New Toyota Crown Majesta launched in Japan

Toyota Crown Majesta

Toyota has unveiled an updated Toyota Crown Majesta for the Japanese market. The vehicle has a full air suspension and there are two engine options available. The wheelbase is 75mm longer than the previous series, creates a roomy and comfortable interior, but keeps its overall length under 5 meters for better maneuverability on tight Japanese city roads.

The all-wheel drive Crown Majesta i-Four version gets the 3UZ-FE, a 4.3 litre V8 mated to a 6-speed Super ECT transmission, while the regular Type A, Type C and Type G packages in either 4-seater and 5-seater forms get the 1UR-FSE D-4S 4.6 litre V8 similiar to the one in the Lexus LS460, mated to a 8-speed Super ECT.

Toyota Crown Majesta

The new Crown Majesta debuts the Rear Center Airbag that this site talked about a few days ago. This airbag is standard on all models, both the 4-seater and the 5-seater. All variants have a total of 11 SRS airbags and the Pre-crash safety system even brings the rear reclined seats to an upright position when the system senses an imminent crash, to help reduce injuries.

The Pre-crash safety system uses a millimeter-wave radar to detect possible front-side collisions such as at intersections, and a stereo camera can detect pedestrians in front of the vehicle, with a warning displayed to the driver when necessary. There is also a Night View system that uses a near-infrared camera to show the driver objects in the dark at night.

Toyota Crown Majesta

One thing that’s quite interesting is how the Super ECT and ESP system of the gearbox and car actually uses GPS navigation data to modify its gear change patterns. This is easy to do considering how developed Japanese GPS maps are, and the fact that the Crown Majesta is supposed to be sold in Japan only.

The Super ECT uses GPS to know when you are merging onto a highway, exiting a highway or approaching a toll booth. It then controls gear-change timing and engine braking appropriately for a smoother acceleration and deceleration. The system also knows the location of stop signs and junctions, and activates a brake-assist function if it knows the driver is late in decelerating.

Look after the jump for more details on the new Crown Majesta.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=203]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 29, 2009 at 5:44 pm

it sounds like the japanese S-class ..

• EchoTango23 on Mar 29, 2009 at 5:48 pm

A good start for the "injured" Toyota!

• Noname Takadanama on Mar 29, 2009 at 5:48 pm

[quote comment="225206"]it sounds like the japanese S-class ..[/quote]

Indeed…wow…I like the GPS-assisted gear change pattern…

• Ariff on Mar 29, 2009 at 5:52 pm

man,the 4-seater is cool!!the crown athlete n the crown majesta are available from parallel importers here in msia.but does not hav a strong selling point as msian's view of european models are higher(some ppl dun even know Lexus is a luxury brand).)will ths one be too??but i still think it has the "old man" look like the all the previous crowns.how is it compared with Honda Legend and Lexus LS??In my opinion,Legend looks way better.

• david on Mar 29, 2009 at 6:13 pm

looks unimposing.

• jolly_idiot on Mar 29, 2009 at 6:54 pm

tis is loaded wid stuff! a jappy rolls royce I may say.

• SwiftMatrix on Mar 29, 2009 at 7:05 pm

I don'tknow why nowday Toyota seem like taking backward step in term of designing… Too plain for me and not to my taste..though I know look is subjective.

• michaelooi on Mar 29, 2009 at 7:14 pm

TAXI !!!

• letstorque on Mar 29, 2009 at 11:01 pm

Dr M used to ride in Infinity, when no one knows what brand is it. To show pro-asian and buy British last.

Saw in Indonesia, vice president Jusuf Kalla only use Camry. Most probably President also use Camry.

So I think in Malaysia, the most top official can use is Malaysia-made, or at least Malaysian-assembled, car.

So DYMM Agong must change from Flying Spur to S500.

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 29, 2009 at 11:21 pm

Looks menacing.

From a toyota.

• hidrogentank on Mar 29, 2009 at 11:32 pm

power laa! dono bout conti lovers out there but damn this way better than any s-class doh!!

Ariff;

but it is popular in the US where its main market is…..

• chaku on Mar 30, 2009 at 12:15 am

still fond the previous majesta…maybe this one is still new,takes times to grow in me.

btw,this is one of the most popular VIPstyle platform.

• Kington on Mar 30, 2009 at 3:59 am

I sat in the curent model once and i was blown away by the smoothness of the drivetrain and the power delivery accross the rev range.

Looks are of course very subjective and i do agree that it looks uninspiring but this lends the car a rather stealthy outlook.

• Ariff on Mar 30, 2009 at 5:53 am

[quote comment="225276"]Dr M used to ride in Infinity, when no one knows what brand is it. To show pro-asian and buy British last.

Saw in Indonesia, vice president Jusuf Kalla only use Camry. Most probably President also use Camry.

So I think in Malaysia, the most top official can use is Malaysia-made, or at least Malaysian-assembled, car.

So DYMM Agong must change from Flying Spur to S500.[/quote]

haha.indonesian leaders use toyota.in msia,we use mitsubishi eterna(proton perdana) for our leaders but they still want to change.talk abt Infiniti,I can't wait to see the new G37 on msian road.S500 is also fully imported wat.only S350 is CKD.but it doesn't make much different over CKD n CBU,though.

• Ariff on Mar 30, 2009 at 6:01 am

[quote comment="225287"]power laa! dono bout conti lovers out there but damn this way better than any s-class doh!!

Ariff;

but it is popular in the US where its main market is…..[/quote]

of coz,but there the Americans are very…how to say ah?well informed??in msia,if u drive a Toyota no matter Crown or wat,the pak ciks n mak ciks wll not be that impressed.but when u drive a car with the pointed star badge,they will all say u very rich one.haha!!the pointed star is known even by ppl from the rural tau.ya,when i speak abt Toyota,i should exclude Alphard.i dunno why,but my dad's Alphard really attracts ppl's attention(of coz not much in KL.once when my dad went to somewhere rural,everyone surround the car and ask my dad what car is it and blablabla).p/s-maybe due to Alphard doesn't wear a Toyota badge in front or it's jz huge?

• c14man on Mar 30, 2009 at 6:52 am

really salute Toyota. they really produce good cars.

although the sales of toyota cars seems to be more than that of Honda, but i think in terms of development, toyota is still way ahead.

and this Majesta is designed to suit the taste of "uncle" because you have to be in that age range to be able to buy this car. haha.

and i think it has the rather subtle prestige look that really make a statement that says the owner is really somebody, without even trying hard.

very nice design in terms of making a strong statement of the owner.

• most people dont notice this but the toyota crown series is actually more luxurious than lexus's offering, despite being from same company.

although you rarely see any down here. and the rear is abit subjective.

• anytime i will pick toyota or honda luxury car above than bmw or mercedes..more reliable and cheaper maintenance costs without compromising the luxury..

• Gajen on Mar 30, 2009 at 8:24 pm

The technology is stunning…one of the reasons why toyota is no 1…i really wish we have this car here…so beautiful and super luxurious

• kerelbort on Mar 31, 2009 at 1:44 am

Ariff: most probably they wondering if Alphard is a bas mini… hehehe

lux car suppose to be boring and have a look of 'get out of way if not confirm die kena langgar'

• but toyota here in malaysia is very dissapointing… in terms of technology offered.

cheers!

• Luqman on Mar 31, 2009 at 4:52 am

[quote comment="225287"]power laa! dono bout conti lovers out there but damn this way better than any s-class doh!!

Ariff;

Yes, a car from 120km/h Land (Japan) is perfectly suited for 88mls/h (USA)…

• [quote comment="225410"]anytime i will pick toyota or honda luxury car above than bmw or mercedes..more reliable and cheaper maintenance costs without compromising the luxury..[/quote]

that is applicable to models like vios/avanza/altis etc…models like these cheap to maintain?..you gotta be really rich or joking. just ask an alphard or LX 470 owner how much the spare parts cost….it ain't cheap

• i didnt say cheap..i said cheaper THAN bmw or mercedes..

• taxidriver on Mar 31, 2009 at 8:54 pm

[quote comment="225538"][quote comment="225287"]power laa! dono bout conti lovers out there but damn this way better than any s-class doh!!

Ariff;

Yes, a car from 120km/h Land (Japan) is perfectly suited for 88mls/h (USA)…[/quote]

whats your point??

• [quote comment="225654"]i didnt say cheap..i said cheaper THAN bmw or mercedes..[/quote]

ok…point noted. but you still compromise on luxury and even toyota admits that. thats y they go through all the trouble to produce Lexus. and lexus in bolehland is more expensive than bmw or mercedes to buy and maintain.

• leeleng on Apr 01, 2009 at 6:35 am

it look like japanese maybach

• hidrogentank on Apr 01, 2009 at 9:16 am

[quote comment="225654"]i didnt say cheap..i said cheaper THAN bmw or mercedes..[/quote]

hey db8, ignore those pesky haters, they dont know a thing and are just to bias for thier own good. youre definitely right, it has no compromise on lux, and reliable. it is verry much comparable to any conti marque if not better, at bigger value. i say, that idea of merc or bmw being superior lux brands are just figments of ones imagination. anyone can do it. korean, jap, american,….(by now some of us may have noticed the koreans are catching up qiuckly). so think again haters, dont be outright straight, i advise. that however is your choice.

• Derick on Apr 01, 2009 at 9:56 pm

It looks more like a Nissan breed then a Toyota..

• kopee on Apr 05, 2009 at 7:32 am

this is actually a great car 4rm the worlds number 1.but if it were a hyundai or kia it wont get all this nice and sweet reviews .

• abc123 on Apr 11, 2009 at 5:52 am

cool..hope to see one in miri, srwk…haha…crown taxi ada lah…only ever seen a toyota mark-x in miri

• Charger on Jul 23, 2009 at 4:30 pm

Ah, how I envious the accuracy of the GPS system.

• wirajack on Oct 22, 2009 at 4:11 pm

Saw this yesterday. Very nice.