Gemballa paddle shift steering for Porsche PDK

Gemballa Paddle ShiftI never did understand why Porsche used that weird rocker switch thing for the steering-mounted gear shifters.

Thankfully there are many who share my views, including Porsche tuner Gemballa, who have just released this Gemballa F1 steering wheel for the Porsche PDK dual clutch transmission. It offers some proper paddle shifts with left for downshift and right for upshift.

Nice and ergonomic, just like how everyone else does it! The steering wheel rim is also pretty darn thick for a firmer grip and includes the standard airbag.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• CocoBear on Apr 06, 2009 at 7:12 am

That's a good replacement. Is there a universal airbag-steering wheel? I've no interest in ricer-boy Momo steering, but this thing looks good to hold.

• San Peng Road on Apr 06, 2009 at 7:22 am

Aik why P1 dont have the gear shifters?

• nabil on Apr 06, 2009 at 7:29 am

looks like waja steering wheel !

• seat-belt on Apr 06, 2009 at 7:37 am

gemballa kambeng…

hahaha!!….

• eezarm on Apr 06, 2009 at 7:40 am

yup, like waja's steering whel indeed, except waja's lack the paddle shift. if available, i wont mind spending money adding it to my waja steering wheel…

• WinterAngeLs on Apr 06, 2009 at 8:42 am

I also though it was a waja steering wheel at 1st glance until i notice the 2 "stick" bhind the wheel. Looks heavy n firm!

• altimi on Apr 06, 2009 at 8:59 am

Gembala kerbau ke ni?

• madboy on Apr 06, 2009 at 5:11 pm

[quote comment="227132"]yup, like waja's steering whel indeed, except waja's lack the paddle shift. if available, i wont mind spending money adding it to my waja steering wheel…[/quote]

Paddle shift for a 4 speed auto, I don't think so…just wait for the replacement model, if come with cvt or 5/6 speed, then I also want it.

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Apr 06, 2009 at 6:24 pm

lets us hope waja replacement have

this features

:)

• eezarm on Apr 06, 2009 at 7:17 pm

not to forget, waja actually copied design/parts from few cars…including porsche (the dashboard design)…

• elpaciko on Apr 06, 2009 at 9:04 pm

[quote comment="227216"]not to forget, waja actually copied design/parts from few cars…including porsche (the dashboard design)…[/quote]

how do you so sure proton copied design from other manufacturer? bmw x6 look a lot like gen2, did bmw copied design from proton?

• eezarm on Apr 06, 2009 at 11:27 pm

elpaciko said,

April 6, 2009 @ 1:04 pm · Reply with quote

eezarm wrote:

not to forget, waja actually copied design/parts from few cars…including porsche (the dashboard design)…

how do you so sure proton copied design from other manufacturer? bmw x6 look a lot like gen2, did bmw copied design from proton?

dear elpaciko,

this is what i meant…see the similarity of the dashboard especially the silver lining?

even the door handle is similar too. probably it's porsche that actually took waja's design…who knows…

• eezarm on Apr 06, 2009 at 11:28 pm

opss…forgot the link…

http://www.zcars.com.au/images/porsche-cayenne-tu…

• eezarm on Apr 06, 2009 at 11:32 pm

[quote comment="227256"][quote comment="227216"]not to forget, waja actually copied design/parts from few cars…including porsche (the dashboard design)…[/quote]

how do you so sure proton copied design from other manufacturer? bmw x6 look a lot like gen2, did bmw copied design from proton?[/quote]

dear elpaciko,

here's another link to the photo of the porsche's dashboard that is similar to waja's.

http://us.autos1.yimg.com/img.autos.yahoo.com/izp…

• eezarm on Apr 06, 2009 at 11:38 pm

although its 2008 porsche car, u can check the previous model back in 2003…porsche still using the same design…

• haiya… so many cars got that decorative strip la….

• seat-belt on Apr 07, 2009 at 7:16 am

aiyah…. decorative strip oso want to fight kah?? aiyooohhh…

malaysians2….

• madboy on Apr 07, 2009 at 7:20 am

[quote comment="227322"][quote comment="227256"][quote comment="227216"]not to forget, waja actually copied design/parts from few cars…including porsche (the dashboard design)…[/quote]

how do you so sure proton copied design from other manufacturer? bmw x6 look a lot like gen2, did bmw copied design from proton?[/quote]

dear elpaciko,

here's another link to the photo of the porsche's dashboard that is similar to waja's.

Come on la, just becouse there are some similarities, do not means that Proton "tiru" Porsche. Inspired perhap, "tiru" no la.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Apr 07, 2009 at 5:02 pm

[quote comment="227471"][quote comment="227322"][quote comment="227256"][quote comment="227216"]not to forget, waja actually copied design/parts from few cars…including porsche (the dashboard design)…[/quote]

dear elpaciko,

Come on la, just becouse there are some similarities, do not means that Proton "tiru" Porsche. Inspired perhap, "tiru" no la.[/quote]

come on la.. a door handle is a door handle.. no one owns the patent on door handles.. this is such a pointless argument. how many different ways can someone design a door handle? honestly, there really is no such thing as 100% originality in design. everyone starts to look the same if you look at the details.

• the stering's good, only the name 'gemballa' sounds funny hehe…

• lewis on Apr 08, 2009 at 12:21 pm

in my opinion having a semi automatic transmission is a pain in the ass. Not like the aston where you have an auto mode. But like the maserati, it doesn't have a clutch, and thus u just roll back when ur in reverse. Who here agrees with me.