Limited edition Ferrari Scuderia Spider 16M available for viewing at Naza Italia showroom

Ferrari Scuderia Spider 16M

There is one unit of the new Ferrari Scuderia Spider 16M at the Naza Italia Ferrari showroom by the side of the Federal Highway. It’s hard to miss really, but if you need the address here it is: Lot 1, Jalan 51A/221, 46100 Petaling Jaya.

Head on there if you want to check it out. It’s one out of 499 limited units that exist in this world, assuming some Hollywood stars don’t destroy a few on their way to the next car showroom. The showroom is open for viewing from 11am to 5pm daily, and the Scuderia Spider 16M will be there until the 6th this month.

Ferrari Scuderia Spider 16M

The 16M Spider is an odd monster. It’s a hardcore stripped down version of the 430 Scuderia, but the stripped down image feels abit out of place considering the fact that its a convertible and requires additional weight to strengthen the roof-less chassis. So that extra weight is still there.

But then again, the 16M name refers to Ferrari’s 16th F1 constructor title win, and F1 cars don’t have roofs… so maybe that’s the logic, I don’t know.

The car’s engine is a 4.3 litre V8 producing 510 horsepower at 8,500rpm and 470Nm of torque at 5,250rpm. The engine bounces off the redline at 8,640rpm. Its gearbox is a dual clutch dry transmission, but unlike the Ferrari California it only has 6 forward gears instead of the California’s 7. 0 to 100km/h takes only 3.7 seconds. If that’s not enough for you, Novitec Rosso sells a tuning kit for the 16M that bumps up its power to nearly 700 horses via twin turbochargers.

Naza Italia’s Lifestyle Centre isn’t just for potential Ferrari buyers and Ferrari Owners Club members. It houses a full range of Ferrari and Maserati merchandise as well, so perhaps instead of a normal red shirt for next year’s Chinese New Year open house visiting you could go in a Ferrari polo or something.

Look after the jump for a full gallery of the 16M.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=213]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Aji Bugau on Apr 02, 2009 at 9:26 pm

Fantastic

• corolla_KE70 on Apr 02, 2009 at 9:27 pm

yeah, i can sense the presence of that monster when i'm on the motorcycle lane near the showroom..

• azrai on Apr 02, 2009 at 9:39 pm

Maybe I can own one next year when Shell sell it in 1:38 scale. :-)

• Kenny on Apr 02, 2009 at 9:43 pm

superb engineering but I reckon save the money and go for the scuderia instead and pump it up with novitec kits.

• Analyzer on Apr 02, 2009 at 9:53 pm

i thought i saw the showroom still under construction? or is it placed in the naza world warehouse?

• mohdjiman on Apr 02, 2009 at 9:57 pm

Show car only la?

• i wish on Apr 02, 2009 at 10:22 pm

ferrari… ferroro rocher… r they connected?… :)

• Carcrazy_sbs on Apr 02, 2009 at 10:25 pm

i was there that night when they was launching…..Felipe Massa was there to unveil the Scuderia spider 16M….

• majavaz on Apr 02, 2009 at 10:55 pm

I think it is twin supercharged instead of turbocharged upgrade..

• Wow, fantastic! How many units available in Malaysia?

• helmi on Apr 03, 2009 at 1:11 am

Ferrari.. the best car in the world. Unfortunately, they associate this great name with Naza %#@!!! The lousy name and have bad reputation in term of after sales service, just 'untung atas angin', thats what my neighbour experience with his Ria. Flip flop & no consistency in doing business, thats my experience with their APs lineup.

• bmpower on Apr 03, 2009 at 1:53 am

no thanks..

im no schumacher fanboy btw. :P

• how much for this ???

• almostthere on Apr 03, 2009 at 4:17 am

paul, the F430 uses a sequential gearbox whereelse the California IINM uses a DSG

• Paul Tan on Apr 03, 2009 at 4:22 am

yes, the scuderia uses sequential, but the 16M in particular has a dry twin clutch. at first i was also confused. i thought only california had dual clutch.
    http://ferrarimaseratiofvancouver.com/news.html?i…

look at the spec sheet.

• arch808 on Apr 03, 2009 at 6:46 am

0-100kmh in 3.7 secs only? even my machine can do 3.27 secs….

• hey, no test drive meh??? wanna try.

• Pingkl on Apr 03, 2009 at 7:30 am

[quote comment="226503"]0-100kmh in 3.7 secs only? even my machine can do 3.27 secs….[/quote]

Your kap chai with twin turbo 1000bhp engine izzit? hope you will not die in 10 secs when you start the engine

• slumdog billionaire on Apr 03, 2009 at 7:56 am

worth of checking it out this weekend.

any idea,what our putera AP drive? "you'll be surprised to know that."

paul,hope you'll not miss the chance to testdrive it since you have the advantage as malaysia (no.1) automotive blogger'

do write a feedback post on the testdrive if you've been lucky to run the machine.

• arch808 on Apr 03, 2009 at 8:09 am

[quote comment="226522"][quote comment="226503"]0-100kmh in 3.7 secs only? even my machine can do 3.27 secs….[/quote]

Your kap chai with twin turbo 1000bhp engine izzit? hope you will not die in 10 secs when you start the engine[/quote]

go ahead, stereotyping people. mine is a factory-setting Kawasaki Er-6n. stil think that supercars are alwys faster than bike, eh? than go check out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E6-uSoTzRPY&NR…

heh, just imagine if it really have 1000bhp engine, sure can reach 100kmh without u knowing it pass by. wat d u say now, homeboy???

• xavier lert on Apr 03, 2009 at 5:22 pm

can "normal" guy step into the showroom ka?…will they like …"wat is this guy doing…"……

• bmpower on Apr 03, 2009 at 5:54 pm

you have to put few K on their table first to get test drive.

the money are refundable. if you're dato' something son, or come with RM500k price car.. you can..

else.. keep dreaming…

• Alifz on Apr 03, 2009 at 7:08 pm

No wonder Tuanku Mizan was there at Naza Italia launch…limited to see, and to have Tuanku?

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari&#0 on Apr 04, 2009 at 8:07 pm

Drooollll! Some1, plz wipe-off my saliva fr the car!!!!

• pekan on Apr 05, 2009 at 4:13 am

how much's the downpayment..?

sigh..

• arch808 on Apr 06, 2009 at 5:26 am

[quote comment="226533"][quote comment="226522"][quote comment="226503"]0-100kmh in 3.7 secs only? even my machine can do 3.27 secs….[/quote]

Your kap chai with twin turbo 1000bhp engine izzit? hope you will not die in 10 secs when you start the engine[/quote]

go ahead, stereotyping people. mine is a factory-setting Kawasaki Er-6n. stil think that supercars are alwys faster than bike, eh? than go check out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E6-uSoTzRPY&NR…

heh, just imagine if it really have 1000bhp engine, sure can reach 100kmh without u knowing it pass by. wat d u say now, homeboy???[/quote]

just as i thought, SILENCE… xD

• i wondering how there do business n the way there do a governing this country n discriminate to malaysian n bumiputra more like a communism way for certain way i guess.

sale only to there own member of VIp n put all of malaysia of ann to work whit then just to support the own 1 2 spices to proud off sin still have a resources to play off.

… this massage is to whom that understand only…