through tax, or etc.

5) Build a public transport. In city like LRT that covers more places, from shopping mall to shopping mall. intercity train systems, and even connect down to SG.

I wonder the above policies will get how many voters :P

• jtshin (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 4:09 am

Agreed on Pippen. but I wonder does those G ppl likes the idea.. most probably not.. hehe…

• paparadzi (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 4:39 am

pippen,

Your idea is only good for the general people, but not the cronies. So, cannot lah.

• kei9 (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 4:45 am

Hmm.. I'm not sure bout this.

• _xXx_ (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 4:57 am

Another half-baked idea ….

• tiadaid (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 5:23 am

[quote comment="214401"]

1) Scrap all import car tax, all cars would be cheaper and public noneed to spend so many $$ in cars, and safe the money for other investment (house, shares, etc), furthermore, many manufacturer will start investing factories in here then, and create more jobs for blue-workers. In return, will tax those factories extra if they making good profit (compare to AP holders paying who-knows-how-many tax). Does this sounds good?

2) No such thing as taxing on oil since oil is our own countries natural resources (and no alternative!), and should return to the public with minimum charges, but will float the price with international oil price. No rebate system that encourage red-tapes.

4) Subsidize Proton cars to encourage national car. Instead of making other car expensive, use the petronas money to subsidize and encourage public to buy local products. This should be the way, not the other way round to cost public money. Rebate them by buying local products through tax, or etc.

5) Build a public transport. In city like LRT that covers more places, from shopping mall to shopping mall. intercity train systems, and even connect down to SG.

[/quote]

1) Your idea number 4 contradicts idea number 1…how fair is it to use Petronas money to subsidize Proton cars whose driver uses Shell? I rather

have Petronas money used to take the company to greater heights (people seems to think that Petronas is welfare agency…I hate that!)

2) Again people don't seem to understand the true situation of our oil production. Yes we're a net EXPORTER of oil, but our net export of oil is miniscule. In fact, we're close to become a net IMPORTER of oil, so what then?

The only idea I think is logical is the 5th point.

• Bebelon (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 6:20 am

hate whatever the current G is doing!

All bad ideas and not transparent!

• gmorque (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 7:51 am

hmm from what i see, our government always not using the correct way of rectifying our automotive industries.. you got to compare an apple with an apple lor. They said other countries already apply the method of the incentive but do they really study other aspect such as car price in the other countries?.. I really hate hate the government ideas when it comes to automotive. The root cause to be taken if you want to promote the automotive sector is by REDUCING the blood sucking import taxes that have been included into the car prices. I know for Proton or Perodua supporters or maybe the G will respond by saying how our national car will survive.. but thats not the case, if your quality, styling and price comes out right, no reason for our national car manufacturers will be jeopardized. But as usual, when it comes to automotive ideas from the government, always want to back up Proton or Perodua. If this continues, our middle class citizen will NEVER have the ability to buy other brands of cars.. Damn with all the import taxes!!!!

• gmorque (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 8:11 am

[quote comment="214512"][quote comment="214401"]

[/quote]

1) Your idea number 4 contradicts idea number 1…how fair is it to use Petronas money to subsidize Proton cars whose driver uses Shell? I rather

have Petronas money used to take the company to greater heights (people seems to think that Petronas is welfare agency…I hate that!)

2) Again people don't seem to understand the true situation of our oil production. Yes we're a net EXPORTER of oil, but our net export of oil is miniscule. In fact, we're close to become a net IMPORTER of oil, so what then?

The only idea I think is logical is the 5th point.[/quote]

our petrol from our land rated as one of the highest grade (source from Petronas laboratory). So we EXPORT the high grade one and IMPORT the lower grade and sell it to our beloved Malaysian with the price of higher grade.. Aiyaa, jadi menteri memang suka menipu n kurang cerdik tapi lebih wang.. Hahahaha…

• csv (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 10:14 am

[quote comment="214401"]Sometimes i am wondering, is their any single policies that really HELPS the public?…i cant think of any, in other side, instead of blasting the G-policies, would probably recommend the following to boost my voting (if any chance i can become a nominates :P): Here it comes.

3) No tol is allowed for a road already existed. (e.g LDP) improvement jobs does not and should not be tol. That is totally illogical. North South express way make sense since it is really building a road.

I wonder the above policies will get how many voters :P[/quote]

the rakyat will like, but the cronies who are powerful will oppose it. no hope one la.

• tansri (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 3:16 pm

Sometimes i am wondering, is their any single policies that really HELPS the public?…i cant think of any, in other side, instead of blasting the G-policies, would probably recommend the following to boost my voting (if any chance i can become a nominates :P): Here it comes.

I wonder the above policies will get how many voters :P

We paid so much for the pride of having the national car..I always wanted the no 1 idea, but first proton need to be sold or have to merge with bigger manufacturers..thailand has proved that they can benefit more than us from auto industry without having a national car plan. why not merge the proton, and 3-4 years later, free the car market completely!

• tansri (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 3:19 pm

[quote comment="214401"]Sometimes i am wondering, is their any single policies that really HELPS the public?…i cant think of any, in other side, instead of blasting the G-policies, would probably recommend the following to boost my voting (if any chance i can become a nominates :P): Here it comes.

I wonder the above policies will get how many voters :P[/quote]

We paid so much for the pride of having the national car..I always wanted the no 1 idea, but first proton need to be sold or have to merge with bigger manufacturers..thailand has proved that they can benefit more than us from auto industry without having a national car plan. why not merge the proton, and 3-4 years later, free the car market completely! the gov earn more, we people have better choice, proton able to survive better thus also giving more money to gov!

• quest (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 4:03 pm

I've a 15 year old, Japanese CBU Mitsubishi Galant 2liter V6 which puts 2 year old Perdana's to shame. Guess, I have to write it off for RM5k, and force me to buy a RM60, louse junk Proton.

Now let see, something just don't add up…… I wonder what low income earners are going to drive. This is to FORCE car buying. If I've a perfectly functioning car, in extremely good condition, why would I want to write it off for RM5k? So that I'm forced to buy scrap metal namely Proton?

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 4:23 pm

Lol, have you read or listen what the govt is saying quest?? This thingy is OPTIONAL… you dun have to do it if you dun want to… no one is forcing u…

BTW i think this policy will benefit most likely more than 15 years old Proton or Perodua car's owner… cuz most of their models you can even get 5k if u sell it to used car dealers for more than 15 years old car…

so if they wanna get a new car… they can at least get 5k for the old junk from govt to buy a new car… mebbe not toyota or honda or ferrari… but at least a new Proton, a new perodua or even a new Naza… isn't that better??

• azrai (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 4:45 pm

If your father want to buy a new car this is great. Just change his 15+ year old ownership name on the car to yours, then claim RM5k rebate from the G to buy a new car. Great isn't it? How about if your father own 3 old cars? Get RM15k rebate? *This is just a case study where this proposal has a big loophole and i managed to find it.

• azrai (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 4:46 pm

The G should only reduce it tax structure on excise duty. That will work.

• rexis (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 5:34 pm

From another source I read about they mentioned that theres about 1 mil 15yo+ cars roaming the road, and with rm5,000 incentive each, it is part of a RM5billions plan to save the car industry.

Is this the best we can do with RM5bil? Or is it just too little to do anything else?

How about utilizing the money to make free/low interest car loans? Manage it carefully it might be self sustain or even generate income.

As a comparison,

2008 PTPTN loans provided RM2.6bil loans to over 200,000 students.

2008 Perodua + Proton sales total up to 309351 cars.

RM5bil is perhaps more then enough to provide low interest loan to all national cars with a price tag below RM50,000. They can sub it to banks to manage the funds etc.

It is much better then spoon feeding the industry seriously.

(btw, PAUL, do you have any links here that state the html codes that we can use to add links, quotes, etc? So that we can refer it and pimp our post :D)

• rexis (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 5:40 pm

[quote comment="214777"]I've a 15 year old, Japanese CBU Mitsubishi Galant 2liter V6 which puts 2 year old Perdana's to shame. Guess, I have to write it off for RM5k, and force me to buy a RM60, louse junk Proton.

Now let see, something just don't add up…… I wonder what low income earners are going to drive. This is to FORCE car buying. If I've a perfectly functioning car, in extremely good condition, why would I want to write it off for RM5k? So that I'm forced to buy scrap metal namely Proton?[/quote]

I wont settle my 1995 wira for anything less then RM15000 too.

Compare to voluntary car scrap like what is suggested, dont you think that a low-interest car loan will receive more attension?

The intension is to put the allocated money to full use isnt it?

• lchan (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 6:07 pm

Hey, least we get paid for recycling and not the other way round. Regardless, this scheme is only strictly for Proton cars or a one to one exchange basis rebate. Not a collective type of rebate where you can get 50k off if you have 10 old cars. Its a proton initiative which you know if specially targeted at old saga owners

Its really nothing to shout about. Its a big discount only beneficial to people with a car 15 years old and above thats worth less then 5k.

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 6:19 pm

From i read… this policy does not work the way u think azrai… the loophole u claimed is not existed….. The 15 years old car is to be scrapped… it's not as easy as just changing the ownership of the car… u have to sell it to appointed junkyard for scrapping the cars… not to sell it to just anyone else… you the G is that stupid?

BTW about the PROTON… they already have the policy where u can trade in ur old proton and get discount if u buy new proton such as gen2…. it's already done for quite sometime before the G announce this policy…

BTW why said it will only benefit proton? what about perodua n naza?

• p1basher (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 6:52 pm

i think it is a good idea to scrap very old car since they could be dangerous to the passengers and driver. But i think it should be limited to 1 person each or whatever relevant to avoid some ppl do business buying old cars cheaper than 5k and sold to G for 5k.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 7:27 pm

It's an attempt to lower the frustation level of having to buy a higher tech designed car at a too expensive price. And it's not working, and not viable. Scrap policies must be met with a lot more criteria, crossing all the t's and dotting the i's.

Hopefully this time it's not half baked as usual. Do not try to beli jiwa, the govt has done much in the education sector, and now the rakyat is well informed, bright and able to see and dissect foolish and pea brained ideas. The govt must help at a logical, acceptable level. Most importantly helping lower income group not to ride their motorcycles with their babies on their laps instead driving affordable new cars.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 8:04 pm

What's the JPJ procedure on declaring your old car as junk ie untuk pelupusan? A friend had sold his 1979 Datsun 160J SSS for RM300.00 to jubkyard but kept the grant. Is there any implication to this action?

• CocoBear on Feb 25, 2009 at 6:44 am

Keep a fleet of Tiaras for good investement. Whahaha

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 26, 2009 at 4:30 am

Nice step forward, but not sure how it will be implemented.

Imagine someone buying a 30 year old car for RM1k, then selling it for Rm5k to get new car. So he gains RM4k. Even rich people can apply for it then?

• john mclane on Feb 27, 2009 at 2:21 am

well, the tol been raise heavily. So beside the oil price control, every damn road outside our house and in every km will probably have a tol in the future. Still wanna 5K rebate for a car? I am moving out of Selangor man. Crazy.

• osh_kosh on Feb 27, 2009 at 7:03 pm

as mentioned by someone here, why can't someone who have more than one 15y.o cars get the 'rebate' if they want to scrap all those cars? i cannot see the justification of limiting 1 car for 1 person limit. The idea was to encourage ppl to scrap their old car! so if u have 3 old car to scap then why not? scarp 3 to get 3 new car or perhaps 1? U'll get RM15k & car company make money when u buy their car. also less scrap metal on Malaysian road. it sound fair enuff to me.