Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk6 – full details unveiled!

Volkswagen has unveiled the production version of the Mk6 Volkswagen Golf GTI and some journalists have already managed to have a go at it at the international driving presentation in Saint-Tropez, France. This blog has no such luck so we’ll just have a look at the details while we wait for the Mk6 to reach our shores and then perhaps we can have a go, like we did with the Mk5 Golf GTI.

Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk6

As you can see from the shot above the GTI in its sixth incarnation looks nothing like the first version, though the red lining around the front grille remains. The Mk6 shares more in common with the Mk4 so you’ll be able to spot the resemblance with those two vehicles side by side instead. Of course, the man in the shot is Hans-Joachim Stuck, who worked closely with Volkswagen in developing the new GTI.

Stuck reminiscened to the old days of the Mk1, which had a 110 PS 1.8 litre engine which according to him had a willing less to rev that was fun from day one. The new GTI is quite different, using an engine that is only slightly larger but makes nearly twice the power thanks to the use of a turbocharger and direct fuel injection.

Golf GTI

The EA888 engine produces 210 PS and a massive 280Nm of torque from as low as 1,700rpm up to 5,200rpm. It is differentiated from the Mk5 engine via new pistons and piston rings, a regulated oil pump, a new vacuum pump, a new high-pressure fuel pump and a new mass airflow sensor. For greenheads, emissions are Euro 5 compliant at 170g/km and the engine sips only 7.3 litres (7.4L for the DSG) of fuel per 100km, compared to 8.0 litres on the Mk5 GTI. It also has a lower compression ratio of 9.6:1 compared to the Mk5’s 10.5:1.

Want more numbers? 0 to 100km/h takes just 6.9 seconds. A 240 km/h top speed with the manual transmission is achieved at top gear at 5,900rpm. With the 6-speed twin clutch DSG, the top speed is 238km/h at top gear with the rev needle pointing to 5,920rpm.

Golf GTI

The new Mk6 also has a standard electronic transverse differential lock, or what Volkswagen calls XDS. The Mk6 chassis is lowered with the GTI – 22mm at the front and 15mm at the rear. The dampers now have electronic damper control, which is controlled via the DCC or Dynamic Chassis Control system. This can setup various car parameters according to the mode you are in – Normal, Sport and Comfort. In Sport mode, in addition to stiffening the dampers, the power steering is also set for better responsiveness.

XDS uses braking pressure to emulate the function of a differential lock. If the system detects that the wheel at the inside of the curve that the GTI is taking is insufficiently loaded, the car will brake this wheel to restore traction. It helps compensate for the typical front wheel drive understeer through fast curves.

Golf GTI

There are various driver aids provided with the car, The GTI has generation II of the Park Assist system, which requires only a space of 1.1 meters, down from 1.4 meters. With Park Assist II, the GTI can reverse into a parallel parking spot automatically, with the driver only needed to control the brakes and accelerator (and clutch in the manual). There is also Adaptive Cruise Control, which requires less intervention from the driver as it brakes and accelerates the GTI while looking out for the distance to the car in front via a laser sensor in the rear view mirror.

The Mk5 GTI can still be purchased from various Volkswagen Malaysia dealers. Later in the year we’ll get to check out this new Mk6 as well as the Scirocco on our grounds.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Bebelon on Mar 24, 2009 at 4:30 am

Still prefer the previous model…

• theanswer on Mar 24, 2009 at 4:42 am

still looks good. but the rims..they should change the design..tired looking at this kind of rims design..lambo..alfa..or even gen2!

• hijaudean on Mar 24, 2009 at 4:58 am

nice..good looking..but the rims,.?

• Caddilac Wong on Mar 24, 2009 at 5:09 am

I think that VW should be cautious in selling this car because the previous GTI was sold in such a big volume while there is so much similarity between MK5 n MK6 so MK6 GTI may not be as popular as MK5 GTI…

• 2fast on Mar 24, 2009 at 5:11 am

Fantastic fuel economy for a sports car. Hope they will improve on the boring grey interior.

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 24, 2009 at 5:15 am

i love gti ..

it looks more like it's brother, the sirocco ..

• droll on Mar 24, 2009 at 5:45 am

hmmmmmmm looks less aggressive. the previous model looks nicer leh.

280Nm is massive??? i guess that's relative.

• Shiang on Mar 24, 2009 at 6:20 am

Woah! Nice piece of thang.

• c14man on Mar 24, 2009 at 7:07 am

the speedometer shows 10, 20, 30 … till 60, then 80, 100, 120, 140, then 220, 250, 280. inter val of 10km/h at first, then 20, at near top speed become 30. means the needle moves at different rates across the speedo range? cool…

• CocoBear on Mar 24, 2009 at 9:04 am

[quote comment="223740"]the speedometer shows 10, 20, 30 … till 60, then 80, 100, 120, 140, then 220, 250, 280. inter val of 10km/h at first, then 20, at near top speed become 30. means the needle moves at different rates across the speedo range? cool…[/quote]

Wow, I din realize it. Cool.

BTW, there's one part showing a rear camera pops out of the VW emblem. That's so cool.

• overall interior is boring. yawn~

• xoomie on Mar 24, 2009 at 3:09 pm

if only i can afford it….

• [quote comment="223740"]the speedometer shows 10, 20, 30 … till 60, then 80, 100, 120, 140, then 220, 250, 280. inter val of 10km/h at first, then 20, at near top speed become 30. means the needle moves at different rates across the speedo range? cool…[/quote]

true. my polo is similar, +10 increments up to 80km/h, then +20 increments until 260km/h. cool :D

this mk6 golf doesn't look as aggressive as mk5 i think.

Paul, the EA888 engine, does it use variable turbine geometry turbo or normal turbo?

• Arise on Mar 24, 2009 at 6:03 pm

Look at the their pricing factor. Anyone ?

• don know why…. i always prefer japanese designed deshboard.

• Littlefire on Mar 24, 2009 at 6:51 pm

If i not mistaken is normal turbo, but the new engine is now timing chain driven, compare to the old 1 which is timing belt.

• vivio on Mar 24, 2009 at 6:57 pm

look at the old one mk1

pewww nice loking car there

• A lower compression ratio … mean can give abit more boost.

• kington on Mar 24, 2009 at 7:06 pm

Good to see this MK6, but once again, mere mortals like us can only drool over cars like these.

I agree that the rims would have to go, it's just to widely replicated these days.

• Maibatsu Thunder on Mar 24, 2009 at 8:25 pm

Kraft durch Freude! You've come a long way VW, and you're always in my heart!

• So when? How much?

• dr_farnz on Mar 25, 2009 at 1:02 am

Paul..do u have any idea bout the VW preowned program..Wonder the price of the Golf GTI mk5.hmmmm..

Lovely MK6..damned..

• Zaff1984 on Mar 25, 2009 at 1:55 am

Like the interior very much, sophisticated yet maintain the interior quality as previous model.

• Noname Takadanama on Mar 25, 2009 at 2:05 am

I want one!

• Noname Takadanama on Mar 25, 2009 at 2:35 am

Scirocco later this year? Woohoo!!! =D

• Alamak on Mar 25, 2009 at 2:59 am

for preown vw check out – http://www.volkswagen.com.my/preowned

The GTI MK5 also have some differential. Check out the MK5 brochure download from VW website – Electronic differential lock (EDL) ensures optimal traction on every ground surface.

Did they just change name EDL to XDS and market it as something new?

• michaelooi on Mar 25, 2009 at 3:58 am

I just came in my pants

• mystvearn on Mar 25, 2009 at 4:39 am

The Mk5 looks better IMHO

• Rulered on Mar 25, 2009 at 7:26 am

Looks like a fun car to drive. I hope VW will maintain it's 2 din audio system if it comes here. The rim in this photos looks like it can hurt people : )

• quak58 of Aussie on Mar 25, 2009 at 6:41 pm

The VW golf has always been a 'king' of hot hatches in terms of popularity. The looks of the new one seems to much better in my opinion compared to the previous version. The Mk5 was plagued with all sort of lemon issues due to the manufacturing process. Now if they have solved all the problems with the previous version this would be a real killer.

Only problem… whats with that old fuddy duddy checkered interior??? Time to move on I say.

• initial R on Mar 25, 2009 at 9:00 pm

u can ask the info more at VW car PJ, the curve, Bangsar (near junction before dataran Maybank), also ABT bangsar.

• beachboi on Mar 26, 2009 at 3:55 am

of all the vw cars, the golf has always been my fav… handsome, fun and sexy

someone buy me one pls heheheh ;)

• James on Mar 26, 2009 at 4:06 pm

looks like a refined version of the Mk5. Its hard to believe the engine FWD setup can deal with so much torque. Does the car have some sort of torque management system like Focus or Mazda3 does?

• quak58 of Aussie on Mar 26, 2009 at 4:52 pm

[quote comment="224362"]looks like a refined version of the Mk5. Its hard to believe the engine FWD setup can deal with so much torque. Does the car have some sort of torque management system like Focus or Mazda3 does?[/quote]

280Nm of torque is nothing int he world of hot hatches. Check out the new ford focus RS. It has 410Nm of torque. NOw that is massive! You don't really need a torque management system for 280Nm. =P

• Mark Leong on Mar 28, 2009 at 10:50 pm

"The GTI has generation II of the Park Assist system, which requires only a space of 1.1 meters, down from 1.4 meters. With Park Assist II, the GTI can reverse into a parallel parking spot automatically, with the driver only needed to control the brakes and accelerator (and clutch in the manual). There is also Adaptive Cruise Control, which requires less intervention from the driver as it brakes and accelerates the GTI while looking out for the distance to the car in front via a laser sensor in the rear view mirror."

~ This is magic. It's future here now. ~

• klaka seram on Apr 29, 2009 at 4:18 am

with our tax structure, most of us can only dream of having good car.. very unfortunate

• borabora on Jun 04, 2009 at 8:38 pm

but RS's 410Nm came from a 2.5L engine..280Nm for a 2.0L can be considered ok,though Peugeot's 1.6L got 240,now that's outstanding,hehehe

• benny on Jul 23, 2009 at 6:25 am

when does it come to malaysia ?

• Benny Teh on Sep 04, 2009 at 1:59 am

I heard mk6 is coming in this Saturday which is 5/9/09 at Auto City, Juru. gotta have a look

• ALan T on Jan 13, 2010 at 5:13 am

What colour should i get? Black or Red?

• I have recently bought this 'to-die-for' m6 GTI , delivered in January 2010. Its been less than 3 months (< than 5000 mileage) and I have encountered a gear box issue. Problem occurred 2 days in a row. Both incidents took place while driving on the road, speed suddenly drops, safe mode kicked in and the car could not engaged the gear. Pulled up to the side and had to restart.

Just this morning, i sent it into the service centre. They managed to diagnosed the problem, but the mechanic advised that the troubleshooting showed that this is not a permanent problem hence they cannot escalate it, or rather the mechanic said that its not a procedure to escalate a sporadic problem.

So I was told to drive home and bring it back when i encounter the problem again. Imagine if you're trying to over- take another vehicle and the speed of the car suddenly drops. I really don't see the purpose of this warranty which is meant to protect car buyers.

I was advised that if the diagnosis indicates that it as 'sporadic', it does not warrant for any part replacement,despite the fact that the mechanic has confirmed this is due to a gear box problem! Question- why not fix it for me, after-all my car is practically brand new, just came out of the first 1000 km service on Feb 10 2010.

Those who bought the new GTI model – dec batch, if you encounter gear box problems, please do share. Btw, according to the Wearnes VW mechanic, the 6 engine sensors apparently does not detect any fault if its due to the gear box. All GTI drivers mark 6, do share if you encounter a similar problem.

I do not recommend the new GTI m6 to anyone –looks good, but this car is crap crap crap. I hate it.

• I have recently bought the new GTI model, delivered in January 2010. Its been less than 3 months (< than 5000 mileage) and I have encountered a gear box issue. Problem occurred 2 days in a row. Both incidents took place while driving on the road, speed suddenly drops, safe mode kicked in and the car could not engaged the gear. Pulled up to the side and had to restart.

Just this morning, i sent it into the service centre. They managed to diagnosed the problem, but the mechanic advised that the troubleshooting showed that this is not a permanent problem hence they cannot escalate it, or rather the mechanic said that its not a procedure to escalate a sporadic problem.

So I was told to drive home and bring it back when i encounter the problem again. Imagine if you're trying to over- take another vehicle and the speed of the car suddenly drops. I really don't see the purpose of this warranty which is meant to protect car buyers.

I was advised that if the diagnosis indicates that it as 'sporadic', it does not warrant for any part replacement,despite the fact that the mechanic has confirmed this is due to a gear box problem! Question- why not fix it for me, after-all my car is practically brand new, just came out of the first 1000 km service on Feb 10 2010.

Those who bought the new GTI model – dec batch, if you encounter gear box problems, please do share. Btw, according to the Wearnes VW mechanic, the 6 engine sensors apparently does not detect any fault if its due to the gear box. All GTI drivers mark 6, do share if you encounter a similar problem.

I do not recommend the new GTI m6 – overpriced & lousy service!

• Umar bin Ahmad on Apr 04, 2010 at 4:03 pm

I realy plan to buy the latest GTI model but you are not recommend thank for your info

• Dear Umar,

You have made the right choice. Just to share with you, my car went into the workshop again for the 2nd time, just 4 days after they returned my car upon rectifying it. So far, it has been 2 weeks and I have not got my car back yet.

VW experts are not able to find the problem at the moment. They have changed 2 things,
    1. Installed a component called ‘Megatronic’ (5/03 car went into the workshop – 20/03 received my car back)
    2. Updated the TCU software (23/03 – car went into the workshop, have not got my car back till today)

VW has not returned my car since then and VW was unable to give me a specific timeline as to when will this problem be resolved, let alone guarantee that this problem will not happen again for the 3rd time.

All i was told by VGM management is that ‘We hope that the above 2 solutions would help resolve the issue’

Please dont not buy anything from VW car, cause obviously you’re paying good money for poor quality management of cars and poor quality of after sales service.

It is so easy to sell a car, but i will never ever recommend a VW to anyone having gone through this experience with a global, well known car company.

Please share this with your friends and family…. i dont want this to happen to anyone else =)

• PaulS on Jul 08, 2010 at 6:02 pm

TM how is your Gti now?still misbehaving?very sorry to hear of your problems plus the the inept service quality bein rendered by the dealers..hope the principal of VW takes note